Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Peds Peddler - 400m & The Mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Trained well on Tuesday despite having a cold, but then on Thursday I could barely run. Frustrating stuff, was meant to race 800m as a guest at the indoor league on Sat but have decided to skip it as there's clearly something amiss.

BLAH :/

200's @ 32-34
    600's @ 1.48, blew up on last rep

Time trial

500m approx 77, messed up watch so not sure
    400m 58 sec

Happy with that considering the month I've had. Race next sat which will give me a good blow out before leinsters.

Indoor league round 2 guest 400m

Delighted with that. I thought maybe 56 today and 55 at leinsters would be a good start to the year after the chest infection. I got out of the blocks well, 26.3 for 200, I notice watching the video that when I start to slow coming up to the last bend I left it too late before picking it up again. Will need to be more on the ball next time. But stil, second fastest race I've had so can't complain too much.

Absolutely shattered now, body is in ribbons. Good to be back

AAI Games Senior 400m

Got a chance to run in our lovely new stadium, there was a lot of people there so I was more nervous than usual. Also I knew I was running senior which could well mean coming last by a long shot. Plan was rather than wait for the last bend before picking it up(stop slowing down) i decided id push on going down the back straight. As you will see from the video I was in last by the first bend but at least that was to be expected so there was no panic, just kept to the plan. Passed 2 guys in the last 100m which was definitely a first so that was good craic. Nice to be involved in a race for a change rather than another time trial.

Happy with the time although I had a better lane than I had in Athlone. But on the other hand there was traffic in this race so maybe it evens out. Happy out anyway, will try my best for 54 at Leinsters.

AAI GAMES Senior 400m HEat 4

Nation League Round 2 Guest 400m Athlone

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Wow, I'm very impressed with you passing those two guys at that stage of the race! Brilliant stuff. The plan definitely came together! And yes wouldn't having to move into Lane 2 on the bend account for the time? Well done.

Mulberry wrote: »
    Wow, I'm very impressed with you passing those two guys at that stage of the race! Brilliant stuff. The plan definitely came together! And yes wouldn't having to move into Lane 2 on the bend account for the time? Well done.

Yeah maybe so Mulberry, thanks

Leinster senior 400m

Was really hoping for the 54 today, pretty disappointed. I thought having run 55.08 2 weeks before that with an easy week I would be good for 54. Blah. 53 sec feels a long way away right now, a low 54 might be a more accurate expectation for the summer.

2 weeks off now, really looking forward to doing a couple of 800s when I get back. Try and get a pb and nice change from the 400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

IvoryTower wrote: »
    Leinster senior 400m

Was really hoping for the 54 today, pretty disappointed. I thought having run 55.08 2 weeks before that with an easy week I would be good for 54. Blah. 53 sec feels a long way away right now, a low 54 might be a more accurate expectation for the summer.

2 weeks off now, really looking forward to doing a couple of 800s when I get back. Try and get a pb and nice change from the 400

I thought you ran well, and finished strongly which was good. Hard to race well after waiting around for so many hours. 53 in the summer is still well on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Leinster senior 400m

Very very hard to run to your best in such a mess of an event. Standing around waiting for heat upon heat of endless masters races will test anyone's patience. Next year target Nationals and do Leinsters for fun. It's too much of a farce of a meet to deserve being your target event.

You ran well in any case.

Thanks lads appreciate it.

I saw your race and thought you ran really well.

I didn't get my times either, and am inclined to agree with Chivito - the waiting around etc. may have taken its toll.

Thanks mulberry, come 250m I def didn't feel as strong as I did 2 weeks ago, maybe faster first 200. Anyway I'll not dwell on it, 2 weeks of beer and mcdonalds and then back to work :)

So back after a nice break. 2 weeks of training done and I feel good. Breathing a bit heavy on the longer reps than id like. My lifts are very slowly coming along in the gym, I think if i wasnt so cautious id lift a bit more but i'm happy to settle for small strength increases and no injuries.

Comparison to November Gym

Yesterday

Squat 50, 60, 70kg (8 reps)
    Lunge 50kg (8 reps)
    RDL 60, 70, 80kg (8 reps)

Mary Street Hill sprints 5 x 28, 5 x 29

November
    Squats 45, 55, 65 (6 reps)
    Lunge 35
    Good morning 50
    Rdl 60

Marys street hill 29-30 sec

Squat 55, 65, 75 x6
    Lunge 55 x6
    RDL 70, 80, 90 x6

3 gym pb's there by lowering the reps, I do feel a little broken today though so I won't be trying to up the weight for a couple of weeks at least.

Marys Hill - 1 x 30, 8 x 28, 1 x 29 best hill session yet by a longshot

My 1200s were atrocious. Don't feel fit, strong,but not fit. Running a mile race tomorrow so will see where i'm at, will aim for the pb which I think is 5.19

Squat 50, 60, 70kg (8 reps)
    Lunge 50kg (8 reps)
    RDL 60, 70, 80kg (8 reps)

Mary Street Hill sprints 5 x 28, 5 x 29

November

Mile Trial

TLTR - 5.05!

Here we go, possibly my fave distance albeit certainly not my best! My pb was 5.19 and while I don't feel fit at the moment I feel strong, between the gym and hill sessions I knew I was a lot stronger than before but at the same time id say id run a bad 5k right now. The aim was 5.10, id have been happy with a pb though. I wrote 100m splits for 5.10 on my hand for just the first 2 laps and followed them almost spot on so as to prevent a blow up, on the 3rd lap i just kept up what i felt was the same pace although id say it was bit faster, I picked it up a little then for the last 400 and sprinted the last 200 passing a couple of lads out, always the best part of the race for a sprinter :) Anyway delighted with 5.05, I think sub 5min would be there for me if I had a pacer, i'll just keep doing what im doing and im sure it will come eventually. Did i say i love the mile? I LOVE IT!

Training Update

Bit of news on the training front. Due to life commitments I had been training on my own for a few months but i found another sprint group that train on the days I'm available and the club have given me their blessing to train with them. It's a senior 400m group with a couple of girls running around my pace so hopefully this will help push me on that little bit more.

Dublin Graded 800m B Race

PB - 2.14

The plan was for this to me my one and only 800 this year so I was a bit nervous about messing it up. The coach had me doing 300 reps on Sunday at race pace which would have given me a 2.08, they felt harder than id hoped but I was hoping that was due to the gym on Sat. I decided to side with caution and wear a stop watch to get my rhythm in the first 200m. Watching the C race before I noticed most of them would have finished ahead of me so I knew to expect to be near the back and not to panic. I lined up in lane 6 after someone showed me where to stand for the 800 (amateur hour :) )

Off we went, almost everyone had surged ahead of me by the end of the bend and i joined the back of the pile, looked at my watch 16 secs, grand, stayed in outside of lane 1 to 200 and checked again, 32, GRAND! I heard the guy call 64 as I passed the line so all good, coming around the back I felt fine, it started to get a little tougher then on the back straight where I tried to pick it up a little, then 200m to go, there was basically a line of people from here to 100m ahead of me, in my head I was going to kick on now and pass all of them out, this was it, 400m guy has his moment, off i went, with about 150m to go i could feel the lactic building, 100m to go it was full on, at least im fairly used to this feeling so I just keep driving as best I can, checked the watch as I went over the line 2.07, delighted. As I started the watch after hearing the bang I think it was 2.08, just waiting on confirmation now.

TLTR - 2.08 PB

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Oiriallach

Well done on the PB!
    Was just wondering where your new training group is based (Dublin maybe?) as I'm not aware of there being too many good senior 400m runners in the Drogheda area.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

Well done, nice improvement from last year. I was in the B race last night too. It was a perfect night for it.

I know you were using the watch to get your pace, but in future, you're better off without it. The time you spend starting it/concentrating on it is time lost. Not much but it all counts, especially if you're sharing a lane.

All the best with the 400m training.

Oiriallach wrote: »
    Well done on the PB!
    Was just wondering where your new training group is based (Dublin maybe?) as I'm not aware of there being too many good senior 400m runners in the Drogheda area.

Yep, in Santry

vanderlyle wrote: »
    Well done, nice improvement from last year. I was in the B race last night too. It was a perfect night for it.

I know you were using the watch to get your pace, but in future, you're better off without it. The time you spend starting it/concentrating on it is time lost. Not much but it all counts, especially if you're sharing a lane.

All the best with the 400m training.

Yep I totally agree, the worst part is probably pacing the first 200m for 16 seconds when really i should be going hard for the first 50m, definitely lost time there. BUT, i only wanted to do the one 800m race so i decided to side with caution, get my pb and move on. If i get to do another one ill go for it!

and thank :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Training Update

Bit of news on the training front. Due to life commitments I had been training on my own for a few months but i found another sprint group that train on the days I'm available and the club have given me their blessing to train with them. It's a senior 400m group with a couple of girls running around my pace so hopefully this will help push me on that little bit more.

Dublin Graded 800m B Race

PB - 2.14

The plan was for this to me my one and only 800 this year so I was a bit nervous about messing it up. The coach had me doing 300 reps on Sunday at race pace which would have given me a 2.08, they felt harder than id hoped but I was hoping that was due to the gym on Sat. I decided to side with caution and wear a stop watch to get my rhythm in the first 200m. Watching the C race before I noticed most of them would have finished ahead of me so I knew to expect to be near the back and not to panic. I lined up in lane 6 after someone showed me where to stand for the 800 (amateur hour :) )

Off we went, almost everyone had surged ahead of me by the end of the bend and i joined the back of the pile, looked at my watch 16 secs, grand, stayed in outside of lane 1 to 200 and checked again, 32, GRAND! I heard the guy call 64 as I passed the line so all good, coming around the back I felt fine, it started to get a little tougher then on the back straight where I tried to pick it up a little, then 200m to go, there was basically a line of people from here to 100m ahead of me, in my head I was going to kick on now and pass all of them out, this was it, 400m guy has his moment, off i went, with about 150m to go i could feel the lactic building, 100m to go it was full on, at least im fairly used to this feeling so I just keep driving as best I can, checked the watch as I went over the line 2.07, delighted. As I started the watch after hearing the bang I think it was 2.08, just waiting on confirmation now.

TLTR - 2.08 PB
    Nicely done. It's a pity you are not doing more as there is good room for improvement.

dna_leri wrote: »
    Nicely done. It's a pity you are not doing more as there is good room for improvement.

Thanks dna_leri, Id like to try for sub 2 alright, the way i see it i plan on running for the rest of my life so I'd like to see how fast i can get over 400 before I move up. I think 800 is my fave race to watch and take part in, it would also allow me to get good at xc! I love 400m training though so it's all good.

Dublin graded Tallaght 200m

PB 25.44

Arrived in tallaght to realise the weather was absolutely perfect. The coach had said to expect tired legs but she still expected me to have a good run. So with the great conditions I knew I had to get sub 25. I entered the 1500 as well as I've never ran it before and thought it might be a good laugh

Was given lane 2, was delighted with my start, felt like I stayed low for a good while which has always been a problem of mine. Pushed for 50m, floated to 100m and pushed again, the tired leg kicked in badly with about 40 to go and the momentum just about took me over the line with a lot of wincing and tying up over the last 10m. 24.82 on the clock, very happy with that, wind reading of 2.6 but considering my tired legs I feel like it was a fair result. It bodes well on my quest to 53 for the 400.

Met my coach after and mentioned I entered the 1500, in a slightly more polite way told me I can go and **** if I run it lol

Running my first 400m of the summer in kildare champs this Sunday. Bad weather expected unfortunately.

TLTR - 24.82 wind +2.6

Kildare Championships - Senior 400m (Guest) - Le Cheile

As expected the weather was ****e but at this stage of the season I would rather run a hard race in the wind then stand around in rain for a couple of hours miserable! I jogged a couple of laps of the track to suss out the wind and i don't think it could have been worse. I had it in my head to just ignore the wind and run my race like normal, STICK TO THE PLAN

I was in lane 4 so I had to run into the wind on the first bend, then you had the wind on your back along the straight and for a moment you felt awesome, coming around the bend at 200m i think we were all pretty much in line, I definitely held off increasing the pace here until quite late because i was afraid I wouldn't have enough energy to get through the wind, i also held off kicking then until a bit later than usual, so much for following the plan! Anyway it seemed to work out pretty good, The last 60m was insane, I actually think I had my eyes closed for most of it, i'm not sure if it was cause of the wind or if I was just trying to ignore the pain, a spectator said i kicked well on the last straight but that i was slowing up bad in the last 20m. about 4 of us crossed the line all together with the leader then about a metre or two ahead. I would love to see a video of it but anyway I got my time of 54.78, a tiny pb but all things considered I think a very good result for me and a great week of racing.

TLTR - 54.78 Tiny pb

At my worst which is a lot of the time a day could be

Breakfast:Cereal
    Break:Chocolate
    Lunch:Fast food/ chicken wrap/roll
    4pm:Chocolate
    Dinner: meat, veg, spuds/chips, sometimes fast food/pizza
    After that: More chocolate/fizzy drink

I bet that's worse than you would've guessed!

So as you can see, proper chocolate addict! I changed breakfast to eggs/bacon for the last week and thats going well. Removing choc/fizz from today. I have tried that a few times, sometimes lasting weeks but fully off the wagon at the moment! I feel like I've more of a reason now with the running so I'm hoping that helps. I'll even keep a log of it here to keep pressure on myself not to give in. I don't think I can manage small amounts, it just leads to more

This gave me a good laugh :D now i'm still no saint but it has improved somewhat. A typical work day now looks more like

breakfast - 2 eggs with slice brown bread toasted
    break - protein shake
    lunch - small dinner from the likes of fit-foods(cheating but it works :) )
    dinner - meat, veg, spuds etc
    Later on - something sweet here, haven't managed to shake it completely im afraid :D

So sugar addiction is reserved mostly for evenings these days,I attempt to shake it now and again going a few days without it before it creeps back in :rolleyes:

Dublin graded 3 irishtown 400m c

With the lovely weather I had high hopes for this race. I didn't feel great in the warm up mind, legs feel asleep, like they need a good massage. I guess it's normal to be tired ebough this time of year while still training pretty hard.

I was late over to the "call room" so had to quickly set up my blocks, no time to think really, maybe a good thing. Start is a bit blurry, don't think I got out particularly well but all in all a pretty smooth 200m, 200 to 300 felt quite nice, picking it up a little as I go around the bend, I was a bit surprised that my legs felt okay, going down the straight rather than kick like last week I just tried to relax, that went smoothly although I felt I could have ran through the line better, last few metres felt a little half hearted, maybe I was just wrecked! I'll enter the b race next time as there was no one around me to drag me along

The clock said 54.01 but I later got my time of 54.46. Now this was a pretty big pb but I really had got my hopes up when I saw 54.01! Lesson learned the clock ain't always right, it def took some of the enjoyment out if my pb, was a bit gutted tbh. But I have to look at the positives, I'm getting faster and there's couple of months to go. I'll be lucky to run in weather that good again that's for sure.

Next up, the AAI games on Sunday

Tltr - 54.46 pb

AAI Games Senior 400m B Race

Soooooooo, like last week where i tried out not kicking at the end of my race this week i decided to try something else out. I always go hard for the first 50m and have often wondered is it taking too much out of me for the second 200m. So this time I tried to go on feel and started the cruise a little earlier, maybe 30-40m, when i felt up to speed. I noticed a huge difference on the back straight, i only felt lactic with 20m to go rather than 70-80m. BUT, i only ran 54.58, so no pb despite feeling great, maybe my first 200 wasn't fast enough or maybe i didn't make as much use of the energy i had in the back straight,something for me to think about. I think I have a bit more experimenting to do to find what works for me.

TLTR - 54.58 PB STREAK IS OVER!!!

Good stuff, keep it up. It's going to click one day this season and you'll run 53:XX.

Back in my 400m days, I used to run the first 80m flat out, then try to cruise (relaxed but fast) from 80m to 150m, then slow down a wee bit from 150m to 200m, and finally go flat out again from 200m to the finish. The markings on the track at 80m (start of 4x100m acceleration zone), 150m (green marks for 400m hurdles) and 200m (start of 200m race) enabled me to get the pace changes right regardless of which lane I was in.

honestly man if i went flat out for 80m id be on the floor at 250! i imagine you came from an endurance side?

I never found that a flat out first 80m troubled me later in the race. So long as I relaxed/slowed down sufficiently for the next 120m, I would have been OK. But going too fast on the back straight would have caused problems.

Another thing I tried a few times was not picking it up again until about 150m to go (rather than with 200m to go). The idea would have been to finish more strongly. But it never worked well for me as I think I was too knackered to lift the pace significantly at that point. With 200m to go, on the other hand, I was still relatively fresh (provided I had got the pace right on the back straight), so I could get some value out of my kick for home. I guess surviving the home straight without tying up badly was mainly a matter of having done enough good speed endurance sessions during the off-season.

I didn't come from an endurance side as in 800m or upwards, but I naturally had good speed endurance. When I started competing in the 100m and 200m in my early teens (without any specific training), my 200m times tended to be very close to double my 100m times. For example, at 13 I ran 28.5 in my first ever 200m race when my PB for 100m was only 14.3. But I was always rubbish at longer distances (even 800m).

Because my 200m was clearly better than my 100m, I eventually moved up to the 400m in my late teens and ended up with lifetime bests of 11.1/21.9/48.2. It was mostly hand timing back then - I guess you could add a couple of tenths onto those times to get the electronic timing equivalents!

Nice times.

Looking at this more and more i think part of my problem for me is pushing hard means tightening up my whole body, like for the first 50 im tensing everything trying to push hard, i need to learn to be able to accelerate without tensing up. Id say it will make an even bigger difference to my 200 cause I would "push" for most of that.

How did you find trying to relax while sprinting? Was it ever an issue for you?

I agree. You have to aim to be fast and relaxed at the same time, even when sprinting flat out. Being in any way tense and tightening up just slows you down.

Just work on it in training. When you're sprinting flat out in training, think first and foremost about being relaxed. Staying relaxed would also be the main thing on my mind just before the start of a race - I would consciously concentrate on letting that thought dominate my mind as the race was about to start.

I agree. You have to aim to be fast and relaxed at the same time, even when sprinting flat out. Being in any way tense and tightening up just slows you down.

Just work on it in training. When you're sprinting flat out in training, think first and foremost about being relaxed. Staying relaxed would also be the main thing on my mind just before the start of a race - I would consciously concentrate on letting that thought dominate my mind as the race was about to start.

I will try to do both those things, im far from relaxed before my race :pac: . Appreciate the advice Oiriallach

I never found that a flat out first 80m troubled me later in the race. So long as I relaxed/slowed down sufficiently for the next 120m, I would have been OK. But going too fast on the back straight would have caused problems.

Another thing I tried a few times was not picking it up again until about 150m to go (rather than with 200m to go). The idea would have been to finish more strongly. But it never worked well for me as I think I was too knackered to lift the pace significantly at that point. With 200m to go, on the other hand, I was still relatively fresh (provided I had got the pace right on the back straight), so I could get some value out of my kick for home. I guess surviving the home straight without tying up badly was mainly a matter of having done enough good speed endurance sessions during the off-season.

I didn't come from an endurance side as in 800m or upwards, but I naturally had good speed endurance. When I started competing in the 100m and 200m in my early teens (without any specific training), my 200m times tended to be very close to double my 100m times. For example, at 13 I ran 28.5 in my first ever 200m race when my PB for 100m was only 14.3. But I was always rubbish at longer distances (even 800m).

Because my 200m was clearly better than my 100m, I eventually moved up to the 400m in my late teens and ended up with lifetime bests of 11.1/21.9/48.2. It was mostly hand timing back then - I guess you could add a couple of tenths onto those times to get the electronic timing equivalents!

Interesting stuff. When I trained for 400, my 200 time was generally very close to double my 100 time. Now that I'm training for 100 and 200, my 200 is more like 2.03 times my 100 when I run them both on the same day. Maybe it's because my speed and power has improved which makes more of a difference in the 100 than 200. My actual 100 PB had a barely legal wind so it's now well ahead of my 200 (12.20 to 25.10). Would love to get that 200 back closer to double. Doesn't seem that easy to manage though.

"Special endurance" session yesterday, second time doing a session like this, it's actually the hardest thing ever ever EVER. Thankfully mine was cut short as I've 2 races this week. It started with 300 meter all out which I clocked 37(wind assisted on straight) according to coach. It makes me think i'm in 53 shape I just need to get the race right. It also makes me think i need to go hard, if i get to 300 in 38 seconds I'm (almost)certain i could do 15 for the last 100. Just need to be braver, relax and stay relaxed for the last 100.

Some early morning thoughts before i head off to a wedding and hopefully dont undo too much good work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Good running. A 37s 300m would put you in range of 51/52s 400m imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

honestly man if i went flat out for 80m id be on the floor at 250! i imagine you came from an endurance side?

The key to 400m running is being able to hold close to full speed while running 'relaxed'. In my opinion anyway. A caveat would be that you must also have the prerequisite basic speed. Given your recent training 300m time, you certainly have the speed right now to run 52.x at least.

Good training to practice this would be: 4-6 x 150m at ~90% effort, and 'ins & outs' where you set up alternating zones of 15-30m with cones
    1. accelerate, 2. 100% effort, 3. 'relax' (try not to slow down), 4. 100% effort 5. 'relax' again

Try 4-6 of these with long recoveries.

To address what others have posted regarding effort over the first part of the race, I would agree that full effort, or very close to full effort is required over the first 60-80m in order to get you up to speed. From there until 250m you are trying to hold this while minimising energy expenditure (hence 'relaxed'), 250m-320m you want to start winding up towards full effort again, and the last 80m is holding on for dear life. At least that is the strategy I try to use :)

Thanks oregano appreciate the help.

We have done those sessions so that's good to hear. Going to try similar strategy on Wed so will see how it goes...

Dublin graded morton stadium 400m B

What a miserable night for it. Rain, wind, cold, after spending the whole day excited to race when I got there it was hard to feel enthusiastic about running. The warm up area was jammed as everyone was hiding from the rain. I misjudged my food and with 30 min until race as feeling very sick with hunger.
    My friend ran her SB just before I was to race so that gave me hope that despite the weather I could do well.

So the plan was to go out hard but relaxed, pick it up at 250 and stay relaxed for last 100. At 200 I could feel pain creeping in which I've never felt so tbh I felt this race was done for already. Stuck with the plan and picked it up around 250, the whole last 100 was pure lactic, just trying to relax and keep the arms moving. Ran alongside someone the whole straight which helped I think. Afterwards I was disgusted with everything, felt I'd gone too hard and the wind felt like it was hitting me from all angles. Got my result eventually, 53.54, a one second pb yeeeaaaaaahhhhhh! Couldn't believe it, still can't tbh. All goals for the year ticked by June, going to really enjoy my races until end of the season, pressure is off but still chances to pb again.

TLTR: 53.54 epic pb!

Was up myself and had you clocked at 53:xx but didn't want to say anything in case I was wrong! Well done

pconn062 wrote: »
    Was up myself and had you clocked at 53:xx but didn't want to say anything in case I was wrong! Well done

Thanks pconn you're a good omen, do you fancy a trip to belfast on sat for the NI champs :D

A one second pb! Class! Well done IT! I was just leaving (had almost disappeared over the hill) when I looked back and there you were coming out of the blocks. I was a bit far away but thought I could see you struggle a little on the last 100, so was wondering how it'd gone for you. Fantastic. A whole second!

Mulberry wrote: »
    A one second pb! Class! Well done IT! I was just leaving (had almost disappeared over the hill) when I looked back and there you were coming out of the blocks. I was a bit far away but thought I could see you struggle a little on the last 100, so was wondering how it'd gone for you. Fantastic. A whole second!

Thanks Mulberry, looking forward to when you actually introduce yourself :D

They officially gave me 54.54 in the results but upon inspection they mixed me in the B1 race with the guy in same lane in B2 race. I was absolutely panicking until I looked closer at it :mad:

The last 100 were hard alright but my feeling is it pays to get to 300 in a fast time cause the last 100 is always going to hurt pretty bad so just keep the form and wing it until the end! Anyway the learning continues :) Hope your race went well

Thanks Mulberry, looking forward to when you actually introduce yourself :D

They officially gave me 54.54 in the results but upon inspection they mixed me in the B1 race with the guy in same lane in B2 race. I was absolutely panicking until I looked closer at it :mad:

The last 100 were hard alright but my feeling is it pays to get to 300 in a fast time cause the last 100 is always going to hurt pretty bad so just keep the form and wing it until the end! Anyway the learning continues :) Hope your race went well

Ha! I'm trying to line up the babysitter for next Thursday so I can do your 200, fingers crossed. By the way I'm Roisin from Dunboyne, come over and introduce yourself at any race (right back at ya!). I don't know what you look like close up - I only know you're the only red vest in the senior 400!

My 100 the other night was a mess, I couldn't get my form right, almost stumbled twice, did a crap time and came last. But it was fun! I need to race more. Hence D&D next week hopefully!

okay great stuff deffo see you next week so! we can discuss then :)

First off...

My result from wed is still up in the air, spoke to a guy I train with who thinks there was a mix up that was rectified giving me the 54.54. But I'm still hopeful so ill just have to wait and see when they recheck for me.

NI Champs 400m guest

So with wed in mind I knew I had to knock this out of the park. It wasn't long before that became very doubtful. Unknown to me the timetable had changed, I was going for a walk around the track when I met chivito who told me to double check times as races had been moved(thanks for that). Turned out I was to race, in ten minutes! I quickly grabbed spikes, vest and ran to call room. I was fairly rattled at this stage but I done what I could, they were a few minutes behind so I got about 10 min warm up in the call room and 2-3 short strides out the back.

I tried to replicate Wednesdays race and it actually felt the exact same, even the wind, up until about 50m to go, I blew up pretty bad and was very tense on the final straight.

54.13. Not sure how I feel about it. I suppose it probably depends on Wed result. A week ago it would have been a great result. I'm not sure if 2 days rest between races is enough for me either so that may have played a part. Also the warm up of course, I didn't get injured so maybe that didn't matter too much.

TLTR - 54.13

Results updated from dublin graded - 53.54 , off to celebrate, again :)

Dublin graded Tallaght 200m B Race

What appeared to be a beautiful evening for a race turned out to be my windiest race to date. Trust Tallaght stadium to make the most of what seemed like a nothing wind everywhere else. I got a nice middle lane, I think it was 5, felt good coming out of the blocks but I straightened up too soon. I think we had a tailwind for the first 10-20 metres, then around the corner into a pretty strong headwind, 4.2 according to the results. I felt good right up until the last few metres, stayed relaxed, i recovered after the race very quickly as well. When I saw my result I was very happy but a bit cautious due to the recent mix up and also there were quite a few people complaining that they had the wrong times etc. So with that in mind I went home without really getting to enjoy my pb, official times were uploaded today and no change so 24.82, -4.2 wind. My pb was 25.xx and earlier in the summer I ran an illegal 24.82 , +2.6 wind. I'll run a couple of more 200's and hopefully get some luck with the weather.

Next up IMC Belfast on Saturday

Dublin graded Tallaght 200m B Race

What appeared to be a beautiful evening for a race turned out to be my windiest race to date. Trust Tallaght stadium to make the most of what seemed like a nothing wind everywhere else. I got a nice middle lane, I think it was 5, felt good coming out of the blocks but I straightened up too soon. I think we had a tailwind for the first 10-20 metres, then around the corner into a pretty strong headwind, 4.2 according to the results. I felt good right up until the last few metres, stayed relaxed, i recovered after the race very quickly as well. When I saw my result I was very happy but a bit cautious due to the recent mix up and also there were quite a few people complaining that they had the wrong times etc. So with that in mind I went home without really getting to enjoy my pb, official times were uploaded today and no change so 24.82, -4.2 wind. My pb was 25.xx and earlier in the summer I ran an illegal 24.82 , +2.6 wind. I'll run a couple of more 200's and hopefully get some luck with the weather.

Next up IMC Belfast on Saturday

Just count your PBs regardless of whether wind was illegal or not for the 200m. You're not looking for qualification standards, and the wind reading in 200m is incredibly flawed as it only measures a tiny portion of the race on the straight and doesn't take into account the bend. You could have a +2.1 reading yet have run into a gale on the bend, or you could get a +2.0 and have a silly wind at your back on the bend. Both have happened to me in the last year. Ridiculous how the first is illegal while the second one isn't even though the second wind was far more helpful than the first. Wind in the 100m is much more straightforward and accurate.

End of rant.