Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015 - Mod Note Post 7373

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Indestructable

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I like Louis Van Gaal as a person...I don't for one second believe he is happy with the style of football the team is currently playing. He is stubborn, yet he has tried to change things many times and nothing seems to work. I don't think it is all his fault, but he looks like a man lacking confidence himself which is never good for a person who is managing a team.
    I would love to see him turn things around, but I don't think he has the right offense for the team, Rooney should be heading into his final months in the team, Mata needs to step things up and patience is needed for Martial and Memphis.
    Needs more Herrera, Schneiderlin struggling to be fit for the Stoke game and he is vital at this stage.

The problem for Van Gaal, nothing has run smoothly for him, injuries, superstar players who either flopped or wanted out, Rooney in the worst form of his career and something he should have fixed on the right hand side - not enough speed.
    The club is in better shape than under Moyes, but it is hard to see if Van Gaal could take United up another level from the current fighting for 3rd to 4th place.
    It is a pity how it worked out, I would be happy with Mourinho taking over presuming Pep is not available. We need proven winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

What was on that twitter link? I can't view it.

edit: nevermind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Nalz wrote: »
    What was on that twitter link? I can't view it.

edit: nevermind

Someone using dial up, finally announced Giggs will be interim manager after the sacking of Moyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

https://twitter.com/trevor8sinclair

is that a real account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Rachel is doing the following
    th?id=OIP.M41877b09e65a9f47b17241ed50ad346fH0&pid=15.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

jayo26 wrote: »
    So basically giggs carries too much risk but what manager carries less risk then him? outside of pep what manager would carry less risk that we could go for?

I just curious because i think lvg will be gone soon too but there is no manager out there that id be confident of taking over the team and guiding us in the right direction.

A major thing giggs will have going for himself is that he loves the club if he is as tactically clever as others has said he has a good chance the biggest tging he has to find out is man management skills and he will only get them by been a manager be it with us or anywhere else. But yhh he would be a massive risk.
    There are numerous managers who carry less risk that Giggs.He was a fine player for United and knows the club inside out but he has done nothing to get the job imo.

Who has said Giggs is tactically clever?Best for Giggs is to get out of United for a few seasons and prove himself at a decent level of management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Coat22 wrote: »

Was just coming on to post that.Excellent article,its a long read but worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

adox wrote: »
    Are you serious? Who outside of Pep carries less risk than Giggs as next Utd manager? I mean it should be self explanatory.

I was putting the question out there looking for opinions and so far the only person with a decent opinion on a replacement is The Doc. It's easy for people to say who they don't want but who the bloody he'll do ya want then.

As I said I was curious to what people thought as I too aint happy with the current setup. I didn't say giggsbwas the best option he is far from it i was asking who do you all think is a better option that is get able.

Soo give your self explanatory opinion? Who do you think should take over apart from pep and is get able should the manager go over the xmass period???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,667 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

is that a real account?

As real as they come, Homer!

yabadabado wrote: »
    There are numerous managers who carry less risk that Giggs.He was a fine player for United and knows the club inside out but he has done nothing to get the job imo.

Who has said Giggs is tactically clever?Best for Giggs is to get out of United for a few seasons and prove himself at a decent level of management.

I'm not supporting Giggs for the job I think he would be a gamble I was just asking for opinions. Fergie has said gigs is very tactically up there as has lvg and Nevile has said it in the past too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

is that a real account?

meh, "need to know now" "is that post\tweet\alert real" "stirring the tinternet spoon" The fúcking world is obsessed with rapid fire buzzer round information.

I bet its real but so what? When LVG is sacked you'll hear about it :)

Have a cuppa :p

I was putting the question out there looking for opinions and so far the only person with a decent opinion on a replacement is The Doc. It's easy for people to say who they don't want but who the bloody he'll do ya want then.

As I said I was curious to what people thought as I too aint happy with the current setup. I didn't say giggsbwas the best option he is far from it i was asking who do you all think is a better option that is get able.

Soo give your self explanatory opinion? Who do you think should take over apart from pep and is get able should the manager go over the xmass period???

Mourhino.

But you asked which manager would be less of a risk than Giggs and the list would be as long as your arm.

Nalz wrote: »
    meh, "need to know now" "is that post\tweet\alert real" "stirring the tinternet spoon" The fúcking world is obsessed with rapid fire buzzer round information.

I bet its real but so what? When LVG is sacked you'll hear about it :)

Have a cuppa :p

i think its yourself that needs a cuppa. gotta love these lads coming on here all high and mighty giving advice, yet they are doing exactly what they are giving out about.

LVG is the biggest story in world sport at the moment, people dont need to be told what they can or cant follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,667 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Twitter is a minefield right now. "Quotes" going around that Ogden was on Sky saying LVG left through the back door to avoid media like Moyes did, his reply..

https://twitter.com/MarkOgden_/status/679372737903796225

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

TBF Jayo the last 20 or so pages has been a discussion on who people would like as a manager. You're playing too much Fifa :pac:

is that a real account?

The correct sign in the blue beside his name means it is a verified account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Whats silly is the current narrative of Mourinho as a pantomime villain.

Its not a flight of fancy to point out parallels from history.

I didn't read your other post, but did you include any references to how Fergie was instrumental in Cantona settling in and becoming the talisman that was?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,605 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Sinclair saying his phone was "stolen" :rolleyes: his report that Van Gaal is gone was a "prank"...

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Sinclair saying his phone was "stolen" :rolleyes: his report that Van Gaal is gone was a "prank"...

If an iPhone I presume they stole his thumb as well to enter the phone :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

There have been similar or even worse said about a certain other manager today and I don't see you riding in to decry those comments, or do you only whiteknight whomever the current United manager is? My post was in response to another poster using the word arsehole, I see you didn't quote that post, why is that?

In my opinion Van Gaal is a bit of arsehole, thats my opinion and I have had it for a long time. Humble? Yeah right, arrogant and dismissive would be more accurate. But its my opinion, I'm sure Van Gaal doesn't care one whit about me having it and so I don't see the need for you to get any vapors up because of it.

There is a difference, I said I really dislike Jose, so of course I'm not going to be jumping to his defense. Thats simple to understand for most.

People calling Jose and a-hole or worse went onto to list examples. He stuck his finger in an assistant managers eye, callled Wenger a specialist on failure, publically slated and then wrongfully demoted a femlae member of staff etc etc, many other examples of douchey comments listed.

People backed up there opinions. You called LVG a colossal a-hole, did you supply the examples of him being an ahole? No. Has LVG insulted his fellow professionals, has he stuck fingers in the eye of other coaches? No. LVG has conducted himself professionally.

Your reason for calling him a colossal a-hole is you don't like our brand of football and our legue position. This doesn't make him a colossal a-hole, it just means your an irrational child who resorts to name calling when things aren't going as you like.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

If I was in a fraping mood, that's the last thing I'd post. There's smoke there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Forcing Welbeck out by bringing in Falcao was the last straw for Louis. Everything since then has been largely irrelevant. Mourinho would be a fascinating appointment.

Canadel wrote: »
    Forcing Welbeck out by bringing in Falcao was the last straw for Louis. Everything since then has been largely irrelevant. Mourinho would be a fascinating appointment.

LOL

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Piers Morgan saying its incoming now. Bookies closing betting :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Miaow with a capital K.

Piers Morgan saying its incoming now. Bookies closing betting :P

Is he still calling for Wenger to be sacked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

The last straw, not even a month into his first season?

Ah bejaysus.

Danny, while a very likeable young lad, has turned out to be, well, shyte.

We were lucky to get £15 million or whatever it is the Arse paid for him.

We had and have enough journeymen and also rans in the squad.

The money is coming strong for Van Gaal to be the next manager to be sacked earlier today it was 1/4, now it is 1/10.

Wellbeck told to score a goal through an open door.
    Next thing the window in the neighbours house is broken.

this has to be one of the greatest tweets of all time....

Manchester United
    @ManUtd
    David Moyes says #mufc must improve in a number of areas, including passing, creating chances and defending.

6:10 AM - 9 Dec 2013

dunno whats worst, the fact that Moyes said it or the person who actually posted it, like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Wouldn't worry about betting markets when it comes to managerial positions or sackings. Largely dictated by money and it doesn't take a massive amount to move the odds.

That said it does look like his days are numbered.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Does anyone believe LVG will still be the United manager by the end of the January transfer window?

Does anyone believe that LVG deserves to still be the United manager by the end of the January transfer window?

astradave wrote: »
    TBF Jayo the last 20 or so pages has been a discussion on who people would like as a manager. You're playing too much Fifa :pac:

I'll leave it at then then pal ha why can't we just get pep and get a league modify card for him grrrhhhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭billyhead

Hes as good as gone now. A matter of hours I would say before the club announces it. Pity really as I was enthusiastic about his appointment especially after he led the Dutch to 3rd place in the world cup. Hopefully Mourinho will come in with a point to prove and make an immediate impact.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Great dive there by Fosu-mensa in the u18s.

Anybody else watching

Does anyone believe LVG will still be the United manager by the end of the January transfer window?

Does anyone believe that LVG deserves to still be the United manager by the end of the January transfer window?

Tbh I wouldn't be surprised in the least if he is still in charge at the end of January, although to answer your second question, no I don't think he still deserves to be Utd manager.

The one caveat on my first point is the perceived availability of both Mourhino and Pep which may hasten the boards decision.

Rossi IRL wrote: »

Anybody else watching

Too busy hammering the F5 button, mate ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Stolen from twitter....

BREAKING: Louis van Gaal has been sacked but he's unable to leave the building as he keeps passing sideways & backwards through the doors.

Rossi IRL wrote: »

Anybody else watching

a sign of how bad things are with the first team, the u-18s have lost 8 league games in a row and not many people have mentioned it. they are losing games to Boro, Wolves, Blackburn, Derby and Sunderland.

thats another worrying sign, we are supposed to be sorting out the academy over the last few years but looks like we are actually regressing at an alarming rate after a couple of good u-21 teams

Van Gaal's audition for the X factor:

https://twitter.com/footbilly/status/679387869933379585

I'd imagine the answer to both is a pretty clear yes, the people who can see the future, or at least the next 5 weeks of it have also agreed to abstain from answering for fairness sake :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

billyhead wrote: »
    Hes as good as gone now. A matter of hours I would say before the club announces it. Pity really as I was enthusiastic about his appointment especially after he led the Dutch to 3rd place in the world cup. Hopefully Mourinho will come in with a point to prove and make an immediate impact.

Was in the same boat. Thought he would succeed and thought that we turned a corner for a brief spell last year but that proved to be the exception rather than the rule. There's only so much time you can give to a manager when the side looks stagnant on the field for so long. Glad we gave him time and glad we got back to a decent base with him after how bad things were with Moyes but it's horrific to watch every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

a sign of how bad things are with the first team, the u-18s have lost 8 league games in a row and not many people have mentioned it. they are losing games to Boro, Wolves, Blackburn, Derby and Sunderland.

thats another worrying sign, we are supposed to be sorting out the academy over the last few years but looks like we are actually regressing at an alarming rate after a couple of good u-21 teams

Its a sad sight alright.

Theres only maybe 2-3 players between the 21s and 18s that you would think might have a chance.

I remember a few years ago watching the likes of rafael, fabio, macheda and king.

Now its gone to ****e

RobertKK wrote: »
    The money is coming strong for Van Gaal to be the next manager to be sacked earlier today it was 1/4, now it is 1/10.

Ah no the real question is when all the bookies suspend the market. Given how easily people are manipulated by media speculation it wouldn't be much of a surprise for Tom, Dave and Freddie to be coaxed into throwing the oul chipper money on him.

MEN have said there were no discussions or talks today about LVGS future, Woodward was at a meeting in London for a "commercial-related discussion".

looking more and more likely that he will be the manager against Stoke and Chelsea, i think its time to move on and accept that he aint going anywhere yet.

adox wrote: »
    Tbh I wouldn't be surprised in the least if he is still in charge at the end of January, although to answer your second question, no I don't think he still deserves to be Utd manager.

The one caveat on my first point is the perceived availability of both Mourhino and Pep which may hasten the boards decision.

But do you believe he deserves to be the manager at the end of January? Forget now. Go forward in time, see how January goes and then answer the question!