Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

.ak wrote: »
    To be fair Noopti, there's nothing above which really answers IBF's questions. What specifically can we exploit from selecting the team you've advocated? What tactics can we employ that will suit those players? The bullet points above are fairly vague.

No one has specifically pointed out what Henshaw/Payne and Kearney at 15 would be able to specifically exploit to beat this Wales team either!

I don't need to give anyone specific tactical plans as to why I think those players give us a better chance. I am a bloody fan with an opinion, c'mon lads! :rolleyes:

I think we need to be more incisive in attack to beat this Welsh team, who I think will have our number up front. I think we can gain enough parity up front to give us a semi decent platform, but I do not think we can rely on us grinding out a win using our forwards and some good kicking. So therefore I would like us to pick a 15 who is a more potent attacker, and a midfield combination who I think can do a decent job of containing Roberts and Davies, while also offering some good go forward ball. Likewise I am more confident, based on recent form, that Jackson will get our backline moving in ways which offer the increased potency I feel we need.

If you want me to start highlighting specific detailed tactics, videos, drawings or whatever to somehow validate my opinion then you won't be getting it! I certainly don't expect it from others here saying that Sexton/Payne/Henshaw/Kearney are the best option. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

awec wrote: »
    I wouldn't have a different team every 6 nations, but at some point form has to count. At some point you have to take responsible risk. We cannot be completely risk averse otherwise we will once again end up with a really experienced first 23 and then be two or three injuries away from being screwed.

This idea that we give lads a run out against Italy is a waste of time.

Henshaw and Payne have not shown anything to suggest that this partnership is untouchable or that we can't do better.

At some point form will count. McCloskey has been playing very well this season, but it's still a small enough sample size. It simply doesn't demand that you drop Henshaw who has been a standout for Ireland the last 12 months and looked pretty sharp on Sunday.

It's a zero sum game. It's not enough to play well, you have to displace the other guy too and McCloskey isn't there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

In like clockwork for the 6 nations with doom and gloom :pac:

I'm still hungover from Cardiff. I do think we'll lose a fair whack of games this calendar year.

Noopti wrote: »
    I certainly don't expect it from others here saying that Sexton/Payne/Henshaw/Kearney are the best option. ;)

No problem, here you go:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I'm still hungover from Cardiff. I do think we'll lose a fair whack of games this calendar year.

I don't recall any Ireland fixture in Cardiff last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

No one has specifically pointed out what Henshaw/Payne and Kearney at 15 would be able to specifically exploit to beat this Wales team either!

I don't need to give anyone specific tactical plans as to why I think those players give us a better chance. I am a bloody fan with an opinion, c'mon lads! :rolleyes:

I think we need to be more incisive in attack to beat this Welsh team, who I think will have our number up front. I think we can gain enough parity up front to give us a semi decent platform, but I do not think we can rely on us grinding out a win using our forwards and some good kicking. So therefore I would like us to pick a 15 who is a more potent attacker, and a midfield combination who I think can do a decent job of containing Roberts and Davies, while also offering some good go forward ball. Likewise I am more confident, based on recent form, that Jackson will get our backline moving in ways which offer the increased potency I feel we need.

If you want me to start highlighting specific detailed tactics, videos, drawings or whatever to somehow validate my opinion then you won't be getting it! I certainly don't expect it from others here saying that Sexton/Payne/Henshaw/Kearney are the best option. ;)

Wales have the best organised/coached defense in the competition, if not the world.

Expecting us to be able to find a weakness in that with an inexperienced out half, a first-time center partnership (with a debutant) and a first time full back (his first game at that level) just seems unlikely to me. Also expecting that midfield combination to be able to hold out defensively seems a bit far fetched also.

We hammered Wales in the Aviva in 2014. It was based on a pretty dominant set piece performance backed by intelligent and efficient rugby from our backs. That's what we should be going after again, except with added options out wide with Earls/Trimble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Are you suggesting we cut back on our box kicking game, and use some imagination? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I once again feel it is necessary to correct some doomsday scenarios in here.

I cannot conceivably see us coming 5th, I am pretty confident that is impossible. I am not saying that we're arent potentially the 5th best team (though that is slightly unbelievable), but the schedule makes it ludicrous hyperbole to suggest we will come 5th.

A: Unlikely we will lose 4 games.
    B: Unlikely one of Scotland or Italy will win 2.

Therefore, we will not come 5th.

Scotland are in their "easy year" they have England and France at home, us, Wales and Italy away. Do we expect them to beat England and France at home? Probably not, do we expect them to beat us or Wales away? Probably not.

Scotland will finish on 1 win, if they manage to beat Italy in Rome.

Italy are away for three games, they have Scotland and England at home. They're not going to win on the road at us Wales, Ireland or France. They're going to lose at home to England for sure, because their season is effectively the game against Scotland they might ambush them.

Italy will finish on 0 wins, unless they beat Scotland at home.

We will not come 5th.

The France game, remember?

At some point form will count. McCloskey has been playing very well this season, but it's still a small enough sample size. It simply doesn't demand that you drop Henshaw who has been a standout for Ireland the last 12 months and looked pretty sharp on Sunday.

It's a zero sum game. It's not enough to play well, you have to displace the other guy too and McCloskey isn't there yet.

I don't really think form counts at all.

Ability counts, I think the coaches see right through temporary form. Form doesn't carry from the club game into international periods, there I said it again.

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I wouldn't drop Henshaw, I'd move him to 13 and play McCloskey at 12. I'd drop Payne which wouldn't be unfair seeing as he has firstly barely played since the world cup (none at 13), and secondly has never really been outstanding at 13 anyway. :)

And as for this "displace the other guy". How often does that happen in Ireland? Of all the debuts in the past 4 or whatever years how many have come for reasons other than injury or retirement?

I think you mean "you need to wait until the other guy gets injured" or "you have to wait until the other guy is so bad that nobody can actually think up reasons to keep him in the team anymore".

Payne which wouldn't be unfair seeing as he has firstly barely played since the world cup (none at 13), and secondly has never really been outstanding at 13 anyway.

His distribution, support lines and defending were outstanding last year and our back play evidently diminished in his absence.

I'd drop Henshaw before I'd drop Payne.

I don't really think form counts at all.

Ability counts, I think the coaches see right through temporary form. Form doesn't carry from the club game into international periods, there I said it again.

If this were true (which I don't believe it is) then Dave Kearney (for example) wouldn't be near the 23.

Why do you think that?

Because nobody can stand there and argue that Dave Kearney is in the top 3 wingers in Ireland ability wise.

If what you said was true (that form is irrelevant and it's all about ability) then Zebo would be guaranteed a spot in the Ireland 23.

This of course is not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

I think I might just vomit if I have to read another midfield/FB selection debate post. To make matters worst, Ireland specialise in naming the team as late as tournament rules allow and not a moment sooner, meaning another 72 odd hours of this.

I'd be in the "liberal" selection camp, but it might all be a rather moot point when you look at the Irish tight 5 (or tight 9 if you consider the bench). With POC retired, NWJMB injured, Healy injured and a complete shadow of 3 years ago, it's not particularly menacing - you are left with SOB as the only power forward - unless Schmidt actually bites the bullet and starts Stander somewhere.

I'm going to let my heart well and truly rule my head, and predict that Schmidt will actually let his rugby upbringing get the better of him and spring a few selection surprises.

We shall see.

Because nobody can stand there and argue that Dave Kearney is in the top 3 wingers in Ireland ability wise.

If what you said was true (that form is irrelevant and it's all about ability) then Zebo would be guaranteed a spot in the Ireland 23.

I guarantee you Joe Schmidt would happily stand there and argue that with you, and he'd win that argument as well.

It depends entirely on what your parameters are.

Either way, form is just a function of confidence, abiliity, focus/intelligence and fitness. Most of that goes out the window when you move up to international ability.

I guarantee you Joe Schmidt would happily stand there and argue that with you, and he'd win that argument as well.

It depends entirely on what your parameters are.

Either way, form is just a function of confidence, abiliity, focus/intelligence and fitness. Most of that goes out the window when you move up to international ability.

He is welcome to come and try.

I'd just turn up with a three big cards. On each card would be printed a face. The faces of Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo and Keith Earls. If Tommy Bowe was fit his bake would be on a card too.

I'd show him each card one by one, and remind him that each of these people have more ability than Dave K.

With that, awec would win comfortably.

He is welcome to come and try.

I'd just turn up with a three big cards. On each card would be printed a face. The faces of Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo and Keith Earls. If Tommy Bowe was fit his bake would be on a card too.

I'd show him each card one by one, and remind him that each of these people have more ability than Dave K.

With that, awec would win comfortably.

Right...

Right...

This is what Schmidt would say too. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭bilston

errlloyd wrote: »
    Do you really expect us to lose at home to the same Scotland team we whacked away last year?

No I don't, but I've seen worse Scottish sides beat us in Dublin before. 2010 to deny us a TC being an obvious example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭OldRio

swiwi_ wrote: »
    I think I might just vomit if I have to read another midfield/FB selection debate post. To make matters worst, Ireland specialise in naming the team as late as tournament rules allow and not a moment sooner, meaning another 72 odd hours of this.

I'd be in the "liberal" selection camp, but it might all be a rather moot point when you look at the Irish tight 5 (or tight 9 if you consider the bench). With POC retired, NWJMB injured, Healy injured and a complete shadow of 3 years ago, it's not particularly menacing - you are left with SOB as the only power forward - unless Schmidt actually bites the bullet and starts Stander somewhere.

I'm going to let my heart well and truly rule my head, and predict that Schmidt will actually let his rugby upbringing get the better of him and spring a few selection surprises.

We shall see.

Nail on head. Thank You.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭jacothelad

The France game, remember?
    Wales 3rds in August. Argentina.
    There has been a lot of debate and many here say we need to stick to those players who have played together as that is the only way we can beat Wales. Apart from the romp against Wales 3rds in Cardiff, the last 2 serious games against them have been with all our players intact. We even has Luke Fitzcandoanything at 13 in one game. The outcome of these games was that we scored one penalty try in one and one try by Henderson in the other. Since those games, we have lost the services of many of out stalwart players, leaving behind those combinations in the backs that were ineffectual in both games. In the second game in the Aviva, Wales completed about 250 tackles indicating that Ireland had a hell of a lot of possession and territory to no good effect. Doing the same stuff again isn't going to produce any different results i would surmise. What can Ireland change to make a difference? Tactics? I sincerely think that we need to play differently. Not totally but with a bit more imagination. Learning rugby by rote is a doomed exercise once your opponents have had time to dismantle your playlist. Is that really the only thing we can do? I would suggest for example that in the case of McCloskey, he looks a far better 12 than Henshaw ever did. Stander looks to be a demon of a player. Two guys who should simply be given their head to play.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Doesn't the fact that they hardly ever play together, therefore are already unfamiliar mean that change is less risky?

One or two changes in an already unfamiliar team hardly seems like a massive issue.

What is less risky:

1. Playing the 12 who has been the best centre in Ireland all season.
    2. Playing a 12 and 13 who have played only a few games each all season, none of which were in the position that they are supposedly going to play?

Not sure I buy into this "risk" argument in this specific case.

But this looks at things from a provincial perspective only. It also doesn't take into account the 10, the time in camp together other than the game time, the proven ability at this level vs the unproven ability at this level, the familiarity with the rest of the team and how Joe and his coaches work. These things aren't completely irrelevant. Sexton, Henshaw and Payne have worked together a fair bit over the last 12-15 months. That simply isn't the case with McCloskey.

He'll get his shot in training but don't expect that he'll make the step up immediately. He might, but he might not. And while I get that there is risk in both combinations there is less risk in the Henshaw-Payne one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

jacothelad wrote: »
    Wales in August. Argentina.

Argentina? Nope, must have missed that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

We shall see.

Which of White vs Furlong and Ryan vs McCarthy starts does seem at least as important to me as the centres debate, have to say...

That said, I'd disagree with you that SOB's the only power forward (barring Standard), based on Ruddock's only caps to date. I really wasn't expecting him to front up like that and if he does so again for the whole 6N there'll be a really big selection debate going forwards between him and POM (or the possibility of playing both and displacing another).

And underpinning this is I think we need to play more like we did against Scotland last year to give us a decent chance of beating Wales. I just think Wales have our number if we try and beat them up front and kick the ball a lot.

Interestingly in 2014 when we were running the ball a lot more we reverted to a kicking game to beat Wales and we utterly neutralised them that day doing that. We'd kick for just outside their 22. They'd then need to either run it back at us (our line speed was very quick meaning they got nowhere there), they could kick back to us (but their entire line would be offside and would need to retreat giving our cover time to deal with that) or kick for touch giving us possession back. It wasn't fancy and it wasn't hard to figure out, but it was very hard to counter.

Which of White vs Furlong and Ryan vs McCarthy starts does seem at least as important to me as the centres debate, have to say...

That said, I'd disagree with you that SOB's the only power forward (barring Standard), based on Ruddock's only caps to date. I really wasn't expecting him to front up like that and if he does so again for the whole 6N there'll be a really big selection debate going forwards between him and POM (or the possibility of playing both and displacing another).

No brainer for me.

Furlong and McCarthy.

From memory White spent a season in the Crusaders wider training squad, which even allowing for a bit more depth in NZ than Ireland is not a ringing endorsement. At 34 he is not the future.

McCarthy has found a second wind, whereas Ryan is stuck in the doldrums from what I've seen this season. McCarthy is not really an 80-minute man, though.

I like Ruddock, but Stander has single handedly carried the Munster forward pack at times.

I wouldn't have a different team every 6 nations, but at some point form has to count. At some point you have to take responsible risk. We cannot be completely risk averse otherwise we will once again end up with a really experienced first 23 and then be two or three injuries away from being screwed.

This idea that we give lads a run out against Italy is a waste of time.

Henshaw and Payne have not shown anything to suggest that this partnership is untouchable or that we can't do better.

Form has counted. McCloskey is in the squad. The provincial games should never 100% dictate who starts for Ireland. They should dictate who gets called up to the squad to make their case in training. It has done that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Ruddock would really have to stand out to usurp POM when he's back playing, hes an integral cog to the team and the most likely to take over from Best when he retires.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Form has counted. McCloskey is in the squad. The provincial games should never 100% dictate who starts for Ireland. They should dictate who gets called up to the squad to make their case in training. It has done that.

I dunno molloy. The training paddock is no replacement for actual games. While the Pro 12 is a long ways off international rugby, and the Irish provinces haven't exactly excelled at European level this season, I don't think Pro 12 form is simply "a ticket" to the squad, with strutting your stuff against your mates on the training paddock as the key to selection.

There are always player who look great at pro 12 level and ordinary at international, and likewise players who go thru the motions but then step up. I'm thinking Nonu here, but there are probably Irish equivalents too.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

.ak wrote: »
    e9cc04ae40542508ce807bf644a19285.jpg

I'm so confused by this bolded part. I've seen this bandied about a few times and it makes no sense to me. 'Its a risk, but feck it'? How do people apply that logic? Do people think this is a bit of a kick about on a Sunday afternoon? Game of tip and then a few pints after? Are people forgetting what the ramifications are if we lose this game?

I'm all for mccloskey getting a cap, but against Italy, and beside an experienced centre like Payne please.

Schmidt isn't paid to go "feck it. Let's feck up our chances of getting a seeding for the next World Cup because this team looks 'inspiring/cool/exciting/x-factory/youthful/ubercool/da bomb/l337". He's paid to ensure we win our winnables. Wales are a brilliant side and playing a green midfield and 3rd choice out half against them wouldn't just be suicidal, it'd be disrespectful.
    I'm all for a bit of disrespect ..... me!

No brainer for me.

Furlong and McCarthy.

From memory White spent a season in the Crusaders wider training squad, which even allowing for a bit more depth in NZ than Ireland is not a ringing endorsement. At 34 he is not the future.

McCarthy has found a second wind, whereas Ryan is stuck in the doldrums from what I've seen this season. McCarthy is not really an 80-minute man, though.

I like Ruddock, but Stander has single handedly carried the Munster forward pack at times.

What worries me most about this incessant debate about the midfield and full back slots and our apparently dire need to play a wildly different game plan is that it is ignoring the massive issue you've pointed out. Our tight 5. Why are we not all talking about that? The backs won't matter a damn if we don't have a platform. And we've lost a lot of guys that we know can provide that to replace them with guys who we hope can.

I suppose because there's not a lot to debate about the tight 5. With all the injuries, the selection would seem straight forward.

Whereas depending on your viewpoint, there are options from 11 out for Ireland (I don't subscribe to the Jackson ahead of Sexton camp).

url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwjKzNPa3NnKAhXDGw8KHRcOATAQjB0IBQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.reddit.com%2Fr%2Fphotoshopbattles%2Fcomments%2F2mx9nv%2Fpsbattle_ewan_mcgregor_on_a_greenscreen_set_in_a%2F%3Flimit%3D500&psig=AFQjCNF-Q-93GUSp-oNv0fq1peEoXFs4jA&ust=1454524551753418&rct=j

I think you might be enjoying this a bit too much.....

Mate, you should be just hoping Cuthbert is nowhere near your 23....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

I wouldn't drop Henshaw, I'd move him to 13 and play McCloskey at 12. I'd drop Payne which wouldn't be unfair seeing as he has firstly barely played since the world cup (none at 13), and secondly has never really been outstanding at 13 anyway. :)

And as for this "displace the other guy". How often does that happen in Ireland? Of all the debuts in the past 4 or whatever years how many have come for reasons other than injury or retirement?

I think you mean "you need to wait until the other guy gets injured" or "you have to wait until the other guy is so bad that nobody can actually think up reasons to keep him in the team anymore".

What I mean is "you need to wait until form can be distinguished from true ability".

McCloskey finished last season as second choice 12 behind Darren Cave. Cave is a grand player but a top class 12 he is not.
    McCloskey then went on the Emerging Ireland tour, played well but not well enough to make a dent in a 45 man RWC squad.
    And he's played very well this season.

So what's his true, consistent level? We'll find out in time but it's still up for debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Just because it doesn't suit your opinion doesn't mean it isn't true.

There's nothing between SZ and DK, both have their abilities and weaknesses.

Earls versatility will probably see him on the bench.

If Bowe and Fitz were fit it'd be a different story. But they're not. So you'll just have to get over your irrational dislike for the Dreamboat. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

No brainer for me.

Furlong and McCarthy.

That's a long time ago, when he was still young in propping terms. He played 41 times for the Chiefs, 73 times for Waikato, moved to Leinster and won a Heineken Cup. A lot of Leinster fans were disappointed when he moved to Connacht. I take your point on age, but the only reason to play Furlong ahead of him is for the future. White is 2 years younger than Ross, who would be playing only for injury, so it's not like he's completely over the hill.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

case885 wrote: »
    Ruddock would really have to stand out to usurp POM when he's back playing, hes an integral cog to the team and the most likely to take over from Best when he retires.

Aye, aware of that. Take that as a sign of just how good I thought Ruddock was the last he had a chance at international rugby.

As for the tight five... personally I'd probably jump the opposite way to you Swiwi. Furlong's probably a better player than White, but he'd offer a carrying impact off the bench late in a way that Schmidt seems to like. And I'd gamble on Ryan being where he needs to be because I'm not sure McCarthy's good enough any more.

I suspect there's also an argument for ensuring McCarthy goes on with the weaker scrummager of Furlong and White, although maybe not against Wales, whose scrum hasn't impressed me of late.

edit: Just to give the centres argument pot a gentle stir, there's a good case to be built for McCloskey-Henshaw to cover up the deficit of carrying in the pack ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    That's a long time ago, when he was still young in propping terms. He played 41 times for the Chiefs, 73 times for Waikato, moved to Leinster and won a Heineken Cup. A lot of Leinster fans were disappointed when he moved to Connacht. I take your point on age, but the only reason to play Furlong ahead of him is for the future. White is 2 years younger than Ross, who would be playing only for injury, so it's not like he's completely over the hill.

TBH, I suspect Schmidt (Joe...) will go down the Woodcock route with White: ie start him and hope to get 40 minutes of at least scrum parity, then spring the youngster Furlong for "impact from the bench".

Speaking of "Joe", I wonder what Wazza, Eddie, the Vernster, Monsieur Jacques and ce mec Guy will spring on the tournament...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Saw an interview with SOB earlier saying how Stander was very vocal since coming I'm and a bit of a leader too.
    I know I'm going against the Ruddock love in here, but to my mind, any Irish side with Stander included has a much better chance of winning against Wales. To my mind, he's just too good to leave out.

Mate, you should be just hoping Cuthbert is nowhere near your 23....

For what it's worth I would take Cuthbert over Dave Kearney all the time .......

You were saying before the Leinster / Ospreys game that you would take Biggar over Sexton all the time.

How did that work out for you?

url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwjKzNPa3NnKAhXDGw8KHRcOATAQjB0IBQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.reddit.com%2Fr%2Fphotoshopbattles%2Fcomments%2F2mx9nv%2Fpsbattle_ewan_mcgregor_on_a_greenscreen_set_in_a%2F%3Flimit%3D500&psig=AFQjCNF-Q-93GUSp-oNv0fq1peEoXFs4jA&ust=1454524551753418&rct=j

I think you might be enjoying this a bit too much.....
    Selection banter is a big part of the fun.

Not much of that to be had in the Wales camp ..... the team basically picks itself .....

Now when Webb, Scott Williams, Amos & Halfpenny return it might get interesting.

You were saying before the Leinster / Ospreys game that you would take Biggar over Sexton all the time.

How did that work out for you?
    I stand by that ..... one pro-12 game isn't going to make me change my mind.

Biggar's problem at the Ospreys is the lack of cutting edge outside him. The Wales outside backs are a lot more potent ..... with room room for improvement as well.

I stand by that ..... one pro-12 game isn't going to make me change my mind.

Biggar's problem at the Ospreys is the lack of cutting edge outside him. The Wales outside backs are a lot more potent ..... with room room for improvement as well.

Please Mr. Sexton, can you teach me some moooore...

hV5UVbD.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

Ah now, bit of red tinged glasses there I think.

Cuthbert had a couple of good seasons but is largely a liability in phases of play that don't involve him having the ball in his hands.

While the Biggar-Sexton debate is a good one, in the sense that Biggar is better than Sexton right now but is his ceiling higher making the debate a "valid" one I think Cuthbert had been an utter liability fairly consistently for a while. Dave may not be a stellar international winger but for me he's ahead of Cuthbert at the moment. I can't remember the last time I was actually impressed by Cuthbert. There was a time a few years ago I thought he was delivering more consistently than North, but for the last 2 years he hasn't been great.

I thought cuthbert was quite good around 2013. I thought he was pure gash in 2015. Wales don't need him anyway they have better options.