Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread V

errlloyd wrote: »
    Robbie Henshaw is the player I look to for something special out there. His precision touch kick to the corner was an example of good decision, well executed at the right time.

with an enormous slice of good fortune. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Robbie Henshaw is the player I look to for something special out there. His precision touch kick to the corner was an example of good decision, well executed at the right time.

Pretty sure that was a poorly executed cross kick that just worked out OK?

But yeah, he had a great game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭JPNelsforearm

.ak wrote: »
    My worry is how easily he's being knocked out now. I watched him join the ruck and I could tell straight away he was out cold and he barely made contact with anyone. It looked like he was plugged out of the matrix.

He could do with adding a few kg/building up his neck, he has a light frame and a skinny neck, recipe for concussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Mr Tickle wrote: »
    i think there were two like that on henshaw in the welsh 22. it was hard to tell if it was just the speed that he was hitting them or if they could have done more to hold him.

Noticed those also. Ref immediately shouted "play on" on all those occasions, so he must have been pretty satisfied. They did look very borderline. Only a matter of time before someone gets the shins smashed off them with a flying torpedo no arms "chop tackle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭bilston

.ak wrote: »
    I really enjoyed henshaw and Payne together. They're both such tidy footballers. Unfortunately Roberts really did his home work and studied them well, when henshaw became the marked man we looked to get the ball to Payne but they read it well, unfortunately as we were bitterly close to getting some really nice moves to play off in midfield.

The midfield battle yesterday was terrific. Roberts was my MOTM but Henshaw met fire with fire and apart from his excellent defence we saw some.lovely touches from Payne. I don't remember seeing much of JD though so we were obviously doing something right in defence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

The incident where it looks like Sexton got hurt was another silly looking tackle for him. It looked like he was going face on to tackle and tried to tuck his head between his legs to get it out of the way and got whacked on the back of the head/neck/shoulders.
    Was he trying to kiss his arse goodbye? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

aimee1 wrote: »
    Wales in august - Stretchered off IIRC after copping a knee to the head trying to tackle North

Romania in September he needed HIA

Embra in November he took a heavy blow to the head in the last minute

Leinster in Thomond he was stretchered off

Yesterday - I think he was out cold for a few seconds

But apart from that was he ok?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

It was a poor decision we had the welsh defence turned and going back wards into their 22. and we give them back possession and time to re group

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

http://www.the42.ie/wales-media-reaction-ireland-2591184-Feb2016/

I like Mark Orders from the South Wales Evening Post:
    The way the Irish newspapers had written it up, Ireland had two chances heading into this game. Slim, and none. And Slim had left Dublin on an express train. Former Ireland lock Neil Francis led the charge of the pessimists, saying: “This is the worst Ireland side to be named for a competitive match in over 15 years".......The gloom wasn’t justified from a green perspective.

kilns wrote: »
    It was a poor decision we had the welsh defence turned and going back wards into their 22. and we give them back possession and time to re group
    If I remember correctly, they box kicked to touch from the resulting lineout and gave us possession back on the edge of their 22.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭The Black Stags

Any clips of Henshaw getting any big hits in on Roberts... there's the one of Roberts getting a good solid man and ball tackle on Henshaw - would like to see one of Henshaws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭1eg0a3xv7b82of

This is the kind of lazy rubbish that's trotted out time after time without any reference to the facts.

Stander is rightly being lauded for his 23 carries for 38 metres. In 15 carries, Heaslip made 43 metres.

Toby Faletau made 15 carries as well. Guess what? He only made 22 metres. So if you're looking for someone who only makes 1 metre at a time...

faletau gets a beautiful try, a try that is beyond heaslip.
    heaslip was good defensively yesterday but our front row including replacements offered more in attack.
    no need to get parochial about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

kilns wrote: »

Either they box kicked to their 22 giving us a lineout (and 51% of WC tries were scored off lineouts) or that was when Priestland has his charge down panic right before we scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Would Stander be eligible for the Lions?

faletau gets a beautiful try, a try that is beyond heaslip.
    heaslip was good defensively yesterday but our front row including replacements offered more in attack.
    no need to get parochial about it.
    I'll leave it to others to decide who's being parochial.

But rather than make sweeping statements of little factual value, I'll restrict myself to pointing out the facts.

You made a completely incorrect assertion. I called you on it. I backed that up with facts. And you called me parochial.

Nice :rolleyes:

mystic86 wrote: »
    Yes since we already have a precedent in Riki Flutey who was on the 2009 Lions Tour to SA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

mystic86 wrote: »
    Yes. He's qualified for Ireland so he's eligible for selection for the Lions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Ross and Healy to play for Leinster this weekend according to RTE.

I'll leave it to others to decide who's being parochial.

But rather than make sweeping statements of little factual value, I'll restrict myself to pointing out the facts.

You made a completely incorrect assertion. I called you on it. I backed that up with facts. And you called me parochial.

Nice :rolleyes:

ok he made 1.2 m per carry :)
    what i said is factual, he is a good defensive 8.
    but in attack he is limited.

vienne86 wrote: »
    Ross and Healy to play for Leinster this weekend according to RTE.

Should be grand for Twickenham so.

Get all our props plus SOB and Kearney back, I'll feel a lot better about it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

ok he made 1.2 m per carry :)
    what i said is factual, he is a good defensive 8.
    but in attack he is limited.

43/15 is not 1.2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Stheno wrote: »
    43/15 is not 1.2?

why are you bothering? once someone makes an assertion based on their opinion and says its a fact you should just move on its never worth your time.

salmocab wrote: »
    why are you bothering? once someone makes an assertion based on their opinion and says its a fact you should just move on its never worth your time.

metres accrued by going backwards are not valid, thats why I said 1.2 m per carry.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

metres accrued by going backwards are not valid, thats why I said 1.2 m per carry.

It must really annoy you when Heaslip gets so many plaudits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

sydthebeat wrote: »

1.2 meters per carry is actually nearly what Faletau got, think there might have been a mistake made...

sydthebeat wrote: »

he deserves the plaudits he receives.
    I would compare him to David Denton, similar players.
    Professional, honest, hard working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

So he deserves to be a 2 times Lion and 80+ cap international with multiple as captain? Denton obviously is nowhere near that level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

thats one big giant pile of bull

Heineken cup x3, 6n x3, Amlin x1, Pro12 x 3 and 5 Lions test caps and well on his way to 100 ireland caps.

Denton has 33 scotland caps in 5-6 years.

The only viable comparison is they both play rugby. Stop making a fool of yourself

Lads. It's a gag.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

So he deserves to be a 2 times Lion and 80+ cap international with multiple as captain? Denton obviously is nowhere near that level.

What I don't get about Heaslip is how he got away so long with a lack of versatility. Every other backrow we've ever had has been able to play a couple of positions in the backrow / 2nd row.

Tommy O'Donnell (and as Wally used to) playing openside compliments Heaslip better than SOB and that is why I think everyone thinks that Heaslip is better now.

thats one big giant pile of bull

Heineken cup x3, 6n x3, Amlin x1, Pro12 x 3 and 5 Lions test caps and well on his way to 100 ireland caps.

Denton has 33 scotland caps in 5-6 years.

The only viable comparison is they both play rugby. Stop making a fool of yourself

the lions is only a bit of craic, it means nothing.

Comparing players by silverware also is pointless, for example what did keith wood ever win. does that make him a less of a player than strauss or cronin.

Denton and heaslip are similar players, they are good players.
    how you can say there is no comparison between as 8s is very naive.

jm08 wrote: »
    What I don't get about Heaslip is how he got away so long with a lack of versatility. Every other backrow we've ever had has been able to play a couple of positions in the backrow / 2nd row.

You don't need to be versatile if you're world class in your position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

You're right yeah. Like Foley for example, remember him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Because he is a worldclass No.8 - why would he be played anywhere other than 8 ?

You don't need to be versatile if you're world class in your position.

You don't start out being world class. You'll find the Richie McCaws, Kieran Reads etc. could play right across the backrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

:D:D:D

Absolutely fantastic.

Just when I think they can't possibly find anything else they change the attack angle completely.

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Because he is a worldclass No.8 - why would he be played anywhere other than 8 ?

I don't know. To suit the team maybe. It helps the team if players are capable of filling a couple of positions.

Tommy O'Donnell (and as Wally used to) playing openside compliments Heaslip better than SOB and that is why I think everyone thinks that Heaslip is better now.

None of this is even remotely true. Hilarious.

You don't start out being world class. You'll find the Richie McCaws, Kieran Reads etc. could play right across the backrow

Heaslip wasn't born in the #8 shirt. He worked his way into the team as his level increased. You're talking nonsense.

the lions is only a bit of craic, it means nothing.

Comparing players by silverware also is pointless, for example what did keith wood ever win. does that make him a less of a player than strauss or cronin.

Denton and heaslip are similar players, they are good players.
    how you can say there is no comparison between as 8s is very naive.

You should change your name to cloud cookoo :)

Heaslip wasn't born in the #8 shirt. He worked his way into the team as his level increased. You're talking nonsense.

He has one start at openside for Leinster back in 2006! He probably missed making the 2007 world cup because of his lack of versatility.

I don't know. To suit the team maybe. It helps the team if players are capable of filling a couple of positions.

Backrow is one area we have been well stocked in. Why compromise one of our best players for no reason?

Well, with his lack of vesatility, he is blocking the development of No. 8s. For example, Leinster might like to have Conan or Murphy at no 8, but still have Heaslip on the pitch.

I don't think any player since O'Driscoll established themselves as first choice at his province faster than Heaslip. He was an absolute revelation from day one.

It's a shame that people have such weird and bitter hangups about him, they're denying themselves the appreciation of a really special player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭MLC61

Does this theory apply only to No 8. Or does it include hookers? Outside centres? Second rows?

He has one start at openside for Leinster back in 2006!

So?
    He probably missed making the 2007 world cup because of his lack of versatility.

He was in the Irish squad less than a year when the World Cup squad was named in 2007. He wasn't the first choice #8. His lack of versatility may have come into it back then when they were looking to make up the numbers. Once he established himself as a first choice #8 versatility was/is irrelevant.

Well, with his lack of vesatility, he is blocking the development of No. 8s. For example, Leinster might like to have Conan or Murphy at no 8, but still have Heaslip on the pitch.

Ridiculous.

Your saying having a world class specialist at your club is a bad thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Blackclaret

Heislips one of Irelands most senior players and a leader within the group, he's earned that jersey. There is absolutely no doubt he could play 6 or 7, infact I bet he could play lock also but why. Am sure POC would have made a belting good blindside, but again why .

So yeah munster have developed a fine successor to ROG at 10 then when he went to full back or centre?

Heaslip is unavailable or away half the season so its ample gametime for others. The bitterness about someone who has had an unrivalled career is frankly quite sad.