Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Limerick Superpub?

• 28-10-2015 5:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

Saw on front page of the local.
    Is it Wetherspoons or that posh Dublin pub

bigpink wrote: »
    Saw on front page of the local.
    Is it Wetherspoons or that posh Dublin pub

Same crowd who owns House Dublin...which I only just heard of about an hour ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Fair play taking it on anyway

Hopefully they'll do well and take advantage of the board walk. Something clohessys failed/didn't get a chance to do

They will have to directly take on Nancy Blakes

What more could they have more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,278 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Hopefully they'll do well and take advantage of the board walk. Something clohessys failed/didn't get a chance to do

To be fair there is next to nothing else to draw people down that way unless you were specifically going to Clohessey's or maybe Milano's. Greeted by a derelict ex ESB building or the back of a Garda station are hardly appealing. People walk the length of boardwalk and keep going, nothing along that stretch to keep them there. Pointless spending money on a boardwalk if there is nothing appealing along it's way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,337 ✭✭✭✭phog

They will have to directly take on Nancy Blakes
    What more could they have more?

What has Nancy's?

New Claw's will have a river front and the boardwalk.

Nancys has nothing but its the crowd and age profile there after

bazz26 wrote: »
    To be fair there is next to nothing else to draw people down that way unless you were specifically going to Clohessey's or maybe Milano's. Greeted by a derelict ex ESB building or the back of a Garda station are hardly appealing. People walk the length of boardwalk and keep going, nothing along that stretch to keep them there. Pointless spending money on a boardwalk if there is nothing appealing along it's way.

I agree with you but Mcgettigans has nothing to draw people down there either and that's working out well. If the new place actually opens out on to the boardwalk it could make a huge. difference.

Mcgettigans helps that the hotel is busy and people start there.Its gone rough enough at the weekends poor security on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭source

I'm all for new life down there, it's badly needed. I do hope however that they are not allowed to use the boardwalk, or if they are that it's a significantly limited number of tables compared to what Clohessey's has on it.

I walk my dog daily, this is part of my route, it's lovely to walk along there. When there was seating over there you could barely get through, then you had to deal with the people.

The boardwalk was built for people to use as a public amenity not to extend the floor space of a pub.

Very true i remember one day it was packed with day drinkers not nice to be walking with kids etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I welcome them and wish them well. Personally I'd prefer a river view there than a river view by the locke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

The pub scene is fairly dire in town now. There is only a handful that are worth going to and you would be bored stiff of them if you went out every week.

Mcgettigans really is a breath of fresh air to the night scene. It's up there with the best in town IMO. Hopefully this new place will be as good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

hat makes a pub a super pub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    hat makes a pub a super pub?

There are I believe 3 tax bands for pubs turnover so anything in the higher tax band I assume could be considered a super pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭Mr.Carter

Limerick needs a people injection...not a superpub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Mr.Carter wrote: »

You should ring the owners and tell them that!!

It should be noted there are 6 hotels within a 5 minute walk of the premises, I would imagine that had something to do with it...

If the place in Dublin is anything to go by these guys won't be chasing the "superpub" crowd you get in McGettigans and Smiths!

You should ring the owners and tell them that!!

It should be noted there are 6 hotels within a 5 minute walk of the premises, I would imagine that had something to do with it...

If the place in Dublin is anything to go by these guys won't be chasing the "superpub" crowd you get in McGettigans and Smiths!

Limerick is utterly dead outside Friday and Saturday nights... the crowds are spread out across town, no real pub/ nightclub area.
    It's the lack of people with money to go out during the other nights....
    Galway on a Monday is busier than limerick on a Saturday night...

Limerick is utterly dead outside Friday and Saturday nights... the crowds are spread out across town, no real pub/ nightclub area.

Most cities in the world are dead midweek, try an American city or European city of similar size, or indeed bigger...personally I think pubs should be dead midweek...this is a country with a drinking problem having packed pubs on a Monday night isn't necessarily a good thing...

Limerick Hotels have traditionally been busier midweek than they were on weekends...a legacy of a very poor image problem which is slowly being reversed, these guys are investing a serious amount of cash into this project, I would imagine they have their homework done...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Seriously? Have you never heard of the so called 'Market Quarter'? Nancys, Flannerys x2, Smiths/Icon, The Library, The Office, Cobblestone Joes, The Old Quarter, Charlie Chaplins, The Orchard, Crush, The Red Hen, The Lone Wolf.
    It may not be everyones taste, but it's definitely a pub/nightclub area.

I grew up in limerick...I know it very well. It was way busier in the 90s...I remember even a Tuesday night been a good night out. No where like that now.

Different times in the 90s...back in the 90s young people didn't have cars/phones/expensive clothes/expensive hair dos/gadgets of all descriptions etc etc....and to be fair, it was never really busy midweek, Limerick was never that kind of place...it always had a reputation for being dead mid week...

Anyway, this is targeting a high end client base investing a huge sum of money in the process bringing back to life a well known venue, ordinarily this should be a very positive sign...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Nowhere like where? The whole city? Because back in the 90s the pubs and clubs were even more spread out. There was no central area like the there is now around the Market.
    And in the mid 90s I used to go into town a lot mid week too. It was busier back then, but now where near as busy as you're claiming.
    Times have changed. People simply don't go out midweek anymore. It's way more expensive than it used to be and there's now a genuine fear of being caught over the limit the following morning.
    Students still go out midweek, but they stay in certain pubs that cater for them. Maybe your remembering student nights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭moby2101

QUOTE=Mr.Carter;97550996]I grew up in limerick...I know it very well. It was way busier in the 90s...I remember even a Tuesday night been a good night out. No where like that now.[/QUOTE]

agree 100%
    i grew up in Co. Limerick went to College in Limerick in the early 90's , met my wife in Limerick...we emigrated to Australia for a couple of years and moved back mid 90's.

I'm talking about Limerick in the early 90's to in and around 2007-2008...Limerick was booming and it the world didn't revolve around Nancys and that area as people seem to think.

On the other side of town you have/hadBobby Byrnes, Souths KOB's, Wlilies these were heaving from a Wednesday to a Sunday week in, week out
    In the City Centre there used to a vibrant nightlife, Limerick was awash with discos!!!....Teds, Tropics, Wise Guys, Henry Cecil, Newtown Perry, Shannon arms, The Works. Baker Place Costellos and later the SinBin
    There was a great live music scene EVERY NIGHT... TEds, George Hotel Cellar Bar, Henry Cecil , Baker Place, even Nestors had live bands ....do you not remember the live blues/rock band that played outside Teds every Sunday morning from 11.30 to 3.00 and then they would head off to The Parkway with 20-30 inebriated fans in tow!!!

Limerick is a jaded memory of those glory days, there were 3 -4 cinemas in the early 90's...the Central, The Theatre Royal, The Carlton, and then the Savoy complex.

During the early days of Munster rugby and their adventures in the Heineken Cup,Limerick was nuts every weekend I remember queueing up outside Limerick Sports store for hours for tickets and the whole town going mental from November to March/April......

The same drivers of the economy are just not there, Limerick is a ghost town....the closure of Dell and the ancillary businesses in January 2009 and the recession have hit Limerick harder than any other city in Ireland. Our city fathers did us no favours either, we had non stop planning fiasco after another opening large shopping ventures outside the city limits allowing them to avail of cheaper rates while the city slowly died. It's hard to believe the level of change in the City.
    Rant over!!!!!!

moby2101 wrote: »
    QUOTE=Mr.Carter;97550996]I grew up in limerick...I know it very well. It was way busier in the 90s...I remember even a Tuesday night been a good night out. No where like that now.

agree 100%
    i grew up in Co. Limerick went to College in Limerick in the early 90's , met my wife in Limerick...we emigrated to Australia for a couple of years and moved back mid 90's.

I'm talking about Limerick in the early 90's to in and around 2007-2008...Limerick was booming and it the world didn't revolve around Nancys and that area as people seem to think.

On the other side of town you have/hadBobby Byrnes, Souths KOB's, Wlilies these were heaving from a Wednesday to a Sunday week in, week out
    In the City Centre there used to a vibrant nightlife, Limerick was awash with discos!!!....Teds, Tropics, Wise Guys, Henry Cecil, Newtown Perry, Shannon arms, The Works. Baker Place Costellos and later the SinBin
    There was a great live music scene EVERY NIGHT... TEds, George Hotel Cellar Bar, Henry Cecil , Baker Place, even Nestors had live bands ....do you not remember the live blues/rock band that played outside Teds every Sunday morning from 11.30 to 3.00 and then they would head off to The Parkway with 20-30 inebriated fans in tow!!!

Limerick is a jaded memory of those glory days, there were 3 -4 cinemas in the early 90's...the Central, The Theatre Royal, The Carlton, and then the Savoy complex.

During the early days of Munster rugby and their adventures in the Heineken Cup,Limerick was nuts every weekend I remember queueing up outside Limerick Sports store for hours for tickets and the whole town going mental from November to March/April......

The same drivers of the economy are just not there, Limerick is a ghost town....the closure of Dell and the ancillary businesses in January 2009 and the recession have hit Limerick harder than any other city in Ireland. Our city fathers did us no favours either, we had non stop planning fiasco after another opening large shopping ventures outside the city limits allowing them to avail of cheaper rates while the city slowly died. It's hard to believe the level of change in the City.
    Rant over!!!!!![/QUOTE]

The evening trade up to the 90s was impacted in my opinion by the following

1) Young people today have a lot more expenses than they did then, disposable income went on socialising and very little else.

2) The drink driving laws had a massive impact especially midweek, people simply stopped driving into the city centre on a night out.

3) Up until the 90s the only people living in the city centre were Irish, that has completely changed.

Even during the boom, the city centre was very quiet during the week, even Friday nights were hit and miss, this is not a new phenomenon, cities all over the world are dead during the week...

But like I said earlier apart from Teds nowhere was busy midweek, they were open, but dead most of the time....

Losing cinemas has followed a trend across the world, as the city grew and the suburbs grew so did the suburban amenities...more people had cars and it is easier to offer parking in a suburban environment.

I don't buy into this ghost town nonsense because it seems Limerick is the only city in Ireland that has ever suffered from a plant closure...it is a stick we beat ourselves with for some reason...the city has never had as many people living in it as it has today, and that is a fact...

As for planning, it should be pointed out that Limerick and Waterford are the only two cities in Ireland that has not suffered from "highly irregular planning decisions"... http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/independent-probe-ordered-into-planning-in-six-counties-29346222.html ...these planning decisions have meant that Limerick, does not have chronic traffic issues, or chronic flooding issues....we also have the most stable housing prices in the country...we do have issues in Limerick but at least we are aware of them...

This thread sums up to tone of this forum really, what should be a very positive indicator of the economic resurgence (which has seen the job losses in Dell replaced and them some) of the city has turned into a self flagellating thread yet again...

Ah here, I obviously grew up in a parallel Limerick in a parallel universe!
    Limerick nightlife was buzzing back then.

I take some of your points but also the loss of 2000 direct jobs in Dell and a further 1500 in associated businesses for a city the size of Limerick was a major blow?
    We must be miles apart in age? I'm 42 and well remember having to walk In and out of those pubs I mentioned earlier on any T/F/S/S night and not being able to get standing room ...

Missed your last point,.... I completely agree it's fantastic news to see that this pub is opening, ....no flagellation necessary,

moby2101 wrote: »
    Ah here, I obviously grew up in a parallel Limerick in a parallel universe!
    Limerick nightlife was buzzing back then.

I take some of your points but also the loss of 2000 direct jobs in Dell and a further 1500 in associated businesses for a city the size of Limerick was a major blow?
    We must be miles apart in age? I'm 42 and well remember having to walk In and out of those pubs I mentioned earlier on any T/F/S/S night and not being able to get standing room ...

I was actually referring to Mon/Tues/Wed which were particularly dead then and moreso now. The student spots picked up on a thursday night and F/S/S were busy but never manic, apart form Munster Rugby wkends, which to be fair were a novelty for a lot of people that was always going to wear off...

You are right the loss of jobs in Dell was a massive blow, the years between 09-11 in particular were the most depressed years this city has seen in many a lifetime, however, since Shannon Dev were stood down and the IDA moved in we have seen all those jobs replaced thankfully. There is a load of construction going on in the city centre and suburbs...it is time for us to perhaps engage with the positive aspects of what is happening.

Along with these investments there are many different voluntary organisations that between them have really had an impact, for instance, the city has never been cleaner, the city is a very pleasant place to walk around these days...weather permitting of course.

One thing that we also forget, up to the mid 90s music had a real impact on a night out, what pubs and clubs you went to was defined by you're musical taste...that added a vibrancy to each place and also why we had so many different clubs...long time ago now tho!!!

And by the way, as for live music...when it comes to new young bands the city is in a great place, I know of a number of high quality bands currently producing some excellent music, these bands regularly play around the city centre...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

It's like a Scooby Doo backdrop in Limerick. Pub, cafe, pub, cafe, pub, cafe.