Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2015-16 Champions Cup thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Could have had a few more too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Ospreys
    I'm pumped for Racing v Northampton. These teams better deliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Scarlets
    errlloyd wrote: »
    I'm pumped for Racing v Northampton. These teams better deliver.

Northampton struggling here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Northampton have a propensity for falling to pieces. Getting thoroughly bossed by Racing right now.

Scarlets
    I'll tell yah - Racing are going to be real contenders in the Champions Cup this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭bilston

vienne86 wrote: »
    I'll tell yah - Racing are going to be real contenders in the Champions Cup this year.

Esepcially when Carter starts to click with the rest of the team. At the minute some of his passing is a bit off the mark.

Ospreys
    Racing are top class.

Ospreys
    Brilliant half break from Hanrahan, then Matfield gets intercepted 5 metres out and Dublin intercepts and runs the pitch.

Scarlets
    errlloyd wrote: »
    Racing are top class.

Lovely to watch this afternoon.

Potentially powerful finish from Burrell

Tough call for the officials. I'm not sure how the commentators could be so sure that it was a try.

Scarlets
    Ach, I thought that was a try for Burell. Pity. I would have done the match a power of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

These BT pundits are very biased, They called that Northapton try as a nailed on one even though the video evidence suggested the opposite. It could still have been a try, but the angles we were shown didnt point to a try.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Two butchered tries in five minutes from Northampton there. (not) Passing in the last 5 metres killing them. Hanrahan's been lively with two nice breaks and an offload.

Ach, I thought that was a try for Burell. Pity. I would have done the match a power of good.

Maybe I missed one of the angles but I didn't see anything conclusive to say it was a try. Burrell deserved it for the power he showed but I'm not certain he touched it down before the whitewash.

Scarlets
    bilston wrote: »
    Maybe I missed one of the angles but I didn't see anything conclusive to say it was a try. Burrell deserved it for the power he showed but I'm not certain he touched it down before the whitewash.

Fair enough. Maybe I was swayed by hope or by the commentators.

Ah here it could have been a try.

Northampton were a bit unlucky in that last 5 minutes. It could easily be 17 14 to Saints.

Ospreys
    No individual angle was conclusive. But the first angle showed that his shoulder was effectively grounded ahead of the fall, and the later angles showed the ball only just got got down before it was dead, so he had to be touch and goal before he scored. Tbh, good defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

The commentators bringing a very annoying degree of soccer-like ref-bashing here.

What an offoad by the TH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

What a switch.

Scarlets
    Ah lovely try by Racing there. Very demoralising for Saints who looked like they could score at the other end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Carter MOTM

Ospreys
    I'd have had Rokococo or Dulin tbh.

Scarlets
    Zzippy wrote: »
    Carter MOTM

Did he deserve it? Big name, but I thought Dulin was great.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

BT sport are nearly jizzing themselves with carter this and carter that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Leicester
    BT sport are nearly jizzing themselves with carter this and carter that..

Proper order - the man is almost as good as ROG. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

No idea how that wasn't given to Exeter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Exactly. Which double jointed cleremont player touched that down?

Scarlets
    That was a very nice try by Rougerie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Lovely second score from Clermont. Nakaitaci doing something useful for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Moflojo

Watching Exeter v Clermont and Clermont are getting away with a lot at the breakdown. The Clermont 'jackal' seems to clamp onto the ball and lie on the tackled player to survive the initial clearout attempt, then regains his feet and gets awarded the penalty as Exeter are deemed to be holding on. To me, the Clermont player isn't supporting his own weight until after he's survived the initial clearout.

Scarlets
    Half time in Swansea Ospreys 9 Bordeaux 13. I know I should cheer on the Pro12 side, but I am a bit of a Bordeaux fan, and I am not a fan of Ospreys.

Scarlets
    Oh well worked try for Exeter - well deserved. Game on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭TeoReid

Whitten been impressive.

Scarlets
    That was a great run by Exeter....I thought they were in again.

Scarlets
    Woodburn is an exciting player. And as well as looking dangerous when he gets the ball in attack, he just saved an almost certain try by Clermont there.

Scarlets
    Great try for the Exeter pack. Relentless pressure rewarded. Well deserved. The need to concentrate to stop Clermont getting anything today.

This has been a pretty entertaining game.

Scarlets
    TeoReid wrote: »
    This has been a pretty entertaining game.

BP win for Exeter. Didn't see that coming. Fair play to them - very good performance, coming from 3-14 down!

And Clermont were nilled in the second half

Exeter are def my fav team in English league.
    They play the right way and never give up...

Pains me to say it but Saracens just scored a lovely try.

Some lovely hands by Saracens but I'm more convinced than ever that if we can beat Toulouse in France next week we can definitely get a best runners up spot in this group. Oyonnax look very beatable.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Wasps
    Ali Williams was working for BT yesterday and is now on Sky too :eek:

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Ali Williams was working for BT yesterday and is now on Sky too :eek:

Yeah the presenter started asking about him about he was helping Carter adapt to life in Paris and I was thinking did you not ask him that yesterday!..different presenter and different TV channel...

So 3 rounds in (for most) it seems Saracens and Racing look like the teams to beat this season. Although I expect Toulon to come to the party after Christmas. I'd be surprised if the winners came from outside those 3 teams this year.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Exeter are def my fav team in English league.
    They play the right way and never give up...

Are they the guys nicknamed the chiefs with the Indian mascot?

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

bilston wrote: »
    So 3 rounds in (for most) it seems Saracens and Racing look like the teams to beat this season. Although I expect Toulon to come to the party after Christmas. I'd be surprised if the winners came from outside those 3 teams this year.

Anyone but Saracens please. Anyone.

Stheno wrote: »
    Are they the guys nicknamed the chiefs with the Indian mascot?

That's them