Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"Rooney: The Man Behind The Goals" BBC1 21.30 Monday 5th October.

• 06-10-2015 1:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭

I'm amazed nobody started a thread about this last night (I presume a lot of people on here watched it), so decided to start one now. I should preface the below by saying that I am not a big WR or Man U fan, just a general soccer and PL enthusiast.

The main points I took from it were:

1) How fu*king precocious was this boy? EVERYONE seemed to have heard of him before he ever played a PL game - Steven Gerrard even went to watch him! Then, his first PL score was a last-minute wonder-goal against Arsenal (David Seaman!!) as a 16 year old, to end their 30-match unbeaten run. He then became the youngest player to ever play for England.

2) Where was Alex Ferguson?? Ronaldo, Giggs, Moyes, Gerrard, Beckham, Lampard, Bobby Charlton and many others were involved but no sign of the main shaper of Rooney's career. They didn't offer him enough, I suppose ....

Anyway, I thought it was an entertaining documentary (albeit without any great revelations) about an interesting character. What did you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I watched it and was impressed with Rooney myself, he seems like a normal enough fella who justs loves playing football. It changed my mind about him anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,512 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

niallo27 wrote: »
    I watched it and was impressed with Rooney myself, he seems like a normal enough fella who justs loves playing football. It changed my mind about him anyway.

I haven't seen the show myself but a few journalists who did see it before it aired said it was a charm offensive to make him seem more likable...But this was shown on BBC so...who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Where was Alex Ferguson?? ... They didn't offer him enough, I suppose ....

Given Ferguson's previous altercations with both the BBC and Rooney it's not surprising he wasn't involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Given Ferguson's previous altercations with both the BBC and Rooney it's not surprising he wasn't involved.

Rooney was certainly very complimentary about him in the documentary! Also, if you had a real altercation with AF you were generally shown the door from Old Trafford - this did not happen with Rooney.

I haven't seen the show myself but a few journalists who did see it before it aired said it was a charm offensive to make him seem more likable...But this was shown on BBC so...who knows?

It didnt seem too put on in fairness. Why would there be a need to make him more likable. He is no John Terry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Was anything mentioned of his off field discrepancys ?

ricero wrote: »

Ha Ha. Kept waiting for it but no mention of "The Auld Slapper"! Just a couple of casual references to "immaturity" being a problem when he was a teenager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Ha Ha. Kept waiting for it but no mention of "The Auld Slapper"! Just a couple of casual references to "immaturity" being a problem when he was a teenager.

He also had a few young slappers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Also, if you had a real altercation with AF you were generally shown the door from Old Trafford - this did not happen with Rooney.
    I have zero doubt that had Fergie not retired when he did Rooney would no longer be a United player.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I really enjoyed it, definitely changed my mind about Rooney who just seems like an all-round good guy who just wants to play some football.

But if you look at his early games and compare them to now I can't help but feel he could have been so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

A good watch, seems like a nice chap

Can't help but think if he worked on his fitness and physique he could have maintained that explosiveness he had at an early age well into his late 20s

Probably only realised about 80% of his potential in the end but was still a world class player at his peak

A good watch, seems like a nice chap

Can't help but think if he worked on his fitness and physique he could have maintained that explosiveness he had at an early age well into his late 20s

Probably only realised about 80% of his potential in the end but was still a world class player at his peak

At his peak he was excellent though. I don't know was there 20% more in him. He is one of them guys who wants to play every minute of every game and it may be catching up with him now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

He was great for us, but if this form continues the club comes first and Rooney should be moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

wayne rooney= the man behind the grannys;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Can't view this on BBC iPlayer using Hola strangely. Could anyone PM me a way if possible? Only caught the last 10 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

ricero wrote: »
    Airbrushed out of history. It never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Rooney was never as bad a person as some made out, I feel. Would have loved him at Liverpool.

If only he grew up supporting the team in red instead of blue! In his prime he would have probably won Liverpool a league, he was that good.

I'll be checking out the show anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Turned it off after about 48 seconds:

"What's Rooney like away from the cameras?"

"Just a quiet family man who loves spending time with his wife and children."

Give me a break FFS.

Nothing about the soliciting of prostitutes or having a threesome with escorts while his wife was 5 months pregnant came up I suppose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The thing that stood out for me in the documentary was what an unbelievable sh1thole of an area he came from.Fair play to him for making something of his life as it looks like the sort of place you could go to the bad very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Paully D wrote: »

Give me a break FFS.

Nothing about the soliciting of prostitutes or having a threesome with escorts while his wife was 5 months pregnant came up I suppose?

In fairness the trailers couldn't leave you in any doubt that it was an air-brushing "Hello magazine" type piece. And as those things go, it wasn't terrible. The curious thing was Colleen and Rooneys parents, they were gas.. not sure if 1st or 2nd generation Irish the lot of them

As for the grannies, we've all been there lads, don't say you didn't when you were younger..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

The documentary actually makes me pretty sad. He was a special, special talent and I don't think people realise just how good he was, at such a young age. But he's a shadow of that player now, and he should be in his peak. Personally, I think he's done at United. Maybe he's burnt out!

SantryRed wrote: »
    The documentary actually makes me pretty sad. He was a special, special talent and I don't think people realise just how good he was, at such a young age. But he's a shadow of that player now, and he should be in his peak. Personally, I think he's done at United. Maybe he's burnt out!

I do think its a case of too much mileage on the clock now.

13 years in the PL is nothing to be scoffed at. You could also look at his body type and perhaps say its not quite that of say, Giggs or Beckham, and so not able to provide that extra longevity at the top.

He's certainly a physical shadow of his prime anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Doesn't look after himself physically by all accounts. Smoking as well as his other off the field activities won't have helped as he fast approaches 30. Think he'll move on from United at the end of the season whilst they can still demand a biggish transfer fee and the PSG's and Chelsea's of this world will always be looking for a brand name to improve their own brand. Mind you with the form he's in at the moment they may well attempt to off load him in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

He stands to make about £50 million from United over the next 3 years I doubt he would leave, and I doubt a club would pay near those numbers

Holy ****

He is 30 this month. Strikers usually peak around 26 or 27 especially ones with pace and power like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

niallo27 wrote: »
    He is 30 this month. Strikers usually peak around 26 or 27 especially ones with pace and power like him.

I think his career is just about 3 or 4 years off a normal players, due to that early start.

Normally peak is from 26/27 till around 30, then you start trailing off.

His peak was early 20's, and started trailing off just after mid 20's.

Not terribly surprising given the number of years at the very top level he's been playing. I don't think age comes into it as much as miles on the clock, its just that most players follow a similar age progression. He's a total outlier, doing at 16 what most players would only be getting into around 20ish.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

Says a lot about how good a player he was when at 30 he is England's greatest ever goalscorer, soon to be man utd's greatest ever scorer and people say he hasn't fulfilled his potential.

He's having a bad time of it at the minute for United and some people will never warm to him but he has sweat blood in any jersey he has ever worn , which is a lot more than can be said for other players. It shouldn't be forgotten what a world class player he was, even if it looks like he is burned out and his best years are behind him. Was seriously ****ed around positionally by Ferguson at times too.

A 23/24 yr old Rooney makes any club side in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

"Body type" comments don't really hold water. It's an excuse not to look after yourself.

He's a professional athlete getting paid millions of pounds a year. He has often come back after the summer break or injury overweight. There is no excuse for it. He's not the only top footballer with a weight issue and they all invariably play their best stuff when they are lean and fit.

The food coupled with the smoking, the mistresses and prostitutes tell the tale of somebody with a self control issue and thats why he has waned. It isnt miles on the clock, plenty of players with a lot more minutes that him were still going strong at 35 or even 40, let alone 30. They looked after themselves, Rooney didnt. Thats it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Paully D wrote: »

Give me a break FFS.

Wowzers.

Who would have thought a documentary, made by the BBC, with Rooneys blessing, about Englands highest ever goal scorer, would be sanitised and not cover his less salubrious activities.

Im so shocked I need a lie down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Decent watch. Comes across as a very normal lad who just happened to have an unbelievable talent, don't think he is too bothered with all the media and press coverage, he seems quite uncomfortable in front of the camera.

I've probably been guilty of underestimating Rooney over his career, can't help but feel that he never quite reached the level he could have, but having said that he has won 5 premier league titles, a Champions League, he's Englands top goalscorer who could also break the caps record and will also go on to be Man Uniteds top goalscorer of all time. Extremely impressive career which makes me think that maybe he did go on to fulfill his potential, was he just unlucky to be playing at a time when the spotlight was on Ronaldo and Messi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Decent watch. Comes across as a very normal lad who just happened to have an unbelievable talent, don't think he is too bothered with all the media and press coverage, he seems quite uncomfortable in front of the camera.

I've probably been guilty of underestimating Rooney over his career, can't help but feel that he never quite reached the level he could have, but having said that he has won 5 premier league titles, a Champions League, he's Englands top goalscorer who could also break the caps record and will also go on to be Man Uniteds top goalscorer of all time. Extremely impressive career which makes me think that maybe he did go on to fulfill his potential, was he just unlucky to be playing at a time when the spotlight was on Ronaldo and Messi?

I agree with the other posters who said that Rooney is on the way down now, even though not 30 yet. As I said in the OP, he was extremely precocious and was well able for the PL at 16. He did not look like a typical 16 year old (being built like a brick sh*t-house and all) and probably reached his peak by 20. Was a great player at that time and to say he didn't fulfil his potential is erroneous - he just fulfilled it at a very young age!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I'm amazed nobody started a thread about this last night (I presume a lot of people on here watched it), so decided to start one now.
    <snip>

I did but wrong place it seems. Thought it was a bit quiet! :o

Rooney: The Man Behind the Goals. BBC1 @9pm - Monday, Oct. 5th