Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

=Syrian Refugees for Dungarvan=

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Mutleyhound

he Irish Refugee Protection Programme, established under the Department of Justice, has been seeking premises capable of housing at least 70 people at a time.

Official sources have remained tight-lipped. But, locally, some people have expressed concerns over the lack of clarity and the likely number of refugees to be accommodated.

Fine Gael TD John Deasy, who lives locally, said he received confirmation from the Department of Justice yesterday a contract had been signed with the management of the Clonea Strand Hotel to provide accommodation for refugees in the beachfront hotel.

Mr Deasy said he believes the local community will pull together and help those affected by the crisis in Syria.

“The overwhelming response and reaction I have received from locals was people understand these are people who, in many cases, have lost everything and are fleeing from genocide and we need to help them.”

Waterford TD Ciara Conway (Lab) said the lack of clarity provided on the issue had fuelled speculation in the town over the last week.

“Some people were concerned some of the rumours going around were very outlandish and they were a bit disturbed by them.

“Others had concerns about the quality of life people would have out there because it is a bit isolated.

“In the greater scheme of things 25 up to 100 people is manageable for a town the size of Dungarvan,” she said.

Okay lets look at this report ... close to the top we have 'seeking premises capable of housing at least 70 people at a time' - towards the end of the article Ciara drops the figure ... '25 up to 100 people'

Now Ciara can you clear this up for us please ....
    1) How many?
    2) Where?
    Premises in the town and the Old Convent have been mentioned - is this speculation or fact?
    3) What is the breakdown or people coming? Families? Women and Children? Just Males?
    You have a duty as an elected official to inform the people who voted for you as to what is happening.

Quote from report:
    A reported 25 people are due to arrive within the next two weeks with a view to gradually increasing the numbers.
    It is estimated each group will stay for around eight to 10 weeks.

Where are they going then? So 25 at a time for 8-10 weeks, or 25/50/75/100/125??? Moving to where after 8-10 weeks?
    What kind of horse **** is this to print?

So John Deasy was told yesterday, yet the town have it off with weeks? What shower did we come do in at all ......

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Lenno

There is a lot of naive people here its disgraceful how poorly prepared and informed people have become. Sweden since started taking in refugees has the highest rape crisis in the world , norway also suffering similar problems with rape epidemics by gangs of immigrants. Greeks had serious problems with civil unrest and rioting and non mainstream german news reports issues from migrant camps daily. We might not be taking in as much but we dont know who or what kind of people were taking in?

Reports are that any refugee who makes it to turkey can buy syrian license,passport and anything else needed for 4-500 euros. So whether your an extremist or a genuine refugee they can all hide under the "syrian citizen" status now.

Real news isn't reported on the likes of RTE or main broadcasters because they know they cant cause a mass public panic or backlash or "Islamophobia" as some like to call out.

www. youtube.com/watch?v=44vzMNG2fZc

some audio missing from that clip but people should observe the real behaviour and mindsets of these people before they accept them

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭seanaway

Profix wrote: »
    Is anyone aware of any volunteering work for helping out the refugees in clonea?

I'd like to make sure they are getting proper food and are talking to actual Irish people rather than bureaucrats. The fact that they are so far from town is a joke, how can we help integrate refugees if they are in a hotel like that.
    Fair play to you and well said. Moron pen pushers who set this up should all be made stay with them for ten weeks. Just so they know what it's like to be treated like cattle. Shame on all local politicians for showing absoutely no spine... I used to have a lot of respect for one of our locals but that's deffo gone with the deafening silence. Disgusted.

As for volunteering, my experience with refugees would say that even dropping out to say hello and welcome would make a MASSIVE difference to them. Bring them books with pictures, magazines , dvd's about Ireland...some may have English maybe nbot but even seeing a video of Ireland and Waterford would help them gain a perspective of where they are in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Clonea born

seanaway wrote: »
    Fair play to you and well said. Moron pen pushers who set this up should all be made stay with them for ten weeks. Just so they know what it's like to be treated like cattle. Shame on all local politicians for showing absoutely no spine... I used to have a lot of respect for one of our locals but that's deffo gone with the deafening silence. Disgusted.

As for volunteering, my experience with refugees would say that even dropping out to say hello and welcome would make a MASSIVE difference to them. Bring them books with pictures, magazines , dvd's about Ireland...some may have English maybe nbot but even seeing a video of Ireland and Waterford would help them gain a perspective of where they are in the world.

I'd give the English books to the owners of the hotel and make sure you put in a dictionary so that they look up the following words and what they have done to people :
    1. Neighbours 2. Consideration 3. feelings 4. Hurt
    And Greed .

he Irish Refugee Protection Programme, established under the Department of Justice, has been seeking premises capable of housing at least 70 people at a time.

Official sources have remained tight-lipped. But, locally, some people have expressed concerns over the lack of clarity and the likely number of refugees to be accommodated.

Fine Gael TD John Deasy, who lives locally, said he received confirmation from the Department of Justice yesterday a contract had been signed with the management of the Clonea Strand Hotel to provide accommodation for refugees in the beachfront hotel.

Mr Deasy said he believes the local community will pull together and help those affected by the crisis in Syria.

“The overwhelming response and reaction I have received from locals was people understand these are people who, in many cases, have lost everything and are fleeing from genocide and we need to help them.”

Waterford TD Ciara Conway (Lab) said the lack of clarity provided on the issue had fuelled speculation in the town over the last week.

“Some people were concerned some of the rumours going around were very outlandish and they were a bit disturbed by them.

“Others had concerns about the quality of life people would have out there because it is a bit isolated.

“In the greater scheme of things 25 up to 100 people is manageable for a town the size of Dungarvan,” she said.

Okay lets look at this report ... close to the top we have 'seeking premises capable of housing at least 70 people at a time' - towards the end of the article Ciara drops the figure ... '25 up to 100 people'

Now Ciara can you clear this up for us please ....
    1) How many?
    2) Where?
    Premises in the town and the Old Convent have been mentioned - is this speculation or fact?
    3) What is the breakdown or people coming? Families? Women and Children? Just Males?
    You have a duty as an elected official to inform the people who voted for you as to what is happening.

Quote from report:
    A reported 25 people are due to arrive within the next two weeks with a view to gradually increasing the numbers.
    It is estimated each group will stay for around eight to 10 weeks.

Where are they going then? So 25 at a time for 8-10 weeks, or 25/50/75/100/125??? Moving to where after 8-10 weeks?
    What kind of horse **** is this to print?

So John Deasy was told yesterday, yet the town have it off with weeks? What shower did we come do in at all ......

Well said.

So...."Waterford TD Ciara Conway (Lab) said the lack of clarity provided on the issue had fuelled speculation in the town over the last week.

Thus proving she is a useless two faced twat. If she was concerned over the lack of clarity then why the f*ck didn't she pipe up and start asking serious questions.
    As for John Deasy saying he was told AFTER the event??? Bulls**t John Deasy pure unadulterated bulls**t. If that is true then you are held in VERY low regard as is Coffey. Do you SERIOUSLY expect people to believe that you were told AFTER the hotel owner???? Mother above I'd laugh but the lot of you are so disgusting it isn't funny. As for people pulliing together to help - we fuc*ing well would have if any of you lying fuc8ers had told us in advance.

Lenno wrote: »
    There is a lot of naive people here its disgraceful how poorly prepared and informed people have become. Sweden since started taking in refugees has the highest rape crisis in the world , norway also suffering similar problems with rape epidemics by gangs of immigrants. Greeks had serious problems with civil unrest and rioting and non mainstream german news reports issues from migrant camps daily. We might not be taking in as much but we dont know who or what kind of people were taking in?

Reports are that any refugee who makes it to turkey can buy syrian license,passport and anything else needed for 4-500 euros. So whether your an extremist or a genuine refugee they can all hide under the "syrian citizen" status now.

Real news isn't reported on the likes of RTE or main broadcasters because they know they cant cause a mass public panic or backlash or "Islamophobia" as some like to call out.

www. youtube.com/watch?v=44vzMNG2fZc

some audio missing from that clip but people should observe the real behaviour and mindsets of these people before they accept them

Ok....I agree with you that people need to be informed but that video clip is nothing but propaganda for some loony right wing types. It does nothing to inform of the reality.
    Are there rapists/murderers/etc...in the refugee population? Of course there are. Are they the majoority? No, of course not.

Information, clear,concise, and honest is what is needed. NOT sensational videos.
    Now does that mean I believe all should be allowed to enyter the EU? Absolutely NOT>
    Vet them and make 100% certain taht any who offend are sent back to where they came from and f*ck the human rights convention.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,173 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

In fairness, throwing 100 unemployed refugees into a run-down hotel at a tourist beach isn't exactly the best idea is it? Very Shortsighted.
    What will the implications for the local businesses? Is that camping park still open?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,766 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Yes it is. It is bound to have a negative effect on that business.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭foxcoverteddy

There has to be a place for these people, they need security and a lot of TLC from the local community, alas the prick who said the Clonea Hotel was ideal needs to go to Specsavers, there is no community in clonea, yes in the summer it is inundated with tourists, there are very few social aspects, no transport no shops, no school, ah there is sea and sand, they will be bored out of their minds.
    Unless there is a grand plan unbeknown to most where and what is the intention for these luckless people?
    Can anyone enlighten us at what happens next?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,173 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

In the summer it was, will it continue to be or will the Industry be very damaged by this stupidity?

So, the local papers are out today and if ever I have seen airbrushing of an issue this is it. The red herring of 'security' seems to have been well orchastrated at Dept level and sold to the papers beautifully. It is a non-issue which will allow the politicians to say 'See? Told you there was no security threat. didn't that work well?'

Now, I have only read one and maybe I'm wrong in what I say , however, the fact remains that people in Dungarvan/Clonea are NOT waffling on about security. they ARE angry at the lack of consulatation and lack of respect shown by the Dept to residents of the area.

Nowhere in the articles/viewpoints I read did ANY local TD come out and correct this misrepresentation of the feeling on the ground.

Paudie Coffey reinterated this nonsense about security. John Deasy was mostly quiet and Ciara Conway seems to have locked herself in a cupboard. As for FF/SF et al...nought I could find anywhere.

What sort of politicians do we have in this county?

Questions remain unanswered by the Dept. and local politicians.

They have quoted the letter received from the Dept. which again refers to this security nonsense. Only a brief mention of concerns expressed by the West Waterford Chamber of Commerce are there but NO reply to this from local politicians.

The letter from the Dept of Justice is a classic piece of civil servant creative writing. Pathethically, it goes on about what the UK, USA are doing with regard to the issue of refugees. how does this answer the questions or address the anger of locals at being sidelined in this decision? It clearly doesn't and again demonstrates how senior Irish politicos look to others for guidance and affirmation that Ireland is a 'grand little place' because we can do what the big boys do. Give yourselves a big pat on the back for being so good.

As for the statement that the resettlement is '...best practice public policy'..... what a load of unadulterated bureaucratic non-speak.

Questions regarding another possible site locally are also being raised. Answer = ZERO

Looks like the Dept of justice want to have all sitting TD's in Waterford out of their jobs. And it WILL happen if the public don't get the answers they are entitled to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Turn into future ghettos and they will be in the black market

bigpink wrote: »
    Turn into future ghettos and they will be in the black market

Bit of an imaginative jump there.

It's unlikely.

The refugees are not being 'housed' at these centres. These are families who will stay 8-10 weeks before being housed either locally (though God knows where and, of course, no politicians have come out to tell us where these fairyland properties are) or in other parts of the country.

The lack of consultation is the most worrying aspect. It leaves an information vacuum and that will be filled quickly by resentment.

Alas, the politicians in this country are either too stupid or too selfish to care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Bit of an imaginative jump there.

It's unlikely.

The refugees are not being 'housed' at these centres. These are families who will stay 8-10 weeks before being housed either locally (though God knows where and, of course, no politicians have come out to tell us where these fairyland properties are) or in other parts of the country.

The lack of consultation is the most worrying aspect. It leaves an information vacuum and that will be filled quickly by resentment.

Alas, the politicians in this country are either too stupid or too selfish to care.
    Seen it happen in limerick old hotel its now a dodgy spot

• Registered Users Posts: 29,417 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

seanaway wrote:

Modular housing I'd say!

bigpink wrote: »
    Seen it happen in limerick old hotel its now a dodgy spot
    i think you might be referring to a hotel that was being used as an asylum reception centre and not a transitory unit for people already granted Refugee status.
    There's a BIG difference. Asylum seekers could be in tose places with nought to do for 4-6 years.

The hotel in Clonea is for people who will be in transit AFTER being granted refugee staus.

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Don't see the big deal
    Carrick on Suir and Tramore(smaller towns) have had refugee centres for over a decade-no problems
    Most of these unfortunates will be young families fleeing genuine persecution
    They will need a transport facility to get into town,doctor etc
    Lots of good people in Dungarvan-there won't be a problem

Annabella1 wrote: »
    Don't see the big deal
    Carrick on Suir and Tramore(smaller towns) have had refugee centres for over a decade-no problems

that is PRECISELY what I have been saying...so why the big HUFF AND PUFF from politicians about security? Red herring.

The issue is that none of the local politicians were informed -or so they say- before the contract was signed and no one in the area was consulted about this.

No, the stange thing is the hotel was undergoing work BEFORE the contract was signed or the minister (small m) decided to bother her ho*e to tell locals.

So you not find that strange and somewhat lacking in respect?

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭waterford

I was very surprised that our local TD`s had no press release on WLR or local papers re all the new jobs they have secured for Dungarvan at the Clonea Strand Hotel.
    I suppose you could call it a good news story ??????

waterford wrote: »
    I was very surprised that our local TD`s had no press release on WLR or local papers re all the new jobs they have secured for Dungarvan at the Clonea Strand Hotel.
    I suppose you could call it a good news story ??????
    Yeah, amazed Richard Bruton wasn't down as well..he usually pops up when a part time job is announced in a pizza place to remind us of the economy.

On that, lots of jobs being advertised at Clonea hotel.

Carnacalla wrote: »
    In the summer it was, will it continue to be or will the Industry be very damaged by this stupidity?

There is no way will Clonea see even half of the usual numbers this summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I think the understanding is that they are only there for 2/3 months, so they should be redeployed by then. I know, not convinced either...

I am sure dan casey and family are in shock at this rather stupid decision, these poor people deserve more from Ireland, how would we feel if it was us? Come on dungarvan show these folk a true irish welcome and give them accommodation in the city, not in a ****e hotel miles from any form of life, well until Dan opens, remember the shop and chipper does not open until summer, come on rally around and support the folks, write or phone your disgust to the council, newspapers tds though that aspect is usually a waste of time and energy, perhaps facebook or boards, do something do not sit back and wish you could help, you can, foxy supporting both clonea and the refugees

Come on dungarvan give these folk some dignity,hiding them away In clonea and giving them 19 euro per week, is not dignity it is an insult. We should embrace this opportunity to rejuvenate our town improve its culture, yes they need somewhere to pray, and medical facilities and we need a garda presence. Dungarvan could benefit from our visitors,just go along the coast a d look at the dying towns. The Syrians have a rich culture they can bring the east to the west to our benefit,now is the time to be positive, make your views known, there are no facilities whatsoever in clonea, time to tell the nutter who decided on clonea to find another job, we have gone to the four corners of our globe even now our children are deserting Ireland, let us make sure our Syrians are welcomed and become part of the community. Foxy

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Henrsboy

Speaking as a local who lives a stone throw from the hotel. This isn't the ideal location. The hotel is set in a rural location with no access to public transport what so ever. There isn't even a shop out there during the winter. A lot of locals are concerned now that this centre will affect tourism in the area. Waterford County Council have now waded in and sent a letter to the hotel as it is breaking planning conditions as it is classified as a hotel and not a reception centre.
    Would it not make sense to place refugees in a urban location were they can integrate with the local community even in the town it's self.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Henrsboy

Yeah, amazed Richard Bruton wasn't down as well..he usually pops up when a part time job is announced in a pizza place to remind us of the economy.

On that, lots of jobs being advertised at Clonea hotel.

Staff in there sister hotel were offered these jobs first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

Henrsboy wrote: »
    Speaking as a local who lives a stone throw from the hotel. This isn't the ideal location. The hotel is set in a rural location with no access to public transport what so ever. There isn't even a shop out there during the winter. A lot of locals are concerned now that this centre will affect tourism in the area. Waterford County Council have now waded in and sent a letter to the hotel as it is breaking planning conditions as it is classified as a hotel and not a reception centre.
    Would it not make sense to place refugees in a urban location were they can integrate with the local community even in the town it's self.

Money is limited in Ireland and my taxes cannot stretch to affording random dozens of asylum seekers town centre accomodation, especially as my taxes that are paying for it, are barely enough to get our elderly a bed in a hospital.

You want urban accomodation for these immigrants, then how about you ****ing pay for it yourself.

I do not earn enough to pay enough tax to suppprt my own family, the pension system, along with another few hundred mouths to feed. You are fresh with cash obviously, moneybags. Easy to spend other people's taxes.

The money comes from the local taxes. How much are you willing to pay for them to have urban accomodation? How about €500 less per month on your payslip? Is that enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Annabella1 wrote: »
    Don't see the big deal
    that is PRECISELY what I have been saying...so why the big HUFF AND PUFF from politicians about security? Red herring.

The issue is that none of the local politicians were informed -or so they say- before the contract was signed and no one in the area was consulted about this.

No, the stange thing is the hotel was undergoing work BEFORE the contract was signed or the minister (small m) decided to bother her ho*e to tell locals.

So you not find that strange and somewhat lacking in respect?

Lets hope this is not just a sop to feign some liberal values and a feel goodness cloak by politicians who dont give stuff about either the locals or the people coming here for the sake/excuse of, what harm can it do and it makes us all feel warm and fuzzy about ourselves, when really the extent of problems there is barely impacted or anywhere else around the globe, its not like Im suggesting we'll get the huge levels of dissatisfaction like Malmo and Gothenburg in the future, but its not like those examples did any long lasting good other than shift a problem from one place to another, no matter how well intentioned it was.
    Britain, France, The US want to bomb their homes and their country, well let them sort out the consequences of that if they give a damn so much.
    It's not that I have no empathy, but really, we dont know who these people are, why haven't we been taking en masse everyone from any and every affected region? what about the Democratic republic of the Congo? or any other devastated place?

Henrsboy wrote: »
    Staff in there sister hotel were offered these jobs first.

One wonders why they didn't take them then.

On an aside. John Deasy was all of a sudden very vocal today about this after a stunning silence.

Seemingly he thinks there is, and I quote: '...Hysteria....' about this in town.

I haven't heard ANY of the such. I HAVE heard however people expressing their being mightly pis**d off at ALL local politicians for their either duplicity or sidelining in this issue.

Why didn't John Deasy or Paudie Coffey (we won't bother with CC as she is hiding) come on and express THEIR anger at how badly locals have been treated and how THEY themselves have been treated like nobodies? (that is assuming they in fact weren't told about this before the public, which I have a GREAT deal of trouble believing)

dissed doc wrote: »
    Money is limited in Ireland and my taxes cannot stretch to affording random dozens of asylum seekers town centre accomodation, especially as my taxes that are paying for it, are barely enough to get our elderly a bed in a hospital.

You want urban accomodation for these immigrants, then how about you ****ing pay for it yourself.

I do not earn enough to pay enough tax to suppprt my own family, the pension system, along with another few hundred mouths to feed. You are fresh with cash obviously, moneybags. Easy to spend other people's taxes.

The money comes from the local taxes. How much are you willing to pay for them to have urban accomodation? How about €500 less per month on your payslip? Is that enough?

What the hell are you on about? You haven't a clue about how the real world works.