Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ICYMI BMW Berlin 2016 Marathon Open

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Rolex_

EauRouge79 wrote: »
    My issue would always have been committing time and getting the miles in. Before this block I would have perhaps averaged 50’ish miles a week in marathon training (4 runs a week). That avg. is now 71 since May having just done a quick calculation (and that included a few intentional step back weeks at around 50 miles).

71? Snap! Training heroes indeed:;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Name|PB|Goal|Race Number
    Paulers06|3:38:51|3:35:00|41842
    davedanon|3:14:18|3:09:59|30835
    adrian522|3:49:23|3:29:59|27203
    tailgunner|N/A|3:59:59|34091
    dcorcaigh|3:43:44|3:40:00|33837
    MacSwifty|3:20:23|3:19:59|47995
    Duanington|3.03.08|2.52.xx|13954
    Loughie|2:56:52|2.59.57|29042
    Rolex_|2:50:21|2:44:59|8856
    Bluesquare|4:34:01|4:10:00|TBA
    Quick feet |3:27:47|3:19:59|30759
    Aarnikotka|3:27:01|3:19:59|33191
    Overpronator|2:58:20|2:54:59|39026
    Jebuz|2.36.57|2:29:59|30654
    The Celtic Runner|3:54:50|3:29:59|18866
    EauRouge79|2:46:46|2:35:59|33889

Looks like I shall be enjoying the Berlin experience from the sidelines. In terms of the weather, if you look at current patterns, temperatures are rising to just 15-16'C 3-4 hours into the race, so the way I see it, it will be nice and cool to start; warming up a little towards the end of your race (when you need it, with all that cool sweating), rising to outdoor beer drinking temperatures just as you finish your respective races.

In any case, weather looks good enough for some beers by the finish line. If memory serves, there's beer and picnic tables near the entrance to the Tiergarden, by the Brandenburg gate right here on Google maps. Seems like a good central spot to meet up for some post-race beers and and make evening plans. Who'd be up for it? Will try and grab a picnic table early. If you want to PM me your mobile numbers I'll set up a WhatsApp group (though it's organization by consensus - I'm not playing mother!).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Name|PB|Goal|Race Number

Looks like I shall be enjoying the Berlin experience from the sidelines. In terms of the weather, if you look at current patterns, temperatures are rising to just 15-16'C 3-4 hours into the race, so the way I see it, it will be nice and cool to start; warming up a little towards the end of your race (when you need it, with all that cool sweating), rising to outdoor beer drinking temperatures just as you finish your respective races.

In any case, weather looks good enough for some beers by the finish line. If memory serves, there's beer and picnic tables near the entrance to the Tiergarden, by the Brandenburg gate right here on Google maps. Seems like a good central spot to meet up for some post-race beers and and make evening plans. Who'd be up for it? Will try and grab a picnic table early. If you want to PM me your mobile numbers I'll set up a WhatsApp group (though it's organization by consensus - I'm not playing mother!).

Sorry to hear you are pulling the plug G. I'm certainly up for some post race beer. Haven't had a beer since the August bank holiday!

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Rolex_

Who'd be up for it? Will try and grab a picnic table early. If you want to PM me your mobile numbers I'll set up a WhatsApp group (though it's organization by consensus - I'm not playing mother!).

Sorry to hear that Krusty. But I guess if you do have to bail at least with Dublin 5 weeks later you have every chance of recovering in time to put the training block to good use before the Winter. I'll DM you contact details

• Registered Users Posts: 25 The Celtic Runner

For those who ran in Berlin before, would you advise to book a restaurant in advance for Saturday if we want an early diner in an Italian restaurant? Or you reckon it will be easy enough to find a place without walking miles? Any recommendation is more than welcome :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Good to see Eau Rouge finally get down off that fence! I'm going to take about 0.000001% of the credit if and when he comes in with target time. I told him about a year ago to stop pi$$ing around with pacing gigs and jogging/drinking marathons and to train properly and get a time he's capable of.

He took it to heart!!

For the faster lads anyway, it won't be too warm. That mid afternoon heat might affect a few 5 hour fellas alright.

Great shame for Krusty but he's a good man to organise a beerfest in Germany.

Itziger wrote: »
    Great shame for Krusty but he's a good man to organise a beerfest in Germany.

*cough*
    though it's organization by consensus - I'm not playing mother!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

*cough*

I know, I saw that but I'm sure you'll rise to the occasion. Is the race definitely out for you then? The Strava stuff wasn't sounding too positive.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭loughie

For those who ran in Berlin before, would you advise to book a restaurant in advance for Saturday if we want an early diner in an Italian restaurant? Or you reckon it will be easy enough to find a place without walking miles? Any recommendation is more than welcome :)

Ran Berlin last couple of years and never booked anything. Loads of places to get pasta, pizza etc. Mind you last year I got gastroenteritis the day before the race, spent the day in the loo, wasn't going to run, decided to run, ran, got to the finish line, had a puking fit, back of an ambulance and off for 2 litres of fluid :o

Krusty sorry to hear your going to miss the race. Good luck for Dublin and I'll hopefully catch up over the weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

Sorry to hear that Krusty, the hardest decision is always to pull the plug. But knowing that its the right decision comes with experience. Are you signed up for Dublin?

Itziger ill give you at least .00002% for your advice and encouragement. Mind you ive done shag all yet. ill try not to let you down boss!
    Ill try to do one decent one and its back to jogging/drinking after that! I recommend it highly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Sh*t, sorry to hear, Krusty. What's the problem?

davedanon wrote: »
    Sh*t, sorry to hear, Krusty. What's the problem?
    Herniated a disc in my back last Friday. Had hoped to get over it quickly and be back running by now, but hasn't worked out. A 5k jog yesterday made it worse, so I just have to face up to the fact that it's not going to happen. Just bad luck.
    EauRouge79 wrote:
    Are you signed up for Dublin?
    Yep. Signed up before it first closed. Had always planned on running in the national champs (after Berlin), but now I guess it's center stage. Hard to see myself running the time I was looking for, but will try to use the extra 5 weeks wisely.

Herniated a disc in my back last Friday. Had hoped to get over it quickly and be back running by now, but hasn't worked out.

Awww man, that's a f*cking major bummer. Missing one race is bad enough, but that sounds like it could take a while to fix. What's the treatment/prognosis?

davedanon wrote: »
    Awww man, that's a f*cking major bummer. Missing one race is bad enough, but that sounds like it could take a while to fix. What's the treatment/prognosis?
    Nah, the recovery is not that long (generally 1-2 weeks). I'd optimistically hoped to recover in time for Sunday, but it just didn't work out this time. Anyway this thread is for runners. Back on topic!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Herniated a disc in my back last Friday. Had hoped to get over it quickly and be back running by now, but hasn't worked out. A 5k jog yesterday made it worse, so I just have to face up to the fact that it's not going to happen. Just bad luck.
    Yep. Signed up before it first closed. Had always planned on running in the national champs (after Berlin), but now I guess it's center stage. Hard to see myself running the time I was looking for, but will try to use the extra 5 weeks wisely.

Sorry to hear that Krusty. Was looking forward to see how you do. Hope the back sorts itself out soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

After a few weeks of 'cramming' training (think night before your exam type thing!) I'm heading to Berlin, more hopeful than anything. Due to a nasty back injury a few months ago my PB chances are dead but I'm hoping to get around without suffering pure misery for the last 6 miles.
    I'm not going to put an estimated time in case I jinx things :D

Good luck to all Irish entrants, I'm sure I'll see plenty of club singlets out there, c'mon St. Finbarr's :)

You can register with Asics 'Pace Your Race' here, enter your goal time and this will give you:
    • Your splits for each 5k (you could print it and make it into a pace band)
    • A QR code that you can print and bring to the Asics stand at the expo - which they'll use to print you off a pace band (forget about it, unless you visit the expo at a quiet time).
    • A map predicting what times you'll appear at various locations around the course - very handy for spectators
    You're welcome!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

The very best of luck to all running in this fantastic event. Will be doing my best to keep track on Sunday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭SnailsPace

Name|PB|Goal|Race Number
    SnailsPace|4:11:06|4:04:00|47080

Not quite in your league but sure someone's got to be still out there when yer all in the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Good luck all!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

The forecast has taken a turn for the better. 18 the highest temp we should see during the race. If only this were deal or no deal.

http://www.yr.no/place/Germany/Berlin/Berlin/long.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Good luck folks. Great race and city, enjoy.

adrian522 wrote: »
    The forecast has taken a turn for the better. 18 the highest temp we should see during the race. If only this were deal or no deal.

http://www.yr.no/place/Germany/Berlin/Berlin/long.html

Was just coming to post that. 10℃ at race time! Low humidity too.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

Can someone do the table for me please?:confused:
    Mr Jinx PB: 3.59:05 Goal: 3.49:59 number:30606, thanks

Name|PB|Goal|Race Number
    SnailsPace|4:11:06|4:04:00|47080
    Mr Jinx|3.59:05|3.49:59|30606

• Registered Users Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭opus

Best of luck to everyone on Sunday! Here's a little something to whet your appetite...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Touched down in Berlin about half an hour ago. It's about 20 degrees, but humidity is low so it doesn't feel too warm. Cooler in the shade as well obviously.

Doesn't look like it will be any worse on Sunday, and hopefully even a little cooler.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭ploughon

Good Luck everyone...give it welly!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Best of luck to all. Hope it goes well for ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭quick feet

Anyone planning a little trot tomorrow down by Brandenburg tor??