Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Poland V Ireland 19:45 [RTE2] 11/10/2015

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Quazzie wrote: »
    with a 1- draw we are behind Poland so we would go through as runners up in the group.
    Irrelevant now, but if it had finished 1-1 with a German loss we'd have 6 points from the 4 games between the Poles and Germany, Poland would have had 5 so we'd be ahead of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

There are a few more goals in this for the poles.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

We need a bit of "guile".

Dunphy lining up his bag of fancy words for half time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Half time won't come quick enough.

The Polish diving has been embarrassing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Ref might as well put a Polish shirt on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Alex Meier

Goal changes nothing.

Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Pack of cheating bastards these are man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

We need a bit of "guile".

Need to do the basic defending first and foremost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

This could get embarrassing.

Our midfield is woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

A bit naughty by Whelan there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

O'Shea very poor there for the runner in behind, everything opened up after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Huge amount of space being given up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Keeper shouldn't be beaten from there with a header.

He was unsighted, not his fault! The defense around him on the other hand were disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Ref needs to be fuct off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Ref is turning into a joke now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Two nothing frees.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

How Whelan is a professional player I just don't know, he's so average he wouldn't make an impression in a Sunday league game.

Lewandowski is a cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭sjb25

madcabbage wrote: »
    Dunphy lining up his bag of fancy words for half time!

Wesley mumble mumble Wesley etc etc all will get outa him

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Lewandowski Is a non stop cheat takes away from an otherwise super player

The cheating makes him such an unlikeable player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The only thing Lewandowski loves more than diving is scoring goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Balls to this, i'll take a five all draw now,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,116 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Irrelevant now, but if it had finished 1-1 with a German loss we'd have 6 points from the 4 games between the Poles and Germany, Poland would have had 5 so we'd be ahead of them.

It'd come down to a head to head between us and Poland who would be on equal points and we were evens so it'd go to goal difference which Poland had a superior total.

A 2-2 draw sees us better Poland on away goals so we'd be ahead of them on equal points.

We don't deserve anything. Cowardly embarrassing football.

Jesus, referee handing out yellows like confetti. How the high foot earlier wasn't at least a yellow given the yellows he has given is beyond me.

Stop blaming the ref lads. . . It's an awful performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

McClean and Whelan are dirt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

right, bring wes on for second half

Whelan is an absolute joyless momentum-blocker of a non-player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Halftime analysis:

Giles: Moral conviction. Get it. Demand it. Pass it.
    Dunphy: Wes. Ruby Walsh. Brian Cody. Glen Whelan is a bag of shit.
    Brady: Doing ok.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Lewandowski is a disgrace.

Whelan and McClean off, Wilson and Hoolahan on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

We can't say they don't deserve this lead tbf.

O'Neill needs to sort out that left flank. Get Wilson on for McClean and push Brady up to the left wing. And get Hoolahan on at the 60 minute mark.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Alex Meier wrote: »
    Nonsense.

We still had to score two. They'll start sitting deeper and deeper in the second.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Nothing changes, but subs are needed to help us gain control in the middle. Whelan should come off, not up to this level.

McClean simply hasn't done enough, even McGeady would offer something at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Well time for Eamon to rant this would not happen i Wes was not on and o'Neill should be ired now for lieing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rezident

This is the problem with football today. Lewandowski is one of the best players in the world's but he chooses to dive and cheat because ref's reward it. Shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

I wouldn't be surprised if Dara Maloney
    has gone home after the abuse Dunphy gave him beforehand!;).....
    'You never played top class footbsll'

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

We've not kept the ball at all and really we've created nothing. We were gifted a goal by a referee mistake and that's the grand sum of our attacking threat in that half. Whelan is beyond useless while McClean offers nothing at all. It needs changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,850 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Ref is shocking.. Only real big decision he got right is our peno...

We are being crucified down our left we need to get McClean off.. As for Whelan... The moving statues in Knock were more animated the him in that first half.

The Poland goal doesn't mean a whole lot aside from another example of **** defending. We needed to get another one anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

At least their second doesn't change much. Still only need a goal.

Quazzie wrote: »
    It'd come down to a head to head between us and Poland who would be on equal points and we were evens so it'd go to goal difference which Poland had a superior total.

A 2-2 draw sees us better Poland on away goals so we'd be ahead of them on equal points.
    If Germany lose and it ends as a draw here, it comes down to head to head between the three teams. Ireland would be top of that "mini table" if that was the case.

Any team that includes a player like Glen Whelan doesn't deserve to qualify for any tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Alex Meier wrote: »
    Stop blaming the ref lads. . . It's an awful performance.
    Shush; this is much more entertaining reading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Hopefully eamonn has been taken out back when we go back to the studio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Signs looking ominous so far :(

Really need to step it up in the second half. Wouldn't mind seeing Wes on for McClean

They score again. . We need two more (and that ain't gonna happen)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Faugheen wrote: »
    Lewandowski is a disgrace.

Whelan and McClean off, Wilson and Hoolahan on.

McClean is a liability, so too is O'Shea. Defo red card coming with they way their going.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Any team that includes a player like Glen Whelan doesn't deserve to qualify for any tournament.

I see the stupid Whelan bashing has started

Stupid post

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

This is awful. I predict 4-1 unless things improve dramatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,947 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Does he ever pass the ball forward? :o