Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete beginner at Computer Science wants to know how to start learning?

Options
  • 01-11-2015 3:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9

Hi guys
    I really badly want to learn basic computer programming and computer science but I do not know where to start. I was thinking of using the Raspberry Pi 2 as my learning tool but im unsure whether it would suit a beginner like me. I know very little about the internal workings of a computer and Math is not my strong point but any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. Bear in mind Im in college full time so I cannot pursue another course outside of that.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

www.boards.ie/forum/842

Following that forum will give a bit of insight into the different parts of a PC, its mainly gaming PCs and most of what we do is just parts lists and answering questions, but you might find some use from it.

If you could get your hands on an old PC to tear apart and put together again, you'd learn a good bit about the internals too.

Not sure about a Pi as I don't have one, but for learning coding, I went out and bought an Arduino starter kit, I think it was €100 or so. Haven't spent much time with it so far and its a little hardware oriented from what I'm finding, but it does have its own IDE to code it.

After that, I'm not sure. EDX run coding courses every so often. They're free and online, you get out what you put in with it, it may be worth a look into, should fit your course as you can do it at your own pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695