Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 194 Hotel/Flights/Bars/Comps/Currency

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

Devastator wrote: »
    you wouldn't mind missing Joey Diaz? :eek: ...... ok :confused:
    I suppose I've never really given him a chance. He just seems loud and annoying from the little bits I've seen of him! Can't find any cheap tickets to the TUF finale anyway so I reckon I'll just watch that in a bar and see all of the comedy show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

CM24 wrote: »
    I suppose I've never really given him a chance. He just seems loud and annoying from the little bits I've seen of him! Can't find any cheap tickets to the TUF finale anyway so I reckon I'll just watch that in a bar and see all of the comedy show.

Thats my idea for the Friday, weigh ins then bar for few drinks watching tuf then onto the comedy show.

I love standup comedy and goto quite a few gigs but little bit of advice I would give is not to watch clips or out takes from shows. I often find you need to see the whole show, get into the train of thought and go along with where the comedy's act takes you. Getting a 5 minute out take without the rest can sometimes really ruin a good joke. Another bit of advice(which Im taking) is not to watch too much of a comedian on youtube or whatever before the show incase he repeats the same routines and you know whats coming. I fell for this with Jim Jeffries by watching his DVD show about a week before seeing him and about 75% of his show was the same....still funny but lost out a bit.

:rolleyes: Just realised last night I don't even own a suitcase :mad: Lucky the cyber hype sale is on today so just ordered one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,519 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Don't suppose there's any extra tickets going around for Rogan's show? Hearing ye all big it up so much has made me really want to see it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

martyos121 wrote: »
    Don't suppose there's any extra tickets going around for Rogan's show? Hearing ye all big it up so much has made me really want to see it!

Still available to buy on ticketmaster.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Still available to buy on ticketmaster.

Haha if only it occurred to me to actually check if it was sold out first, was convinced it would be.

Not my finest moment! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Chase3

Quick question, I booked through expedia, Dublin to Chicago and on to Vegas, with Air Lingus/United Airlines. Do I need to check in to the united flight? Get a separate ticket and all? Or is my first boarding pass I print with web check in valid for both flights?

Chase3 wrote: »
    Quick question, I booked through expedia, Dublin to Chicago and on to Vegas, with Air Lingus/United Airlines. Do I need to check in to the united flight? Get a separate ticket and all? Or is my first boarding pass I print with web check in valid for both flights?

ahaha thats weird because I've just melted my head looking at expedia and finding out(for myself, not you particularly :p ). My 1st flight is through Aer lingus then United aswell but it looks like you need to checkin with aer lingus and then for the united flights. If you goto "manage trips" on top right of expedia, down to "manage flights" then it opens a page with all the airlines. There are direct checkin links for each airline or you can change your seat(this didnt seem to work on expedia for me). Whenever I clicked checkin with united it said I had to checkin with my first carrier(AL) first. I can't be bothered getting passport,etc tonight so I'm going to complete this tomorrow.

I'm considering not checking in online though because of the aer lingus/united switcherover because of luggage. I'm thinking I would rather speak to someone in the airport that morning to makesure my bag makes it to Vegas(I have 3 flights).

The united website is actually pretty cool and detailed. Apparently my total distance going is 9300KM & 10250KM coming back(diff airport for connecting flight)...well I thought it was interesting lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,671 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I've never seen a boarding pass that was valid for two flights. It's has a specific flight number, seat etc.

You'll either get two separate boarding passes when you collect them for your first flight. Or you'll have to collect the second one from United in Chicago. Depends on how they handle the flights.
    Sometimes you get it at the start, but have to collect at the stopover anyway when the seat/gate numbers are available.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Usually on your first check in flight they issue you with 2 boarding cards. That's how it's always been for me anyway

I'm not sure if anyone would be interested in this but I remember reading that someone said at 189 it was v.difficult to get connected to MGM wifi for weigh in/event tickets to show and I know anywhere I've been with free wifi its been very slow.
    Anyway, you can get a three(uk) mobile sim card for free from their website and you can pay a £20 top up package that gets unlimited data for 30 days. They do say theres a 25gb fair use limit on the data but thats huge. Might come in useful if you're out & about on the strip(google maps if lost lol) or you want to upload photos/videos while you're away

I'm not sure if anyone would be interested in this but I remember reading that someone said at 189 it was v.difficult to get connected to MGM wifi for weigh in/event tickets to show and I know anywhere I've been with free wifi its been very slow.
    Anyway, you can get a three(uk) mobile sim card for free from their website and you can pay a £20 top up package that gets unlimited data for 30 days. They do say theres a 25gb fair use limit on the data but thats huge. Might come in useful if you're out & about on the strip(google maps if lost lol) or you want to upload photos/videos while you're away

Are you sure that includes data roaming and not just data charges in the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Are you talking about the "like home" feature - this used to include the US but I'm pretty sure it doesn't anymore?

Edit: just checked, Three UK still include USA but Three Ireland don't :rolleyes:

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Are you sure that includes data roaming and not just data charges in the UK?

I can not confirm at this stage as I've not read full T&Cs from three. I have just ordered the sim. I only found out about it when googling cheap/free data sims for US use and I read about it from 1 of the links. The link did say it was for foreign use(this was an external site, not three) and they did also mention coverage in some places abroad is a bit shady, but I'd imagine in a city it should be ok.
    maximoose wrote: »
    Are you talking about the "like home" feature - this used to include the US but I'm pretty sure it doesn't anymore?

Edit: just checked, Three UK still include USA but Three Ireland don't

I should order a load of uk sims for you lads and setup shop in the MGM lobby :D

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Would you mind linking for the lazy of us?

Deadst4r wrote: »
    Would you mind linking for the lazy of us?

three.co.uk :D you seriously can't be that lazy? :P (& I thought I was bad lol)

edit - click shop/store. I done this a few days ago so dont have direct info handy

ahaha thats weird because I've just melted my head looking at expedia and finding out(for myself, not you particularly :p ). My 1st flight is through Aer lingus then United aswell but it looks like you need to checkin with aer lingus and then for the united flights. If you goto "manage trips" on top right of expedia, down to "manage flights" then it opens a page with all the airlines. There are direct checkin links for each airline or you can change your seat(this didnt seem to work on expedia for me). Whenever I clicked checkin with united it said I had to checkin with my first carrier(AL) first. I can't be bothered getting passport,etc tonight so I'm going to complete this tomorrow.

I'm considering not checking in online though because of the aer lingus/united switcherover because of luggage. I'm thinking I would rather speak to someone in the airport that morning to makesure my bag makes it to Vegas(I have 3 flights).

The united website is actually pretty cool and detailed. Apparently my total distance going is 9300KM & 10250KM coming back(diff airport for connecting flight)...well I thought it was interesting lol

I'm not sure if you got sorted or not Chase but I just tried to check in online & was unsuccessful. On AL it brought up all my personal details & flight info but when I goto check in I get a message saying "Oops! Online Check-In Unavailable Please contact an Aer Lingus agent at your departure airport to check in" and when I goto United I get the message "The first flight in your itinerary is operated by Aer Lingus. Please check in with Aer Lingus"

I'll try again later incase its just a temporary problem & report back if anything changes.

BhvEQKf.png

Much better than I was expecting

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

BhvEQKf.png

Much better than I was expecting

You're aware that on the Sunday the temperature drops to 0 at night, right?

I'm not sure if you got sorted or not Chase but I just tried to check in online & was unsuccessful. On AL it brought up all my personal details & flight info but when I goto check in I get a message saying "Oops! Online Check-In Unavailable Please contact an Aer Lingus agent at your departure airport to check in" and when I goto United I get the message "The first flight in your itinerary is operated by Aer Lingus. Please check in with Aer Lingus"

I'll try again later incase its just a temporary problem & report back if anything changes.
    You can't check in online until 24 hours before your flight. I know that for sure. I think it's 32 for European flights, and there is some option of paying for a seat that's lets you do it 30 days before in some cases.

You're aware that on the Sunday the temperature drops to 0 at night, right?

32°f = 0°c is just about the only reference point I know for Fahrenheit so yes, I am well aware :)

Was expecting cold temps at night alright but thought the days would be chilly too, looking quite reasonable

You can't check in online until 24 hours before your flight. I know that for sure. I think it's 32 for European flights, and there is some option of paying for a seat that's lets you do it 30 days before in some cases.

ohhh ok cool cheers. I e-mailed their customer service earlier to ask if (in the airport) they'll be able to check me in for the united flights aswell and also enquired about the luggage. Got an automated reply with a link to phone them though :rolleyes::D

I just presumed I could checkin now as I was able to checkin (different trip) with another airline for later in the month

We figured if we are gonna get christmas jumpers for this 12 pubs we might as well get something topical, custom patches arrived from china today :pac:

5Wi8iir.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

I got my ESTA sorted last week and I'm just wondering now is there anything I have to print for the airport or is it all linked to my passport?

It's all linked to your passport, don't need to bring printouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

We figured if we are gonna get christmas jumpers for this 12 pubs we might as well get something topical, custom patches arrived from china today :pac:

5Wi8iir.jpg

any spare ones? unbelievable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

5Wi8iir.jpg

haha, Cool..

how or where did you order them from if you don't mind me asking?

Depp wrote: »
    any spare ones? unbelievable!

Didn't think to order spares no so only have 4 for our group!

Got them on aliexpress, just sent them a picture and they did the rest. Now just hoping the actual jumpers arrive before next week..

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Pulse8

Are they iron on or what's the craic?

Any chance of a link or telling me what you searched for, could come in handy for stuff down the line

Iron on yeah, here is the seller I used. Send a pic, rough size and quantity and they'll come back with a quote and a sample pic.

If you know of any t shirt printing shops or the like you should be able to get something printed before you go. They'll be able to put it on a top & everything for you. Try giving them a call & asking if they could, you could then maybe e-mail the image or bring it to them ona thumb drive.

That would be a nice transfer for a flag or something too.

This time next week I'll be on my way :eek: tick tock, I'm an impatient co......:D

Just wondering, for those that have been before, do the uk online betting pages work in Vegas? Plenty of countries in Europe where they are blocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Helpneeded86

Just wondering, for those that have been before, do the uk online betting pages work in Vegas? Plenty of countries in Europe where they are blocked

I work in the industry and the answer is not a hope in hell. The IP will be blocked.

On another note I have a face value (+charges) ticket potentially for sale. €300/$350. This includes charges/fight club costs etc....The tickets were about $280 or whatever price that seating was. PM me. Hope this is ok with mods but im never going to the effort of selling it on adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭MikeyGorse

Just use a VPN.

MikeyGorse wrote: »
    Just use a VPN.

Ya because we dont know when someone uses a VPN. :rolleyes:

Honestly the USA is the last country in the world any gambling site wants to get on the wrong side of.

Im not saying you will get caught for sure using the VPN but if you do then there is zero tolerance.

I suggest getting a friend or family member you trust to place the bet for you from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭MikeyGorse

Ya because we dont know when someone uses a VPN. :rolleyes:

Honestly the USA is the last country in the world any gambling site wants to get on the wrong side of.

Im not saying you will get caught for sure using the VPN but if you do then there is zero tolerance.

Never had any trouble using a VPN nor have I heard of my mates that live over there having trouble. Hopefully the FBI don't come looking for us eh :rolleyes:

On another note I have a face value (+charges) ticket potentially for sale. €300/$350. This includes charges/fight club costs etc....

ahahahahaha some brass neck on ya trying to get someone else to pay for your fight club membership :D

I suggest getting a friend or family member you trust to place the bet for you from Ireland.

I'll do my bets before I go, just prefer to see weigh-ins first usually.
    Yanks, can't gamble but can have 20 guns. Bloody hell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I'll do my bets before I go, just prefer to see weigh-ins first usually.
    Yanks, can't gamble but can have 20 guns. Bloody hell

Pretty sure theres sport betting in the mgm

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭GAMAN

Lads you can gamble on sports events in loads of the Vegas Casinos, heading over for my 10th time to Vegas for the fight. Anyone know where the after party will be on?

GAMAN wrote: »
    Lads you can gamble on sports events in loads of the Vegas Casinos, heading over for my 10th time to Vegas for the fight. Anyone know where the after party will be on?

More than likely Foxtail at SLS, that's their favourite spot, but it's also a fair bit out of the way. Should be Omnia in my opinion, heard great things about it and if I don't end up at Rogan's comedy show, I'll be there to check it out on the Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

GAMAN wrote: »

Yes you can bet on sports events.

Got my revolt card through today but wanted to get some moeny changed for airports,etc incase I don't get to a machine straight away. For anyone this side of border(or maybe knows someone could change for you) post office give $1.39 per £ BUT if you get £250 changed the rate increases to $1.46 :eek: I thought that was pretty good. I think it might increase again if you get even more changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Got my revolt card through today but wanted to get some moeny changed for airports,etc incase I don't get to a machine straight away. For anyone this side of border(or maybe knows someone could change for you) post office give $1.39 per £ BUT if you get £250 changed the rate increases to $1.46 :eek: I thought that was pretty good. I think it might increase again if you get even more changed.

Haha I got ripped in Bank of Ireland. $800 cost about €780

£1 = $1.51 on Revolut. The difference is amazing really! People getting ripped off for years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

currencyfair.com
    its what betfair is to betting peer 2 peer currency transfer
    i change lots of sterling and dollars and it is much much better

MikeyGorse wrote: »
    Never had any trouble using a VPN nor have I heard of my mates that live over there having trouble. Hopefully the FBI don't come looking for us eh :rolleyes:

Ok ya im sure your the expert. Read your terms and conditions your money is at risk. Im sure you know better obviously.
    ahahahahaha some brass neck on ya trying to get someone else to pay for your fight club membership :D

$302 was what the bill was with all costs included. It is hardly selling to make a profit. Take it or leave it kind of offer. I think it is relatively fair and the ticket is not even mine im just doing my best for a guy who had to pull out.

Ok ya im sure your the expert. Read your terms and conditions your money is at risk. Im sure you know better obviously.

$302 was what the bill was with all costs included. It is hardly selling to make a profit. Take it or leave it kind of offer. I think it is relatively fair and the ticket is not even mine im just doing my best for a guy who had to pull out.

Norman, is that you?

How do you think you'll perform in London?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Travelling with Aer Lingus on Wednesday. Does anyone know if there is a socket on board? Be nice to be able to kill some time on my laptop and charge my phone which definitely won't last 12 hrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,671 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Probably only a USB point