Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork student suffers sexual harrassment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Jebus the responses here are head-frying.

Easy to see why this shhit happens so regularly. How fuccking hard is it to just respect people? No "ifs" , no "buts".

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Sorry but its true, if you are against the sexualisation of women, dress like someone who opposes that. I don't condone what he did but she's mocking herself.

This thread has nothing to do with how she was dressed. Take your agenda elsewhere.

Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Sorry but its true, if you are against the sexualisation of women, dress like someone who opposes that. I don't condone what he did but she's mocking herself.

She is entitled to dress in a way that makes her feel sexualized.

No person is entitled to do what they like to her clothing or body to make THEM feel she is sexualized.

It's not a difficult concept to grasp ffs.

What about rape victims in short skirts? Their own fault too?

Peregrine wrote: »
    This thread has nothing to do with how she was dressed. Take your agenda elsewhere.

Mod

My apologies for replying to it, I hadn't seen your warning at the time of typing :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

G'way, would you like it if someone pulled your pants down in public?

Happened plenty of times, Yet I have not needed counselling or felt the need to rush to the national media. Stuff like this is trivialising actual sexual harassment and assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It really sickens me that so many men still use a woman's clothing as a measure of how much respect she deserves. It literally has me terrified for my daughter. Where have we gone wrong with young people that this attitude still persists? I would be so disgusted and ashamed to think I'd raised a man like this.

Happened plenty of times, Yet I have not needed counselling or felt the need to rush to the national media. Stuff like this is trivialising actual sexual harassment and assault.

I'm glad it's had no adverse affect on you.

That doesn't mean it's not an assault or harassment.

It's very clearly harassment at a minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Not all harassment or assault victims react the same way. It's not up to you to tell someone how to feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Easy to see why this shhit happens so regularly. How fuccking hard is it to just respect people? No "ifs" , no "buts".

Entitlement applies to more than the usual AH suspects obviously. There's a significant number of people who think they're entitled to treat others as they see fit and have all sorts of spurious self serving and self deluding ****e to hide behind: the bants, the craic, how she dressed, he's a knobhead etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Assault is stretching it a little too far. An item of clothing was moved, nothing physical. The skirt was probably halfway up her backside anyway by the sounds of things. Not that that excuses the incident.

Then why mention it?

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Then why mention it?

Presumably it's an attempt to victim blame while pretending he's not. Classy behaviour. It says a lot when one tries to hide their attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Some young woman lifted up her skirt and flashed me while I was driving in Limerick. That's sexual harassment too. I'm afraid to look at women or drive my car since...

Yes, it is, and flashing is a criminal act.

I'm sure your sarcastic fear comment at the end has a point, but I'm struggling to grasp it.

Not all harassment or assault victims react the same way. It's not up to you to tell someone how to feel.

Yes the first action is to tell everyone on Facebook. Sorry I'm calling BS on the motivation of reporting this. Get a judge of how much FB outrage then decided to report.

Yes that's exactly the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

IMHO..
    this is clearly sexual assault.....
    The guy deserved a lot more that a slap.... Personally I think if he got a severe beating I wouldn't have much pity
    The people on here that are trivialising it, and remarking on her outfit, are morons...
    This behaviour is just not acceptable, end of...

Yes the first action is to tell everyone on Facebook. Sorry I'm calling BS on the motivation of reporting this. Get a judge of how much FB outrage then decided to report.

Did you read the article?

The first thing she did wasn't post on Facebook. she spoke to people. The next day, she posted about it. Not first thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Assault is stretching it a little too far. An item of clothing was moved, nothing physical. The skirt was probably halfway up her backside anyway by the sounds of things. Not that that excuses the incident.

An item of clothing covering somebody's erogenous zones was moved without permission in order to expose the aforementioned. As far as I'm concerned that's assault. That's just me though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Presumably it's an attempt to victim blame while pretending he's not. Classy behaviour. It says a lot when one tries to hide their attitude.

I'm not saying the girl was in someway responsible for what happened, but to be walking the streets scantily clad at night is not a very clever thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I'm not saying the girl was in someway responsible for what happened, but to be walking the streets scantily clad at night is not a very clever thing to do.

Why is that? Is that her fault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Come of it... She's a young girl, it upset her and she pondered what to do so started typing it out. She eventually decided to complete her story and post it as a way to vent. Now people are calling her out for the clothes she wore and her motives for posting on Facebook. The girl doesn't need shít like this slung at her ffs.

The thread is better off closed if this is the way it's going to keep going.

I'm sure your sarcastic fear comment at the end has a point, but I'm struggling to grasp it.

How dare you belittle my sexual harassment/assault experience! It's people like you, who keep the real victims, like me, from coming forward. I am a victim. I deserve help.

If she's not in any way responsible, why do you keep mentioning her attire? Along with mentioning your assumption that it must have been halfway up her backside anyway?

I dunno if you've noticed but mini skirts actually cover your arse and nether regions.

Walking around at night in a skirt isn't clever?

Actually she did the right thing - went with a friend. She didn't get hammered and stumble home alone and incoherent. she walked home with a friend. Nothing wrong with that at all. What she was wearing? How can it be clever or not? She can wear what she likes.

Why? Can you not control yourself when you see a girl dressed in a sexy way? What if you're the kind of bloke who gets turned on by a pair of skinny jeans, is she fair game too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Must be a slow news day. Next week's story: 'I Was Traumatised' - Says Woman After Bottom Pinched In Nightclub Horror Attack.

"Frostyjacks Traumatised For Life In Woman-Opinion-Having Nightmare"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

eviltwin wrote: »
    And that's not okay either. I'd be disgusted if a female friend treated a man like that. But if people don't speak out nothing changes. And nothing will change if the people who do speak out are slated for doing so.

Bingo! This kind of humiliation is not right when it comes to either gender but ime, women speak up about it more than men and they shouldn't be demonised for doing so. As a woman, I'd happily defend a man who made a stand against the sleazy carry on of some of those hen parties (for example). It's not women against men, it's decent people against the arseholes. Do we have to bring in whataboutery into every single news story relating to women??If a woman is not taken seriously then why would a man bother his hole complaining? Plus many men believe they have their "manly" image to protect amongst their peers for fear of being labelled "Beta" or "a pussy" or told to "grow some balls" or whatever, particularly amongst young men, making it harder still.

I'm putting myself in her shoes and imaging myself at that age and bloody hell, it's beyond humiliating. Is it newsworthy? Probably not but the media has changed since it moved from printed press to online - there's room for this kind of "human interest" story now and you're not obliged to click on any link. She didn't approach the press, by the way, they approached her after it went viral on Facebook. Happens all the time. I think it's positive that people discuss this stuff openly. I've had my arse and my boobs groped in public multiple times and a stranger forced his hand down my underwear at a concert. I've been followed home, followed on the underground, shouted at while out exercising (the list really does go on) etc and in none of these situations was I dressed provocatively. I don't think this kind of stuff is discussed enough, in fact. People don't want to speak out for fear of ridicule and this thread proves that. This should be taken seriously when it comes to BOTH genders...because it IS serious.

Candie wrote: »
    Yes that's exactly the same thing.

I could share the times that I've been groped, touched and held by people who were attracted to me - without my consent.
    Why is it that when a man shares his experiences, the women brush them off as if they are of no consequences. We're all equal these days - my experience of sexual assault isn't much different to this girls but you've no sympathy for my plight? Is it because I'm male?

How dare you belittle my sexual harassment/assault experience! It's people like you, who keep the real victims, like me, from coming forward. I am a victim. I deserve help.

Christ, is mid term not over yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I oppose animal cruelty, I'll just grab my mink coat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Have to be honest, I disagree with this one myself. Unless it's done in a threatening or intimidating manner I don't personally see why that kind of flashing should be illegal - just look away or tell people to piss off. Flashing and mooning have never struck me as overtly sexual acts as much as just acting the eejit for the sake of it.

Now, as to whether eejitism should be illegal altogether, that's a separate discussion ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

it was just banter

Christ, is mid term not over yet?

Dunno...but kids aren't in school on a Friday night whether school is in or out, genius.

it was just banter

In the eyes of the perpetrator. Not in the eyes of the law.

I agree. But it was bantz...BANTZ!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Zeisty

Being against sexualisation of women in certain relevant contexts (ie: in it being okay to pull people's skirts up) does not logically entail that one is against skimpy clothing, being sexy, having sex, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

That's because everyone's either trolling or hysterically outraged.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Would another bloke try doing this to a Scottish bloke in a kilt?

Nope

Close thread.

I believe her friend slapped the guy which should be on cctv as it's a busy area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

She can walk down the street wearing nothing but a fig leaf and a coconut bra and it doesn't excuse anyone from touching her without her permission.

Cop on a bit now.

I believe her friend slapped the guy which should be on cctv as it's a busy area

So I'm guessing the skirt fella will be getting done for sexual assault and the Friend will be getting done for assault yes ? You know as laying hands on someone without consent is bad.

If a fella was groped or had his jeans pulled and went to the media I wonder what the response would be

Take it from someone less than 5ft: they target the ones who aren't a threat. I've had more than my fair share of this (and it's always just banter), and have gone home from a night out intimidated and close to tears a good few times, shaken and violated more than once. The stories I could tell, but haven't. I'm glad she vented, and it does reveal the attitudes below the surface of a good few of the usual suspects.

That girl is my size, he knew he was picking on an easy target. It's not banter or fun, and I'd like to see some of the guys here dismiss being stripped by another guy a foot bigger and probably twice their weight as something they're making a silly fuss over.

So I'm guessing the skirt fella will be getting done for sexual assault and the Friend will be getting done for assault yes ? You know as laying hands on someone without consent is bad.

It was a female friend but yeah it was an assault, he could have fallen cracked his skull and be in a coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tmh106

What difference does it make what she did afterwards? She was assaulted. Assuming the reporting is accurate, she, and her friends, were first verbally sexually harassed, and then she was assaulted. And it wasn't just the man who assaulted her that we should consider; his 'mates' cheered him on. Surely they are complicit also.

She did nothing wrong, nothing at all. She is the victim of harassment and assault - don't you get that? And yet, the focus of many of the posts posts in here is on her behaviour! Unbelievable. Actually, let me take that back, it is all too believable, and all the more despairing for that. No wonder so many women chose not to report sexual crime in Ireland.

Mod, this topic may not be about the misogyny of AH, but it is reeking in it!

I would imagine that could happen yeah.

I have no sympathy for the guy who got a slap, but I wouldn't disagree that he was assaulted. He was assaulted due to assaulting someone else though, which will generally weaken a case or public sympathy.

If a fella was groped or had his jeans pulled and went to the media I wonder what the response would be

Well, the women here on Boards make fun of it and try ridicule those who have suffered such assaults/attacks.

Candie wrote: »
    Take it from someone less than 5ft: they target the ones who aren't a threat. I've had more than my fair share of this (and it's always just banter), and have gone home from a night out intimidated and close to tears a good few times, shaken and violated more than once. The stories I could tell, but haven't. I'm glad she vented, and it does reveal the attitudes below the surface of a good few of the usual suspects.

That girl is my size, he knew he was picking on an easy target. It's not banter or fun, and I'd like to see some of the guys here dismiss being stripped by another guy a foot bigger and probably twice their weight as something they're making a silly fuss over.

So they're violent rapists rather than drunken twats. It's horrible for a male or female to be touched without consent but your post seems a bit ott
    no offence meant

tmh106 wrote: »
    What difference does it make what she did afterwards? She was assaulted. Assuming the reporting is accurate, she, and her friends, were first verbally sexually harassed, and then she was assaulted. And it wasn't just the man who assaulted her that we should consider; his 'mates' cheered him on. Surely they are complicit also.

She did nothing wrong, nothing at all. She is the victim of harassment and assault - don't you get that? And yet, the focus of many of the posts posts in here is on behaviour! Unbelievable. Actually, let me take that back, it is all too believable, and all the more despairing for that. No wonder so many women chose not to report sexual crime in Ireland.

Mod, this topic may not be about the misogyny of AH, but it is reeking in it!

For a start her mate assaulted the fella as well. Not condoning skirt man's actions in anyway. Seems we have successfully created a victim culture. How long till she gets on The late late telling the story.

Well, the women here on Boards make fun of it and try ridicule those who have suffered such assaults/attacks.

Where has anyone done that?

I would imagine that could happen yeah.

I have no sympathy for the guy who got a slap, but I wouldn't disagree that he was assaulted. He was assaulted due to assaulting someone else though, which will generally weaken a case or public sympathy.

Is skirt pulling an assault though? Technically his hands much have brushed off her body but if charges are brought for these incidents the courts would be even more overcrowded.

A slap to the head is more dangerous than skirt pulling in my book.