Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Colser wrote: »
    I was going to start a kind of detox today as Ive really being over doing the drinkies for the last few weeks(months:o) but I cant because of the match so I will start next Monday as this week is ruined now.

W.E.A.K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Menas wrote: »
    W.E.A.K.

I know:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I was going to start a kind of detox today as Ive really being over doing the drinkies for the last few weeks(months:o) but I cant because of the match so I will start next Monday as this week is ruined now.

few cans of stella left in the fridge from the weekend, be rude not to :)

major bill wrote: »
    few cans of stella left in the fridge from the weekend, be rude not to :)
    Read this Menas :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

73Cat wrote: »
    My washing machine has decided it's not spinning stuff. I have a load of sopping wet towels in it:(. That fabulous moment when you realise you have not made enough mashed spuds to cover the top of the shepherds pie. I'd like to fcuk it all down the length of the garden, and come join ye in the pub. I'll be the cross looking little yoke with a rumbly belly :(

Aha, thats what those mashed up defrosted potato croquettes are for dear! As are those packets of makey up mash from Tesco.

I always have them in the fridge/press. Great in a shepherd's pie not enough real mash to cover moment lol. No one will know and if they do, tell them to go and make it themselves so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I was looking after my dear mother bless her all weekend. We take turns, she is disabled and it can be tough both for her and me!! She's lovely don't get me wrong. So no wine or anything salubrious. ON DUTY SIR.

Waiting for the match now, and all I can find is a quarter bottle of Martell Brandy.

Now should I or what?????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Women on about how they look all the time and what lumps of **** they'll be pumping up their arses next as per the latest fad.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

eternal wrote: »
    Women on about how they look all the time and what lumps of **** they'll be pumping up their arses next as per the latest fad.

^^^
    THIS a million times. You will get old, get used to it, if you don't you'll end up like mutton dressed up as lamb, with fish lips and cheekbones that could double as airbags... Look after yourself, by all means, but please be realistic and stop pretending you're a Barbie. And injecting God knows what into yourself won't improve the situation. The 'contents' are much more important/valuable than the 'container'/'packaging'...

*end of rant, I mean, Trivial Annoyance*

If you ever saw plastic surgery gone wrong like fillers that get infected inside your flesh, you'd think twice about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well the RTE player is down and First Row links ain't working so can't watch the match.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

Well the RTE player is down and First Row links ain't working so can't watch the match.

rte player isn't down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Poochie05 wrote: »
    I had to go and buy a new washing machine this morning :( Mine is over 16 years old and owes us nothing, but for a few (many) months it's been doing weird things, not rinsing or spinning properly, the dial moves around randomly and other general worrying things. So I've known it will need replacing soon.

This morning I could smell burning rubber during the spin so decided to take the plunge and not wait for it to go on fire or something...

TA'd as I didn't plan on spending that kind of money before C*******s, but I suppose that's what the emergency fund is for

New (eco) flipping washing machines, my 40deg wash takes 183 minutes, flipping weather has changed or sun has set by the time it's finished, quick wash is 30deg 30 minutes, but just doesn't clean right.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Do two quick washes?

selous wrote: »
    New (eco) flipping washing machines, my 40deg wash takes 183 minutes, flipping weather has changed or sun has set by the time it's finished, quick wash is 30deg 30 minutes, but just doesn't clean right.

That doesnt sound right selous..mine is 110 mins for a 40deg,have you looked at all the options?

Speaking of appliances my dryer is supposed to stop itself when the clothes are dry but it has never happened and my freezer is meant to defrost it self and that has never happened either.I have shattered the front of the freezer containers trying to wedge them open and nearly cut my thumb off in the process,I stuck the bread knife through the back of it trying to dislodge the ice and this is because people dont close the door properly:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

New Home wrote: »
    Do two quick washes?

Exactly what I do, but a 40 wash is what is needed to get certain whiffs out (or a 60) I use that Dettol stuff too. well trained, I is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

i'm sure its been mentioned a lot but being stuck in traffic really really annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

73Cat wrote: »
    My washing machine has decided it's not spinning stuff. I have a load of sopping wet towels in it:(. That fabulous moment when you realise you have not made enough mashed spuds to cover the top of the shepherds pie. I'd like to fcuk it all down the length of the garden, and come join ye in the pub. I'll be the cross looking little yoke with a rumbly belly :(

Something blocking the filter I would wager...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Tried to fry some eggs. Accidentally made an omelette.

major bill wrote: »
    A game of huge importance for Ireland and it's on a Monday, cant even get sauced properly if we win!!!

Did you see the fella in the crowd with the banner about ringing in sick tomorrow..Hmmm

Roy Keane smiling,cop on Roy boy we love you grumpy:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,334 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Did you see the fella in the crowd with the banner about ringing in sick tomorrow..Hmmm

Roy Keane smiling,cop on Roy boy we love you grumpy:pac:

Ah in fairness he was doing his best not to but Martin O'Neill kept ruffling his hair!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

fussyonion wrote: »
    Where have people's manners gone these days?
    I don't expect hugs and kisses in the shop but a "Please" "Thank you" or "See you again" wouldn't go amiss.
    I've been to several shops today and not one cashier said one of those things.
    They all looked bored and as if I was inconveniencing them.

Just FYI - It's actually because they were bored and you were inconveniencing them! Having spent my college years working in retail, my biggest TA at the time was customers. I should have been sacked...a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

Squeezing the sweet bejaysus out of the essentially empty tube of toothpaste, hoping you can get just enough to brush your teeth. I didn't. :rolleyes:

No booze till the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

They voice on the Tesco self service checkouts has changed. I don't like change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

OH is working for some forward thinking multinational company that's all gung ho about wellness and stuff, and part of this is a certain amount of free money a year to ensure your spouse or parent or child is also er... "well" - basically, I'm being forced to join the gym because it's free. I know free gym would appeal to a lot of people, but I don't like them - Odd, sweaty, artificial places. I much prefer being outside with the dogs and doing real exercise. Now I have to shopping for runners and a sports bra and shorts etc. WTF, where do I even start? :eek: Plus I barely have the energy to get out of bed, how the heck am I supposed to run on a treadmill?

If you get to choose the gym, try and pick one with a pool, sauna and massage. No runners required! :pac:

New Home wrote: »
    If you get to choose the gym, try and pick one with a pool, sauna and massage. No runners required! :pac:

My gym has a Restaurant, Cinema, Shops and a Hairdressers.

Some people call it a shopping centre...but I prefer to call it a gym as going there is the only exercise I get some weeks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

My wife has started acting like a religious nutcase, just to annoy me. It's not even a consistent role she has adapted! She usually opts for songs such as "Bind us together Lord" which she even puts on on youtube to sing along to, but it doesn't mean she can't swap roles and serve a falafel wrap with a kitchen towel on her head whilst praising Allah.

The worst thing is that it really irritates me and she knows and continues to wreck my head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Madly paranoid right now! Walking by a trio of junkies earlier and one of them starts roaring at me, in front of a packed bus stop 'Put a fcuking bra on' over and over again. I had a moment of 'fcuk, did I forget to put the boulders in the holders this morning'

I did a little jiggle test in the lift when I got back into the office and they are no more jiggly today than any other day but I'm mad paranoid now and have my cardigan buttoned up and a big scarf on.

And the most maddening thing was there was so much about this specimen that I could have picked up on and roared back at him but I really, really, really would prefer not to get my head kicked in over a pair of jiggly tits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭ciaradx

KatW4 wrote: »
    They voice on the Tesco self service checkouts has changed. I don't like change.

You can mute it you know.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

ciaradx wrote: »
    You can mute it you know.....

Do tell, and we will forever grant you the status of Awesome.

I try to get in and out of those machines as quick as possible, so don't stop to have a gaze around the screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

When someone shows you a 'funny' video on their phone which is actually the complete opposite of funny but which they find hilarious.

Having to fake laugh and snigger for 3-4 mins is torturous.

TA that I'm a grumpy sh1te! :D

In the chemist at the weekend and there is a little kid, no more than 3 trying to destroy a display of body cream. He is pulling out all of the bottles and making a nice little pile on the ground. Meanwhile his mother is totally engrossed in trying to print photos from the photo machine. The screen is filled with photos of little ‘Georgie’. When she eventually notices what the little sh!t is up to she pops over, bends down and I think, yes, this Grade A brat is going to get his comeuppance now, but instead it’s all soft voice negotiations. ‘That’s not a nice thing to do Georgie is it? Put them back when you are finished’. And she returns to admiring photos of him and he fcuks off to another display and starts ‘expressing’ himself all over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Pac1Man wrote: »
    When someone shows you a 'funny' video on their phone which is actually the complete opposite of funny but which they find hilarious.

and you touch the screen to see how much is left, and you see another 3/4 minutes remaining.

that sinking feeling :eek::confused::mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

Vel wrote: »
    In the chemist at the weekend and there is a little kid, no more than 3 trying to destroy a display of body cream. He is pulling out all of the bottles and making a nice little pile on the ground. Meanwhile his mother is totally engrossed in trying to print photos from the photo machine. The screen is filled with photos of little ‘Georgie’. When she eventually notices what the little sh!t is up to she pops over, bends down and I think, yes, this Grade A brat is going to get his comeuppance now, but instead it’s all soft voice negotiations. ‘That’s not a nice thing to do Georgie is it? Put them back when you are finished’. And she returns to admiring photos of him and he fcuks off to another display and starts ‘expressing’ himself all over again.

Welcome to the world of 3 year olds.

xabi wrote: »

I have plenty of experience with 3 year olds, having had two previously and one currently! None of mine have ever destroyed a display in a shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

I have plenty of experience with 3 year olds, having had two previously and one currently! None of mine have ever destroyed a display in a shop

Was he emptying the contents on the floor? If he was only re-arranging the bottles, lighten up. Hardly a "grade A little brat"

Trivial things that annoy you! :)

God save us from nouveau parenting. I've never been quite the same since I overheard my godson's mother telling him that his actions were "making baby reindeer cry" - kid didn't give a fúck about reindeer, baby or otherwise, and the state of said reindeer mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

random spam accounts on twitter that follow, then unfollow you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Not theworld of my kids when they were three...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭BenedrylPete

Raindrop on phone screen. Go to wipe it away and the screen scrolls down.
    Scroll back up.
    Another raindrop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Speaking of rain. You go out for a walk in the rain, and you have an umbrella, and you avoid the bulk of it.....you then arrive home, take down your umbrella.....and a few large drops fall off the porch and right down the back of your neck, as you are opening your front door

I wish I could mute the poxy coffee machine in our work canteen, Drives me fúckin nuts. Bang clatter bang. Hissing and grinding and whirring and more banging. The fúckin NOISE when people are emptying that yoke with the ground up beans, I swear to God some of them use it for anger venting therapy because there is no justification for how loudly they bang it.

Also, awaiting a delivery of cat food and managed to not mess it up this time and have been speaking to the driver and given him directions (because they can never find our house) and made sure someone would be there (my brother) and now I am calling to see if he signed for it...and his phone is turned OFF. I'll fúckin kill him if I get home and there's no delivery. May the wrath of an angry woman and 11 hungry cats beat down upon his stupid head :mad: I'll throw ham at his head and set the hungry cats at him!

And final TA is lately I appear to be giving off available signals and so far have been receiving raunchy texts from some poor guy in my class who has it bad and earlier an email that I had intended to send to a group of three people inviting them for lunch was accidentally sent to only one, and now he too is communicating to me that lunch alone would very much be a good thing and did I mean it and what it means. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Have to leave for my interview soon and off course now is the time it decides to rain :( also theres one leaf that has flown onto the back window twice now right in the center and its driving my ocd crazy as I just cleaned those yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭ciaradx

Do tell, and we will forever grant you the status of Awesome.

I try to get in and out of those machines as quick as possible, so don't stop to have a gaze around the screen

The very first screen (before you even start scanning things) has a volume symbol in the bottom right corner. Press that until mute symbol comes up. It's a secret though, don't tell anyone ;)

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    And final TA is lately I appear to be giving off available signals and so far have been receiving raunchy texts from some poor guy in my class who has it bad and earlier an email that I had intended to send to a group of three people inviting them for lunch was accidentally sent to only one, and now he too is communicating to me that lunch alone would very much be a good thing and did I mean it and what it means. :(

That TA only ever happens when you are loved up. Never when you are actually single...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭BenedrylPete

nicki11 wrote: »
    Have to leave for my interview soon and off course now is the time it decides to rain :( also theres one leaf that has flown onto the back window twice now right in the center and its driving my ocd crazy as I just cleaned those yesterday

Whats the official ocd position if the leaf sticks to the window a third time ?

Do you clear it away since 3 is an uneven number and it means youre going to die, .... or do you have to clear it away and then stick it back a fourth time before getting rid of it since 4 is an even number and means everything is going to be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

A TV show I loved from 1999 that only ran one season ended on an unresolved cliffhanger. Last night I remembered that out of the blue and I got annoyed all over again.

My TA is that the above poster isn't telling us the name of that show. Now even I need to know...