Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v Argentina build up thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭UnknownEntity

Really, really want the bench and the players coming on for the injured to make as big of an impact as they did against France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Looking at Bosch dumping the namibian 10, he has to miss this game too? Ball is long gone before he even starts to tackle him, even after that he lifts and dumps him.

He would be a serious miss for the Arg m/f.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Looking at Bosch dumping the namibian 10, he has to miss this game too? Ball is long gone before he even starts to tackle him, even after that he lifts and dumps him.

He would be a serious miss for the Arg m/f.
    His long range kicking alone is a serious weapon to have.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Not sure if this has been posted. It is the bookies perceived winning margin versus what the actual margins were. Ireland are performing almost exactly as predicted.

boUHenm.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Ceadog

RWC 1/4 final refs:

SA v Wales - Wayne Barnes
    NZ v Fra - Nigel Owens
    Ire v Arg - Jerome Garces
    Aus v Sco - Craig Joubert

Ceadog wrote: »
    RWC 1/4 final refs:

NZ v Fra - Nigel Owens

HA!

Poor Nigel Owens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

So we are 3 points behind expectations whereas Argentina are 46 ahead and massively overperforming? Not exactly comforting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Not sure if this has been posted. It is the bookies perceived winning margin versus what the actual margins were. Ireland are performing almost exactly as predicted.

boUHenm.png

Yes, and Argentina are the most over performing side!!!

Seriously though. We are deservedly third in the world.

This is a tough match but a great draw and anything but a win would be a massive let down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

So we are 3 points behind expectations whereas Argentina are 46 ahead and massively overperforming? Not exactly comforting!

Would you prefer the underperforming all blacks?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Slightly apprehensive about Argentina on Sunday. They've been forewarned, and won't be as complacent as the French.

They're bound to be fresher as well, having their toughest game out of the way on day one. That France game would have been physically and emotionally draining on our guys.

Still think we'll shade it by 3-4 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Slightly apprehensive about Argentina on Sunday. They've been forewarned, and won't be as complacent as the French.

They're bound to be fresher as well, having their toughest game out of the way on day one. That France game would have been physically and emotionally draining on our guys.

Still think we'll shade it by 3-4 points.

I think we'll be fine actually. Won't be all that close.

Joe will set them up to win the game once we win the breakdown. We'll creep ahead and then suddenly have a big margin.

Meanwhile Scotland and the Aussies will pummel the sh1t out of each other. Lots of injuries and citings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ken76

Garces the French ref for us on sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

Ceadog wrote: »
    RWC 1/4 final refs:

NZ v Fra - Nigel Owens

Garces is good for us. World rugby didnt have the balls to put barnes on the nz v france game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

aimee1 wrote: »
    Garces is good for us. World rugby didnt have the balls to put barnes on the nz v france game
    Why would they? Would just be setting him up to fail no matter the result.

yuuuuuuzz ett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

Christy42 wrote: »
    Would you prefer the underperforming all blacks?

Nope just pointing out that this won't be as straight forward as some people think it will be. I'm still backing us to win I just think we're going to struggle to break Argentina down and there will probably be less than a score in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Nope just pointing out that this won't be as straight forward as some people think it will be. I'm still backing us to win I just think we're going to struggle to break Argentina down and there will probably be less than a score in it.

I swear there are more people saying 'people are wrong saying argentina will be easy' than there are people actually saying argentina will be an easy game. We have never once won a World Cup quarterfinal, I really can't believe anyone thinks it will be straightforward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,231 ✭✭✭✭walshb

awec wrote: »
    Some lowering of expectations going on here.

We should be beating Argentina and be controlling the game. Anything other than a win is a terrible result, there'll be no other way to dress it up.

That's nonsense. Both teams are world class, and neither has some automatic right to win. Waiting for the OTT criticism of the lads should they lose....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭gamma001

anyone got a link for the bosch dump tackle?

gamma001 wrote: »
    anyone got a link for the bosch dump tackle?

Spanish, but there is a photo and a vid below that.

http://www.diariouno.com.ar/ovacion/El-tackle-de-Bosch-por-el-que-podria-ser-suspendido-20151013-0100.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

I felt the same and I still do- in a tight one off game Wales always have that little bit of extra flair or off the cuff ability to produce some magic that Irish teams do not have.

Some of the Irish players admitted afterwards that after beating Australia they began to believe the hype.
    Unfortunately we didn't have it on Saturday ...... My dream of a Wales v Ireland SF went up in smoke ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭UnitedFan31

Even wihtout O'Connell and perhaps Sexton, both Madigan and Henderson were very impressive against France. Don't it will be easy, but hopefully a win.

Bosch's problem is that the ball had so clearly gone it's hard to argue it was accidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭ulster_Beef

'Irelands GAA background will win the game for Ireland'... Source ITV commentary, Sunday 18th October 2015.

If I hear Ireland and GAA in the air ball skill one more time.... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Journeyman_1

That's a nasty looking tackle, could be the end of Bosch's WC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭stadedublinois

That's a nasty looking tackle, could be the end of Bosch's WC.

Yeah, can't see how he'll get less that three weeks. Was it sanctionned in the match?

Yellow, but there's no real argument that it shouldn't have been red. 3 weeks at the absolute minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

3 weeks? Ah stop. It's lazy, but in real time you can see he's committed, so the lateness isn't an issue. It's a tip tackle but it's mostly down to a lack of concentration and the Namibian player throwing himself around like a fish out of water. He lands on his arms/torso I think so I'd say 1 week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

SOB 1 wk. on newstalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Not sure it's been mentioned we have Jerome Garces for this.

Right, well the SOB ban forces our hand somewhat. If we could rest Sexton we won't now. Even if he's fecked we'll wheel him out because we can't go into the game without our 5 best players (Payne, POC, sexton, Sob, pom)

I think Healy will start again. A lot of people saying he shouldn't have started against France because McGrath was better when he came on, but that's the point sometimes you want your bench players to add something to the game after they fit in.

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Toner
    Hendo
    Murphy
    Henry
    Heaslip
    Murray
    Sexton
    Kearney
    Henshaw
    Earls
    Bowe
    Kearney

Cronin
    McGrath
    White
    Ryan
    Ruddock
    Reddan
    Madigan
    Fitzgerald

If earls isn't fit then Fitzgerald to start and Zebo on the bench.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Have we still not called up a replacement for Payne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Assuming Sexton is fit:

Healy
    Best
    Ross

Ryan
    Toner

Henry
    Heaslip----Henderson

Murray----Sexton

Henshaw---Earls

Kearney
    Bowe

Kearney

Still a strong side that can come through what will be a tight game.

Have we still not called up a replacement for Payne?

Nope. Seems we're holding off so we have an extra replacement slot to deal with any injuries against Argentina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Would Schmidt be bold enough to start Ruddock ahead of Murphy? I think he'll seriously consider it as this will be hugely physical and more suited to Ruddock. Has he much game time this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

case885 wrote: »
    Would Schmidt be bold enough to start Ruddock ahead of Murphy? I think he'll seriously consider it as this will be hugely physical and more suited to Ruddock. Has he much game time this season?

I'd start Henderson and Ryan. Plenty of physicality there, and they at least have been with the squad.

He has to go with Murphy, who's shown good form. Why bring him if he'll bring someone getting used to the calls ahead of him? Murphy is a bit more mobile too, so will suit the game.

I'd start Henderson and Ryan. Plenty of physicality there, and they at least have been with the squad.

I would also but will Schmidt want to move Henderson now with Paulie out? I don't think he will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

If Toner and Ryan are the locks and Henderson plays 6, who'll be the substitute lock? McCarthy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Find it extremely unlikely they'll start all three of Ryan, Henderson and Toner. McCarthy wasn't even involved in the warmups let alone the rest of the competition, and he's going to come in and play after 2 days of training? I'd be very surprised.

More likely imo that they'll start Toner and Henderson in the 2nd row, Murphy/Henry/Heaslip in the back row with Ryan and Ruddock on the bench

.ak wrote:
    He has to go with Murphy, who's shown good form. Why bring him if he'll bring someone getting used to the calls ahead of him? Murphy is a bit more mobile too, so will suit the game.

We have 2 mobile back rows in heaslip and Henry, we need a big powerful 6 and its either Ruddock or hendo that will provide us with that.

What actual function on the field do you think we'd be unable to perform well enough with Murphy/Henry/Heaslip?

Exactly. Not to mention Hendo will be on the pitch anyway...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I only saw one of ARG's games. Are they any use in the lineout?

Carrying and rucking would be the two areas where Ruddock would excel over Murphy but as said Ruddock can't do o Mahoney's lineout work so I guess it comes down to do you want the player who's better in open play or in the lineout.

Murphy is a pretty dynamic carrier. They are both very good carriers but in different ways. I would also say Murphy will be more effective in the breakdown over his time on the pitch, he'll get to more rucks then ruddock ever would. He might not smash people out of rucks like ruddock but his worth to his teammates is massive because he'll be first arrived for most rucks. He lead that stat in the 6n.

Ruddock would be considered if we planned on playing a very defensive game, but if we're looking for more offensive set piece orientated game the it's gotta be Murphy IMO.

Carrying and rucking would be the two areas where Ruddock would excel over Murphy but as said Ruddock can't do o Mahoney's lineout work so I guess it comes down to do you want the player who's better in open play or in the lineout.

But Henderson in the row is still going to contribute to carrying and rucking regardless of who you put in the back row. Don't think Ryan adds a lot more than Murphy there to be honest.

Fair enough, personally I'd prefer Ruddock but there's not a whole lot between them anyway I guess.

I would prefer Ruddock as well but he has missed a lot of game time. Wouldn't expect him to be up to starting a World Cup Quarter Final really if we can avoid it. I'd imagine it's between Ryan and Murphy to start.