Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2015 Graduates: Chapter Next!

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

I feel a lot better now writing this report than I did getting into the car at 8:45 this morning.
    I decided to take Myles advice - a bad race is better than a good training run so did my first park run this morning. I have a target of sub 20 before Xmas but felt that this morning wasn't the day to do it.

Weather was absolutely terrible so everyone - the (fool)hardy souls who decided to get out this morning, stayed in their cars until 5 mins before the race. Warm up consisted of running around aimlessly trying to avoid the wind. Decided that 21 mins would be my target considering the weather conditions, and this would help with setting a program etc.
    Luckily there was no waiting around and the volunteers got us off quickly. A guy took off like a rocket (it is unusual for me to see any of the better athletes as I'm never near the front) and the rest of us let him go. Settled into a decent pace and was briefly chatting to a guy from Belfast who had come down for the Clonalilty HM which had been cancelled so fair play to him for getting out!!
    We had a little bit of tailwind and downhill for first mile (6.15), so was feeling ok. Second mile was a lot tougher with serious wind and an incline to deal with (6.30). After the 2nd mile I really started to feel it in my chest / legs (basically everywhere!!!) My running form went completely out the window and it was just a real mental slog to get to the finishing line. Crossed in 20:17 (and in 5th place!!!). This will no doubt be the highest I ever place in any race.
    TBH I am feeling pretty chuffed with that time considering the conditions - have to think that with some proper training over the next couple of months I might revise down my 5k target by 30 seconds to 19.30

However, I would also say that running that race was tougher than the marathon. I really need to work on building up speed work over the next couple months!

A huge thank you to the volunteers today- - it really is heroic to be out there in those conditions, and I think every other race in Cork was cancelled today bar this one...

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Well done C. There was official timing. Presume you received yours by email at this stage. However, it was a gun start rather than a starting mat. So your official chip time reflect the time from when the "gun" went off until you crossed the finish line.

But only a handful of runners start when the gun goes off. It takes a while for all runners to cross the start line meaning that the chip time if measured from the gun will not give an accurate time for running the 5k. I can't believe that a club of Donore Harriers stature would run an event that didn't give an accurate time for all runners. I have to say I am disgusted with this and had I known that this was going to be the case I would not have bothered running.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

But only a handful of runners start when the gun goes off. It takes a while for all runners to cross the start line meaning that the chip time if measured from the gun will not give an accurate time for running the 5k. I can't believe that a club of Donore Harriers stature would run an event that didn't give an accurate time for all runners. I have to say I am disgusted with this and had I known that this was going to be the case I would not have bothered running.

There are loads of races are run like this. Particularly with smaller fields as the time between gun and start-line are pretty small.

Forget the watch. Go eyeballs out, beat some lad or lassie that thinks they can beat you and go home happy. You will remember these battles more than the times...........#oldschoolracing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Well done C. There was official timing. Presume you received yours by email at this stage. However, it was a gun start rather than a starting mat. So your official chip time reflect the time from when the "gun" went off until you crossed the finish line.

Yeah, sorry had posted before I got my text with my 'official time'. We couldn't really hear the announcer at the start over the roar of the wind so we were under the impression that there wouldn't be any finish mat either.

It took a while to pass the start, it was an absolute mess, so I'm taking my watch time! :D

Ok, there were only 33 runners / lunatics this morning - but I came first in 40-44 group

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

There is usually a start mat but given todays conditions it was deemed unsafe, i understand you may be disappointed but i think give donore a break today, they had volunteers out in that weather so we could race. These things happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Ah that might explain why my official chip time is 40 secs slower than my garmin. And maybe I also pressed start a little late - at the point where I thought the start was after the gun went off. So my time was somewhere between 23:11 - 23:52 which is still a PB for me and at least 1 minute faster than last year so am happy enough with that given the conditions. Strangely enjoyable morning having said all that, and well done to all who ran!

Where can you access the results?

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭unaaine

Firedance wrote: »
    There is usually a start mat but given todays conditions it was deemed unsafe, i understand you may be disappointed but i think give donore a break today, they had volunteers out in that weather so we could race. These things happen.

+1 to this. The weather was horrenduous at times today and I think the Donore volunteers did the very best they could under the circumstances. Getting everyone home safe is the main thing.

BTW I 'let' my son beat me again this year :rolleyes:

unaaine wrote: »
    +1 to this. The weather was horrenduous at times today and I think the Donore volunteers did the very best they could under the circumstances. Getting everyone home safe is the main thing.

BTW I 'let' my son beat me again this year :rolleyes:

In no way would I denigrate anyone who gives of their spare time to volunteer to assist the running of events such as the 5k today. I really appreciate the sacrifices volunteers make. However it is appropriate that those who contest such events give feedback to the organisers in order that they can gauge opinions and maybe make improvements for the next event. My impression was that I would get an accurate chip time for my run and I only find out when I get home and log on here that there isn't one.

Where can you access the results?

Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Anyone?

Link is in the event thread along with an explanation of why there were no start mats...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057528014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭diego_b

menoscemo wrote: »
    Link is in the event thread along with an explanation of why there were no start mats...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057528014

Seems reasonable to me, well done to all those running today. Due to work requirements no running for me today. Local parkrun was cancelled anyways. A few clubmates were planning to run the Clonakility marathon today but no joy as that was cancelled.

Just to note on gun time vs chip time, been caught out with these before with club reports...but for club records gun time is the only time relevant. For AAI certified races I think it's gun time the official results are ordered...could be wrong on this but others might know better than me.

diego_b wrote: »
    Just to note on gun time vs chip time, been caught out with these before with club reports...but for club records gun time is the only time relevant. For AAI certified races I think it's gun time the official results are ordered...could be wrong on this but others might know better than me.

It's ok to use your chip time for your own Personal best purposes though. In a race like this where there was no start mat to give you a chip time )and a decent delay to get going), I think it's ok to use your watch time.

Indeed that would be my approach for it!

I'm surprised to see you say that :p but ok then!

Firedance wrote: »
    I'm surprised to see you say that :p but ok then!

I find my watch is generally 1-2 seconds faster than official times chip times, so maybe add that on?
    You have to use that system I guess as otherwise people at the back of a big race like this would have a 1+ minute? disadvantage. Also (in order not to fool yourself) you'd have to be confident that you started your watch at the start line and not after....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Yeh - Nike+ reckoned I did a 20:36 5k, official time was 20:53, I reckon it was probably closer to the app time (20:40 maybe). Either way, not bad on a windy day.

Ok I think I've finally figured out how to run a 5k race.

I didn't get a PB, but I had my best 5k race to date so I'm very happy with that. So glad I went out today now. And I got a lovely mug.

My gun time is way off my garmin but I'm not overly concerned as I intend on getting my PB soon enough now that I have gotten the strategy/control part down I just need to combine that with fasterness!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well done everyone on running today park run jingle bells or otherwise horrible day for it so hats off to you !

Felt justified in copping out of parkrun this morning due to the weather. Was on my way home from town when I saw some obviously tough b#st#$d pegging down Merchants Quay in Cork in shorts and a singlet. # ashamed. Will have to go for a run now.
    Add your reply here.

It was lovely out in Tramore Park this morning - you know you are on a winner when the race mgr tells you to be careful of the puddles with hidden craters :)

with one comment I get a PB...
    I find my watch is generally 1-2 seconds faster than official times chip times, so maybe add that on?

and then its gone again :p oh well, *must do better next time* goes on my report card so :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Gun time: 38.06
    Garmin Time: 37.07

Edit: Both are PB's!

Race report tomorrow but in short; I'm delighted. I was able to run the race exactly the way coach asked me to. Credit to Myles for the training plan!

Well done everyone running today! Nice to see those in the pub afterwards also.

Longer letter later!

Ok I think I've finally figured out how to run a 5k race.

I didn't get a PB, but I had my best 5k race to date so I'm very happy with that. So glad I went out today now. And I got a lovely mug.

My gun time is way off my garmin but I'm not overly concerned as I intend on getting my PB soon enough now that I have gotten the strategy/control part down I just need to combine that with fasterness!

"Fasterness" - my new mantra !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm a bit stressed about the 5k tomorrow. More so than the marathon! This week has been a bit of a washout, literally and figuratively, in terms of running. I got out Tuesday, Wednesday for 30/45 mins, but nothing since. It was just too bad today even to go out for the 15 mins, so I'll just do a nice warm up before the race at 12 tomorrow. I'm hoping, against hope, for sub 25, but with the weather, and the course, I'd settle for just beating my 26:12 PB. Hopefully my calf will not explode! :)

Well done to all who raced today in JB, and hard luck to anyone doing Clonakilty. I know two people who were planning to do the marathon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

chrislad wrote: »
    I'm a bit stressed about the 5k tomorrow. More so than the marathon! This week has been a bit of a washout, literally and figuratively, in terms of running. I got out Tuesday, Wednesday for 30/45 mins, but nothing since. It was just too bad today even to go out for the 15 mins, so I'll just do a nice warm up before the race at 12 tomorrow. I'm hoping, against hope, for sub 25, but with the weather, and the course, I'd settle for just beating my 26:12 PB. Hopefully my calf will not explode! :)

Well done to all who raced today in JB, and hard luck to anyone doing Clonakilty. I know two people who were planning to do the marathon.

Don't worry to much as myles said 5 k's are for exterminating with another
    Around the corner.:)

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Don't worry to much as myles said 5 k's are for exterminating with another
    Around the corner.:)

DALEK!

Fear not Chris! I was feeling the same after the parkrun last week but wait until you are back in a race environment. You will be grand!

Mini race report: Donore Harriers Jingle Bells 5k!

It feels like forever since the Marathon but when I got up this morning the routine felt really familiar. Usual breakfast of Porridge, Chia seeds and banana. Lounged around for a while and then got ready. Living to close to the start was a huge help, I donned a bin bag, left the house at 10:35am, jogged the first km to warm up, the walked up hill and was at the start line at 10:47am :D

Wasn't really sure how I was feeling about it, really wanted a PB but in these conditions? It had been hard enough in St. Annes last week and this was a lot worse. Met TFGR, had a little chat and then moved up a bit. I thought I had read that all buggies, walkers and people doing it with small kids should start at the back and that the start of race would be divided into time zones - none of this happened or if it did then I didn't see it. Perhaps I was spoiled by the race series.

The start was a bit of a shambles owing to the weather. There was a guy trying to make an announcement but we couldn't hear him above the wind. Word filtered around that there would be no timing. Great, I thought, what was the point? But then I copped myself on, I was just going to run and seeing as it felt like race conditions, even if there was no timing, I still had my Garmin. As it happened there was a mat at the finish and so we all got a gun time but it was hardly accurate as we had been told to take it very easy getting to the start line so we did! Kudos to all the volunteers who braved the conditions to get us underway and cheered us on throughout. It was bad enough to run in it, I can't imagine what it was like to have to stand around in it.

Km 1: 5:12min/km

I had thought about my pace before the race and had set my watch to 5:10min/km. Watch didn't beep during this km and I was conscious of not checking it too often so I pretty much ignored it until it beeped the km. Was happy enough that I had managed the first one nearly bang on pace.

Km 2: 5:14min/km

Spent most of this one trying to find someone to tuck in behind. The jingle of the bells was really lovely and I was enjoying it but I seemed to be on my own a lot. Still I was passing more people than were passing me so I was happy.

Km 3: 5:10min/km

Turned onto the Ordnance Survey Rd. Thought about what Meno had said and just put the head down. This was by far the most difficult part of the race, straight into the wind, I have absolutely no idea how I managed to stay on pace. Still passing people, still feeling good.

Km 4: 5:00min/km

On familiar ground now, looking out over Chapelizod. Still passing people, checked in with myself, breathing was much better than anyone around me, still felt good and even if I hadn't there wasn't much father to go so just pushed on.

Km 5: 4:37min/km

Well this was lovely, downhill to the end. Nothing much more to say about that.

Gun time: 25:35
    Garmin time: 25:16

Happy with the way it all went and came through unscathed. Will have to go again for a chip timed PB but really glad I gave it my all today.

Editied to add: The mug is fabulous! Everyone is admiring it!!

w00t! PB! :)

Though it was a lot tougher than the marathon! :D

The course was the Birdhill Turkey Run in Tipperary. I had planned to do it last year, but I think it was too horrible and wet. This year, there were ideal conditions. Not a breath of wind, no rain, and a nice chill in the air. You really could not have asked for anything better weather wise, especially after the events yesterday.

I had a fairly off week running wise due to the weather, so I had a small 1k warm up before the race at about 5k pace + 1 min. Legs felt okay, a bit shaky, as I was a bit nervous, more so than the marathon, which is down to the fact I put 18 weeks training into that, and I was effectively just strolling up to this without having done a 5k race in months, and no real fast running in the past 6 months. I walked to the line, chatted with a few runners, and got ready. It was a 12pm start, so I was hoping to be in at 25 past, no more than 26 past!

KM 1: 5:13

Wow. That hill. The first .7 km was fairly steep. 75m over the first .7, with a drop of 9 after the peak. I felt like that took a good bit out of me. I managed to keep pace steady, but perhaps, should have done it a bit slower, but I wasn't really expecting it, as it was the first time I had seen the course, let alone traveled it. I passed a good few people here, and picked my keep up with target of a girl in a blue top :)

KM 2: 5:11

Keeping it steady. I figured I wasn't going to be getting 25 mins today, as I would have wanted to be at 2km in about 9:30 to get to that. I think I was at 10:30 when I passed the 2k marker. I could see a bit of a hill for the .5k before the turn around to come back, so I was pacing myself for that.

KM 3: 5:20

That was a tough hill too. I lost a bit of time here, and said hello to a co-worker who was marshalling at the half way point. I was breathing fairly heavy here, so I just had to get myself to calm down a bit. It was only about 12 mins to go. I could do this! I'd worked my ass off the past 6 months, and while it wasn't for speed, I had the endurance built up.

KM 4: 5:18

Managed to keep it steady. I found this one the hardest. My breathing was the hardest it had been in months. I totally forgot what really pushing yourself is like. Jesus Christ! I was so used to going 2min/km slower than this for the easy runs, and nearly 1 min/km on the faster runs. A few up and downs here, I passed a few people who were ahead of me walking, so I resolved to just keep it up. 5 mins to go. That's all. Keep it up!

KM 5: 4:49

The first .3 was up that 10m descent from KM 1. I had this downhill in my head the whole last 2KM. I knew I could gain back some time here, and I definitely did. I thought I was going to fall, my speed increased so dramatically. A lovely .7km descent back into the village. As I got the the corner, I could see the finish line. The clock was ticking. 25:42. ****! I put the pedal down, and crossed the line (I think) at 25:59! Phew! Just under! My watch gave me a time of 25:50, so I was definitely under. I haven't seen official results yet, but I should be comfortably (that's a poor word choice) under 26, which is at least 14 seconds off my previous PB, plus it was way steadier, and on a tougher course that where I set that PB. I was fairly steady with the splits, with only 9 seconds between the fastest and slowest (not counting the sprint finish) so I was happy with that. There was nearly 50 seconds between the fastest and slowest in my previous PB, so that's a definite improvement.

Overall, I'm happy with it. I'd still like to get under 25 before the end of the year, and the Limerick parkrun debuts next week on what is a fairly flat course so I'll give that a go and see what I can do there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done Chrislad on tuff course, took me an age to brake 25 mins, but when
    You do, new pb's will come thick and fast next year once you stick with it.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super stuff Chris well done. Hoping to break 26 mins myself great to see you doing in now for the sub 25 training :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Super stuff Chris well done. Hoping to break 26 mins myself great to see you doing in now for the sub 25 training :)

Thanks Kenny, A. :)

Official race time of 25:58, and 25:56 chip. Finished 25th out of 75 (not counting anyone who clearly walked, as there were about 75 of those too), so I'm happy enough to be in the top third. Wasn't a super fast field, but I'll take it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Ok gang of graduates, just in case any of you have missed the voting for A/R forum poster of the year, you can vote here

....not that I'm trying to suggest you should vote for any gal one in particular of course... :p

annapr wrote: »
    Ok gang of graduates, just in case any of you have missed the voting for A/R forum poster of the year, you can vote here

....not that I'm trying to suggest you should vote for any gal one in particular of course... :p

The tyranny of block voting former-novices :)

Worse than the Eurovision...

Toulouse wrote: »
    Km 5: 4:37min/km

Well this was lovely, downhill to the end. Nothing much more to say about that.

Gun time: 25:35
    Garmin time: 25:16

The last few minutes in a 5k was "lovely"?! I must be running them wrong :eek::pac::)

Really well done!

Here's my own race report: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97984100&postcount=111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Well done to all doing the jingle bells 5k. Don't know how I missed the sign up to that.

Any who the gf asked me to do the RNLI reindeer run 10k with her in Marley park, of course I agreed and would help her with a bit of training and pace her on the day. Well yesterday she came down with a sore throat and decided not to do it..

No way I was missing out on a T-shirt and free antlers! So rocked up to Marley at 10 to sign up and have a quick look around to see if it was worth a race. Got my number but it wasn't chip timed and having a look at the 10k crowd I decided it was small enough to get out in front and go for a time, would have to be by watch.

Not much of a km by km reporter but started a little fast(4.20) but settled in and kept a 48min goal in mind. Kinda lonely as only passed one person and passed by 2(nearly 3 but stuck on the after burners up to the finish!!!)

As for the finish on approach Garmin only had 9.6k so I kind of sprinted through the finish and off up another path to get 10k, must have looked crazy!

But it worked well with a watch time of 47.38 and a new PB. Previous time was 48.02.

Happy morning for an event I didn't intend to race!!

Well done to all doing the jingle bells 5k. Don't know how I missed the sign up to that.

Any who the gf asked me to do the RNLI reindeer run 10k with her in Marley park, of course I agreed and would help her with a bit of training and pace her on the day. Well yesterday she came down with a sore throat and decided not to do it..

No way I was missing out on a T-shirt and free antlers! So rocked up to Marley at 10 to sign up and have a quick look around to see if it was worth a race. Got my number but it wasn't chip timed and having a look at the 10k crowd I decided it was small enough to get out in front and go for a time, would have to be by watch.

Not much of a km by km reporter but started a little fast(4.20) but settled in and kept a 48min goal in mind. Kinda lonely as only passed one person and passed by 2(nearly 3 but stuck on the after burners up to the finish!!!)

As for the finish on approach Garmin only had 9.6k so I kind of sprinted through the finish and off up another path to get 10k, must have looked crazy!

But it worked well with a watch time of 47.38 and a new PB. Previous time was 48.02.

Happy morning for an event I didn't intend to race!!

Haha love it, well done Neil!

Amazing :)

Was it measured short?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Singer wrote: »
    Amazing :)

Was it measured short?

Not sure, my watch could be way out but as there was no chip time I said I'd get the full 10 on the watch..

Took Sunday off after the race on Saturday. On the road for the full week this week, so treadmill it was tonight..

11.8K in 60 minutes, starting out at 11 kph and finishing at 13 kph. Felt pretty good and no ill effects from the race.

Searched for a 10M training plan for Ballycotton tonight (Do'nt forget that registration opens at 2pm tomorrow and you need to be on the ball apparently if you are interested ..) and found the My Asics App in the Apple App store. I keyed in my time from last Saturday as a baseline (along with age / gender / race distance / date of race) and it gave me a week by week program. When I get time I'll put it into a spreadsheet and load up here. I am targeting 70 minutes and the difference in pacing for the midweek runs is really noticeable vs my sub 4 hour Asics marathon plan... it's going to place a whole different type of stress on the legs (and lungs) over the next 10-12 weeks. I have a feeling that the physio is going to become my best friend and there is more likelyhood of injury with this program than with the marathon plan..

Will be trying for a Ballycotton entry tomorrow as well, good luck!!

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭tipping

Will be trying for a Ballycotton entry tomorrow as well, good luck!!

If you're a member of an AAI affiliated club it's a bit easier to get in BTW. Details here.
    Hopefully see ye there..

http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2015/10/entry-procedure-for-2016-ballycotton-10.html

tipping wrote: »
    If you're a member of an AAI affiliated club it's a bit easier to get in BTW. Details here.
    Hopefully see ye there..

http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2015/10/entry-procedure-for-2016-ballycotton-10.html

I am alright so hopefully that I should be okay to get an entry through a few channels.

Well done everyone who raced at the weekend!!

Hah Singer! Lovely because the hell was nearly over :D (and I finally managed to pass the tiny little girl who was beside me for all of the 4th KM :o )

So I'm presuming we're 45 mins easy today or did I miss the plan?

I have another 5k race at the weekend, as the Limerick parkrun opens. I was planning the following.

Tuesday: 30 mins easy
    Wednesday: 45 mins easy
    Thursday: Rest
    Friday: 15 mins slow
    Saturday: Hopefully 25 mins fast :D
    Sunday: 20 mins recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Hi Folks,

Deepest apologies on the delay here my internet presence has been a little limited the last few days. :o

Will catch up on all the race reports from the weekend but by the looks of things some great performances despite Desmonds best efforts

In terms of training this week here is the plan

Monday|OFF
    Tuesday|45 min easy
    Wednesday| 1 mile warm up, 8x45 second hills, 1 mile cooldown
    Thursday| 45 min easy
    Friday| OFF
    Saturday| 10 min warm up, 20 min tempo, 10 min warm up
    Sunday| 80 min easy

Hills

For the hills the aim is to find something with a gradual incline for those in Dublin something along the lines of Kybher is the type of gradient we are looking at

Tempo

This is a word that can be a catch all for alot of different paces. For the aims of this though it is approximately the pace you can hold for roughly an hour so if you are running a 10k/10 mile around 60 minutes that is about the effort you want to be holding.

For anyone who doesn't really have a clue but has an idea of their 5k paces a good guide can be your 5k pace per mile + 25-35 seconds so if you are a 25 min 5k runner (8 min miling) your tempo pace will be roughly 8.30

The target will be to get people strong over the coming weeks and months with the aim to have you in good 5m-10k pace for the end of january however you will have enough strength work done to push that a little longer and still perform well.

As mentioned I will get through all questions and reports throughout the rest of today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Race report is finally up on my training log. Sorry for posting it so late, I've had trouble with my laptop at home!

Jingle Bells Race Report

Well done everyone running this, and anything else on Saturday!

Great to see Singer, Toulouse and Whoopsa at the race, and others in the pub afterwards. Dubgal, it was fantastic to hang out with you again. :D Really glad I went to Ryan's after!

Ballycotton open. Got in :D

chrislad wrote: »
    Ballycotton open. Got in :D

Snap, got in too!