Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance premium costs

Options
  • 02-11-2015 12:26am
    Registered Users Posts: 23

Hi,

So I have been driving for 4 years not however in May (2 and a half years ago) I crashed my micra into another party and he went through insurance. I dented his read passenger door and it racked up to €1200 worth of expense. I was on my mothers policy at the time however that changed last april when I opened my own policy with AxA. I'm a young driver (22) so of course insurance companies are out to get me anyway (for obvious reasons) and I'm currently paying €2200 for my policy now. I'm wondering will this change alot after 3 years? When I got to renew I will have 1 yrs NCB but I'm just wondering should I wait the month before renewing so I have 1 yr NCB and 3 yrs No crash. I know some companies won't insure you if you had a crash in the last year.

Also I currently drive a 1 litre petrol and I'm very eager to get a 1.6 diesel or bigger. I'm a fool to even look for quotes in my situation or should I be alright.

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Seeing how insurance prices are going up your 1 year of NCB is most likely still going to net you a increased premium overall (i.e. 1 year NCB = 10% discount, average rate increase 15%).