Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland a "home nation"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I feel a Haka coming on. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

It's juts another term that's used to lump us an brits in together

Jaysus, the paranoia.

Thread is about a Rugby themed Lucozade ad & in a purely Rugby context, Ireland's always been considered a 'home nation'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

@Eugene Norman, I'm a shinner and, as you can see from an earlier post from me, I'm not excited in the least about it, quite the opposite. Don't tar us all with the one brush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Fleawuss wrote: »

We gave the Polynesians a sport to beat the **** out of us with, let's beat them first and then think about line Dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Supermac's haka!

You can't even eat your snackbox in peace anymore without a New Zealander starting a haka.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Very Bored wrote: »
    I don't like the fact that Ireland is partitioned and believe that it should be a united and independent country. However, our history is intertwined with Britain's and a lot of people in Britain look at us with affection. If they want to call us a home nation and get behind our team then I'm happy for them to do it. We are also part of the British Isles whether people like it or not. I wish people would grow up over this kind of thing. At the end of the day does it really matter?

No we're not.The term is not recognised by our government and is not in official use.

On your last point you could say that about every single argument in the history of humanity.

They only call us a home nation so they can follow the GAA because they know their Premier League is s***e anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

I don't what evidence you want. Let me repeat.

It refers to the rugby unions who played in the Home Nations Championship. Home of rugby.

The term is never used politically.

I have associated it more myself with the home nations which was also a famously forgotten soccer tournament held last century with annually involving England Scotland Wales Ireland and northern Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Supermac's haka!

You can't even eat your snackbox in peace anymore without a New Zealander starting a haka.

Absolutely cringe inducing.

The Gardai should have been called to remove these muppets from the premises.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

No we're not.The term is not recognised by our government and is not in official use.

On your last point you could say that about every single argument in the history of humanity.

Yeah, we are. It's a geographical term not a political one, so it doesn't matter a ****e whether our government recognised it or not.

@DirtyDingusMcGee, That's our gombeen government acting the b****x as usual. You can't suddenly decide where you sit geographically in the world. That's like the Japanese government deciding that its not in Asia anymore because it doesn't want to be lumped in with China and that from now on its to be considered a North American country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

davycc wrote: »
    I have associated it more myself with the home nations which was also a famously forgotten soccer tournament held last century with annually involving England Scotland Wales Ireland and northern Ireland

Well, I mentioned that too in my posts. But the FAI wasn't part of that so its not used for the Irish team in soccer.

@DirtyDingusMcGee, That's our gombeen government acting the b****x as usual. You can't suddenly decide where you sit geographically in the world. That's like the Japanese government deciding that its not in Asia anymore because it doesn't want to be lumped in with China and that from now on its to be considered a North American country.

Don't know why that posted twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Home nation? More like homeless nation.

Am I right, guys?

*folds arms*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

walshyn93 wrote: »
    Yeah, we are. It's a geographical term not a political one, so it doesn't matter a ****e whether our government recognised it or not.
    Folens don't use it either, so it does matter. If no one uses a term it falls out of use, no one says East Indies nowadays

Grand then.From now on the islands should be referred to as The Irish Isles seeing as it's a geographic term with apparently no political connotations I am sure nobody in the UK will have the slightest problem with that and will agree that the geographic term will be changed.

Of course we all know that wouldn't happen .And regardless of what people say it is a politcially infused term as if Ireland was the more powerful of the 2 islands in the past the Islands would certainly not be ever referred to as the British Isles.

@DirtyDingusMcGee, explain me the name the Irish Sea then.

Doesn't bother me if they change the name of it.

There was a suggestion that the British Channel;s name be changed in order to be more politically neutral I wouldn't have a problem with the Irish sea name being changed for similar reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

bpmurray wrote: »
    The term "Home Nations" refers to the UK countries, i.e. England, Scotland, Wales and NI. However, as Wikipedia explains:

In other words, it's terminology and not a political land-grab so nothing to get your knickers in a twist over!
    G'way with your common sense. This is AH, people need to moan about something or other :pac:

@DirtyDingusMcGee, Yes but the name of the water between Ireland and the UK defeats your argument that this group of islands were named because of a political power struggle. If that were the case, it would be the British, not Irish, sea also. Additionally, there is no such place as the British Channel.

Folens don't use it either, so it does matter. If no one uses a term it falls out of use, no one says East Indies nowadays

There's a difference between a word falling out of fashion and getting agro over it like the poster I was responding to. Folens aren't exactly the stewards of the English language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Is Ireland a "home nation?
    Yes.

Yes, if you are English, Scottish, or Welsh.
    No, if you were brought up in the ROI within the last thirty years.

Yes, because we are part of this little " home group" of islands.
    Yes, because the NI players are from the UK.
    Yes, because culturally we in these islands are closer together than, "foreign teams".

NO, because England, Scotland, & Wales have nothing to do with us, so why would anybody call us a " home nation" thereby associating us with teams in the other parts of these islands!

Yes, if you're in an English pub today, and everybody, I mean everybody is cheering for Ireland (the only home nation playing today).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

They wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Yes. Ireland is one of four home nations.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Yes, if you're in an English pub today, and everybody, I mean everybody is cheering for Ireland (the only home nation playing today).]

The English cheering on a country playing against France?

Hardly unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Yes. Ireland is one of four home nations.
    Neither Iwasfrozen or LordSutch recognise the existence of Northern Ireland?

Very disappointing chaps! :pac:

Northern Ireland isn't a home nation in the literal sense of "A Nation".
    However, Northern Ireland is a region within the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Going off topic. That tv3 comentator drives me mad, had to switch to itv.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

Not sure if this question has been answered yet but yes, Ireland is a "home nation". When the English footballer guy takes the Lucozade stuff from the guys you can see a man wearing the Ireland "uniform" (I don't know what you rugby fanatics call it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

The English cheering on a country playing against France?

Hardly unusual.

Nevertheless, well played, Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

Here's a link to the ad: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpSqEKpTLUI

One of the 3 or 4 guys is wearing green.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

If they stuck it on terestrial ROI media then someone from their marketing dept needs to be replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Seeing as we're close enough to send a combined team down south every few years, it's perfectly relevant.

Here's a link to the ad: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpSqEKpTLUI

One of the 3 or 4 guys is wearing green.

Apparently it's a player from Limerick named Murray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

If they stuck it on terestrial ROI media then someone from their marketing dept needs to be replaced.

I have only noticed it on tv3 myself

Why? just because you don't like the term ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

Why? just because you don't like the term ?

no, because a large part of their Irish market wont like it.

the 'all pr is good' thing doesn't work well with politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

So what's the consensus? :confused:

Is Ireland an away nation, a united nation or a nation once again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

For a second there I thought ah shure its grand, they call it that cos of the single rugby association on this island and because Britain and Ireland have a lot more in common with each other than we do with the French, or the Italians or even the Tongans.

Then I'm thinking, hey we only have a lot more in common with them because they invaded us hundreds of years ago, tried to eradicate our culture and language and almost succeeded in making us lapdogs like the Welsh and the Scots.
    So yeah, home nations me big sweaty Irish arse indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 230 ✭✭garrixfan

I am Irish and European!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

FrStone wrote: »
    Well considering Northern Ireland (sic) is part of the UK, which is a separate country to the Republic of Ireland (sic), we are not a 'home country'.

However I'm sure there will be a load of people who will disagree with me as they don't like the fact that Northern Ireland (sic) is part of the UK.

The 32-County All-Ireland Republic is a Home Nation of Ireland and nowhere else. Everywhere else is a foreign nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Island was never united, you had the O'Connors propping up the seat of the High King at Tara, and the other tuaths not really paying attention to them. Ulster for instance was O'Neill territory. The likes of Rory O'Connor had no say in their affairs.

Conveniently forgotten by most

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

I like Britain... I like England.... There I said it. :D

I like the people (most of them), and the culture (most of it). They are our closest neighbors and both islands have a lot in common with each other. Centuries of shared history.

The term doesn't bother me one bit. It's not 1916 anymore... move da fcuk on and evolve a bit faster! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I fought for your honour today lads. I saw an Irish guy on Facebook using the phrase 'Home Nations'. He won't do that again.

Wow, you're so manly, dare I say 'so Beefy' :rolleyes:

Two things pop up constantly here on boards regarding our place in these islands, and they are... (any reference to the British isles), and in sporting terms "The Home Nations".

Like any hint that we might be connected to the rest of these islands is just too much for some.

Having lived in the South of England for many years I must say, any time the term home Nations was used it made me feel a little more Irish, as in Yes, Ireland is playing this weekend, I will be supporting them, and because we're playing (pick from long list of countries) then the whole pub will be supporting Ireland too!

Ireland, Scotland, England, Wales = the Home Nations.

I happen to think the term is rather friendly, well meaning, and progressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

That's hardly surprising given that you founded the Monster Raving Loony Party...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Two things pop up constantly here on boards regarding our place in these islands, and they are... (any reference to the British isles), and in sporting terms "The Home Nations".

Like any hint that we might be connected to the rest of these islands is just too much for some.

Having lived in the South of England for many years I must say, any time the term home Nations was used it made me feel a little more Irish, as in Yes, Ireland is playing this weekend, I will be supporting them, and because we're playing (pick from long list of countries) then the whole pub will be supporting Ireland too!

30 years living in England and watching first hand use of those phrases as terms of endearment and everyone support the Irish team when England aren't playing meant I used to think that way too. Five years on Boards has made me realise that actually I had an Imperialistic agenda and it was in reality being used to imply our ownership of Ireland. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

sensible talk like that has no place on AH.