Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice and not so nice famous people that you have either met or heard stories about

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,601 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

lukesmom wrote: »
    Another cool cat! ;)

Yawn, change the record :rolleyes: Just because we don't all feel the need to cream ourselves if we see someone famous and disturb them going about their business doesn't warrant this passive aggressive shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Weird situation. Met Metallica (the band, all of them) by mistake in the early nineties. I'm not going to get in to the how and where, but I had something that one of the members was interested in (the bass player) and reluctantly approached them to get my "thing" that they were interested in back. (Didn't have a clue who they were) But, ended up chatting for about half an hour with them chatting about our shared interests. It was early on a Saturday morning.

Fairly sound mature men, very relaxed... could have been any American tourists in Dublin, interested in the city, the history and a locals point of view. There was very very heavy security that approached me as soon as they saw me approach them, but the lads waved them away.

For a metal band they were pretty "clean" bottles of water, in good shape, lean and fit, obvious gym bunnies and healthy living men. They were interested about restaurants in the city, particularly where local dubs would go for food. Nice gang, a bit older than me (and I'm old enough), cultured, well traveled, knew what they were talking about regarding Europe and the different scenes from country to country.

Good chat, nice people to meet, very sociable and very friendly.
    They took my stash maaan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Met Tommy Tiernan after his gig about two years back.
    After the show, he headed into the bar area for a few pints with mates and was being interrupted all evening by people wanting autographs.

He was very nice to everyone and when I eventually got a chance to ask him for a photo, he was very obliging and polite.

I know a fella who did work on Ronan Keating's house (when he was still married to Yvonne).
    He was a right t*sser by all accounts, constantly hassling the chap and telling him to do this and do that, very rude and arrogant and thought he was the bees knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Barry McGuigan came into the shop I was working in a couple years ago, couldn't have been any sounder.

Served BOD at his commemoration dinner in the CCD a while back, lovely chap, so was his wife.

Got talking to Bressie one day when I was paying my parking outside work, didn't actually realise it was him until afterwards.

Tropheus wrote: »
    Kerr is well known to be a non-drinker.
    Well it could have been a pint and a coke or two pints of his own urine for all I know,i think you know what the point was in the story and wasn't about Kerr suddenly developing a love for alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Served Gerard McSorley a number of times in a bar in Belfast, very friendly and great tipper

Colin Farrell is a real gent, met him in Fermanagh when he was up filming I think? He was in the local papers the following week posing for photos with half the town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Hammer89 wrote: »
    This. If I was a celebrity I'd be renowned to be a wanker.
    Same here. The fact that I'm a wanker anyway is irrelevant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I met Matress Mick at a charity night out, the man oozed sex appeal from every orifice. At least I think it was sex appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

met the new thin lizzy in the olympia in 2012 after the show. only talking to them for a second they were all sound. cant believe i walked past Brian Downey on the way out and didnt say anything to him :(:(:(. was so annoyed as i heard Joe Elliott (def leppard) and Larry Mullen were in the pub next door in the olympia that night too.

Met Kofi Kingston wwe wrester sound man, shook hands with big show and big E.

Met Keith Barry after a show a bit of a twat

Passed Wayne Mardle in the citywest after the tuesday night grand prix this year seemed sound enough but was pissed off for some reason and would get in the lift with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Approached Padraig Harrington for his autograph once.

Absolute gent, spared a few moments to chat and I was thrillled to find him

exactly as I imagined he'd be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Jedward, one of them is dead sound, and the other one is an absolute boll+x, but I can never figure out which is which, so they kind of average out as meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    Barry McGuigan came into the shop I was working in a couple years ago, couldn't have been any sounder.

Served BOD at his commemoration dinner in the CCD a while back, lovely chap, so was his wife.

Got talking to Bressie one day when I was paying my parking outside work, didn't actually realise it was him until afterwards.

Now that's what I call a revelation!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

Tom Hanks. I really can't stand him as an actor..... but he seems so lovely!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Duckjob wrote: »
    A couple of years back I was collecting a family member from a flight in Dublin Airport. Suddenly the area around the arrival gates erupted in screaming and Jedward came through. I've always found them annoying as f*** but I must say they won be over a little that day as they spent ages getting their pictures taken and joking around with their fans. Seemed like very sound lads.
    I've only ever heard good things about them with regards their fans. They get a lot of stick but I think they're really nice, harmless young lads and I've liked them since their first audition.

Cheryl "where do you see yourself in 15 years time?"

Jedward "well I see myself being older" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

my hubby was doing a gig in co kildare for a 30 birthday ,,,at the end of the night i asked a guy to help him with the gear he carried and helped us for a half hour only the next day figured out it was chris o dowd from the it crowd lovely lovely guy ,,,he played music that night to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

sandra06 wrote: »
    my hubby was doing a gig in co kildare for a 30 birthday ,,,at the end of the night i asked a guy to help him with the gear he carried and helped us for a half hour only the next day figured out it was chris o dowd from the it crowd lovely lovely guy ,,,he played music that night to

He does seem like a lovely guy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Duckjob wrote: »
    A couple of years back I was collecting a family member from a flight in Dublin Airport. Suddenly the area around the arrival gates erupted in screaming and Jedward came through. I've always found them annoying as f*** but I must say they won be over a little that day as they spent ages getting their pictures taken and joking around with their fans. Seemed like very sound lads.

Had to check your info to make sure you were not a family member.. My Dad seen the same thing while he was waiting in the airport.

He said the two lads were taking pictures with everyone, many times taking multiple pictures in different poses with people and having a laugh with every fan, said they came across really well and didn't leave until everyone got a pic - took them about 20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I also met Pat Kenny in an elevator (who didn't even look at me after greeting him), Hector (seemed sound enough) and George Hook (who was taking it out on someone else again when I greeted him in an elevator). I work just below Today FM and Newstalk so I see the faces pretty often.

I was at the Late Late Show when he was hosting. During the breaks, before and after the show he spent time chatting to the audience members. Had my photo taken with him. Thought he was really nice. Was at it again a few years later when Tubridy was hosting. He spoke in general to the audience but didn't spend the time with the individuals that Kenny did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

my sis meet him yrs ago and she said he was one of the rudest people she ever met ,,,,,,i worked in a hotel yrs ago and alex higgins was staying lovely man always nice to the staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ann22 wrote: »
    I was at the Late Late Show when he was hosting. During the breaks, before and after the show he spent time chatting to the audience members. Had my photo taken with him. Thought he was really nice. Was at it again a few years later when Tubridy was hosting. He spoke in general to the audience but didn't spend the time with the individuals that Kenny did

Yep, couldn't agree more regarding Pat.

I was in the audience twice when he was presenting, both times he couldn't have been warmer towards the audience off camera.

I was particularly impressed at how he stayed out after the end credits shaking hands and posing for photos as the audience filtered out.

A very classy gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭sharpey85

My auntie used to work for herself decorating nails for people (whatever the job is called). Anyway she would often get calls from a hotel who used to recommend her if anyone needed their nails doing.

So one day she gets a call to this hotel and the lady waiting is Victoria Beckham. She said Victoria was really nice and couldn't have been any nicer or any more chatty. As my aunt was pregnant at the time they spoke a lot about the expected baby and children etc. VB then asked my aunt how she was getting home? To which my auntie replied "the bus". VB said no no. There is a car coming i will get the driver to take you home. As my aunt was about to leave she also gave her a cheque for £50 to buy something for the baby.

Anyway, when the car came, a big 4x4 with blacked out windows, my aunt get in the back and David Beckham was sat in the back also. He decided he would stay in the car and accompany her home (which my auntie was over the moon about). As they were going back my auntie was trying to discreetly text her husband to be at the front door when she got back, however he did not see the message and was not at the front door to meet Becks unfortunately.

Lovely though, from the both of them.

P.s My aunt cashed the cheque and bought something for the baby, however she regrets this and wish she had of kept it for the signature!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Met Rory McIlroy a few times, he seemed nice.

Kian from Westlife was stuck up his own hole (and I'm a total Westlife fangirl so it pains me to say that), all the others were sound.

Met Abs from 5ive on a flight after a concert, he was really nice as well.

God, I have fabulous taste in music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

LizT wrote:

You do :p not as good as mine though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Weird situation. Met Metallica (the band, all of them) by mistake in the early nineties. I'm not going to get in to the how and where, but I had something that one of the members was interested in (the bass player) and reluctantly approached them to get my "thing" that they were interested in back. (Didn't have a clue who they were) But, ended up chatting for about half an hour with them chatting about our shared interests. It was early on a Saturday morning.

Fairly sound mature men, very relaxed... could have been any American tourists in Dublin, interested in the city, the history and a locals point of view. There was very very heavy security that approached me as soon as they saw me approach them, but the lads waved them away.

For a metal band they were pretty "clean" bottles of water, in good shape, lean and fit, obvious gym bunnies and healthy living men. They were interested about restaurants in the city, particularly where local dubs would go for food. Nice gang, a bit older than me (and I'm old enough), cultured, well traveled, knew what they were talking about regarding Europe and the different scenes from country to country.

Good chat, nice people to meet, very sociable and very friendly.

Jason Newsted would have been the bass player that was interested in whatever you had. He was probably the most grounded member of the band, the band treated him very badly throughout his time with them (14 years) he replaced a member of the band that died in a tour bus crash in 1986. Jason filled some pretty big shoes as his predecessor was the most musically accomplished in the band up until he died, pretty much taught the 3 other guys to harmonize and penned most of their best known work. So when Jason joined within 3 weeks of the bus accident, the band went straight back on tour as their management told them to "grieve by playing" and after Jason quit, the band admitted they treated him very badly and blaming not taking time to get over their former bandmate's death and took a lot of it out on Jason instead. A lot of cruel pranks and turning the bass down on the final mix an album (And Justice for All album) giving him very little in the way of contributing to songs and the final straw came when Hetfield botched a record deal with a side project Jason was working on.

Funny how you say clean living, the band earned the nickname "Alcoholica" in the 80's and 90's because they liked to drink a lot, they never showed up on stage legless but the parties they had are apparently the stuff of legends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ally Dick wrote: »
    My wife met Brian Kerr, and asked him would he pose for a photo with her. He brusquely bulled past her loudly saying "I'm burstin' for a piss". What a gentleman

The common touch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

LizT wrote: »
    Met Rory McIlroy a few times, he seemed nice.

Kian from Westlife was stuck up his own hole (and I'm a total Westlife fangirl so it pains me to say that), all the others were sound.

Met Abs from 5ive on a flight after a concert, he was really nice as well.

Rory McIlroy is a great singer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

Growing up I was a huge Queen fan. I was obsessed with them, absolutely loved them.

The first time I saw them was in '82 at Elland Road in Leeds.

The day before a friend and I met John, Roger and Freddie. I know they say you should never meet your heroes, but they were fantastic.

I think because there was only about 10/12 of us, they took their time to sign everything that was put in front of them.
    I had a few things signed,spoke to them, shook their hands, and as an awkward 15 year old obsessed fan, tried not to make an arse of myself.

30 odd years later, still one of the best days of my life.

Met a couple of the E Street Band, and met The Saw Doctors on many an occasion, great great lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Colm Meany - met him in a pub randomly when my friend and I ran in to use the jacks. He was sitting at a bar with his mate and we just went up and said hello, joked around a bit, and that was that. Nice fella.

Met the singer of the Script via a mutual friend, and while I have zero interest in their music he seemed like a sound bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Hadnt seen him for a good while but Michael Mc Elhatton was back in my job recently. Always very down to earth and still laughs when people shout 'Howya Rats' at him

tipptom wrote: »
    Another poster was saying he saw him in a bar where kerr was sitting on the back seats with a friend.

He came up to the bar to get a drink and the poster foolishly told the bar man that he would get the pints for him.

Kerr grabbed the pints and went back down to his table without even a cursory nod of thanks!

Are you absolutely 100% sure this was the real Brian Kerr? 'Cos I have an awful feeling it was just some wag who decided to grab a tray of free pints and leg it before that clown putting his hand in his pocket for them takes a closer look and realises it's just some random bloke who looks vaguely like Kerr :D:p

Colm Meany - met him in a pub randomly when my friend and I ran in to use the jacks. He was sitting at a bar with his mate and we just went up and said hello, joked around a bit, and that was that. Nice fella.

Met the singer of the Script via a mutual friend, and while I have zero interest in their music he seemed like a sound bloke.
    Bet all publicans loves to see you and your free spending friend heading in to their businesses for a pee and a chat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

tipptom wrote: »
    Bet all publicans loves to see you and your free spending friend heading in to their businesses for a pee and a chat!

It was 20 years ago, but I know what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Forgot to say I met David and Victoria Beckham on the costa del sol. I was with my husband and young son about 7 years ago. They were eating at the same restaurant as us. Victoria's parents have a villa adjacent to the restaurant. I went up to their table when they had eaten their meal and asked David for a photo with my son. He was so obliging and kind and chatted with my boy a few minutes. His wife however was rude and completely blanked us.