Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Fingal General Election

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

kennyb3 wrote: »
    +1, I'd like to know something about her actual achievements and not just her media profile.

She has no achievements, and never will. She "claims" credit and victories for scenarios that are so outside of her control it's embarrassing. It's how those parties work. The water protests and outrage is all down to them. Nothing to do with an individual issue or anger that a citizen has, it's all their achievement. If they weren't spearheading it, then there would be no coverage or united front. That is what they peddle.

While I don't have an issue with the Water Charges, and I take massive issue with some of the protesting methods and stupidity of it in parts, I'm pretty clear that the real drivers behind the protests, the canvassing and the social media fronts are all individual citizens not aligned to any parties.

Daly's policies, ideologies and solutions are so flakey they would never pass any sort of scrutiny. She has never to my knowledge provided anything tangible, because she knows that her support is based on being the two finger salute to the establishment. She will never initiate change on a scale, or make any sort of achievement outside of the parish pump stuff(which I rarely here happening anyway, O'Brien is the Fingal parish pumper sorting people their medical cards and various stuff) so to me she is nothing less then a charlatan and a fraud.

She appears to be excellent at twisting peoples anger and directing it in ways that make people feel their problems and issues are everyone elses fault but their own, and its usually aimed at the wealthy being the problem.

I should for transparency outline my sheer disgust for the woman. Apart from her horrible stunt grabbing tactics like Shannon, or equating her Guarda escorted visit to prison on par with Syrian refugees, she completely slandered a large population of swords.

My parents were working class and worked extremely hard to provide my sister and me opportunities and benefits they could never afford. Opportunities only available in a capitalist economy, not in her dystopian socialist universe. And when we moved into Glen Ellen as one of the first familys in the estate, she saw fit to go on a campaign about how residents moving there were upper class silver spooners who were oppressing the working class, and that area should have been zoned for social housing. I know we were especially disgusted as my grand father was a pioneer of the union movement in a public service and worked tirelessly to improve workers welfare and rights and was also actively involved in Crumlin on social issues.

Daly herself knows she will never have any real pressure to deliver, only needing to pull a stunt every now and again to portray herself as the establishment's nemesis. I can't believe that her supporters actually WANT a socialist creation she envisages, so she very much has made a pretty nice career of just being the establishments boogey man

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Another here who cannot stand Clare Daly, last person I'd vote for.

She'll not even get a preference from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Hasn't metro north been quite a damp squib this time around, or am I imaging it. Also the airport expansion plans. Have heard little on these major transport changes, whenever they do actually happen, if will be an issue in fingal within 5 years.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

With regard to the Metro, nobody would believe a word any candidate would say at this point. We'll believe it when we see it actually happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Hasn't metro north been quite a damp squib this time around, or am I imaging it. Also the airport expansion plans. Have heard little on these major transport changes, whenever they do actually happen, if will be an issue in fingal within 5 years.

I remember Reilly and Farell banging on about it big time last election. And its all been scrapped if I'm not mistaken, with some piddly alternative being provided.

Scrapped might not be the word, but I believe its been shelved indefinitly. They will make something to link Swords to the Airport, and the investment is going into a link from City Centre to the airport, cause that is what we really need....

I don't travel to town anymore for the last few years since I moved job, but I thought the Swords Express was brilliant, and was happy paying that little extra for the comfort and speed. I had to go into Town in December for a course, and used the S.Express and it was still as brilliant as I remembered.

I think it will very much depend on speeds and cost, but it looks like Swords will go on another decade or so without any form of rail integration.

I currently work out the M50 way, so public transport a no go for me anyway so its not a massive interest of mine. More interested with the absolute state of the M50 on a near daily basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Re: Clare Daly, she has done an awful lot on the ground for the pyrite resolution scheme, stretching back before the last election if memory serves me right. I don't think that we would be at the point where we are now (i.e. remediation works well under way) were it not for the work and pressure she has applied in the Dáil and on the ground. No doubt that others will try to claim credit for that.

She has also been at the forefront of highlighting animal welfare issues along with a few other independent TDs.

I personally don't support her brand of left wing politics and antics but she's a good person and I believe that national parliaments need people like herself and Joe Higgins to keep the establishment on their toes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/metro-north-projected-to-start-running-in-12-years-time-1.2371793

I know this is the NCD forum but I think that's a sensible decision. I'm glad parties aren't going to the electorate promising to spend €3bn in one small area of the country.

The budget for 2015 was essentially balanced

http://www.finance.gov.ie/sites/default/files/Final%20Exchequer%20Statement%20-%20December%202015.pdf

but that included €3.1bn one offs - €1.6bn re the Sale of Bank of Ireland shares by the Pension Reserve fund and €1.54bn re the redemption of AIB preference shares.

So big picture we still have a budget deficit and promising a €3bn+ spend in one locality isn't feasible.

I'd be fairly peeved if I lived anywhere else in the country and that was the case.

I say all that being one of the biggest advocates of cutting current expenditure over capital expenditure (and not the other way around as has happened as it's an easier target with less protests/moaning) - we clearly need to invest in our infrastructure and make Dublin a more modern european city.

However making such a commitment off the back of 6 years of budget deficits would be irresponsible at present.

I think if the bigger picture improves the project will be brought forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I think the bookies and other predictors like Ivan Yates, are a bit premature in assuming SF's countrywide vote percentage will be replicated by SF candidate Louise O'Reilly. Clearly if it did, she would be a shoe-in. But as someone parachuted in from outside the constituency and with no track record, I'm not sure the people of Fingal will plump for her automatically.

There's plenty of left of centre choice for those of that persuasion, even after Daly and despite no Social Democrat candidate.

Barry Martin, Joe O'Brien, Tony Murphy, Terry Kelleher all have some Fingal record (of differing measure depending on your outlook) they can stand behind. Personally I think Joe O'Brien of the Greens is a very good candidate.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

While I wouldn't be as left wing as Joe Higgins I always admired him & his fight for the working man/woman (as opposed to the working class - important distinction). When he distanced himself from Ms Daly it said a lot to me.

Her populist antics with Mick Wallace over the course of the last Dáil did nothing to get her a vote from me this time around either.

I expect high standards from those I vote for. So much so that I wouldn't even vote for myself. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭dslamjack

Originally posted by Arthur Daley Hasn't metro north been quite a damp squib this time around, or am I imaging it. Also the airport expansion plans. Have heard little on these major transport changes, whenever they do actually happen, if will be an issue in fingal within 5 years.

These 2 issues will have a major bearing on NCD in the next 5/10 years.
    The NCD area will bear the brunt of any future urban expansion in the Dublin region by virtue of the fact,that it has the largest area of undeveloped land in the vicinity of the city.
    The NCD area will warrant the spending of at least 3/4 billion euro's on infrastructure in the next decade,the cost of a new runway(already has planning) will cost 300 million,the completion of metro north by 2026 2.5 billion at today's prices,official government figure.
    Sewage and water new builds to service new development lands for housing/industry etc being conservative another 300 million and that is leaving out the roads.
    A major part of the water issue will be the issue's of a new reservoir or water distribution,where and how and the Shannon water pipeline feed for Dublin and it's cost, it will also form part of the Shannon flood relief scheme,if any thing is ever done about it.
    The Ballymun regeneration which was stopped mid scheme,is estimated to be around 500 million euro's to complete,which will be mainly social/affordable housing.
    And that is leaving out the ancillary cost's of hospital's,schools etc , I may have criticised the inland route of the M1 in the past,but it was done with the precise intention of opening up development corridor's to the east and west of it.
    The rectangle of land between the M1 and M2 from Swords westwards to Ballycoolin in north Finglas and northwards to Ashbourne and back across to Ballbriggan will see the largest emphasis for development in the next decade in my view.
    It will be interesting to see how the new F.C.C draft development plan 2017/23 pan's out in relation to this and future county development.
    One thing is for sure Dublin and it's population needs this basic infrastructure in place in order for it to expand and if we are not careful the N.C.D area will become a concrete jungle just like the south County Dublin area,only they had the mountains to curtail the sprawl.

• Registered Users Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

The only issue I have with housing development in north co dublin is that it has the most fertile soil in the country, which is why it's the most important region for growing veg and crops. cementing over all that would have a greater impact than people realise i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

There would be more than enough homes for everyone in this city and county of certain people got over their irrational fear of high-rise buildings. It's absurd that there are apartments allowed to be built in fields in rural Ireland. Then the dwellers of said apartments join the traffic jams every day...

A good article in the Irish Times about using all your preferences to get people in & keep others out...

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/why-it-pays-to-vote-all-the-way-down-the-ballot-paper-1.2548241

That was one of the biggest crimes against nature committed in N.C.D during the Septic Tiger,some of the best farmland in the world turned in to carparks etc.
    There was of course the knee jerk reaction to high rise building after the mistakes of Ballymun,and in fairness while in my view high rise dwellings don't make for good family envoiriment's,they have their use's.
    People were of the opinion, the flat's in Ballymun would have been ideal for single person/student accommodation or for starter home's for couple's starting out.
    They were also of the opinion that the scheme should have been near completion before any demolition of the old units took place.
    The thinking about the 4 storey limit was understandable in the initial inner city area and immediate mature suburb's.
    You only have to look at the monstrosity that is the Central Bank and worse still ,Dublin's worse eyesore Hawkins House or O'Connell Bridge House.
    There is a of course a case for tastefully designed high rise building's along the lines of London's --Shard or The Gherkin ,even in the outer suburb's ,4 storey apartment's could have risen to 10 storey block's without their being problems.
    The stalled Belmaine project below would be an example of this,however developer's have not learned one single iota from the last crash and the lousy planning that went with it.
    You only have to look at the Station Construction Ltd application for planning on a small greenfield site adjacent to Lusk Village,talk about chancing your arm,they are only short of asking for a launch pad to launch apartment's in to space.
    So yes planning issue's are here to stay with us for the considerable future,so we can only hope that this time around our councillor's, listen to their communities and planner's instead of their pocket's,and as LeoB said put right first what they did wrong in the first place and learn and do things right from the start.
    I'm not speaking for LeoB ,but they could do with putting a new road and footpath up to St Maur's GAA club in Rush,and on the subject of Rush,it must have the least amount of footpath per road mile in N.C.D,for some weird reason back in the day F.C.C did not think the people of Rush needed footpath's to walk on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

I really hope we dont have a building boom in NCD. We have had enough building in this area with little or no infrastructure to go with it and until such time as they have in place a sewage scheme that works with sufficient capacity not a block should be laid.

Also schools with space and and a playground fit for purpose.

I am now definitely not voting F.G after word came through that the proposed new school for St. Michaels house in Skerries has been put back to at least 2018/19 despite Minister Reilly taking a "personal" interest in it.

How the fcuk do we manage to make life so hard for the people who need us most?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

dslamjack wrote: »
    That was one of the biggest crimes against nature committed in N.C.D during the Septic Tiger,some of the best farmland in the world turned in to carparks etc.
    Agree with this. Its shameful to see how great farmland has been turned in concrete slabs. We need to identify what areas should be a green belt.
    You only have to look at the monstrosity that is the Central Bank and worse still ,Dublin's worse eyesore Hawkins House or O'Connell Bridge House.
    There is a of course a case for tastefully designed high rise building's along the lines of London's --Shard or The Gherkin ,even in the outer suburb's ,4 storey apartment's could have risen to 10 storey block's without their being problems.
    The stalled Belmaine project below would be an example of this,however developer's have not learned one single iota from the last crash and the lousy planning that went with it.
    You only have to look at the Station Construction Ltd application for planning on a small greenfield site adjacent to Lusk Village,talk about chancing your arm,they are only short of asking for a launch pad to launch apartment's in to space.
    High rise can work in a lot of other countries. It is quite common in countries to see 4 to 10 story blocks but around them they have playgrounds and open space, not the mess we made of Ballymun. Maybe Not suitable for young families but I dont see why they cant work in a decent environment. The size of any future development should also be capped to give people a chance to settle in. It is ok for locals but it must be a testing time for families making a new start. Smaller developments might help and give people time to mix a little more.
    I'm not speaking for LeoB ,but they could do with putting a new road and footpath up to St Maur's GAA club in Rush,and on the subject of Rush,it must have the least amount of footpath per road mile in N.C.D,for some weird reason back in the day F.C.C did not think the people of Rush needed footpath's to walk on.

I wrote as far back as 1984 looking for lights (They were never going to put a path there) from Kenure lawns to St. Maurs and from Palmer ave to St. Maurs to make the club house more accessible to all residents not just the people with cars.We were looking about 5 lights on Rush side and 6 on Palmer Rd side. Funny thing is Fingall gave a substantial grant to St. Maurs when the club was built but could not see the value or need of lights or a path. People would not let their kids walk up to Badminton, Squash, Handball or Basketball and there was at the time about 15 juvenile teams. We have bits of paths in places some of which are in an awful state. However we locals dont kick up enough of a fuss about it. The community council could do more to organise residents associations around the town. They are a small dedicated group and perhaps by getting people to take more responsibility for their areas we would see an improvement. Some great walks around the town and footpaths might encourage more people to get out.

Vote cast at half 7 this morning. Great to get it done early.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,349 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I'll be heading up myself soon, the joys of being home based!

Vote early, vote often! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

Vote early, vote often! :pac:

I'v a spare polling card, if anyone needs it.:D

One little fecker flew to Rome this morning for a stag weekend.:cool:

<Mod snip> Unfortunately, due to Sean Sherlock's law we cannot allow full newspaper articles to be published. The first paragraph accompanied by a link to the original is ok.

tHB

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭jwwb

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Voted first thing;

1) Renua
    2) & 3) FineGael
    4) Indapendant
    5) & 6) Fianna Fail
    7) The Greens
    8) Labor

Wouldn't give the steam off my piss to Sinn Fein (IRA) or those loony left Anti Profit clowns, never mind a preference.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Voted first thing;

1) Renua
    2) & 3) FineGael
    4) Indapendant
    5) & 6) Fianna Fail
    7) The Greens
    8) Labor

Wouldn't give the steam off my piss to Sinn Fein (IRA) or those loony left Anti Profit clowns, never mind a preference.

Austerity for all, YAY!

Vote Right2change parties as all the above are only out for themselves and the wealthy, sick and tired of this corrupt Fianna Fail/Fine Gael merry go round in this country.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

Voted first thing

Wouldn't give the steam off my piss to Sinn Fein (IRA) never mind a preference.

Slab Murphy just got 18 months in the slammer

I would say all the SF candidates around the country, are thinking, why today of all days.

cowzerp wrote: »
    Austerity for all, YAY!

Vote Right2change parties as all the above are only out for themselves and the wealthy, sick and tired of this corrupt Fianna Fail/Fine Gael merry go round in this country.

It's a pity I didn't read this earlier - would really have swung me with the brilliant and intelligent reasoning!!

I've looked at the right2change website.

- Would you not call Mick Wallace corrupt? (False Vat 3's)

- What about Gerry Adams? (his good republican comments and defence of Slab? Not to mention his 'association' with a terrorist organisation?)

- Hasn't Clare Daly not paid a fine imposed by a court and spent time in jail as a result?

I could go on and on.

Anyway it's nothing to do with corruption. FF made a mess of the economy hence the €17bn budget deficit inherited by the current government. Did you expect no austerity as a result? You do know their hands were tied by the IMF for pretty much 3 of the 5 years?

There was no austerity in 2015 (see the USC on your payslips for example) and none of the parties are campaigning on the basis of any over the next 5 years.

Or perhaps you'd point me to one that is?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

It's a pity I didn't read this earlier - would really have swung me with the brilliant and intelligent reasoning!!

I've looked at the right2change website.

- Would you not call Mick Wallace corrupt? (False Vat 3's)

- What about Gerry Adams? (his good republican comments and defence of Slab? Not to mention his 'association' with a terrorist organisation?)

- Hasn't Clare Daly not paid a fine imposed by a court and spent time in jail as a result?

I could go on and on.

Anyway it's nothing to do with corruption. FF made a mess of the economy hence the €17bn budget deficit inherited by the current government. Did you expect no austerity as a result? You do know their hands were tied by the IMF for pretty much 3 of the 5 years?

There was no austerity in 2015 (see the USC on your payslips for example) and none of the parties are campaigning on the basis of any over the next 5 years.

Or perhaps you'd point me to one that is?

you are the problem with this country, no recession, what do you call the homeless crisis, the trolley crisis, the massive waiting lists for health issues, im over 2 years waiting on nose surgery, Hands were tied were they? well then why lie to get in that they'd sort out the trolley crisis, burn bondholders, not pursue water charges etc, They are liars and scammers who control the media through RTE and Denis o Brien and you have been duped.

Sheep will be sheep.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

cowzerp wrote: »
    you are the problem with this country, no recession, what do you call the homeless crisis, the trolley crisis, the massive waiting lists for health issues, im over 2 years waiting on nose surgery, Hands were tied were they? well then why lie to get in that they'd sort out the trolley crisis, burn bondholders, not pursue water charges etc, They are liars and scammers who control the media through RTE and Denis o Brien and you have been duped.

Sheep will be sheep.[/QUOTE

And and condition would the health service be in if Sinn Fein or some other Syriza wanna be champagne socialist crowd got in ? Would consultants stay paying their draconian wealth tax's ? the policies of these parties is based purely in fantasy , communism has failed everywhere it has been implemented because, the best leave or are killed for opposing the regime.

The economy is up over 7% and one of the fastest growing in Europe, private housing is being built again (not at the rate required but its happening) , unemployment is way down, the pension is up a small amount.

I don't often agree with Kenny but i feel his comments about us being a nation of permanent wingers. i don't want to fork out any more tax for social housing etc thank's very much , i'm paying plenty as is.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Well argued B3. Austerity - the most over and miss used word of the decade. What was the waiting list for these operations 10, 20 years ago. Medical procedures and outcomes continue to improve almost monthly. But we choose to forget this. I seriously doubt that getting 50 beds into a ward in drogheda and beaumont is blocked by 'austerity' but instead it's blocked by cynical tactics and sectional interest that is disgraceful. Tackle the real root causes of the problems if you want reform.

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭jwwb

martinn123 wrote: »
    Slab Murphy just got 18 months in the slammer

I would say all the SF candidates around the country, are thinking, why today of all days.

That was an extraordinary coincidence that it was today of all days.