Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rep of Ireland (1) vs Bosnia (1), Euro qualifier playoff 2nd leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Ferry companies Chief Execs wetting themselves.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Haha Dunphy - "Great to go to the Euros with all the great European teams... And Northern Ireland too"

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Username exists

Jaysus that was cringefest who was yiwan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

ollaetta wrote: »
    Ferry companies Chief Execs wetting themselves.

Think Ryanair will do even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Will the matches be on at the usual times next summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Kenjataimu wrote: »
    Bosnia are far from a quality side. Apart from dzeko and pjanic, they are average or worse.
    Yeah, drew with Belgium, drew with Austria, beat Wales.
    20th ranked in the World.
    Average :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Brady, "He persisted with me and I got one right in the end" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Lets go :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Who's bringing the horse to France?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Grealish kicking himself ...... hopefully.

vlcsnap-00647.jpg

IT'S ONLY A BLEEDIN TOURNAMENT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Fair ****s to Ireland. Will acquit themselves better this time. Great mentality but do play with more purpose than under Trap. Walters is some man for one man. Coleman was excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Robbie Brady at LB... Never doubted him... except earlier... and the Poland game... and the time before that...

A marvellous man really.

Fair play to Brady for acknowledging that Walters was better. Real team player. Top man

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Depressing night to be Scottish :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,502 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Billy86 wrote: »
    WOO!!! Just got a job offer at higher pay than a different one that fell through earlier today literally right this moment. Timing is f***ing EVERYTHING!! :D

Was the offer from Winnebago given the timing? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

So many times we managed to miss out on qualification when it looked like we had it in the bag.

Great to see us doing the opposite for once. Other teams slipped up and we grabbed our opportunities.

Brilliant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Grealish kicking himself ...... hopefully.

Yeah fk Jack Grealish. As i have said on here before (somewhere), we will look back on missing out on him as a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

awec wrote: »

Just like every other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Harvey Low Fat Milk

Unless you're James McCarthy!

• J. Marston wrote: »
    Poor aul Scotland left at home while all the cousins go on holiday.

Genuine lol :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

the bandwagon will be in full swing again now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

One way flight booked 88 euro out on the 15th to Paris gerrup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

DELIGHTED :D:D

Would be an even better occasion if Bill O'Herlihy was there! He'd have loved tonight! It's not quite the same!

One thing that will get everyone excited.....we draw England!

We need to pray our best players stay fit and we also need to unearth a couple of players from somewhere in the next 7 months....just a couple of players would make a surprising difference

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Am I right in saying that yous can't end up in our group now because of Hungary qualifying?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Wicklow man is he not?

Blame me believing my OH he decided he was from Swords based on where he went to school.

I've lambasted him appropriately :D
    irishchris wrote: »
    Fantastic and gracious from the Bosnian fans to stay behind and clap the Irish players. Fair play

THat was lovely to see.

jacool wrote: »
    Yeah, drew with Belgium, drew with Austria, beat Wales.
    20th ranked in the World.
    Average :)

They put it up to eventual world finalists Argentina in the World cup too. They werent seeded in the draw for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

fecking great - next summer is going to be epic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Am I right in saying that yous can't end up in our group now because of Hungary qualifying?
    Australia didn't qualify for the Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

MON will have to select only 3 keepers for the tournament , won't be easy to narrow it down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

That was surprisingly comfortable in the end. Well done to Mon and the lads for turning this campaign around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭caviardreams

I presume there will be a new kit for the Euros??

Nib wrote: »
    Australia didn't qualify for the Euros.

They are allowed into the Eurovision so yer man now thinks they are being let into everything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Billy86 wrote: »
    WOO!!! Just got a job offer at higher pay than a different one that fell through earlier today literally right this moment. Timing is f***ing EVERYTHING!! :D

Martin, is that you getting a pay rise for getting us to France?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Going by Fifa rankings Republic of Ireland are 5th in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Skid X wrote: »
    So many times we managed to miss out on qualification when it looked like we had it in the bag.

Great to see us doing the opposite for once. Other teams slipped up and we grabbed our opportunities.

Brilliant.

The best part is we weren't reliant on slip ups at all.

We went out and beat Germany to give ourselves the opportunity that we took over the last 4 days.

Big balls on those lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

MoN's reaction when they hit the bar and looked for a peno right at the end.

https://streamable.com/irm8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Fair ****s to Ireland. Will acquit themselves better this time.

I'll never understand this.

We were in an astonishing group of death.

BOTH finalists.

AND a really good Croatian team who put it up to them.

It was an INSANELY tough group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

MON will have to select only 3 keepers for the tournament , won't be easy to narrow it down

Was thinking that myself. It could be the toughest position to select for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

**** RTE Player for making me miss the last 8 minutes.

The Saorview signal went for me.

Was running around me sitting room with the aerial trying to get a strong singal for the last 10 minutes!!

Even if I don't get match tickets, am driving to France via UK anyway and will watch it in a pub over there.

An Irish Cannonball Run.

Laois_Man wrote: »
    DELIGHTED :D:D

Would be an even better occasion if Bill O'Herlihy was there! He'd have loved tonight! It's not quite the same!

One thing that will get everyone excited.....we draw England!

We need to pray our best players stay fit and we also need to unearth a couple of players from somewhere in the next 7 months....just a couple of players would make a surprising difference

I would love a cut at England during their bi-annual premature ejaculation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Fair play to MON and Keane, sometimes the tactics and selection mystify me but we qualified in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭secman

Absolutely Delighted.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

' Spirit' must be the new buzzword.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

So will all the moaning stop now?

We are on our way to France. We were in a tough group and got out, ok via a playoff but hey we are there. Lets support the team now and stop the constant ****e.

MON deserves another crack at qualifying for the WC. Given our group in that we should get their automatically by winning that group. So lets support the team without the negativity. We arent full of amazing players, we have a squad of average players which make a decent team who havent the best of skills but they have fight and desire.......let embrace that now and believe we can have a good Euros and an even better qualification for the WC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Was thinking that myself. It could be the toughest position to select for.

Randy has to be No. 1 now for sure.

soma wrote: »

BOTH finalists.

Was at all 3 games. We really were up against it. Croatia killed the game so well, Spain were unbelievable in monsoon rain and the Italians played so smart they were unreal.

Tonight was the best qualification in my lifetime. Brilliant spirit and guts. Draw for the Euros is massive. We deserve a bit of luck in the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

It's great that the team have qualified. Many of us probably had our doubts up until the 93rd minute, but the team is there.

We're in euphoria mode right now, me included, but we have to stop to remember - the team must go to the Euros next year and compete.

soma wrote: »

BOTH finalists.

True tbf. Although we resembled eleven crabs on the field with Trap at times. No ambition to attack whatsover. Dont get me wrong we're not exactly the Harlem globetrotters under MON but we play with some hint of abandon at times.

There is no way for example we would be beating Germany with Trap in charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm Welsh and all my buddy's here were telling me they'd all follow us if ireland didn't make it .

Well now you can all go f@ck off and follow martin and Roy's green army .

Won't somebody light a candle for Scotland tho ��

Go on you boys in green and red !!!!!!!! ( not at same time )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Clark and Keogh deserve a special mention too. Only one goal conceded over 180 minutes, and neither were culpable for that.

I didn't think they would be as good as they were.