Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone genuinely worried to travel for fear of being caught up in a terror attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Just booked my bus to Istanbul so I can catch my flights. The bus company is still busy so I read that as a good sign.

When are you due to travel Fred?

Practice the Koran just incase ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Happy_Harry

Fair play to Aer Lingus. I am flying with Ryanair. Going to get onto them now to see what the story is.

I just had a chat with them. You can change or get refund for flights for today or tomorrow. I am due to fly on Thursday.

On the website they state they are re-routing flights to and from Charleroi, but yer man couldn't tell me if they would make me fly to Charleroi or let me change. I think they won't make you fly to Charleroi, but he was not really answering my question

I am simply not sure I would be comfortable flying with the family to Brussels or Belgium full stop. I was already a bit nervous prior to today due to the imminent threat from the last months (booked back in October).
    Just think it will be a stressful experience, looking over your shoulder constantly and generally being slightly paranoid is not my idea of an Easter break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Was in Brussels the day before Paris attacks and the Brussels lock down. I've cousins living there. Will be going back sometime next month. Am going to Amsterdam to see the tulips and will pop down Brussels at some point, by train probably. May even fly home from Brussels. No way in hell will I let it all stop me. If I do, then the terrorists have won. Fcuk them !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭ptr_84

I'm due to fly to Brussels on April 7th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭12Phase

I think you have to take reasonable precautions. I would give Brussels and most major French cities a skip for a few weeks until things have been figured out and if I do have to travel there, I'll be minimising my time on metros and public transport

If I had to go to Brussels I would just bring a rain coat and good walking shoes and make a lot more use of the city bikes.

In a lot of cities you can walk most places anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

While the chances of being caught up in an attack are minuscule, if I thought there was a risk, I would stay at home and "let the terrorists win". I'm not putting my safety and life in danger nor am I putting my family and friends lives at risk for such idealistic bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭lalababa

I'm scared travelling to tipp town:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

fg1406 wrote: »
    I was in Belgium and Netherlands in the immediate aftermath of the Bataclan/Paris attacks. I'm also travelling to A'dam again in 3 weeks. I travel to Europe approx once a month and I'm damned if I'm allowing "terror" to put me off doing what I do.

Same here - I also travel elsewhere in Europe every few weeks. I was in France during the November Paris attacks, and in London during the 7/7 attacks. I'm more at risk from a bus/taxi etc. crashing than from terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,235 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Mr rebel wrote: »
    Last year I was flying to Amsterdam a few days after the Paris attacks and now I am going to Berlin in the aftermath of the Brussels attacks.
    I must say though that once I was in Amsterdam last year, I didn't feel nervous and put thoughts of attacks to the back of my mind. Hopefully it will be similar in Berlin though obviously the German capital seems a more higher risk target:(

From my experience the general german outlook on terrorism is quite relaxed. They realise it's a risk and will put alot of effort into security measures, but quite frankly there's more important risks to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

I landed at terminal 4 in Madrid airport a lfew hours after ETA had bombed it in 2006, I was in Paris during the November attack.... 2 things.... Yes, I'm a bit of a bad luck charm, but also, you have to live your life and travel, I've just booked another holiday to Paris and am looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Elemonator wrote: »
    While the chances of being caught up in an attack are minuscule, if I thought there was a risk, I would stay at home and "let the terrorists win". I'm not putting my safety and life in danger nor am I putting my family and friends lives at risk for such idealistic bull.

I beg your pardon, but if that was directed at me, wanting to spend time with a much loved member of my family, is far from being idealistic bull*hit. It's me wanting to spend time with a much loved member of my family, at a difficult and challenging time for him, his partner and their kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I was flying home from London today and I have to say, I was absolutely terrified. I don't like flying anyway but I was sick over it today. I think I'll be staying put for a while anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

KatW4 wrote: »
    I was flying home from London today and I have to say, I was absolutely terrified. I don't like flying anyway but I was sick over it today. I think I'll be staying put for a while anyway.

You do know you have more chance of dying in a car accident!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I know but I have a serious fear of flying. It's irrational and even though I lived in London for 3 years and flew home approx every 6 weeks, I still haven't got over that fear. Yesterday just terrified me more.

So, as BRU airport is closed tomorrow as well, Ryanair was willing to refund me rather than make me fly to Charleroi. I chose to cancel and will travel a month later..
    Not out of fear of being caught up in an attack, but more in fear of having a stressful time due to additional checks etc etc. I will wait until the new (hopefully temporary) additional checks have bedded in.

And yes, maybe some will see this as a win for the terrorists. Not my problem, and to be honest I don't see a whole lot being done by the powers at be to do anything about it.
    The fact that these terrorists could simply carry in multiple bombs into an airport in probably the most radicalised city in Europe , doesn't fill me with any confidence that anyone with the task of protecting their citizens, is taking that task serious enough.

Until something changes in airport security I think I will opt for not checking in any luggage, so at least I don't feel like a sitting duck when in the check in area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 794 ✭✭✭TheHillOfDoom

You have more chance of dying in a car accident. Do you walk in front of a car because statistically you're unlikely to die in a car accident?

You're unlikely to die by being gored to death by a bull. Do you walk into the field of a bull?

You're unlikely to die from a lightening strike. Do you stand under a tree in a lightening storm?

You have more chance of dying in a car accident. Do you walk in front of a car because statistically you're unlikely to die in a car accident?

Your comparison is the equivalent of walking up to the syrian border and screaming "Fcuk Allah"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 794 ✭✭✭TheHillOfDoom

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Your comparison is the equivalent of walking up to the syrian border and screaming "Fcuk Allah"

But you're more likely to die in a car accident.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭JackieBauer

I'm going to Cacais, Portugal (no danger of terrorism there) I'm also going to Cologne, I booked it a day before the New Year's Eve sex attacks where a lot of Muslim men molested women around the city. I predicted a while ago that a major German city will be hit in 2016, I hope I'm wrong but I think it's going to happen.

ISIS seem to prefer capital cities but Cologne has a population of a million people and for some strange reason, Germany has allowed 1.2 million unvetted Syrian immigrants into their country. Either way, I'm f.ucking going and I'm using the trains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I'm going to Cacais, Portugal (no danger of terrorism there) I'm also going to Cologne, I booked it a day before the New Year's Eve sex attacks where a lot of Muslim men molested women around the city. I predicted a while ago that a major German city will be hit in 2016, I hope I'm wrong but I think it's going to happen.

ISIS seem to prefer capital cities but Cologne has a population of a million people and for some strange reason, Germany has allowed 1.2 million unvetted Syrian immigrants into their country. Either way, I'm f.ucking going and I'm using the trains

Cologne also has a very busy railway station right next to a very famous cathedral.
    It would be a "good" target if they were to do something in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

I'm going to Cacais, Portugal (no danger of terrorism there)

How do you know? Surely the way things are now, there is danger of terrorism anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭3DataModem

So, as BRU airport is closed tomorrow as well, Ryanair was willing to refund me rather than make me fly to Charleroi. .

Did you call ryanair for the refund? I've a ticket to Zavantem on Sunday that I don't want to take (and don't want to go to Charleroi)

3DataModem wrote: »
    Did you call ryanair for the refund? I've a ticket to Zavantem on Sunday that I don't want to take (and don't want to go to Charleroi)

I got an email yesterday (subject " Important Information Regarding Your Flight XXXXXX") saying my flight was diverted ( along with another 30 flights) to Charleroi.

Then there was this bit:

Apply for a Refund Online

If you wish to cancel your reservation and claim a full refund of the unused flight(s) click on the link below and enter your booking details. Refunds will be processed in 7 working days back to the form of payment that was used to pay for the original booking.

And then a link to a refund application for that particular reservation.

If you didn't get this mail , maybe use the online chat on their webpage and ask how to get a refund, they may even just process it there and then for you, I must say they are quite helpful (and you can email a transcript of the chat to yourself , so you have proof of whatever they say)

Today I got confirmation email saying my refund has been accepted

I'm off to Berlin in 3 weeks, first thing we said to each other after Brussels was, oh oh! Germany must be target at some stage!
    I don't care, going anyway, not a bit bothered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

bubblypop wrote: »
    I'm off to Berlin in 3 weeks, first thing we said to each other after Brussels was, oh oh! Germany must be target at some stage!

Be grand, apart from heavy police around train stations, be prepared for trains to be disrupted and have a taxi number/bus/alternative route planned.

Maastricht central was closed last night, tonight Arnhem closed with 2 suspicious cases..and on it goes. Not Germany but close.

Be grand, apart from heavy police around train stations, be prepared for trains to be disrupted and have a taxi number/bus/alternative route planned.

Maastricht central was closed last night, tonight Arnhem closed with 2 suspicious cases..and on it goes. Not Germany but close.

Ah it'll be grand! And sure if it isn't, it isn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭3DataModem

I got an email yesterday (subject " Important Information Regarding Your Flight XXXXXX") saying my flight was diverted ( along with another 30 flights) to Charleroi.

Then there was this bit:

Apply for a Refund Online

If you wish to cancel your reservation and claim a full refund of the unused flight(s) click on the link below and enter your booking details. Refunds will be processed in 7 working days back to the form of payment that was used to pay for the original booking.

And then a link to a refund application for that particular reservation.

If you didn't get this mail , maybe use the online chat on their webpage and ask how to get a refund, they may even just process it there and then for you, I must say they are quite helpful (and you can email a transcript of the chat to yourself , so you have proof of whatever they say)

Today I got confirmation email saying my refund has been accepted

Got the very same about an hour after posting above :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Well I just got back from Berlin and had a fantastic time. Once I landed there, there wasn't a single thought of terrorists nor did I have any sense of fear for the duration of my stay. I actually think the worst fear is in the build up before the trip....once you are there it is grand:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

I decided to go to Belgium after all. Went to Brugge and Leuvan. It was great I'm glad I didn't cancel as I eventually had the option when Zavantem didn't reopen and Ryanair were diverting to Charleroi.

I felt perfectly safe although when passing through Brussels in the train I did find myself eyeing up some passengers.

Naturally security was beefed up. On way to airport bus was stopped and army get on to check passport and boarding pass. Sniffer dogs as well. Then at departures more checks on ids as you enter as well as random bag checks/scans. Then you finally make it to the normal security. Airport was packed could hardly find anywhere to sit since many flights have obviously been diverted to it.

Mr rebel wrote: »
    Well I just got back from Berlin and had a fantastic time. Once I landed there, there wasn't a single thought of terrorists nor did I have any sense of fear for the duration of my stay. I actually think the worst fear is in the build up before the trip....once you are there it is grand:)

I'm off Friday week, any recommendations for good late bars with a bit of music??

Sorry, I only hit the gay bars but if that tickles your fancy then you can't go wrong with Fruggerstraße street in the west part of the city where there's a whole lot of choice:)
    But generally speaking, Berlin is well renowned for the raucous nightlife so I'm sure wherever you go, you won't be disappointed.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭scrapsmac

Hi Folks,

As the title suggests I am due to fly from Paris Orly to Italy during the Euros with Easyjet. With the recent happenings (albeit nothing confirmed) with Egyptair I am a little bit uneasy to say the least.

I'm not trying to start a scaremongering thread but in your opinions are my thoughts warranted or should I just plow on and go for it?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

scrapsmac wrote: »
    Hi Folks,

As the title suggests I am due to fly from Paris Orly to Italy during the Euros with Easyjet. With the recent happenings (albeit nothing confirmed) with Egyptair I am a little bit uneasy to say the least.

I'm not trying to start a scaremongering thread but in your opinions are my thoughts warranted or should I just plow on and go for it?

Thanks!

The most dangerous part will be the taxi ride to the airport. French security is one thing. Flying is as safe as a house.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭scrapsmac

The safety of the plane isn't my concern one bit. Its purely the French security :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Egypt Air (which btw hasn't been confirmed as an issue with security yet) took off from CDG right? Different airport...

I wonder if part of the is because it was Egyptian - not too much animosity against Italy in comparison...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

scrapsmac wrote: »
    The safety of the plane isn't my concern one bit. Its purely the French security :(

Yeah just after reading this http://www.express.co.uk/news/world/672905/Euro-2016-security-France-Paris-attacks-Paris-Marseille-final and it would seem improved security measures are needed.

I was in Paris last December though and found the city itself incl train stations and tourist hot-spots to be high visibility policing.

On another note: never seen so much Police activity on a train as I did today between Italy and Austria. Ticket inspectors done their walk through; took issue with one lady; next stop train stopped for 15mins. Three Police escorted that lady and her bags off my carraige and six more Police boarded checking all passenger ID and under/over every seat in my carriage afterward for anything not claimed by remaining passengers.

Tense train-ride I tells ya,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

I was in Paris ten days ago and was shocked at how scaled back the visible security was compared to January. Would expect it to be massively increased and very visible for the Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

athtrasna wrote:
    I was in Paris ten days ago and was shocked at how scaled back the visible security was compared to January. Would expect it to be massively increased and very visible for the Euros.

I flew out of Bordeaux recently. First time I've been genuinely scared. Staff were chatting and ignoring the metal detectors going off. Total incompetence.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Booked Paris for the Ireland/Sweden game today. Can't be worrying too much about these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

I suppose you also need to be worried about being molested in Germany now if you are a lady.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

I'd be more worried about being stuck on a motorway and missing a game because the French were on strike about something than getting caught up in a terrorist attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Keplar240B wrote: »
    Maybe

The probability of major massacres of western tourist over the coming year is 100%
    unless governments take action now and issue warnings. Brits are target no 1, as they have already bled the french and Russians.
    Daesh and the other jihadists groups have thoroughly infiltrated Turkey
    and have carried out numerous attacks usually against the enemies of the AKP(Turk government) there.

As Daesh and the AKP have a bizarre alliance going on, as they needed/used each other.

Now (North Aleppo) Daesh supplyline to Turkey is about to be over run in coming months
    Soon Daesh no longer needs Turkey as its supply line will be cut
    Daesh have the means, money, and men to commit mass attacks against tourists in Turkey, the only thing stopping them up to NOW is this alliance
    I am not sure who carried out todays attack it might be an attempt by another group to frame Daesh. I don't think its Daesh due to timing or small scale of it.

Situation in North Aleppo SAA and SDF/YPG are cutting Daesh off from Turkey In pincer movement
    Click on link and zoom in on North Aleppo
    http://i.imgur.com/thBZ5L4.png

I predicated the Tunisia tourist massacres and warned people that Egypt(Sinai/Sharm) was a death trap waiting to happen years ago given the deteriorating security situations and rise of militant islamist activates in Sinai, Libya and Tunsia countryside i was sneered at on here. 3 Irish died on beach in Tunisia

Governments produced poor security advice and travel agencies sent people into death traps in MENA region despite the explosion in Jihadism since "arab spring".

As predicated 6 months ago by me as soon as Manjab fell to SDF the jihadi scorpion turned around stung its Turkish suppler
    Turkey airport attack: 50 dead after suicide bombers strike Ataturk International airport in Istanbul

Dozens have been injured in the attack

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/turkey-ataturk-airport-attack-explosions-gunfire-latest-a7108241.html

Here in Turkey at the moment, the amount of security is reassuring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Attaturk airport has one of the highest levels of security in the world at an airport, and 36 were killed there just over 12 hours ago with 150 odd injured so security can only do so much. It definitely stopped the attack in its tracks before they could do much more.

still, as bad as terrorism is, theres about 10000 people killed every year in Turkey by a different menace than IS, i.e. in road traffic accidents.
    You wouldnt want to talk down the threat of something happening, but even for the airport with 36 killed, with 60million passengers per year thats still only a 1 in 2million chance of being killed.

In Ireland youve a 1 in 27000 chance of getting killed in a traffic accident, so rounding off a little you are 100 times more likely to die in Ireland in a traffic accident than at a Turkish airport.

Or put another way, this attack would need to be repeated another 99times for it to be the same as the threat from just using the roads in Ireland, which are at an all time safety record at this stage.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Just spent 2 weeks in France. Can't say I was ever too concerned about any attacks either before during or after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

I was in India and in Mumbai the following week after the attack. It didn't deter me going as I figured it was probably the safest time to travel right after the attack as security would be at its highest.

There was a concern that the Sunburn festival in Goa a few weeks later would be targeted but they locked the place down once everybody got in, all entry roads were closed off and nobody was getting in or out until after the festival.

When I got back I found out my friend had had a massive heart attack while I was away and almost died so he was at the bigger risk at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

So, a lot of people on this thread saying there's more chance of dying in a car crash on the way to the airport than being involved in a terror related incident on holidays.

Unfortunately for me that's not the way I look at it. Say for example there's around 10 European countries at present that there's a high risk of terror threat. And for example if there's around 10 big airports in each of those countries. The reason travel scares me this year is because to me, those odds are low, a 1 in 10 chance you'll choose the tourist country, the airport, a 1 in 365 chance you'll be there on the day it happens. Probably why I'm so bad at gambling ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,498 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

So, a lot of people on this thread saying there's more chance of dying in a car crash on the way to the airport than being involved in a terror related incident on holidays.

Unfortunately for me that's not the way I look at it. Say for example there's around 10 European countries at present that there's a high risk of terror threat. And for example if there's around 10 big airports in each of those countries. The reason travel scares me this year is because to me, those odds are low, a 1 in 10 chance you'll choose the tourist country, the airport, a 1 in 365 chance you'll be there on the day it happens. Probably why I'm so bad at gambling ;)

Taking the risk factors as you outline them, .... there are 100 airports in those 10 hypothetical countries so there's a 1% chance that you pick the wrong airport. Divide that 1% (1/100) by 365 to account for the days in the year so there is a one in 36,500 chance that you pick the wrong airport and the wrong day of the year.

Consider also that the only people who are exposed to the terrorist incident are the people who have the misfortune to be in the airport at the wrong time - there's likely to be only 5% (1/20) of the day's traffic in the airport at a given time which means that even if you pick the wrong airport on the wrong day, there's only a 1 in 20 chance that you will be there when the incident happens. This equates to a combined risk of simply being there when there's an incident to 1 in 730,000 and the odds of actually being killed or injured is probably 1 in several million.

Another terrorist attack in Nice.....I am going to Bordeaux next month so obviously quite worried as France seems a huge target:(