Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UFC 194 Hotel/Flights/Bars/Comps/Currency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

I was there last year and I had two very good meals in the Cosmopolitan Hotel. The first was in Holsteins which is a very good burger place and the second is Jaleo which is a tapas restaurant. You'll probably have to book them both just to be on the safe side, especially Jaleo which is very busy. Both are reasonably priced in Vegas terms. I would have to recommend the Cosmopolitan as well, it's a beautiful hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

For anyone not travelling to Vegas ( :( ) where's the best place to watch the fight in Ireland where there'd be good atmosphere? I know it's on late but surely there'd be a few places showing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

hefferboi wrote: »
    For anyone not travelling to Vegas ( :( ) where's the best place to watch the fight in Ireland where there'd be good atmosphere? I know it's on late but surely there'd be a few places showing it?

What part of Ireland? Murray 's on O'Connell street in Dublin is unofficially the UFC HQ I guess.

Well I'm from down the country but a few of us wouldn't mind going to Dublin if the atmosphere was worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

$1500 enough for 6 nights?
    All hotels tickets etc paid for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

$1500 enough for 6 nights?
    All hotels tickets etc paid for

Depends on the person . €10,000 could be go on a night over there . Wheras €1000 could last someone else a week. It would be plenty for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭MikeyGorse

ESTA done and dusted, hopefully they let me in now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

hefferboi wrote: »
    Well I'm from down the country but a few of us wouldn't mind going to Dublin if the atmosphere was worth it.

To be honest, it's hard to know if you'll get that many people heading in to watch it. You might get a few who wander in after the nightclubs who'll become too tired/drunk to fathom what's going on.

If I was you I'd just stay at home, order the PPV on UFC.com (if you don't have BT) and watch it with the lads there and create your own atmosphere.

That_Guy wrote: »
    To be honest, it's hard to know if you'll get that many people heading in to watch it. You might get a few who wander in after the nightclubs who'll become too tired/drunk to fathom what's going on.

If I was you I'd just stay at home, order the PPV on UFC.com (if you don't have BT) and watch it with the lads there and create your own atmosphere.

Yeah I think thats the safest option. We did it for 189 and had a big crowd over and had a great night so will prob do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

That_Guy wrote: »

you can even order the ppvs through youtube now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

ESTA valid for as many US journeys as you like for up to 2 years right, I was sent to Detroit last Christmas for work !! I needn't do it again was my interpretation from the website...anybody confirm?

Stuxnet wrote: »
    ESTA valid for as many US journeys as you like for up to 2 years right, I was sent to Detroit last Christmas for work !! I needn't do it again was my interpretation from the website...anybody confirm?

You are correct. No need to apply again.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Anyone know if an Irish drivers licence or Garda ID is acceptable ID in bars in the US? I'd ideally like to not have my passport on me when I'm out and about.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Anyone know if an Irish drivers licence or Garda ID is acceptable ID in bars in the US? I'd ideally like to not have my passport on me when I'm out and about.

Yeah the drivers license never gave me any hassle. Most places weren't too strict by the look of it , there were loads of annoying j1 students in all the bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Don't forget to have $20 sticking out of your passport/licence when you show your ID and ask the receptionist if there's any complementary upgrades available lads!

Paully D wrote: »
    Don't forget to have $20 sticking out of your passport/licence when you show your ID and ask the receptionist if there's any complementary upgrades available lads!

Does that really work? I can't help but feel everyone who advises to do this is taking the p*ss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

dulux99 wrote: »
    Does that really work? I can't help but feel everyone who advises to do this is taking the p*ss...

Obviously it won't be completely accurate as some people who get refused won't bother posting a review and vice-versa, but it definitely does work (some places more so than others):

http://thetwentydollartrick.com/Hotels/

Places like the Bellagio (85%) and Caeser's Palace (94%) have a great success rate, while the MGM only has a 58% success rate.

It's worth a go anyway. The worst that can happen is they'll say no and/or you'll be down $20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Obviously it won't be completely accurate as some people who get refused won't bother posting a review and vice-versa, but it definitely does work (some places more so than others):

http://thetwentydollartrick.com/Hotels/

Places like the Bellagio (85%) and Caeser's Palace (94%) have a great success rate, while the MGM only has a 58% success rate.

It's worth a go anyway. The worst that can happen is they'll say no and/or you'll be down $20.

One thing to keep in mind though, is that by upgrading rooms you may be liable for a higher deposit, which could be a problem if you're using a debit card or there isn't enough room left on your credit card.

Other than that it's surely worth a go, may even try it myself.

Fill your boots lads, this could be worth it for a day https://www.groupon.com/deals/rockhouse-las-vegas

Especially for any of those going over on a budget!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Whats a complementary upgrade? What does it get you? How's it complementary if you gotta pay 20 bucks for it? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Devastator wrote: »
    Whats a complementary upgrade? What does it get you? How's it complementary if you gotta pay 20 bucks for it? :D

Better room/ Better view/ Waived resort fees are all possibilities

Doubt it actually works anymore tbh :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Helpneeded86

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Fill your boots lads, this could be worth it for a day https://www.groupon.com/deals/rockhouse-las-vegas

Especially for any of those going over on a budget!!

Not valid on football weekends.

Full price is only $50 anyway so it could be a good spot to go without the voucher. Or for those in Vegas on the Wednesday or Thursday could use it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 karlb123

can anyone post a link to where i can apply for the esta visa? im an irish citizen flying out of sydney if that makes any sort of difference. thanks!

karlb123 wrote: »
    can anyone post a link to where i can apply for the esta visa? im an irish citizen flying out of sydney if that makes any sort of difference. thanks!

https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/esta/

Both countries are in the Visa Waiver programme so it makes no difference AFAIK.

waived resort fees? It would be worth trying it for that alone! Gonna cost me about $100 on this fee alone.

I might give this a go since I'm staying in a hotel a bit out of the way apparently so mightn't be as busy. If I was staying in the MGM or something it might be near capacity so could be a bit of a waste.

I think I posted this a while ago but worth another post for sin city virgins (like me) or fight fans that might get something out of it.

http://mmalatestnews.com/jim-talk-10-tips-for-mma-fans-going-to-las-vegas/

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭glass half full

I used this at the Venetian twice (fees waived), Bellagio (fees waived and great room upgrade - this was in December), MGM (room upgrade).

I'd advise having a small bit of research done. Ask for a specific room offered by that particular hotel if you can, e.g. "Any complimentary upgrades to a Executive Strip View room would be great".

If no room upgrades are offered ask if they can do anything with the Resort Fees to assist you.

If they won't offer anything, take back your money. If you are staying for longer that 3 days, putting a $50 bill can work wonders especially in December.

Also don't forget that the mini-bars are operated on a weight basis and removing an item may cost you.

Email the hotel prior to leaving (or ask at check-in) and state that you have medication that needs to be refrigerated as hotels have a policy to provide a fridge free for medical needs. This fridge can be $15 per night otherwise.

It does not matter that you don't have medication as they don't ask for proof. Can keep all your bevies and hangover cures nice and chilled.

Nothing ventured nothing gained.

P.S. Don't forget to use the phrase "COMPLIMENTARY upgrade" and not just upgrade and note it can be frowned upon by some management so be casual and discreet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

I used this at the Venetian twice (fees waived), Bellagio (fees waived and great room upgrade - this was in December), MGM (room upgrade).

I'd advise having a small bit of research done. Ask for a specific room offered by that particular hotel if you can, e.g. "Any complimentary upgrades to a Executive Strip View room would be great".

If no room upgrades are offered ask if they can do anything with the Resort Fees to assist you.

If they won't offer anything, take back your money. If you are staying for longer that 3 days, putting a $50 bill can work wonders especially in December.

Also don't forget that the mini-bars are operated on a weight basis and removing an item may cost you.

Email the hotel prior to leaving (or ask at check-in) and state that you have medication that needs to be refrigerated as hotels have a policy to provide a fridge free for medical needs. This fridge can be $15 per night otherwise.

It does not matter that you don't have medication as they don't ask for proof. Can keep all your bevies and hangover cures nice and chilled.

Nothing ventured nothing gained.

P.S. Don't forget to use the phrase "COMPLIMENTARY upgrade" and not just upgrade and note it can be frowned upon by some management so be casual and discreet.

What's the best check-in time for this? In the morning they may want to hold the rooms in case people buy them and in the evening they my have loads of rooms left over so easier to give them out, does that make sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

I think I'll let our self appointed "charmer" of the group attempt the complimentary upgrade, report back with your success/failures!

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭ItsAnEasyGame

What is Vegas slots and what can I get from it?

It's a Facebook / Mobile game that you build up Loyalty Points which you can exchange for real rewards in Vegas (Drinks/Dinners/Discount trips etc)

It's probably not worth the time and effort needed to build up enough points for something decent, but still I find myself playing every day

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭glass half full

What's the best check-in time for this? In the morning they may want to hold the rooms in case people buy them and in the evening they my have loads of rooms left over so easier to give them out, does that make sense?

I have always arrived past 8pm, due to flight times. As December is a quiet month in Vegas (even with the Irish invasion), anytime during the day should be okay for a comp upgrade. It's luck of the draw a lot of the time and finding a young-ish person tends to have better results as they will do a lot to get that $20/$50 tip.

I tried it in the Paris Hotel previously but no luck. That was an older man and I think he may have been the manager, so as it is kind of frowned upon, he did not take the bait.

What is Vegas slots and what can I get from it?
    maximoose wrote: »
    It's a Facebook / Mobile game that you build up Loyalty Points which you can exchange for real rewards in Vegas (Drinks/Dinners/Discount trips etc)

It's probably not worth the time and effort needed to build up enough points for something decent, but still I find myself playing every day

Yeah its probably too late to really take advantage but if you start you might get a couple of free drinks or ice cream.

With the little hidden item game in the last few days my chips have rocketed up! Had about 600k few days ago and up over 4mil now, been able to level up a good few times to collect gold too.

4mil?! How many loyalty points do you have? I have 32k, enough for a buffet or two, think I'll try to quit playing now :pac:

maximoose wrote: »
    4mil?! How many loyalty points do you have? I have 32k, enough for a buffet or two, think I'll try to quit playing now :pac:

about 100k, it fairly jumps up when you can afford to bet higher and start to level up faster + this bonus game you can get 750 gold every day for completing it.

Theres some magician/illusionist tickets for 60k which I might go for the last night. Most buffets seem to be buy 1 get 1 free? I'm on my own so wouldn't really suit me. I want to try and get to the shark tank(mandalay bay?) too

Devastator wrote: »
    about 100k, it fairly jumps up when you can afford to bet higher and start to level up faster + this bonus game you can get 750 gold every day for completing it.

Theres some magician/illusionist tickets for 60k which I might go for the last night. Most buffets seem to be buy 1 get 1 free? I'm on my own so wouldn't really suit me. I want to try and get to the shark tank(mandalay bay?) too

On my own too, having the same problem as you with the 2-for-1s, and the completely free ones cost a ridiculous amount of points. First world problems :D

In July, did any of you lads find any little hidden gems of pubs close to the mgm? I got a bit sick of the bog standard bars that are littered around the mgm a bit. Went over to the Irish bar in NYNY once or twice aswell

Does anyone know of any no-fee or low fee ATMs on the Strip? Nearer to NYNY hotel the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

martyos121 wrote: »
    Does anyone know of any no-fee or low fee ATMs on the Strip? Nearer to NYNY hotel the better.

I believe there's one at M&M world

Cheers, just across the road too. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

dulux99 wrote: »
    In July, did any of you lads find any little hidden gems of pubs close to the mgm? I got a bit sick of the bog standard bars that are littered around the mgm a bit. Went over to the Irish bar in NYNY once or twice aswell

There's an Irish bar in the Mandalay Bay hotel called RíRá
    which I was in a good few times during the week. It's not too close to the MGM but I never find the walks between the hotels bad. They can be done fairly quick with the walkways.

Have plenty of room in my baggage heading over.
    Anyone know what i could pick up that would be cheaper than in europe, or even unreleased over here?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Is everyone doing the 12 pubs or going to the TUF Finale? I've got tickets to the TUF Finale so looking forward to that myself. Was hoping to see Joe Rogan and Joey Diaz that night but idk if the TUF Finale will finish in time.

Doing neither myself. Will hopefully find a bar showing the TUF finale, then off to either a casino or a nightclub after. Don't think the 12 pubs will go as smoothly as people are assuming it will. You have a thousand drunk Irish people in one group going from pub to pub along the strip. That's a lot of people trying to get into the one bar at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

In my experience, even doing the 12 pubs with a small group of lads never goes as smoothly as you'd think. Around pub 7 or 8 everyone has gotten too merry to even bother with the ''rules'' anymore and then some of the lads get bored of the pints and start doing shots instead and then everyone starts getting split up. Then the next morning on What's App you're always asking ''how many pubs did we make it to again?

I imagine you might get 1000 people queuing up for the first bar then it will all fall apart as soon as people start getting turned away.

I see pub 3 is supposed to be ''the silent pub''. That's never going to work!

Should be a bit of a laugh anyway, while it lasts. All for a good cause too.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

Is anyone trying to make it from the TUF Finale to the Joe Rogan gig? The comedy starts at 9, but I wouldn't mind if I missed the ''warm up'' acts before Joe himself comes on stage.

Haven't actually bought tickets to either yet. Anyone know where I might get face value tickets for the TUF finale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,615 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

This is a good tip.

As they'll could potentially just move you the similar room on a different floor, and just tell you it's an upgrade.

CM24 wrote: »
    Is anyone trying to make it from the TUF Finale to the Joe Rogan gig? The comedy starts at 9, but I wouldn't mind if I missed the ''warm up'' acts before Joe himself comes on stage.

you wouldn't mind missing Joey Diaz? :eek: ...... ok :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

CM24 wrote: »

Haven't actually bought tickets to either yet. Anyone know where I might get face value tickets for the TUF finale?

His act just keeps getting raunchier and raunchier. :eek: