Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fire at a halting site in Dublin *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A terrible tragedy, a whole family wiped out it seems.
    Sympathies to the relatives and a thought also for the emergency services who have had to deal with devastating tragedy.
    RIP

They will probably need counselling after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

and a thought also for the emergency services who have had to deal with devastating tragedy.
    RIP

Indeed. Must have been awful to witness / work at.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Dreadful tragedy RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭SKETT

Mech1 wrote: »

So sad :( RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

Awful tragedy, RIP to those poor families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

What else should I talk about? It is an unregulated part of society. Would you like me to engage in the faux sympathy here and ignore the problems?

You can go on any countless number of threads if you feel you have to type something. When ever I passed it that halting site wasn't some washing machine ridden mess that everyone associates with travellers.

There's infant kids dead here. Just show even a sliver of class and bite your tongue.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Mod

As has been said a few times now, Kermit.de.frog has been banned from this thread. Please don't reply to any of his posts, as he won't be able to see or answer your replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Awful tragedy, between the fire in Dublin and the terrorist attack in Ankara, it has been a very sad day with all the lives that have been lost.
    My prayers and condolences for all affected.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Horrible tragedy. RIP and condolences to their family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Holy sh*t.. I was away competing in a Judo championship so I was away from news sources.

First bad news of the day, my son has been involved in a serious road traffic accident but luckily there are no injuries (I thanked the heavens for that one), but then I read about all these people killed like this, and so many children ~ tbh I'm gutted.

I can hardly fathom what this does to a family and indeed the wider community.

May their poor sweet souls rest in eternal peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Was up in St Vincent's A&E this morning. There were little groups of people just standing outside. They just looked shellshocked. Your heart goes out to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

S.O wrote: »
    An observation from yesterday, I went into a pub for a coffee earlier this evening with a friend, without mentioning the real name of the place- lets just call it ( the express ) I would go into the express the odd time now and again, I would know all the faces of the bar staff by now, earlier on though there were reserved table notices on all the tables in there, we were just about to walk out , one the bar staff told us we could sit where we would usually sit, I just asked out of curiousness what was with all the reserved notices on the tables, he filled me why the express done all that was' there were a large traveller funeral on in town, and the bar didn,t want any trouble or hassle, I went out cycling after 19.30 tonight - some nights I might go out for a cycle for some exercise , one area in particular I went past the whole 3 pubs in that location were shut closed tonight, as I said an observation, I haven,t commented or expressed any opinion.

What has this got to do with the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

An observation from yesterday, I went into a pub for a coffee earlier this evening with a friend, without mentioning the real name of the place- lets just call it ( the express ) I would go into the express the odd time now and again, I would know all the faces of the bar staff by now, earlier on though there were reserved table notices on all the tables in there, we were just about to walk out , one the bar staff told us we could sit where we would usually sit, I just asked out of curiousness what was with all the reserved notices on the tables, he filled me why the express done all that was' there were a large traveller funeral on in town, and the bar didn,t want any trouble or hassle, I went out cycling after 19.30 tonight - some nights I might go out for a cycle for some exercise , one area in particular I went past the whole 3 pubs in that location were shut closed tonight, as I said an observation, I haven,t commented or expressed any opinion.

That's quite an anecdote. You should stick it on your blog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

And this relates to the death of parents and their young children how exactly?

A tragedy in anybody's world regardless of what bias we may harbour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

What an awful tragedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

snubbleste wrote: »
    Obviously, with this terrible happening, the rugby & the soccer matches tomorrow must be postponed.

As neither match is in Ireland that would be impossible and completely unecessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I haven,t commented or expressed any opinion.

No, but you are in contention for ridiculous post of the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

As neither match is in Ireland that would be impossible and completely unecessary
    Obviously this is an unspeakable tragedy and we must not let anything impede our nations collective mourning. We must fly all flags at half-mast and beat ourselves up in newspaper columns and radio soundbites. This must happen.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Obviously this is an unspeakable tragedy and we must not let anything impede our nations collective mourning. We must fly all flags at half-mast and beat ourselves up in newspaper columns and radio soundbites. This must happen.

Mod

I've a strange suspicion that you're now trolling. Stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Everything is a suicide or accident with AGS, so no investigation required.
    Didn't think it was that confusing. Maybe you need to break sentences up into smaller groups of words for practice?

You suggesting that the Guards won't bother investigating this is absolutely ridiculous and you know it. Considering what happened today I think maybe you should leave whatever pathetic, petty little problem you have with the Guards out of this thread. How does that sound?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Of all the human conditions, I find ranklement to be the worst.

RIP.

You are being utterly vile now, with your sly little digs. I hope you never lose family members in such a way, as those poor infants lost theirs. Why dont you go away now. No one is interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Jaysus, may God grant them the strength to get through this.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

R.I.P......such awful news:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

You suggesting that the Guards won't bother investigating this is absolutely ridiculous and you know it. Considering what happened today I think maybe you should leave whatever pathetic, petty little problem you have with the Guards out of this thread. How does that sound?
    How does this sound: they've already said they won't be investigating anything. Seemingly within minutes of arriving on he scene. "Not suspicious".
    Hard luck on that. How does that sound?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Hurtbuthealing

How does this sound: they've already said they won't be investigating anything. Seemingly within minutes of arriving on he scene. "Not suspicious".

It sounds like a monstrous misrepresentation put about by sick mind that has no level he stoop below , even the bodies of dead children, in pursuit of his own political agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Jesus, what a horrible thing to happen, poor sods. May they rest in peace and the families get through this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

What a terrible tragedy. My thoughts are with all involved.

Awful to hear that there were two babies involved.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Shocking tragedy and way to go. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

So are you saying the Guards are involved in some kind of conspiracy here?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Shocking news, RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

were the visitors sleeping in the portacabins?

It sounds like a monstrous misrepresentation put about by sick mind that has no level he stoop below , even the bodies of dead children, in pursuit of his own political agenda.
    Just like RTE have a "sick minds" and a "political agenda" when they show how AGS routinely fob off any hint of criminality as "not suspicious" to save themselves the bother of an investigation?
    Yeah. Sure.

It sounds like the ravings of a fool.

So are you saying the Guards are involved in some kind of conspiracy here?
    "Couldn't be arsed" isn't a conspiracy. Nice try though.
    http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/prime-time-30003251/10476281/

Just like RTE have a "sick minds" and a "political agenda" when they show how AGS routinely fob off any hint of criminality as "not suspicious" to save themselves the bother of an investigation?
    Yeah. Sure.

Please go away now, this is ridiculous at this stage. I'm done with you.

It sounds like the ravings of a fool.
    Couldn't even begin to refute so went straight to insult.
    Noted.

Please go away now, this is ridiculous at this stage. I'm done with you.
    Me and the mods will decide that, thanks all the same.

I think the fire service decides this? The police only investigate if the fire service have evidences of crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Dear friends, this is a national tragedy...for so many lives to have been lost. Please let this be a thread for condolences only. It is too sad to bicker over.

I think the fire service decides this? The police only investigate if the fire service have evidences of crime?
    The announcement of whether it's suspicious or not always comes from the police. I've never heard the fire services do it.

Latest news is:
    At a press conference this afternoon, Chief Superintendent Diarmuid O'Sullivan, said that the scene is preserved and the Garda Technical Bureau has commenced their investigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

Dan, you have an obvious agenda, cut it out, this is not up for debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I hope this gets the same attention from RTE as Berkley did

The announcement of whether it's suspicious or not always comes from the police. I've never heard the fire services do it.

Latest news is:
    At a press conference this afternoon, Chief Superintendent Diarmuid O'Sullivan, said that the scene is preserved and the Garda Technical Bureau has commenced their investigation.

So what's the issue then? :confused:

Do you have a link to where they actually suggested that they wouldn't be investigating the matter any further and ruled out criminality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

efb wrote: »

Unless the families ask/request privacy??

Jesus the taughts of burying so many children on the one day :(

How could anyone face into going to them funerals .....it sounds selfish...but I'm glad I don't have to go

Latest news is:

But I thought you had decreed that they wouldn't be investigating? Now I AM confused!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭mucksavage1985

anyone agree with me that crime will drop in the area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

efb wrote: »

I hope not, the coverage of those deaths was very insensitive and intrusive

anyone agree with me that crime will drop in the area?

From what I've read, the people living at that site were law abiding folk and an active and welcome part of the wider community, so no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

baldbear wrote: »
    journal.ie
    Irish Daily Mail