Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

No boards.ie for a sizable chunk of the today! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

rosie16 wrote: »
    Not for long really, I wasn't even out late. :rolleyes: So much for running up hills. Muscles are still sore today. :pac:

I was out one Saturday afternoon/evening a few weeks ago, was standing in the hatch of the bar and the next day my calves were all stiff too, must have been the way I was standing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

My car insurance is up at the end of the week. I'm after checking my details on the online quote doohickeys - including my existing insurer. My quote has gone up NOT by the predicted 8-10% but by over 30% on last year!!

This is depite NOTHING changing. Both myself and hubby have no penalty points, full drivers licences, no claims bonus etc. I am more than T.A.!!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Rhea Rose

Do you also avoid Dunnes, Tesco, SuperValu, Boots etc??

Well, Dunnes and Tesco rarely ask - and they have self service tills. I never go to SuperValu. And Boots back off once you say ONCE that you don't want one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

I wish there was a way to block all viral bull**** on facebook.

"YOU WON'T BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED NEXT!"

"WHAT HAPPENED NEXT WILL MELT YOUR HEART!"

"WE CAN'T BELIEVE WHAT THIS WOMAN DID!"

"WHAT THIS MAN DID DESERVES A MEDAL!"

The only upside to having this kind of **** in existence is that the people who repeatedly engage with it are accidentally letting me know that they are total morons.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Someone undermining me in work, changing things that I've decided to do without consulting me and speaking to me like I don't know what I am doing. I'm more angry than annoyed tbh.

Do you also avoid Dunnes, Tesco, SuperValu, Boots etc??

Boots generally ask me if I have a loyalty card but they never ask me if I want one - so, conversation averted with a single polite "No."

Dunnes Tesco and SuperValu all have self-service checkouts, and on the very rare occasion that I use the checkout person aisle, I can't recall the last time they asked did I want a loyalty card.

Some other stores are horrendous for it, though. I try to avoid those shops, as well as shops where the sales assistant is painfully eager to get your attention or to come up to you and ask if you want help. (I know it's not their fault, it's management's fault.)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

"bathrooms for customer use only"

For **** sake! hadn't a penny on me and was bursting for the jacks only to stumble into the closest pub and see that poxy sign. Can they actually enforce that and turn people away?

Robsweezie wrote: »

For **** sake! hadn't a penny on me and was bursting for the jacks only to stumble into the closest pub and see that poxy sign. Can they actually enforce that and turn people away?

They can if they want. It's private property. Only a c__t would turn you away, though. Unless it's being abused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Daisy78

Too much foam and not enough coffee in your cappuccino (very first world problem I know).

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I got a call yesterday:

Phone Rep: So sir, I would like to talk to you about your mobile phone usage/plan.
    Me: Sure, fire away champ
    Phone Rep: No if you can confirm your name and address for me
    Me: No
    Phone: You need to confirm your name and address if you want to proceed.
    Me: You are a stranger ringing me and immediately asking me for personal info
    Phone Guy: Yes, I need that to confirm
    Me: Think about it, if a stranger called you asking for your persoal information, would you give it to them....would you give it to me now
    Phone Guy: But I'm from X.
    Me: I'm from X.
    Phone Guy: No you are not
    Me: I know, just making a point that I can say I'm from there as well.
    Phone Dude: So are you going to give me your details.
    Me: Are you going to give me yours?
    Phone Guy; Have a nice day sir.
    Me: You too, I'm not trying to be a pr*ck, it's just that what you are doing doesn't make sense.
    Peace Out. *Drops the mic.*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭wally79

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I got a call yesterday:

Phone Rep: So sir, I would like to talk to you about your mobile phone usage/plan.
    Me: Sure, fire away champ
    Phone Rep: No if you can confirm your name and address for me
    Me: No
    Phone: You need to confirm your name and address if you want to proceed.
    Me: You are a stranger ringing me and immediately asking me for personal info
    Phone Guy: Yes, I need that to confirm
    Me: Think about it, if a stranger called you asking for your persoal information, would you give it to them....would you give it to me now
    Phone Guy: But I'm from X.
    Me: I'm from X.
    Phone Guy: No you are not
    Me: I know, just making a point that I can say I'm from there as well.
    Phone Dude: So are you going to give me your details.
    Me: Are you going to give me yours?
    Phone Guy; Have a nice day sir.
    Me: You too, I'm not trying to be a pr*ck, it's just that what you are doing doesn't make sense.
    Peace Out. *Drops the mic.*

That poor lad got the brunt of boards being down and your subsequent inability to ban people to relieve frustration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Robsweezie wrote: »
    These pubs have baths? :pac:

When your laptop charger packs up and you don't have a spare one, prob won't have one til tomorrow evening now :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The waiting period between interview and finding out if you were successful. I've an agonizing week to wait and I fly between feeling really confident and optimistic to thinking, what the hell is wrong with you ONW, it will never happen. Plus I keep remembering little snippets of the interview as a serious of gifs that just spring upon me when I am least expecting it. I'll be sitting on the luas thinking about something else and all of a sudden my sub-conscious will throw up a flashback and I'll be like, "I said that? I can't believe I actually said that!" :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭JumpShivers

It's not 'trivial', but I needed to complain somewhere! :(

I think I have an abscess on my tooth. Dentist booked for 4.30 today. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

KatW4 wrote: »
    Something smells funny in our room but I just can't find it anywhere.

Could be an olefactory hallucination. I get these with the M.E. Nothing there. Worst ones are petrol, cigarette smoke and cats. My poor cats get blamed when they have emitted nothing..I use essential oils etc to distract. Reminds me though of someone at university decades ago whose boyfriend had been bad. Before she moved out she put raw fish in the hollow curtain rail.. Upset anyone lately ? ;)

xLisaBx wrote: »
    I've eaten 1600 calories every day this week and managed to put on a pound. Exercised too. Damn hypothyroidism

Hard the hypo... had a friend like that then she started a natural thyroid supplement... Sorry if mentioning that is against the rules but it worked for her...join some of the UK thyroid support groups and see how folk manage?

It's not 'trivial', but I needed to complain somewhere! :(

I think I have an abscess on my tooth. Dentist booked for 4.30 today. :(

Commiserations. I love my plastic teeth!

Rhea Rose wrote: »
    Holland and Barrett staff wrecking my head every time I go in. No, I still don't have a loyalty card. And No - I don't fcuking want one!!!!!

Oh God, they drive me mental. I actually tweeted them about it and was told that 'all staff have to ask on every sale' and I'm here going 'eh this is stopping me going to your store'. I actively avoid it where possible now.

Worse when you get to the car after a big shop at Dunnes and realise the checkout person forgot to ask and you have lost a lot of points,,, happily I went to the customer service desk and got them back.. Love you Dunnes! It happened because the checkout lady and I were so busy chatting!

Rogueish wrote: »
    My car insurance is up at the end of the week. I'm after checking my details on the online quote doohickeys - including my existing insurer. My quote has gone up NOT by the predicted 8-10% but by over 30% on last year!!

This is depite NOTHING changing. Both myself and hubby have no penalty points, full drivers licences, no claims bonus etc. I am more than T.A.!!:mad:

Try being well over 70 and driving a 15 year old car.,..I am dreading the post and was seeking quotes online and lucky I was in bed! Heart attack time... Most of the companies are refusing me even quotes and 123 referred me to a company that specialises in " people not usually insurable eg under 19s and those who have a drink driving conviction".. I have over 50 years of NCB no penalty points and NO CONVICTION!! I got one for E700 and one for nearly !000.. Scared to eat now! There are good threads on this on the motoring forum by the way.. and worth a search etc. And they explain why this is happening..

DareGod wrote: »
    They can if they want. It's private property. Only a c__t would turn you away, though. Unless it's being abused.

cafe owner in Waterville last year put a huge sign up saying NO COACH TOURS or LOUD AMERICANS.. allegedly because they were using his loos without buying anything...Shop etc are usually kind to old ladies though and I get to use the staff loos in LIDL if I need to.T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

In the run up to Christmas, My OH and family would be asking if there was anything at all I wanted / needed, but I couldn't think of anything and said not to bother at all with presents...
    Since Christmas though, I've thought of loads of things I actually do need / want!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

"What do you mean you don't have any in stock"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

On holiday and chilling in the room- I could do that at home!!!

I would just like to tell you all that I finally passed my driving test :D

But my TA is the waiting around in the waiting round to get my new licence. I've been here for 40 minutes already!

Graces7 wrote:
    Could be an olefactory hallucination. I get these with the M.E. Nothing there. Worst ones are petrol, cigarette smoke and cats. My poor cats get blamed when they have emitted nothing..I use essential oils etc to distract. Reminds me though of someone at university decades ago whose boyfriend had been bad. Before she moved out she put raw fish in the hollow curtain rail.. Upset anyone lately ?

Not that I can think of! The smell is gone but I've still no idea where it came from so I'll blame the cats too. Little maggots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,877 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

KatW4 wrote: »
    I would just like to tell you all that I finally passed my driving test :D

But my TA is the waiting around in the waiting round to get my new licence. I've been here for 40 minutes already!

Don't forget your big N for Noob plates :D

Well done though

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Love my parents but can't bring my Mam out to eat anymore. :D Only a few minutes in the door and our order taken and it's out with the quips. My Dad rolling his eyes at her as well.

'Did she go and kill the chicken herself or what??'
    'You wouldn't want to be hungry that's for sure.'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Congrats Kat:)

Didnt realise how addicted I am to boards:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Colser wrote: »
    Congrats Kat:)

Didnt realise how addicted I am to boards:(

Congrats Kat! That must be such a relief for you, well done!!

I went through some serious withdrawals the last few days, it is worrying how addicted to boards I am!

kfallon wrote: »
    When your laptop charger packs up and you don't have a spare one, prob won't have one til tomorrow evening now :mad:

I'm back bitches, I'm back :P

The lengths some people will go to just to **** off to porn :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The suspense is killing me. I wont survive the next week. It's an emotional rollercoaster :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

More than trivially annoyed at myself for eating pasta yesterday when I knew it would make me ill. Stomach in bits all day and have been wanting to throw up all day but still havent.

I love you pasta, why dont you love me! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

It seems that I have a lost black sock. This is a very important black sock. It belongs to my only pair of black socks. And I only wear this pair of black socks when doing an interview because they're the only pair of socks that match my granny interview shoes (can easily see the socks so can't get away with anything outlandish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I've had a niggling headache all week. It wasn't really bad enough for painkillers but I had to take them anyway because it wouldn't go away.
    Then as the days passed, the niggling continued so I took my migraine tablets out of frustration even though deep down I knew it wasn't a migraine, but I figured I'd suffered enough and I needed rid of it.

Well I feel I wasted those tablets because they only worked for the day before the headache returned the next day.
    Today I took normal painkillers and it's easing slightly.
    It's all pre-menstrual though so there's not a lot I can do about it.

I also have the most annoying tickle in my throat that's tiring me because I can't stop clearing my throat.

Have a pain in the back of my leg, kinda just under my knee and above my calf. It's grand when I walk around but once I stop it pains in me again when I start to walk and then goes away as long as I keep on the go!

Fúcking annoying as fúck :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

kfallon wrote: »
    Have a pain in the back of my leg, kinda just under my knee and above my calf. It's grand when I walk around but once I stop it pains in me again when I start to walk and then goes away as long as I keep on the go!

Fúcking annoying as fúck :mad:

You could be like Rainman and walk the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm annoyed that I can't post here when I'm in work. Since the site got over its lamentable condition, I've been logged out on my work computer, and the login button doesn't work.
    rosie16 wrote: »
    It seems that I have a lost black sock. This is a very important black sock. It belongs to my only pair of black socks. And I only wear this pair of black socks when doing an interview because they're the only pair of socks that match my granny interview shoes (can easily see the socks so can't get away with anything outlandish.
    I've only got black socks (and black clothes in general). I'd send you a pair but they'd probably be a bit too big. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Ruu wrote: »
    Love my parents but can't bring my Mam out to eat anymore. :D Only a few minutes in the door and our order taken and it's out with the quips. My Dad rolling his eyes at her as well.

This is my dad!!!

Ruu wrote: »

mansize wrote: »
    This is my dad!!!

This is me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Whenever I laugh beyond a snigger my eyes run down my face. It's most annoying if I'm especially buckled at something, as I have to take off my glasses and wipe my eyes. If I wasn't cackling, I'd look like I was bawling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

I've only got black socks (and black clothes in general). I'd send you a pair but they'd probably be a bit too big. ;)

I've large feet for a 'lady' ahem. Anyway mens socks are way more comfy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Trivially annoyed that there's feck all in the fridge today save for cheese and crackers. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Idiot posters that have made zero contribution to a thread but will come in and thank anything that a mod posts.

Idiot posters that thank racist or otherwise discriminatory posts, cowards. Anybody that thanks such posts should be banned along with the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Rabbits. Stupid, fluffy, idiotic, adorable, brainless bunnies. (Yes, I am aware that I sound like Father Jack).

I drive back-roads to work and not a day goes by that I don't see at least one rabbit on the road. You would think that they would do the logical thing and run off to the side. But no. 100% of the time they will run INTO the path of the car. And quite often they will continue to run ahead of the car for a few hundred metres before finally figuring out that they should detour into a field. They make sheep look like rocket scientists, and sheep are morons.

And soon it will be baby bunny season. Worse again! They make your heart explode with the cuteness, but they're even more stupid. So many times I have had to stop the car, switch off the lights and wait for them to amble out of my way whenever the mood strikes them. One of these days I'll go full-on Elmer Fudd on their asses!

(I can't even wish a dose of myxomatosis on them cause they're so flippin' adorable!)

Don't forget your big N for Noob plates

I don't mind! Better than the loser plates I've been stuck with! And thank you! :)

Colser wrote:
    Congrats Kat

Medusa22 wrote:
    Congrats Kat! That must be such a relief for you, well done!!

Thank you both! :) such a relief! I can finally drive to work without being worried about being caught.

I cried when he told me that I had passed. I'm so embarrassing :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

I have so many DIY and redecorating annoyances that if I posted them all you would all be more than trivially annoyed so I will go with the most irksome so far:

Fcuking masking fcuking tape pulling the fcuking paint off the fcuking walls.

And in my pursuit of a slightly better decorated house, I am now off to IKEA...................

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Having a crush on someone so bad that it is almost painful, especially knowing that nothing is ever likely to come of it, never mind even just getting the ride!!