Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much per week do you spend?

Canadel wrote: »
    Don't worry, you're right. People don't like being told the truth when it's to their own disadvantage however, and will in turn try and deflect attention away from themselves to accusations of self righteousness towards yourself.

I think smokers are already aware of how much it costs in monetary and health terms, and just don't appreciate any sanctimonious after-the-fact judgement for the sake of it. They don't need telling, which I'm sure both you and the original poster know but can't resist getting the snipe in anyway.

I've never smoked btw, and still somehow don't feel the need to disparage people who did, particularly those who are struggling to quit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

**** the begrudgers

i smoked from age 14 till age 30
    i quit cos i got it was bad for me
    i've recently lost a good friend and at the wake i re started smoking
    its soo addictive that even tho i successfully quit before i'm back on them at the mo
    call me stupid?
    i could care less i'll detox over chrimbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭markc2951

Up €60 a week since I gave up smoking

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,443 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

My spend has increased exponentially through December in the past few years ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

xtradel wrote: »
    I love them...I'm having a few beers now and there's nothing more that I'd love now than a smoke.......but......

I've a stupid app on my phone that tells me everyday that I'm a great lad for not smoking but more importantly my hair will smell better....wtf :eek:

Your hair does smell lovely ;)
    Don't worry, you're right. People don't like being told the truth when it's to their own disadvantage however, and will in turn try and deflect attention away from themselves to accusations of self righteousness towards yourself.

I know you. How are tricks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭xtradel

Candie wrote: »
    I think smokers are already aware of how much it costs in monetary and health terms, and just don't appreciate any sanctimonious after-the-fact judgement for the sake of it. They don't need telling, which I'm sure both you and the original poster know but can't resist getting the snipe in anyway.

I've never smoked btw, and still somehow don't feel the need to disparage people who did, particularly those who are struggling to quit.

Candie...thanks for deciphering Canadels post for me because I genuinely had no clue were they with me or against me!! Way too many big words for a smokers toxic brain :)

xtradel wrote: »
    Way too many big words for a smokers toxic brain :)

I hate smoking around me because of the smell etc, but never in a million years would I decide that smoking was an indicator of intelligence or lack of it!

Saying that kind of thing is just getting digs in for the sake of it, imo. Pointless and nasty.

I hate smoking around me because of the smell etc, but never in a million years would I decide that smoking was an indicator of intelligence or lack of it!

Saying that kind of thing is just getting digs in for the sake of it, imo. Pointless and nasty.

Yeah, terrible and nasty. Down with that sort of thing. :/

About 40 euro a week, maybe 50. I smoke very little, I cook just for myself. Boyfriend has a well paid job and pays for weekend recreation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Thankfully I don't base my posts on how appreciative smokers will be of them. And while it might not be true in a thread about giving up smoking, I think it's entirely fair to comment that smart people don't start smoking in the first place when the issue of smoking costs arises in a thread about spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I don't know really, completely depends on the week! All I spend money on really,apart from rent, bills etc is:

food at work (about €5 a day)
    petrol (depends, but never really over €20 a week)
    food shopping (€30 a week or less)
    going out for lunch/dinner (about €20 a week)
    alcohol (about €20 a week if I go out)

And then clothes, makeup etc...but that all depends on the week.

That's it really. Mainly food :o Could save a lot of money by cutting down on eating at work/in town!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Give myself a budget of €200. About €70 on food, €20 on petrol and the rest of drinks, clothes and ad hoc expenses. I go to atm each Sunday and take out €200 to do me for the week. Sometimes I go over the €200 and sometimes I have some money left over from the previous week.

I would call food a necessity.

How much do you spend outside of bills and necessities like filling your belly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

padd b1975 wrote: »
    If deciding that not spending >€7,000 per year to achieve the sum total of bad breath, stinking clothes and a fast track to lung/heart disease makes me a ****wad of the highest order, then so be it!

What's the weather like up there, in your ivory tower?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Smokers are jokers.

Midnight tokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

I'm as serious as cancer when I say rhythm is a dancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Thankfully I don't base my posts on how appreciative smokers will be of them. And while it might not be true in a thread about giving up smoking, I think it's entirely fair to comment that smart people don't start smoking in the first place when the issue of smoking costs arises in a thread about spending.

As I've already stated - children aren't smart. most adult smokers started as children. Children do not have the cop on to refuse smokes when pressured into it. Children don't actually realise the danger because most children have heard about it but are shielded from seeing the people they know dying from it.

By the time the person has matured enough to truly realise the consequences, they're addicted. They're no longer making a rational decision to smoke, they're feeding an addiction.

Also, it's not just smokers liking Candie's posts. I'm not a smoker ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Very little at the moment as I am paying off college fees. Thankfully that all ends in March :)

Am surprised at how well some people budget! I am a sucker for impulse buys, although never anything too extravagant. At the moment I am not taking my purse with me when I go to work. It is the only way I won't spend. If I see something I want, by the time I am home I have convinced myself I don't need it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I'd say on an average week about 100 quid. I don't smoke or drink. Work has a canteen for food which comes directly out of my wages it's cheap enough either way. So I'd spend 40 euro on diesel a week and then the rest would be the odd trip to the shop or take out as well as a trip bowling or to the cinema.

Obviously if I was buying clothes or something like that it would go up but other than that it's generally around 100. Granted that's what I was spending during summer placement im back to college now but much the same and when I start my graduate job in June I couldn't see my weekly spend going above 100 euro which will hopefully allow for a good bit of saving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

As I've already stated - children aren't smart. most adult smokers started as children. Children do not have the cop on to refuse smokes when pressured into it. Children don't actually realise the danger because most children have heard about it but are shielded from seeing the people they know dying from it.

By the time the person has matured enough to truly realise the consequences, they're addicted. They're no longer making a rational decision to smoke, they're feeding an addiction.

Also, it's not just smokers liking Candie's posts. I'm not a smoker ;)
    True, but when you are an adult you are aware of the consequences of smoking.

I quit almost 4 years ago. Just decided one day I love my life more than smoking. Never been tempted to smoke since. Best thing I ever did, after quitting the booze! Yeah, I've mellowed a lot in my old age :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Whatever Mrs. Bap lets me :(

You would want to start wearing the wellingtons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

If deciding that not spending >€7,000 per year to achieve the sum total of bad breath, stinking clothes and a fast track to lung/heart disease makes me a ****wad of the highest order, then so be it!

And the task of saddling the sanctimony pony goes to.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Excluding rent, bills & food I would say €20 or thereabouts which is mostly spent on busses and the rest would be on the newspaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

That's hardly what they're saying - they're referring to what you said on this thread, not the fact you're a non smoker.

I'm shocking with money. Just never happy until its spent. I used to spend my wages by the week on anything and everything sometimes ignoring bills even. Wages at the time were around €1100 a fortnight take home.

For that reason my good wife keeps my bank and credit cards, looks after all the bills, savings etc.

When I need money I just tell her and she gives me what I need.

To put it into figures.... When we first met I had maxed a credit card, and overdrawn bank account was maxed constantly and I had 9k in a loan that I was burying my head in the sand with.
    All in all debt was about €14k
    She took over the finances and within a few years, 5/6, she had me debt free, and with actual savings.

These days, my weekly spend could be €80 with €60 of that on diesel.
    Some friends and work colleagues skit and laugh about me not "owning" my own money etc but truth be known Id be lost without my wife in charge.

TheTorment wrote: »
    I'm shocking with money. Just never happy until its spent. I used to spend my wages by the week on anything and everything sometimes ignoring bills even. Wages at the time were around €1100 a fortnight take home.

For that reason my good wife keeps my bank and credit cards, looks after all the bills, savings etc.

When I need money I just tell her and she gives me what I need.

To put it into figures.... When we first met I had maxed a credit card, and overdrawn bank account was maxed constantly and I had 9k in a loan that I was burying my head in the sand with.
    All in all debt was about €14k
    She took over the finances and within a few years, 5/6, she had me debt free, and with actual savings.

These days, my weekly spend could be €80 with €60 of that on diesel.
    Some friends and work colleagues skit and laugh about me not "owning" my own money etc but truth be known Id be lost without my wife in charge.

Not singling you out but I never understood how people can ignore bills or stop paying loans etc particularly if they can actually afford it but they just spend the money on other stuff.

Bills and repayments are just something you never ever miss under any circumstances as far as I'm concerned, I'd be embarrassed to miss a repayment or not pay a bill on top of all the issue its brings along with your credit rating etc.

I might spend more money than I actually need to every week/month particularly on socializing and other non-essential stuff which would means I could be saving more money than I do but one thing is for sure all bills and any repayments etc (don't have any at the moment) are paid without fail before spending money on anything else.

Nox.
    I completely agree with you....now.

It was during my time when I was drinking heavily and over doing the weed smoking.

Stupidly, repayment of loans etc and managing my money correctly were not high on my priorities.

Thankfully drink, weed and debt (with the exception of my mortgage) is behind me now.

Something I also have my wife to thank for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I spend about 800 euro per week. That is not including Mortgage. Just normal stuff for the week and bills etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,139 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

About €150-200, €100 of which is diesel, about €50 on food/shopping, and the rest if I'm seeing the little fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭mravaya

I realised if I gave up smoking 20 cigs a day and stopped buying a daily coffee in Starbucks I would save EUR4750 per year. Thats 2 months blood sweat and tears of slavery I gave to my fecking Job just for fags and coffee..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

I'd imagine the point he's making is that you categorically state that people who smoke are not intelligent. That's simply not true.

Aside from that, the vast majority of adult smokers started as children. Children aren't clever. Children make stupid choices. By the time you're old enough to realise that you made a really stupid decision - you're addicted. That doesn't lessen one's intellectual ability. It means they have an addiction from a stupid childhood decision.

As for me - insult my intelligence all you like. I'm just happy I quit. My intelligence isn't something I need to prove to you.

You're fantastic for giving up, particularly after being such a heavy smoker - better late than never! As an ex smoker myself, I say fair fooks - it's bloody tough.

Albert Einstein was a smoker, a very heavy one. And while they didn't fully know the extent to which it damaged health in those days, they knew it wasn't good for health.

Anyone who thinks Albert Einstein wasn't very clever...isn't very clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Depends on the week really.

Usually about €50 on food, €60 - €80 on socializing, €30 on transport, up to €100 on other random bits and bobs I see when I'm out and about/shopping.

I get paid monthly and transfer a hefty sum into my savings account, pay rent/bills and survive on the rest. I get paid a good salary and as long as I'm saving a fair amount each month I don't really worry about the ins and outs of my spending habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Albert Einstein was a smoker, a very heavy one. And while they didn't fully know the extent to which it damaged health in those days, they knew it wasn't good for health.

Anyone who thinks Albert Einstein wasn't very clever...isn't very clever.

Many of the great minds in science, literature and other forms of the Arts over the years smoked tobacco. Still do in many cases, especially in the arts world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

I really don't have the slightest clue. My earnings vary quite a bit and it's predominantly cash. So I just make sure there's always some in my wallet, and leave the rest in the pile. When the wallet is looking sparse I move more from the pile into the wallet. Then after a few weeks or whatever I eyeball the pile, and if it seems pretty piley, I'm happy enough. Pile's getting bigger? Everything's probably grand.

Many of the great minds in science, literature and other forms of the Arts over the years smoked tobacco. Still do in many cases, especially in the arts world.

It's hardly surprising, since up until recent decades a majority of adults smoked.

Those tortured artists though, smoking is the least of their worries. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

About 50 quid on diesel and 40 on food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

In fairness, if someone posts expecting a pat on the back for quitting smoking, it's not unreasonable for someone else to come in and say "You shouldn't have started in the first place." The door swings both days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

about 2800 a month on rent/food/bills/car loan/socializing....so 650-700 odd a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭Calibos

Nothing lifts the spirits better than reading about other peoples disposables that are multiples of your entire wages :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

50 euros a day I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

retalivity wrote: »
    about 2800 a month on rent/food/bills/car loan/socializing....so 650-700 odd a week
    You are doing it wrong. The question was how much do you spend *after* bills rent etc. Pocket money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

You are doing it wrong. The question was how much do you spend *after* bills rent etc. Pocket money.

250 or so then....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

In fairness, if someone posts expecting a pat on the back for quitting smoking, it's not unreasonable for someone else to come in and say "You shouldn't have started in the first place." The door swings both days.

I don't expect a pat on the back. I was explaining why my weekly spend is low, whereas it used to be more than double that.

I don't expect people to insult my intelligence either, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't expect a pat on the back. I was explaining why my weekly spend is low, whereas it used to be more than double that.

I don't expect people to insult my intelligence either, though.

Well, there we go. We all make mistakes and, sometimes, people will point them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Well, there we go. We all make mistakes and, sometimes, smug bored €&@$ will point them out.

FYP

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,443 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

About 5 grand a week on booze, wimminz and fast bikes - the rest of it I just fritter away......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

About 250 i'd say. Lunch and transport is a killer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Superhorse wrote: »
    About 250 i'd say. Lunch and transport is a killer.

Buy a push bike and start shopping in lidl for your lunch.

Personally I'd prefer to pay for the convenience of buying lunch that the effort of buying everything and making my lunches everyday. It's damn all cheaper either imo and you don't have the same choice.