Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 193 - Rousey v Holm

Rousey via Decision
    Zero-Cool wrote: »
    What was Ronda at with the weigh in saying she wanted to get in Holly's face and that she knows holly fakes her sweetness.

Cmon Holm!!! Smash Ronda for the absolute laugh!

Right!!! Ridiculous stuff from Ronda imo... She has said before that she performs best when under pressure and stress and when fighting from a bad place, but from a world champion athlete this is just kinda silly. But hey, maybe that's her zone!

I've jumped ship though!

Go Holly* :D
    *don't think she has a chance, but would love to see her do it and open up the weight class again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Rousey via Decision
    #AndNew

12232857_10153774713044479_3532750974620899689_o.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9
    That's an extremely well timed photo. Seen it just after plane landed. And felt like the whole flight just got it too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Holm via Submission
    Ronda's rattled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Just watched Bigfoot hunt #1, what a great fight.

Letournea looked very depleted the weigh in to me. Does she always look like that?

Ronda sounds rattled but it shoudlnt make any difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

It looked like she caught Holly unaware there and was awful close and pushing down on holly's arm with hers then Holly went for her face. Not particularly professional from either of them but it's not a tea dance after all :D

edit: just saw it from the other angle, Rhonda was unsportsman like to stalk over there but Holly definitely reached up, her arm wasn't forced and pushed Rhonda's face. Was Holly told to do it by her team?

It seems like Rhonda has been struggling to find something to hate Holly about, that she needs the animosity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Fcuk yeah, go Ronda smash her face/arm tomorrow night. That reaction makes me love Rowdy more!!

If people look it was Holly who started that, Ronda goes in hard but stops short of touching then there is movement from Holly that kicks it off, LOVE IT!

Looking forward to the blades being throwin from Joanna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

user2011 wrote: »
    Fcuk yeah, go Ronda smash her face/arm tomorrow night. That reaction makes me love Rowdy more!!

If people look it was Holly who started that, Ronda goes in hard but stops short of touching then there is movement from Holly that kicks it off, LOVE IT!

Looking forward to the blades being throwin from Joanna.

To be honest I am sick of listening to Ronda's 'deep' pseudo-philosophical bull**** so hope Holly kicks her into next Tuesday! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭loudnoises89

Rousey via Decision
    The whole lead up to this fight has really turned me off Ronda. I hope to see Ronda KO'd unconscious in the most embarrassing fashion possible. Wont happen tho, feck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

cloudatlas wrote: »
    To be honest I am sick of listening to Ronda's 'deep' pseudo-philosophical bull**** so hope Holly kicks her into next Tuesday! :pac:

Rondas become a parody of herself tbf. First it was the promo vids hyping her up and now shes is spouting the same bull herself about being the best in the world. Its annoying when its a commonly accepted that her devision arent up to scratch and she is essentially being fed cans to fuel the hype train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Ronda trying to sell those wolf tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Rousey via Decision
    Old Perry wrote: »
    Rondas become a parody of herself tbf. First it was the promo vids hyping her up and now shes is spouting the same bull herself about being the best in the world. Its annoying when its a commonly accepted that her devision arent up to scratch and she is essentially being fed cans to fuel the hype train.

Well regardless of her competition, she is the best in the world and gets paid an absolute fortune. She has not only won everything, she has devastated her opponents and is improving with each fight. I reckon she can back up her claims as being the best in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Well regardless of her competition, she is the best in the world and gets paid an absolute fortune. She has not only won everything, she has devastated her opponents and is improving with each fight. I reckon she can back up her claims as being the best in the world.

Dont get me wrong, i like to watch her fight and respect her as an athlete but to say she is the best in anything is to take her competition into account. I knoww part these guy jobs is to be confident but to speak in such absolutes as best in the world and won everything is simply not true. There is a difference between confidence and arrogance/narcissism.Im no expert on mma but im sure the ufc is only a small percentage of whats out there, the fact that it has such a wide platfrom doesnt make it everything. Id say there are a few crazy thai fighters that would laugh in rondas face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Dont get me wrong, i like to watch her fight and respect her as an athlete but to say she is the best in anything is to take her competition into account. I knoww part these guy jobs is to be confident but to speak in such absolutes as best in the world and won everything is simply not true. There is a difference between confidence and arrogance/narcissism.Im no expert on mma but im sure the ufc is only a small percentage of whats out there, the fact that it has such a wide platfrom doesnt make it everything. Id say there are a few crazy thai fighters that would laugh in rondas face.

I'm not a Ronda fan by any means, in fact I rather dislike her as a person from what I have seen of her but she probably is the best female MMA fighter in the world and for the moment probably the best female fighter ever, at least in the 135 division anyway. Those thai fighters either aren't crossed trained or they're not good enough for the UFC, otherwise they'd be fighting there as it's where the money is.

That said, MMA as a whole is extremely localised around the USA and Brazil with fairly sub-par athletes in terms of elite sports, WMMA then has even less(and a lot less) access to elite athletes so there's no doubt other women out there with the athletic ability and potential to beat Rousey if that's what you're saying, however these women aren't and probably never will fight in the UFC and that's not RR's fault. She can only beat what's in front of her.

Jesus I sound like a Ronda fan.

Rousey via Decision

What are you smoking?

Her division aren't up to her level because she is leagues ahead of them in terms of ability to finish a fight. To suggest she's being fed cans and the women "outside the ufc" would laugh in her face is insane.

If you swapped Ronda name for Holly's you post makes a little sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Rousey via Decision
    Well that's kind of embarrassing...

Well not really, it was a joke. You must have missed where I said I don't follow the UFC and that I probably couldn't name more than about five fighters who are not Irish, I care very little for it in fact.

I just really can't be arsed with it. I've never even seen a Holms fight.

I'm too busy with my own training & competing, and although its been a while I enjoy some MMA sparring but outside of that I'll leave the rest to the UFC fanboys with CmcG hard on's & dickie bows ~ now thats 'embarrassing'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Lago

Holm via Submission
    Lol at Rousey punching herself in the face with Holm's fist. Hopefully she does that tonight and Holm wins by TKO.

I read Rousey's book after she beat Bethe Correia because she was so impressive. Thing was, after finishing the book I got the impression that she had some serious emotional instability. I mean I literally couldn't understand her rivalry with Miesha Tate. They fought twice but Ronda seemed to hate Tate straight away but I can't actually find what Tate did anywhere. In fact the way Miesha Tate acts, it's like she doesn't even know there's a rivalry there. It was basically all in Ronda's head and Edmond just follows 100% (which it seems now is because he needs the money for gambling).

Since that fight I've realised that most of the MMA community realises this and either Ronda is insane or she has just shaped her entire life around an act to sell fights. If it's the latter then she seriously needs some training because she's so unnatural at it, it's cringeworthy. Something tells me it's the former though and that all this stuff is starting to go to her head.

I've literally just started getting so bored at the parts of Embedded that are focused on her because she's just talking nonsense and trying so hard to be philosophical. Trying to come up with another DNB quote no doubt.

On the other hand, Holly Holm is far more dignified and likeable, has arguably achieved more, is a more interesting fighter and is better looking to boot in my opinion. I really, really want her to win but, just like the Aldo/McGregor fight, I just can't bring myself to fully believe the title will change hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭xtal191

Lago wrote: »
    I've literally just started getting so bored at the parts of Embedded that are focused on her because she's just talking nonsense and trying so hard to be philosophical. Trying to come up with another DNB quote no doubt.

This is so true, she's an amazing athlete but my god I cant stand Ronda, I'd love if Holm won tonight.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Holm via Submission
    Ronda pulled Holly's arm into her to make it look like a punch.

Holm is actually straining not to hit her.

http://i.imgur.com/CrDFXaG.webm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Lago

Holm via Submission
    Holm's reaction was perfect. She could have started mouthing and pushing but she just stood back and stared at Ronda which made it glaringly obvious that Ronda was being irrational and that she managed to punch herself in the face. Meanwhile Holly just stands there like what the hell is she doing?

Anyone remember at the Go Big event when Ronda said it was nice to have a fight with none of the drama and hatred involved?

Holm via Submission
    Was watching an interview with Dana and he was saying that after tonight Ronda will take a break until UFC 200 and pretty much implied that might be it then.

Rousey via Decision
    I honestly don't care if Ronda or Holly wins. Don't have a reason to get behind either. But I think Holly hasn't much of a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Rousey via Decision
    Ronda by armbar inside 60 seconds I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

What time is fight at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Rousey via Decision
    GiftofGab wrote: »
    What time is fight at?

Stupid O'clock in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Holm via Submission
    Stupid O'clock in the morning.

Let's stay up til five for a 43 second fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Rousey via Decision
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    Ronda pulled Holly's arm into her to make it look like a punch.

Holm is actually straining not to hit her.

http://i.imgur.com/CrDFXaG.webm

It's all about selling those last minute seats and ppv's. Nothing more, nothing less.

Rousey via Decision
    Saipanne wrote: »
    Let's stay up til five for a 43 second fight!

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Rousey via Decision
    Im down in ennis for the night with the mrs. Don't have BT is there any way of watching this on my phone?

Rousey via Decision
    akelly02 wrote: »
    Im down in ennis for the night with the mrs. Don't have BT is there any way of watching this on my phone?

If you have BT Sports on your sky account you might be able to watch through Sky:Go app?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Rousey via Decision
    If you have BT Sports on your sky account you might be able to watch through Sky:Go app?

Dont have the app but might try downloading it cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

akelly02 wrote: »

Surely you can buy the PPV on the UFC app?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Rousey via Decision
    The whole lead up to this fight has really turned me off Ronda. I hope to see Ronda KO'd unconscious in the most embarrassing fashion possible. Wont happen tho, feck sake.

ya rhonda is really unlikeable. spoilt childish twat. i really hope holm smashes her, but it's very unlikely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Whelo79 wrote:
    Haha. Nothing wrong with being up for Holm. I can't dislike Rhonda though for what she has brought to the sport.

What did she bring to the sport?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

akelly02 wrote:
    Dont have the app but might try downloading it cheers

Don't bother. BT isn't on the Sky go app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Rousey via Decision
    Whelo79 wrote: »
    It's all about selling those last minute seats and ppv's. Nothing more, nothing less.

If that's the reason, then it was a really poor effort. It was cringeworthy the way Rousey was desperate to make Holm out to be some b*tch for no reason, spouting poorly thought out sound-bites while Holm was just standing there looking perplexed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Rousey via Decision
    ComfortKid wrote: »

Main stream media attention. It will help the sport grow significantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Mainstream attention. It is incredible that the amount of people I know who don't like MMA but will never miss a Rousey fight.

I don't have any figures to hand but I'd say the influx of females taking up MMA or judo because of her is quite a big number. If that's the case, and I believe it is, then it's only a good thing for the sport/discipline.

We should enjoy her while we can tbh.

Holm via Submission
    UFC 190 Aug 1/15 Ronda Rousey vs Bethe Correia 900,000
    UFC 184 Feb 28/15 Ronda Rousey vs Cat Zingano 620,000
    UFC 170 Feb 22/14 Ronda Rousey vs Sara McMann 340,000
    UFC 157 Feb 23/13 Ronda Rousey vs Liz Carmouche 450,000

http://mma-manifesto.com/ufc-ppv-data/ppv-main/all-time-ufc-ppv-sales-data.html

That's pretty impressive. UFC 157 was Rousey's first fight in the UFC too!

Rousey via Decision
    Don't bother. BT isn't on the Sky go app

You can stream from the BT sports page if you have BT sports on your sky account.

Have you lads seen the state of the cheap plastic chairs they're supplying for the ground seats? Imagine paying all that cash and winding up with a cheap garden chair and an absolutely terrible view.

MMA really isn't a sport that will ever translate into huge arenas. It'll look cool on telly but as a live experience I can't imagine it'll be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,963 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Rousey via Submission
    I saw that pic but thought they were just place holders until proper seats were put in. Its gonna be like a giant episode of you've been framed with people breaking/falling off garden chairs all night.

I thought so too but helwani just put up two things on Instagram of the arena and it's still the same. Surely that can't always have been the plan, they look brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,963 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Rousey via Submission
    Just watched ariels video of the stadium. My God there are some attrocious ground seats. Ones at the back near the black wall divider thing, you can barely see the octagon with no one there, can't imagine it with crazy crowds in front of you. The tiered seats seem like a mile back as well but better than the ground seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

So what time do I set my alarm to?

Stadium looks so cavernous. Obviously early in the day/morning over there. Is it sold out?

Rousey via Decision
    I fancy Nguyen here I think.

Rousey via Decision
    I fancy Nguyen here I think.

Great performance.

Well that was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 slangamerican

The fight kits can be ridiculously similar, nearly impossible to tell who is who.

If the stadium fills up it will be some impressive sight.

That promo for Rousey/Holm is annoying at this stage.