Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it safe to cycle home this evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭davidoco

Just did Stephens green to heuston via Thomas st. Not pleasant. Nearly blown down twice. 2 " tires held me up. Rain in your face made it hard to see. I suggest give it a miss tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

It's vicious out and the wind is howling and swirling. Definitely avoid cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Just saw a cyclist getting blown onto a parked car during a bad gust. Its not great out there

Saw a guy on a hybrid blown sideways into a parked 4x4 on Grand Canal Street earlier. He recovered and then went on to cycle through a red light so I presume it was some sort of pre-karma thing.

Was on a Dublin bike earlier so had a weight advantage but will be venturing out shortly on the road bike to head home. It's a tail wind most of the way so hoping for a PB......

If it gets scary I'll call it a day but I'll suck it and see.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I would in all seriousness suggest anyone who can avoid it this evening, please do so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Agreed, if you have a reasonable alternative available to you, I'd go for it.
    Just got in myself after coming westward from Blackrock. That's definitely the worst wind I've cycled in at ground level, I've experienced similar up at Sally gap a couple of times. Worse near the coast but still pretty bad overall.

If you are going to cycle this is one of the few times that cycle tracks may make more sense. Very blustery - you'll get blown left right forward and backwards in the same ten second period n- and some idiots are still passing with inches to spare. A slow commute along a cycle track could be the superior choice in some cases.

That said trying to keep yourself upright when you're being blown sideways on slushy leaves is next to impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I drove up Templeville Road a few minutes ago and saw a cyclist get blown a good meter or more into the road. I was well behind her as I didn't want to pass until I had plenty of room. She almost took a tumble but got up and then wheeled her bike on the footpath which was the sensible thing to do.

If you really, really have to out in that storm, take it handy and stay safe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Lesson St. to Stillorgan. No probs. Kept on the lower track past UCD as got a good gust which nearly threw me off on the main track. Kept close to the wall as I cycled along the footpath well er..... for a bit :)
    Footpath?

Some nice tailwinds knockin' about......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Was ok heading east on Griffith Ave and on the Clontarf coast. Cycled in the middle of the road and made sure to wobble about from time to time. Cars waited to overtake and left plenty of room when they did. Presumably 'cos "That feckin' cyclist will end up under my wheels and I'll never get home"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

D1 to Shankill was ok at 4pm but from Shankill on to Bray was all over the place. As others have mentioned, the wind this evening is everywhere - head, tail, side all in the space of seconds. You've no way of preempting what it's going to do. A lot of debris from trees in the cycle lanes, wheelie bin in the middle of the Rock Road, other various random objects in strange places.

Enjoyed it though. Something satisfying about cycling in that weather. Probably not for the faint hearted or nervy cyclist though and if you're that way inclined best to take another way home.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Almost got blown off the bike twice on the way back home today. Bikes are not meant to go sideways :eek: And I was on my boat anchor. I'm getting the bus back out...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Plastik wrote: »
    D1 to Shankill was ok at 4pm but from Shankill on to Bray was all over the place. As others have mentioned, the wind this evening is everywhere - head, tail, side all in the space of seconds. You've no way of preempting what it's going to do. A lot of debris from trees in the cycle lanes, wheelie bin in the middle of the Rock Road, other various random objects in strange places.

Enjoyed it though. Something satisfying about cycling in that weather. Probably not for the faint hearted or nervy cyclist though and if you're that way inclined best to take another way home.

Did you hare by me at Donnybrook lights in shorts?
    About 4:20, white bike.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Managed it alright until I punctured 500m from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Well that was the "ropiest" commute I've ever had .... Ballsbridge to Shankill with some really scary gusts .... got blown way off line on a couple of occasions! At least the wind was mainly helping me but swirling in all directions in the gusts. I'd give it a miss unless you're like some of the "real men" earlier in the thread!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

So your saying I shouldn't use the solid disk wheel tonight then, right???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

Get the bus if u can....its violent out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yeah feck that for a game of cowboys. Cycled from fairview southside across the Samuel beckett bridge and abandoned ship at Mount street/love Lane. It's beyond crazy out there and cars were passing extremely close all considered.

Despite my initial pravado I'd definitely find an alternate way home if at all possible.

Planet X wrote: »
    Did you hare by me at Donnybrook lights in shorts?
    About 4:20, white bike.

Not sure I hared by anyone this evening TBH, but no, I went via Ballsbridge/Rock Road not Donnybrook/N11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Plastik wrote: »

Nearly hit that wheelie bin myself!!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Had to rescue a "Man of the Ras" on the way home this evening. Stopped when I saw him carrying his bike along the hard shoulder of the Old N1. Was going to advise him to HTFU but decided not to as he was pleading his smashed-up RD meant he had to walk. Now I don't want anyone to suggest his "mechanical" was in any way "self-inflicted":pac:

(I'm guessing he may well have caught something blowing into the drivetrain)

Sustained winds are generally predictable. The problem tonight is the fact it's gusting so much meaning you need to have your wits about you pretty much all the time (and that's in the car!!!)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

It's the gusts that make it so shyte! Heavy headwinds are fine, miserable but fine. The gusts this evening just kept trying to take the wheel out from under me. They're not predictable. Was definitely looking for a few extra kilo's toady :pac:

On a side note the doors are banging at home even though all the windows are closed…:eek: Really not looking forward to going out again, two feet or not ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

Made it home in one piece.

I walked across East Link and it was still a tough job to stop the wind blowing the bike out of my hands and into the traffic.

I also walked some of the East Wall. It was too hairy to risk it.

Lots of sh1t and debris flying about.

One of the worst spins home in about 20 years of cycling in Dublin.

No shame in sitting this one out folks and to <snip>.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Alanbt

I made it home ok but some gusts were worrying. Approaching junctions or gaps between large buildings seemed to be the worst spots.
    Cycle further than usual from the kerb if possible to avoid being thrown onto the path with a sudden gust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Made it home today before it got bad, all the same was glad I was on the heavy pig bike in it rather than the light fancy one

I've deleted a number of posts, but will be showing no further leniency to anyone posting any more abusive comments. Any questions PM me - do not respond to this warning in-thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

fillup wrote: »
    think i'll be dismounting going over the East Link this evening so - Thanks lads!

You're supposed to dismount on the East Link anyway, regardless of the weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Decided to risk it and cycled from ballsbridge to kilmainham.pembroke rd and baggot st was crazy, guy in front of me fighting the bike to try and stay upright. On the canal was ok, stuck to the bike lane at a slow pace and didnt overtake many. Some of the junctions were pretty hairy.

Saw plenty of people step off the bikes as it was getting too dangerous. And there is debris everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

You're supposed to dismount on the East Link anyway, regardless of the weather!

Are you? Why is there a cycle path a few foot before and after barrier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

aquinn wrote: »
    Are you? Why is there a cycle path a few foot before and after barrier?

No idea.
    Why is there a sign saying Cyclists must dismount when crossing bridge?

The sign has no legal standing. Cycle at will.

/fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭flended12

Cycled in to work (tallaght to city centre)
    Homeward journey was nightmare. Strong winds are ****e but bearable. The gusts were disaster.

Out of safety got halfway home and got a lift rest of the way as tallaght is one of the windiest spots. Christ on a rickety proverbial bike!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Lads if you havent already make alternative means of getting home. Saw some lad get blown in the a busy traffic lane from a bike path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Got home safe and sound - directly west. Had a couple of drafters and the "single speed" probably wasn't the best choice today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

The gusts were unpleasant, deffo not a night for deep sections. The worst bit was that they were all over the place and unpredictable. On my short 25min commute I got headwind, tailwind and crosswinds from both the left and right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭ImThatGuy

The wind wasn't the worst but the gusts were insane, nearly got fully stopped on the canal cycle lane and got blown out in front of a (thankfully) cautious jeep driver, even trying to put my foot down I was still getting pushed outwards. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Should have cycled , yhe DART stopped at Dalkey then the misses came to collect me, then we got a puncture on killiney hill which I had to change I the dark and you need a PHD in physics to release the spate whee in the grand scenic. Did I mention that there was a 5 month old a 4 year old and a 6 year old all going mad in the car while I changed the wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

ted1 wrote: »
    Should have cycled , yhe DART stopped at Dalkey then the misses came to collect me, then we got a puncture on killiney hill which I had to change I the dark and you need a PHD in physics to release the spate whee in the grand scenic. Did I mention that there was a 5 month old a 4 year old and a 6 year old all going mad in the car while I changed the wheel

Poor b*stard....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Caution
    Large tree down on Aylesbury road (snapped at base - some 60/80 cm thick!). Nothing hit but seriously large tree! Also large branch blocking Shrewsbury road. Avoid! Skilled as we are, if something falls we have no protection

That said, I enjoyed my cycle up to Stepaside. Nice and mild :-) Vicious wind from Beacon to Stillorgan Luas. Funnelled all the way down by the apts. Watch if you are coming along from Kilmacud! Pedestrians struggling to stand.

Debris everywhere on killgobbin and Enniskerry Rds. Stay out from the gutter/margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Saw a guy on a hybrid blown sideways into a parked 4x4 on Grand Canal Street earlier. He recovered and then went on to cycle through a red light so I presume it was some sort of pre-karma thing.

Was on a Dublin bike earlier so had a weight advantage but will be venturing out shortly on the road bike to head home. It's a tail wind most of the way so hoping for a PB......

If it gets scary I'll call it a day but I'll suck it and see.

Made it home in one piece. As others have said, it's the side-winds you need to watch out for.

Ended up walking the bike when I left work until I was clear of the tall buildings as the wind-tunnel effect is mental. It was hard to stay upright at times. Once on the road it was mostly ok but you need your wits about you at open junctions where the gusts can catch you out. The tail wind from Clontarf to Sutton was fun and I stayed on the cycle path (except for the stupid road works obviously) as it was the sensible thing to do.

The big LED road sign at the turn for Baldoyle on the coast road (at The Elphin pub) has been blown over so that will give you an idea of the strength of the wind.

My advice would be to plan your journey. If you are mostly with the wind you should be ok. If you are side-on, forget it. If it's a headwind for you and you are up for some resistance training then go for it. Anyone that's nervy or unsure, play it safe and get the bus. Either way, take care and stay safe - there's no shame in walking your bike on a night like this.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

There was a good few brave souls cycling without lights tonight.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Did Ballsbridge to Rathfarmham. Was pretty rough, but manageable. Not sure I've done that commute slower than that.

Low point was some clown in a car blasting me on the horn while overtaking me. Presumably because I was taking it fairly steady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

Made it home in one piece.

Walked the bike over East Link and it was a struggle to keep it under control at that. There was a hoot of a crosswind coming down the Lifey.

I also walked part of the East Wall as it was too hairy with crosswinds gusting off the side roads.

Lots of sh1te and debris getting g blown around

Deffo one of the worst commutes I've had in over 2the years of cycling in Dublin

No shame in leaving it at home/work tonIght lads n lassies.

Stay safe folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Fine up through Phoenix Park. Wind very steady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Zen0

Fairly gusty out there. Luckily the wind was tending to send me towards the footpath. Watch out approaching gaps to the west. Also, there is a lot of debris on the road. I hit something going through Ranelagh that sent my front wheel jumping off to one side. Be careful out there.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Dublin 1 to Dublin 12 tonight. A bit hairy at times but cars were moving so slowly up the canal that it never felt unsafe. I had to get off and walk twice for short periods but otherwise fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭GG21057

Cycled town to Leixlip this evening, leaving work at 5. Was the hairiest trip I've ever done. Headwind the whole way and 'surprise' gusts from all angles. Didn't enjoy being clipped in either. If I knew what it was going to be like, I would've got the bus.
    It is meant to be ok tomorrow, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Lumen wrote: »
    Fine up through Phoenix Park. Wind very steady.

I deliberately avoided the quays and Chesterfield Avenue and went SCR to Islandbridge and then out to the Chapelizod gate to head up the Glen Road as I didn't trust the quays for gusts, nor getting past cyclists on the bike lanes in those gusts. Took a good chunk longer than the norm, and the section through town was still hairy (never mind that Chapelzod seemingly has winds of 70km/h according to Accuweather!), but not as bad as I might have feared other than that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Storm Barney is certainly causing dangerous conditions in the city better be wise and stay off the Bike at this late hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I took a lift home...no regrets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

That was ...

368870.jpeg

Smithfield, up the quays, around by Connolly station, up to Fairview, up the Malahide road, up to Artane. Big tree down at the junction of Malahide road and Copeland ave, hope no pedestrian was caught under it, Fire brigade present.

One piece of advice, when passing narrow side lanes/roads that act as wind funnels , preempt the gust and lean in as you pass by, obviously there will always be surprised gusts of winds.