Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Poland V Ireland 19:45 [RTE2] 11/10/2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Lewandowski aside from the diving wtf with all the wrist tapping, bad sportmanship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Poland are now top of my international shít-list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

So how many of the current lot will hang up the boots when this campaign is over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Focusing on Lewandowski's play acting is silly.

He did what all professional footballers do. Our guys got too close to him, stuck legs and arms in stupid places and he took advantage.

We were incredibly naive. Embarrassingly so.

The team selection was poor. A couple of individuals were particularly poor. We had no guile. We ran down blind alleys. There was nothing resembling a coherent game plan.

We lost because we were shíte. Absolutely clueless and shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Soups123 wrote: »
    Would love to see Lewandowski miss the Euro's

And how exactly would that happen?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Lewandowski was to clever & classy for the caveman like Irish players, we deserved to get stuffed a lot more than 2-1 that's a generous result for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭ollaetta

case885 wrote: »
    Keoghs attempt at the header was hilarious, bog standard player.

Unfortunately, that's where we're now at. We better get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

No lack of effort just not a good performance

Lost to the better team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Pretty much as expected. Think we came as close as we were going to get and if we were told at the start of the campaign we would be in the play-offs we would have taken it.

O'Shea missing could be a disaster but I don't think we will notice the loss of Walters too much. Problem with Ireland is they have no midfield, none at all. Nobody can play the ball and we really rely on kicking it up with little impact.

All depends on the draw now.

Well won't miss Walters?

What the fcuk have you been watching for the last two or three years?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Poland are ****e but they still have a world class leading player that can get them to places,
    Wales are ****e but they have a world class leading player that can get them places
    we have nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Not any mention of the diving by the panel.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

This one's all on Martin O'Neill.

That Polish side is nothing special, there for the taking and we had nothing to lose, and he decided to set out so negatively.

If Hoolahan was carrying a knock, then fair enough, but otherwise he has to be starting all the time. Our midfield couldn't get on the ball and we had nobody who can get the ball and attack. Hendrick and McCarthy play the same game. Slow the pace down and look for the pass to the likes of Hoolahan, Brady, Walters etc.

Brady going to LB a shambolic call. What's wrong with Marc Wilson? Brady was ****e regardless. Those bad passes and bad set pieces are nothing to do with what position he was playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,636 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Do Ireland hate Lewandowski more than Henry :p

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Our CB options for the playoffs:

McShane
    Wilson
    Keogh
    Pearce

Convert Christie to CB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

What happened, lads? We all loved the long ball on Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

O Neill just got it wrong tonight. Our best midfielder's are McGeady, McCarthy, Brady, Wes, Gibson and should be picked as such.

Brady shouldn't play in defence. McClean is a good impact player when you need an injection of pace near the end of the game and shouldn't have started. Whelan shouldn't have started. Christie should have started as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

JustTheOne wrote: »
    They're seemingly not as bothered about it as a lot on here are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Who can we get in the play offs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

JustTheOne wrote: »

Because it wasn't quite as bad as everyone's making out, and the reason we lost wasn't his 'antics'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Brush off the diving and card waving all you want, it's ruining the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Headshot wrote: »

Holland were looking to scrape the play offs, haven't seen if they made it or not.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

keith16 wrote: »
    And how exactly would that happen?

fg_315.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,096 ✭✭✭Patser

Headshot wrote: »

Depends too much.on tomorrow's games. We could still fall either side of seedings - especially if Turkey mess up and Netherlands sneak in. Equally anyone from Bosnia, Cyprus or Israel could finish 3rd in Wales group.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Lewondoski was just playing the game, it's infuriating but this is the reality of modern football.

Keane did it himself when he came on.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

SlickRic wrote: »
    Because it wasn't quite as bad as everyone's making out, and the reason we lost wasn't his 'antics'.

It was embarrassing.

Not the reason we lost but embarrassing all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

I don't get why people get all hot under the collar over Hoolahan. He's no great shakes himself. Irish fans talk about him like as if he's Messi, if he was even remotely close to that level he wouldn't have spent his career playing for Blackpool and Norwich City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

And there was 2 sides doing it...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

O Neill just got it wrong tonight. Our best midfielder's are McGeady, McCarthy, Brady, Wes, Gibson and should be picked as such.

Brady shouldn't play in defence. McClean is a good impact player when you need an injection of pace near the end of the game and shouldn't have started. Whelan shouldn't have started. Christie should have started as well.

McClean has absolutely no pace what so ever
    He is so one dimensional
    He will try his heart out but not good enough to play midfield
    I think he should be converted to a left back

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Up to the result on Thursday we'd all be happy with the playoff. Fact is, the only bad and unexpected result is the Scottish one. We've a bad team, through no fault of their own btw. We were one goal away from automatic qualification. Very few campaigns Ireland can say that.

I don't think anyone can say those lads didn't give it their all. All they lack is that little bit extra, but you can't fault their desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Lewandowski is a seasoned pro, if we are stupid enough to try and rough him up then he will do what he did all night, more fool us. We lost because of O'Neills negativity and caveman tactics and his awful team selections. McGeady has no place coming into the team before Hoolahan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

briany wrote: »
    What happened, lads? We all loved the long ball on Thursday.

Because we were better in Thurs.

Because we were under hideous amounts of pressure that forced long ball on us.

Because we did play a bit on Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

When is the play-off draw done?

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Tomagotchye

They're right about the long ball though. We're endlessly getting managers in who think this defensive game is all we can ever play but if that was Iceland, Northern Ireland, Albania even...in that same position, with nothing to lose at all and everything to gain from a win...they'd go all out and make a go of it. We didn't, which is why they're qualified and we're not.

I'll never understand O'Neill's philosophy tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'd love to get Slovenia if it were possible. Would dread playing the Swedes, Croatia or the Dutch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

Very Bored wrote: »
    I don't get why people get all hot under the collar over Hoolahan. He's no great shakes himself. Irish fans talk about him like as if he's Messi, if he was even remotely close to that level he wouldn't have spent his career playing for Blackpool and Norwich City.

So true

I'm not a massive fan either but he really should of started tonight if fit at all
    But in comparison to what attacking players we have that can play in the hole he is messi + ronaldo + Neymar all in one

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Our CB options for the playoffs:

McShane
    Wilson
    Keogh
    Pearce

Convert Christie to CB?

It'll be Keogh and Wilson.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Too many long balls at the end which didn't work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

As it stands Ukraine Denmark Bosnia and Croatia are potential opponents in playoffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Up to the result on Thursday we'd all be happy with the playoff. Fact is, the only bad and unexpected result is the Scottish one. We've a bad team, through no fault of their own btw. We were one goal away from automatic qualification. Very few campaigns Ireland can say that.

I don't think anyone can say those lads didn't give it their all. All they lack is that little bit extra, but you can't fault their desire.

We could if two teams qualified, we have played to par I reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

McGeady is pretty poor now and demonstrated as much when he came on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Next Sunday.

Seriously lads, this wasn't O'Neill's fault. Both Polish goals were ridiculous. Seriously, five year olds know to defend better than they did tonight. For the first goal, that no-one picked up Krychowiak was criminal. For the second goal that Lewandowski was left to get a strong enough header in to score from that distance was beyond a joke.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

While you're probably right on the midfielders, it's a difficult argument to start Gibson and McGeady when they've barely played all season.

That said, the other 3 should start. Hendrick or Quinn are fine as part of a midfield 3 with McCarthy/Whelan and Hoolahan, but McCarthy/Whelan/Hendrick is just too negative.

Coleman is our best RB, not problem with them starting. Brady shouldn't be LB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Lewandowski is a seasoned pro, if we are stupid enough to try and rough him up then he will do what he did all night, more fool us. We lost because of O'Neills negativity and caveman tactics and his awful team selections. McGeady has no place coming into the team before Hoolahan.

Wes was injured. McGeady set up or only chance.
    Robbie Brady was stocking gave the ball away constantly in the last 20 minutes

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I'd love to get Slovenia if it were possible. Would dread playing the Swedes, Croatia or the Dutch.

Swedes aren't great, apart from yer man. They wouldn't be a bad draw. I go to nearly all their home games so have seen a fair bit of them.

°°°°°

Slovenia would be preferable, although I think Estonia could possibly end up in a play off place. Those two apart we'd be facing a tough task against most of the other sides sadly.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Next Sunday at 10am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Focusing on Lewandowski's play acting is silly.

He did what all professional footballers do. Our guys got too close to him, stuck legs and arms in stupid places and he took advantage.

We were incredibly naive. Embarrassingly so.

The team selection was poor. A couple of individuals were particularly poor. We had no guile. We ran down blind alleys. There was nothing resembling a coherent game plan.

We lost because we were shíte. Absolutely clueless and shíte.

Ah, i see you're practising for when Lewandowski signs for Liverpool. Well played sir. :P

°°°°°

Next Sunday.

Seriously lads, this wasn't O'Neill's fault. Both Polish goals were ridiculous. Seriously, five year olds know to defend better than they did tonight. For the first goal, that no-one picked up Krychowiak was criminal. For the second goal that Lewandowski was left to get a strong enough header in to score from that distance was beyond a joke.

Goals happen, playing agricultural long ball nonsense doesn't get you back into games.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Next Sunday.

Ah come on,we offered nothing going forward, Poland were nervous and we didn't test them enough, that's O'Neill's fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Jon Stark wrote: »
    McGeady is pretty poor now and demonstrated as much when he came on.

McGeady is a headless chicken if he actually got his head up once in a while he might actually do something.