Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs CSKA Moscow BT Sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

efb wrote: »
    Suppose the pool fans have to pick a team in the UCL...

CSKA, PSV and Wolfsburg so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ah come on. United dominated that game and created a lot of scoring opportunities, easily the better team and it wasn't even close.

CSKA defended very well and your 2 best players saved your blushes tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

A draw, my kingdom for a draw. Ye snuck a win ye scarcely deserved there

Can't say we didn't deserve the win there tbf, barring the save / block CSKA offered absolutely nothing going forward.

I didn't say didn't deserve lads tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

1 close call and it somehow changes the narrative of the rest of the game? Nonsense.

CSKA did defend well, yes???

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

ician wrote: »
    cska manager looks like hes about to drop

I was thinking the same in the first half, he doesn't look the healthiest.

Sorry it's gushing praise or nothing lads is it???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I didn't say didn't deserve lads tbf

Fair point but saying scarcely deserved it isn't far from saying didn't deserve it.

They were decent enough, United a bit wasteful and really should have scored more.
    Certainly not lucky to win it anyway.

• efb wrote: »
    No we missed alot of our chances are were not clinical enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭hogandrew

nullzero wrote: »
    Memphis shyte as usual.

How many 20/21 year olds have came from abroad and been really good in their first season?

Fair point but saying scarcely deserved it isn't far from saying didn't deserve it.

It's it was slightly fairer than a draw, which wouldn't have been unfair to CSKA IMHO

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

titan18 wrote: »
    He scored but Rooney was still ****e. Lingard's quality was poor but nice to see someone running at a defence for United. Outside of Martial and Shaw, don't think any other player has done that all season for us

Young.

They were decent enough, United a bit wasteful and really should have scored more.
    Certainly not lucky to win it anyway.

Who said lucky to win???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Do you support United?

Depay has been terrible and by all accounts his attitude stinks. All the hallmarks of a big time Charlie. I can't stand the idea that if you support a club you can't be critical of underperforming players.
    Rooney has been getting abuse recently and deservedly so. You don't like me slagging off our most disappointing summer signing? Boo hoo.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,831 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

No. They did just ok. United were unlucky and\or poor in front of goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Sorry it's gushing praise or nothing lads is it???

Nobody is interested in your opinion by the looks of it. dont feel bad

A draw, my kingdom for a draw. Ye snuck a win ye scarcely deserved there

We deserved the win, but we made hard work of it.

CSKA had one really good chance, United did far more to win it.

Nalz wrote: »
    No. They did just ok. United were unlucky and\or poor in front of goal.

So not being on form in front of goal means a win was richly deserved???

Who said lucky to win???

One could argue scarcely deserved victory would have very similar meaning to lucky to win

The draw was reffering to tomorrow in Munich to clarify.

It is great that Rooney scored as he is under so much pressure from being so poor in previous games.

Nalz wrote: »
    One could argue scarcely deserved victory would have very similar meaning to lucky to win

They would have a poor use of English

Who said lucky to win???

Scarcely deserved - Lucky to win. Semantics.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

You mean our two best players defended very well?

°°°°°

hogandrew wrote: »
    How many 20/21 year olds have came from abroad and been really good in their first season?

Depay hasn't even looked competent. He doesn't have to look really good or anything like it he just has to look capable on some level.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Depay has been terrible and by all accounts his attitude stinks. All the hallmarks of a big time Charlie. I can't stand the idea that if you support a club you can't be critical of underperforming players.
    Rooney has been getting abuse recently and deservedly so. You don't like me slagging off our most disappointing summer signing? Boo hoo.

Its not about Depay. I just checked all your posts today. Check them yourself.

Doesnt sound like a United Supporter

They would have a poor use of English

OK you're right sorry

Yes. I had said that hadn't I? Christ yer tetchy- it's all plaudits or feck off is it???

°°°°°

Who said lucky to win???

We definitely deserved the win. CSKA played a good defensive game but we're far too negative. In a more open game we could have scored one or two more goals.

Glazers Out!

And prevented an almost certain goal that would have been embarrassing

°°°°°

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Its not about Depay. I just checked all your posts today. Check them yourself.

Doesnt sound like a United Supporter

What are you on about?

Glazers Out!

We definitely deserved the win. CSKA played a good defensive game but we're far too negative. In a more open game we could have scored one or two more goals.

Defensive teams deserve the clean sheets for defending well- especially when they are a poorer side

Scarcely deserved - Lucky to win. Semantics.

No very different

Ok

I off to bed. Enjoy the win

Ok

He's right Flint, isn't it obvious? Can't you see!!? Come on man.

• LOL Wtf happened the interview on BT there. In the middle of the interview they cut him off. "We have to restart"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Utd 15 shots, 5 on target. 10 corners, 69% possession.
    CSKA 5 shots, 3 on target. 2 corners, 31% posession.
    Utd as sloppy as they were in front of goal fully deserved that win.

Poor Louis, starts his interview is happy and all going well, then a sorry Louis we have to start again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Defensive teams deserve the clean sheets for defending well- especially when they are a poorer side

This is some of the most ridiculous logic I've ever come across.

°°°°°

That's one easy to look at it.
    setting yourself up that way gives you little options in the event of conceding a goal. CSKA defended well but the writing was on the wall that eventually the would be goods chances for United at the end of the game. Even LVG's patented daft substitutions couldn't stop that happening in the last twenty minutes.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

RobertKK wrote: »
    Poor Louis, starts his interview is happy and all going well, then a sorry Louis we have to start again.

Why did they start again

RobertKK wrote: »

The interviewer is now dead. RIP.

jamesbere wrote: »
    Why did they start again

BT asleep on the job, it was all going so well, but someone messed up.

Now we are still waiting.

°°°°°

Utd 15 shots, 5 on target. 10 corners, 69% possession.
    CSKA 5 shots, 3 on target. 2 corners, 31% posession.
    Utd as sloppy as they were in front of goal fully deserved that win.

We sure did deserve it, hard won but well won in the end.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Thank God we won that one...great flighted ball over by Lindegaard,nice to have lads like himself and Pereira coming along.

If we progress from group now (as we should) I think a LB needs to be signed to cover rest of season,doesn't have to be a big name,just a competent left footed player who can cross the ball.

• Thank God we won that one...great flighted ball over by Lindegaard,nice to have lads like himself and Pereira coming along.

If we progress from group now (as we should) I think a LB needs to be signed to cover rest of season,doesn't have to be a big name,just a competent left footed player who can cross the ball.

Agree. Rojo was infuriating to watch his final ball was shocking bad at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

How is there such an issue with the name Lingard?

Especially from someone who has seen him play, or has apparently watched the match tonight since they are remarking on things he did in it, while all the time wearing a jersey, that has his name, spelled correctly on his back. Not aimed at any one poster, more the few who can't spell his name

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."