Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Better late than never

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

tang1 wrote: »
    Suffering from similar complaint myself, very congested in the head and not at 100% but still able to run. Just can't shake it fully, Rocky Road you say is the cure!!!!

I might not be quite 100% fit but if its a race to get my fair share of Rocky Road then I won't be found wanting. Just hope there are aren't too many reps :D

Sunday 2nd April
    Another Easy Run of 9km to keep the old recovery going. HR 144 at 5.49/km. Felt tired on this run and the HR indicated as much. Ran down to the "D3 Patch", while they were all out, and ran on into the east Point Business Park. What a beautiful km there along a cinder path edged with boxed hedging around the office blocks. A gem and the views over the water across to Clontarf were odd, not having seen it from this angle before. Now if I wasn't out running then I wouldn't see these things.

Just 32 km for the week but very pleased at the quick turnaround from the lurgy. Same thing last year cost me 3 weeks.

Monday 3rd April
    Recovery run up and down the avenue. Needed a handy day. Should have been a rest day but as I had not had any hard sessions last week I decided that it would be good to get a few kms on board if it could be done handily.

5kms at 5:46/km at 135 HR

Tuesday 4th April
    Aerobic Run with strides (6x100m). Headed out on a route that I had done the same session on 18 months ago to compare stats. A bit simplistic I know but am curious about how I am doing at the moment. This route has a nice even 3 km rise just before the half way stage. Have included some drags/hills in most sessions this year. Good run but did an extra 100m strides as I wasn't concentrating.

13km at 5:35/km at 142 HR. That is 10 secs faster per km, for the same HR since I last tried this route.

Wednesday 5th April
    Progressive Endurance Run. Decided to start working at the faster end of my pacing spectrum for this. Last 7km started just inside 5:30/km. Nice run but did feel tired. Then it was a rush home and straight out to keep a friend company for 18 holes of golf as he was showing a travelling yank the sights from the Ben at Howth. I only use 4 clubs to play golf. Purist, I don't think so. But I get around.

14kms at 5:34/km and 143 HR (surprised by this). Maybe I need to push these runs a little harder?

Thursday 6th April
    Rest day. Slept well last night and had some appetite all day. Put in some tomatoes. lettuce, strawberries and applied the regular fertiliser to the other fruits and berries. Should be thinking about the same approach with my own food intake. It has improved but needs some attention.

Friday 7th April
    14km of V02 Max Session with 3 x1km + 3 x .8km at 3-5km pace. Recovery at 85% of each rep. Headed down to the promenade at Clontarf to run this on grass. Ran 2 60m strides during the last km of warm up to reduce shock to the system. First rep was tough going and had to adjust the course to work with and against the wind. By the last km split I felt that I had only 1 more rep in me. Just concentrated on each rep as I was doing them and then let the recovery leg work its restorative magic before heading off again. Session competed and I worked hard for the reps. Ran the last 5/6 reps at faster end of the pace guide. Heavy legs for the cool down towards home.

3 x 1km reps at km/pace: 4:16, 4:13 and 4:13/km
    3 x .8km reps at km/pace: 4:12, 4:12 and 4:10/km

14kms Max HR 173 and average hr 154. Cadence 164

Saturday 8th April
    Recovery Run: On red eye airport duties so had the city centre to myself for an early morning run. Got a little carried away mooching around the North Inner City as far as the Liffey. Beautiful morning and the last of Friday nights balladeers were sobering up in the sunshine. New discovery: Johnny Cullens Hill linking East Wall with the Riverfront. Stopped at the plaque to learn that the 1880's bridge was named after a local business family who operated several enterprises here until the 1940's. Apparently the long drag off the hill was the scene of popular Soap Box Derbies in the 1970's. All new to me.

Anyway the wandering cost me and my recovery run ended up as 10km instead of 8km.

10km, pace 6:01/km and hr 131

Sunday 9th April
    18km Progressive Endurance Run: Pretty sqeezed for time as I had to head to work for a few hours in the morning before heading to croker to see records of a different kind crash. Enjoyed the last 10 minutes of the game with the inevitable 10 minute dubs dash to full time to try and get a result. Akin to the Meathmen of the early 90's.

Dragged myself out after dinner to get this done on a dark evening. Headed out through Tolka Valley with a diversion - due to a rather grim murder (?) dig. First 9km against the wind. Really enjoyed running in the gathering dark back from Blanchardstown along the canal to Drumcondra. Senses buzzing. Guessing the pace in the dark until the bright wrist top reminder, each km ,assured me that I could ease off a little. Beautiful run and a few tears.

18km, 5:35/km avg, and hr 148.

Monday 10th April
    Rest day

Tuesday 11th April
    11km Aerobic Run with 2 sets of 3x150m strides with 250m recovery jog and 4 mins between sets. Ran to promenade for more grass miles. Legs still recovering a little but felt good by the end of the session. Nasty wind, so once against arranged to balance the reps out. Ran in around The Casino on the way home to even out the mileage. Lord Charlemont did not waste his time and money on that Grand Tour.

11km at 5:42/km and hr 145.

Wednesday 11th April
    Tired this morning after a broken nights sleep but headed out to get this Aerobic Run done before I thought too much about it. Saw that I have a tuneup race this weekend and noticed my pace lifting during this run when I was visualising it. Probably nervous about it as well to be honest.

11km at 5:35/km and hr 143.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Me too on racing, see you at ST Anne's :)

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Sharkey47

Hey Denis, Just want to say I am enjoying following your log including the history and nature bits. Your log is far more than just distances and paces! Fergal

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Me too on racing, see you at ST Anne's :)

Will aim for Poppintree or Malahide. Any ideas yourself G. Its a tune up race for me but would hope to get close to my Parkrun pb of 21 mins flat. Kind of feel that my JB16 pb of 20:40 is in a classification of its own. Have never run at Malahide whereas I have run Poppintree before. And yourself?
    Sharkey47 wrote: »
    Hey Denis, Just want to say I am enjoying following your log including the history and nature bits. Your log is far more than just distances and paces! Fergal

Thanks Fergal. All part of the experience.

Something similar Denis.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

denis b wrote: »
    Have never run at Malahide whereas I have run Poppintree before.

I love Malahide parkrun (it's where I finally got my sub 21 last year). It's a great course and has an advantage over Poppintree in that there would be plenty of runners to hang on to at that pace, whereas in Poppintree you could easily find yourself on your own, simply down to the fact that they get lower numbers. You'd need to get up near the front in Malahide at the start as a sub 21 would be in and around the Top 30-40 finishers and there might be 250+ runners on any given Saturday. The only thing about Malahide is your Garmin won't work in parts of the forest so it's fairly useless as a pacing tool. It measures the course short for the same reason.

Also, you can go to Avoca for coffee and cake afterwards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Also, you can go to Avoca for coffee and cake afterwards :D

Nice :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

I love Malahide parkrun (it's where I finally got my sub 21 last year). It's a great course and has an advantage over Poppintree in that there would be plenty of runners to hang on to at that pace, whereas in Poppintree you could easily find yourself on your own, simply down to the fact that they get lower numbers. You'd need to get up near the front in Malahide at the start as a sub 21 would be in and around the Top 30-40 finishers and there might be 250+ runners on any given Saturday. The only thing about Malahide is your Garmin won't work in parts of the forest so it's fairly useless as a pacing tool. It measures the course short for the same reason.

Malahide is great, and BG neatly summarised why. I did it last week in 19:38 and finished 17th :eek: - the faster runners definitely dragged me along. The course is "fair", as in not entirely flat, with two laps of a serious drag / easy hill. Running through the forest is great, but you may as well be using an ordinance survey map to figure out your pace, as most GPS watches get seriously messed up there. The Avoca, playground and general grounds are excellent, as is the village itself. Let us know when you're planning to be there and I'll try to get over!

Singer wrote: »
    Malahide is great, and BG neatly summarised why. I did it last week in 19:38 and finished 17th :eek: - the faster runners definitely dragged me along. The course is "fair", as in not entirely flat, with two laps of a serious drag / easy hill. Running through the forest is great, but you may as well be using an ordinance survey map to figure out your pace, as most GPS watches get seriously messed up there. The Avoca, playground and general grounds are excellent, as is the village itself. Let us know when you're planning to be there and I'll try to get over!

Many thanks G+B. Very much appreciate the input and advice. As it is a tune up race for a 10km in 2 weeks time I am not under pressure to pb this 5km. However, I do need to give this timed run some serious attention. I have a pace strategy that I want to use and the watch never seems to cause me any angst. At worst, it spurs me on if a km is a tad slower than expected. I am trying to nail down the first km (not too fast) and the 2-3rd km (not concentrating). Have noticed that I have a tendency to be able to stay in my own zone so will "risk" a quieter course in Poppintree. That way I can keep an eye on my pace and the weather looks favourable (very light winds).

For a full on parkrun pb attempt I would be heading straight out to Malahide. Will bring a flask and doughnut for post run recovery :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I think Poppintree is a good one, nice and flat, yes you can get isolated but it's a nice course.

PS good luck with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Wow - just noticed your result at Poppintree, D. Congrats, well deserved and evidence of some terrific training!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Wow - just noticed your result at Poppintree, D. Congrats, well deserved and evidence of some terrific training!

Had to take a sneaky peak too :D. Congratulations Denis, that's some going!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Had to check in there myself. Looks like you made a wise choice, that's a great result!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Nice one D that's a great result had to go and have a look :)

Like wise, looks like you got the middle bit sorted:) great result.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Great going D! Now where's the report :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Indeed! Congrats D, a great result.

Sorry folks. Not being coy but I somehow was not able to log on to Boards over the weekend. Some unknowable glitch, no doubt.

Thursday 13th April
    Rest day.

Friday 14th April
    Should have had a recovery run of 6km but had felt the lurgy checking in on Wednesday so decided to take another rest day. Did a little research and hatched a plan for the tuneup run next day.

Saturday 15th April
    Had decided yesterday that I would run at Poppintree as it is a relatively straightforward course. 2 outer laps (with a slight incline for half and a return to zero for the second half). The inner, and final lap is pretty flat. However, the course is very exposed for the first half of each of the laps to the prevailing winds. The winds were promised to be light on forecast the previous night but when I got there they had picked up significantly. Ok, so it was going to be against the wind on the uphill parts of the course and downhill (with no wind advantage on the return half of each lap. Still with me :confused::).

Decided to not alter the plan as I should be strong enough to manage. Willing to sacrifice 2-3 seconds on the first half of each lap, but that was it.

Warmup of 3.6 km which included 4x100m strides and then lined up with a very healthy attendance. Had noticed a heavily bandaged runner (both legs...but not together) sitting on the parkbench "warming up". He jumped into the front row for the start :confused: and so the first mission was to get around him and his elbows.

Previous Parkrun pb 21 mins flat (Dec '14) after dedicated training. 5km pb 20:40 at JB '16. Plan was to run as close to Parkrun pb as possible.

1st Km: Checked watch twice so that I would not get carried away and eased things back a little, but not by much. A small bunch of club runners headed off and quickly I was running on my own. Could feel the stronger breeze. Breathing was very heavy but I felt ok and that I could hold this pace for now. Idea was to get this km i the 4:10-4:15 range. 4:10/km[/I

2nd Km Some slight downhill and no breeze which helped. Felt like I got some control back on this km and settled into the hard running. Again I was planning for the faster end of the 4:10-4:15 range. 4:09/km

3rd km Wheels still on heading back into the wind and was consumed with negativity. Kept the pace up all the same and it felt like an inner aggressive response to the challenge. I tend to drift on the early part of races hence the timing rigour. Really hard work for a 4:10.7 km

4th Km Knew that I was now in touch with pb time but lack of race practice meant I was clueless about sustaining this pace. Passed two individual runners on this km but hardly noticed anything about them. Felt slightly light headed, as we crested the rise and could feel the pressure. Breathing was better than expected and I tried to relax as much as I could whilst upping the pace slightly. 4:06/km

5th Km Pretty well spent racing back into the wind and heard an organiser shouting at me, from the finish, that I was striding strong. Amazing how a small comment can help so much when you are so borderline. Pushed hard into the wind determined not to lose any time on this section. On the return, which was sheltered from the wind apart from the last 100m, I just kept the legs working. As I usually run conservatively I tend to finish strong. Not this time. I hugged the rail around the pond and just tried to keep the pace going pushing over the line in 3:54/km.

Official time of 20:32 counts. There will always be a second or two deliberation. Finished first in my age cat but if I was a year older I would have finished 3rd. Fair play to the lads. Just noticed that my hr pushed up on the last km from the early 170's to high 180's as I faced into the wind for a half km before easing back into the 170's again. Might just be a spike but will watch that. Only my second time running here but I will be back and not necessarily for a pb.

Cooldown of 3 km allowed for some time to reflect. Recovered very quickly and the recovery run was enjoyable as my mind drifted. All thoughts were for how this will impact on my training paces and towards my GOAL RACE in Athlone in 2 weeks time.

Sunday 16th April
    Endurance run 14km. These are by far my favourite training runs. I seem to naturally be able to run faster as a run progresses. Picked out a new route to test my new pace range. Inspired by a Murph_D Strava run of late I headed to Dublin Port to see if I could find the furthest point to sea.

Early Sunday morning I had the roads to myself and passed the kms enjoying the freedom of being able to run. Past the hulking oil tanks, latticed pipes, tarmac strips and concrete roads right to the end of the port. On the very last 100m before reaching the sea there was a vibrant splash of colour - Common (Deep red with 4 small black patches on the inner lower petals) and Long Headed Poppies (Lighter almost orange-red colour) intertwined on an abandoned overgrown verge.

Fastest Endurance run to date but was cautious after the previous days run so kept an eye on hr and effort levels.

14km, avg 5:25/km and hr 146.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Great time and effort, well done

TbL

annapr wrote: »
    I think Poppintree is a good one, nice and flat, yes you can get isolated but it's a nice course.
    PS good luck with it!

Agreed. Think it suits my psychology A. Nobody else is going to run my race so going it alone is not a problem. The back straight, under tree cover, and around the pond is simply sublime.

Think it was time I offered something on the Race Report front for the auld lads :)
    Had to take a sneaky peak too :D. Congratulations Denis, that's some going!

I know we have been nip and tuck over this distance for a few years G. Had planned to have a pb go in June, but hey it just happened :D
    Had to check in there myself. Looks like you made a wise choice, that's a great result!

Thanks and best of luck with those upcoming exams.
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Nice one D that's a great result had to go and have a look :)

Cannot leave all the Novice '15 pb hunting to you A. Great going yourself in hectic times.
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Like wise, looks like you got the middle bit sorted:) great result.
    Thanks G. Yep....have switched off before but made amends this time. Its such a short race and working hard at being a bit more switched on.

Thanks for the offer B and the report is your reward.
    Indeed! Congrats D, a great result.

Cheers and best of luck with your upcoming adventure race. Great idea.
    Great time and effort, well done
    TbL

Thankd C. Funny thing is I was visualising, mid race, some of your race descriptions about hanging on. I think I have a sense of what you described now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well run, man. And well paced.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭diego_b

Great result Denis, your time caught my eye on Strava and guessed it might have been a new pb. Delighted for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Congrstulations, Denis! Great report and run!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Nice going Denis, delighted to see the times going in the right direction :) nice confidence booster for Athlone.

Monday 17th April
    Rest Day after an unexpected 5km pb weekend. A busy gardening day clearing and cutting to make room for this years finery.

Tuesday 18th April
    A very easy 11km hill run at 6:00 km/min pace

Wednesday 19th April
    And another handy 7km hill run. Legs were tired after this and right lower quad feels achey. Will ease out the quads over the next few days.

Thursday 20th April
    Last V02 max session: 11km with 4x.8km and 2x.6km at 5km pace:
    (.8km) 4:08, 4:14, 4:02 and 4:10. Odd runs into the wind.
    (.6km) 4:08 (into wind) and 3:59.

Session went very well and find I am hitting the pace much more solidly now. Decent early morning breeze beside the sea but not enough to throw anything. The legs were well tired at the end and it was a slow steady trot back home from the sea view houses to my own little hill top abode. Come the flood :D

Friday 21st April
    Very much a rest day coz.... well with Friday for starters :)

Saturday 22nd April
    Another gentle Recovery Run. Legs are heavy and tired and that is just fine. Very little sleep so just put in the kms to clear the head and stay fresh before heading to work for a few hours. Nice morning and noticed that I can see my socks though my Adidas Adios Boost runners :eek:. That might not be a good thing so I will look to get another pair for racing in on d'internet. Time to reach in under the bed and grab a nice bargain pair I got in October 16.

6km 5:57/km at 138hr

Sunday 23rd April
    Aerobic run at new pace but another very poor nights sleep so decided I would run with one eye on hr (keeping it in mid 140's) and effort felt. Legs were great and I flew along to be honest. Plenty of runners out by the coast and everybody quite happy to offer and return a "hi/hello". The new cycle way looks really well and ran as far as the causeway, from the wooden bridge, to test the new tarmac surface. Super facility.

13km at 5:36/km and 146 hr.

Race Week
    Monday 24th April
    Aerobic run with 4x100m strides and 1.2km at 10km Race Pace. Chose route to ensure that I was running the race pace on ground to replicate the course on Sat. First few kms against the wind and uphill had me properly warmed up. Did the strides first and then shot off on the race pace leg. With 200m to go I was flagged down by a distressed gent flapping some paper. Hit the pause button and deciphered the message to figure out that he was starting a new job but didnt know where to go. Got him sorted very quickly and pointed out the way. We were both relieved. Hit the button and ran out the last 200m.

Finished the run very strongly and just held back tempering any ambition to run harder than required. Still turned out to be a fast and strong aerobic run.

11km 5:19km/min and 148 hr. Oh and sleep returned, as it does.

Tuesday 25th April
    Recovery Run after a lot of walking and standing around yesterday. Area above right knee is stiff and constantly feels as though it wants to be stretched, Not the best day to be driving 500kms. Made the run all the more enjoyable as I was back in the city by late afternoon and avoided the winds and hailstones.

5km at 5:56/km and 141 hr (a little high and will mind this over the next few days)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Only catching up on your Poppintree exploits D! Great stuff... agree it can be exposed to the wind up there, but can't say I've noticed much of an incline :).

annapr wrote: »
    but can't say I've noticed much of an incline :).

It reminds me of the "gentle incline" in St. Annes on the Parkrun course up from the bridge and passing the Dog Enclosure. Hardly noticeable until you are at your limits. There is an 8m differential from Pond to Top of course and the headlong breeze and expanse made it feel harder than it is. Still think it is the most favourable course for a Parkrun pb all the same. Have noticed your own enthusiasm and extra sessions of late. A target in the offing? :)