Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/10/2015 to 21/12/2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

And what color is your bike, caller?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I went off on my bicycle, Joe, cos I'm a teacher, Joe, with lots of holidays

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

1) Think of an idea for a book
    2) Write the buke
    3) Stick it up your hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Kind of reminds me of the bloke who navigated his way around the world in his kitchen.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

you dont need to worry about publishers says the caller..... Joe goes very quiet and then a bit defensive

He talks funneh for an English teacher..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I remember a few years ago he had people on with self published books, jaysus ... one of them was something like "Not all stalkers are bad guys" :O !!

How did you cycle to the Aran Islands caller?

"I met a guy with a fridge, Joe."

1) Think of an idea for a book
    2) Write the buke
    3) Stick it up your hole

Then plug the fcuk out of in your day job and get some little bald cross dressing cnut from Finglas to push it for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Whatever about the possibility of it being grand & easy to 'get it out there' but can you sell them???????

He probably got a puncture on O'Connell St after cycling over a syringe

• Registered Users Posts: 48 quarefarmers

Joe must have had a few extra minutes in d'limmo today to come up with this dung

• Registered Users Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Tour de camino...sure every tom dick and harry hasnt done that walk..

joe knows nothing about indpendent bookshops, in duffyland theres only 1 book seller in the country called easons

Love orangemen, Joe, love em

Orangemen... are they not oompa loompas?

neris wrote: »
    joe knows nothing about indpendent bookshops, in duffyland theres only 1 book seller in the country called easons
    What about amazon eyebukes?

neris wrote: »
    Orangemen... are they not oompa loompas?
    No they are folk who prune trees of orange.

She could call it some mothers son and have helen mirren play the bad ass catholic girl... or has that been done already?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

Dare I say it, but this is even worse than unfunny friday :o:o

did she say the gutter shop? bad name for a shop

Joe is giving the small independent writer a leg up- what a man!

Fujitsu10 wrote: »
    Dare I say it, but this is even worse than unfunny friday :o:o
    Clearly not a bookworm!

Wimmen in farming
    What about Men in farming?

a book on women driving tractors................ what next a book on men who cut hair

posh bird in D4 drives a slurry wagon

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRl7z8E3M4ClzK4RXXElH9dFqF1D6MXv6ZrzAQ4QMBF4eYDPyh8qg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Joe is busy scribbling

Joe will have this one on for thr rest of the show... dubalineeze lady with a history of dubalin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

snubbleste wrote: »
    Clearly not a bookworm!

Dare I say it..... Joe or the Caller ;);)

So, before the RTE campus was built, it was grassland pepperred with shoyte?
    Nothing changed, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,857 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Killed, explain so to speak how.

M

Did the childs father get anything?

"We're a bit stuck for time" sez Joe @ 14:08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

if you write a good book theres, loads of websites to promote it.
    And there,s self published ebooks on amazon .
    90 per cent books are not worth reading .
    i see no point in promoting new authors on this show .
    The good books like the martian ,tend to rise to the top ,
    and be found by readers .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Joe will have this one on for thr rest of the show... dubalineeze lady with a history of dubalin.

Shame shes not a North Sider or she'd tick all of Joe's boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

It's gas the way Joe portray himself as the "friend of the downtrodden self publisher when nobody else in the industry will support them". Joe's got a book deal with a publisher just because of who he is, simply so that he and the publisher can cash in on his celebrity. So he is actually the enemy of all of these people.

M

Has the internet and eBooks not done away with the need to get a book printed especially with these books that will have tiny print runs.

this is some drivel

sounds like he is hiding under the stairs

It's gas the way Joe portray himself as the "friend of the downtrodden self publisher when nobody else in the industry will support them". Joe's got a book deal with a publisher just because of who he is, simply so that he and the publisher can cash in on his celebrity. So he is actually the enemy of all of these people.

Ah in fairness he supports local business by having it printed abroad. And its not like he shamelessly promotes the bewk on the taxpayers dime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

to be released in 2016

"Diary of a Bored Overpaid Radio Broadcaster" by Joseph Duffy

"A Guide to Radio Production" by Raymond D'arcy

"My Love for _____" by John Creedon

insert John Prine, Tom Waits Van Morrison

Birds with Derek Mooney by Derek Mooney - a fictional novel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Has the internet and eBooks not done away with the need to get a book printed especially with these books that will have tiny print runs.

No, most people who read books still like hard copy, in their hands and on their shelves.

The principal benefit of e-publishing is that it saves trees..

M

Is there VAT on books?

where is Joe's local printer?

"went astray"....to be filed with "unwell", or "bit of a drinker"

M

Someone should have wrote a 50 Shades Of Grey style book set in 1916.

probably a better read than Duffy's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

So, this is obviously prerecorded because the Duffer is already on his Xmas holliers.

teachers are so bored in the summer, god love them