Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 6 | Episode 7 | Heads Up [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

(comic book guy voice) Worst. Episode. Ever.

Glenn surviving is a jump the shark moment. It is bullshit. They teased the fans with a big character death and then insulted our intelligence by asking us to believe that an entire HORDE of walkers decided to completely ignore him while he was under a corpse, rather than do what they would have logically done - completely swarm and envelop the bodies and begin devouring LIKE WE HAVE SEEN THEM DO REPEATEDLY.

If Glenn had been covered in walker guts and goo and then fell - maaaaayyyybe I could buy that the zombies didn't go for him. But in the past when we have seen people dress as walkers the way Carol did, wasn't it important to not betray any human qualities, i.e. not to show fear; to make sure you remain quiet and still, you know? Unlike the way Glenn reacted where he had a look of sheer unadulterated terror on his face. Boy, it's a good thing those walkers were short-sighted, eh Glenn?

Piss-poor idea from start to finish. It was an instant failure of an episode after that, not helped by the hippy, new age background theme they played for the scene. Was my heart supposed to gush with joy at seeing a character survive such a ridiculous situation? Should I have cried? Well I was on the brink of tears: I thought to myself, 'I invested emotionally in this tripe?'

Then we cut to the scene with Enid (Eeeee-nid) as Glenn calls her. Or Alex Mack with anger management issues as I call her. Oh joy, let us have a stroppy teen throw a tantrum in the middle of an apocalyptic meltdown. Who cares about all those undead folks walking around when she's got hormones to deal with. I was half-expecting her to scream 'You're not my real Dad!'

And maybe I missed a scene but since when did Maggie become his wife? Did I zone out on another melodramatic piece of nonsense? I can't believe I used to like this character in the early seasons. What a pain in the backside. Then we cut back to Morgan aka Sensei showing his martial arts expertise which he gained in about two and a half months of training and at this point I just wanted to throw in the towel. I guess loyalty kept me going.

And then I see Carl and he has the hat on him again. At this point I was suffering. It was hurting me to watch this programme so I only half-watched the rest of it.

This episode was a travesty and the show itself has ironically become infected with a lethal virus: idiocy.

1/10.

It's based on a damn cartoon comic. Chill out! It isn't trying to be some super realistic depiction of human society. I thought the presence of flesh eating zombies gave that away !

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Greyjoy

I have to admit that I'm really in two minds about this episode. As a fan of the show I'm glad Glenn's alive as he was one of my favourite characters. But as a viewer I feel profoundly cheated. The mystery around his 'death' served no other purpose other than to trick the audience.

The showrunner Scott Gimple on The Talking Dead tried to justify the deception by saying they wanted the audience to feel the same uncertainty as Maggie. But that would have only worked if Maggie or another character had somehow seen Nicholas & Glenn topple off the dumpster and get swarmed by the horde. Only the audience got to see what happened in the alley, as far as Maggie's concerned Glenn's just delayed getting back.

I also thought Rick, Carol & Michonne gave Morgan a little bit too much of a hard time over letting the wolves go. This was 5 v 1 remember. I'm sure he could have taken out 2 or 3 of them before they got to him but all of them? Did Rick really expect Morgan to take on 5 guys on his own with nothing but a staff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Greyjoy wrote: »
    I also thought Rick, Carol & Michonne gave Morgan a little bit too much of a hard time over letting the wolves go. This was 5 v 1 remember. I'm sure he could have taken out 2 or 3 of them before they got to him but all of them? Did Rick really expect Morgan to take on 5 guys on his own with nothing but a staff?

He did take them on, and won, and then let them go. He could easily have killed them.

Yeah the Morgan interrogation was silly on that point. If they were going to go down that route they should have just made it two wolves perhaps. I know they were just setting it up and it's an interesting way to build up to what happens with the locked up wolf and the reactions of everyone and repercussions when he probably inevitably causes big problems but the fact they assumed Morgan had them all lined up ready and willing to die essentially was a bit much.

But it was great to see the old crew in a scene together at least!

smash wrote: »
    He did take them on, and won, and then let them go. He could easily have killed them.

True but I would disagree that he could have killed them 'easily'. They did the usual 'kung fu movie' style of attacking him one by one instead of a mob. But Rick didn't see how the fight panned out - he still expected Morgan to have taken on 5 guys on his own with nothing but a staff.

The way that scene went down I saw as Morgan trying to bluff the wolves into leaving. He certainly didn't want to kill them but if they suddenly got sense and dove on him as a pack he couldn't hold them off.

Yes but Rick or Carol or Michonne didn't know that. It was essentially depicted as a situation that the three of them knew Morgan had them all in such a position. It's mad to assume, on their behalf, that Morgan has the ability to overpower 5 crazy murderers like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Correct me if im wrong but when Nicholas shot himself and they both fell weren't there thousands of walkers coming at Glenn and already surrounding him from both sides of the fence...where did they all go and why did they stop trying to get him when he was under that bin?

Laughable stuff tbh.

yea and none apparently no walkers tried to get under and grab him bar one !
    It's kinda killed the show for me now, even though i knew it would happen its just so feckin stupid also the fence magically reappeared behind the bin. Fairly crap story telling and just ugh just bad ! i mean he didnt even get bit and there was literally hundreds of walkers at every side of him. It just screams they dont have the confidence in the show to kill of any characters with a fan base.

Yes but Rick or Carol or Michonne didn't know that. It was essentially depicted as a situation that the three of them knew Morgan had them all in such a position. It's mad to assume, on their behalf, that Morgan has the ability to overpower 5 crazy murderers like that.

I think their suspicion also has a lot to do with him not willing to take a gun and protect the camp. And then letting them just walk out like that where they then attacked Rick... It's completely warranted suspicion.

And now he's hiding one! Carol's gonna whoop some ass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

NUTZZ wrote: »
    In fairness, they've had two extended 90 minute episodes in this half of the season already.

One of those episodes (Morgan flashback) didn't warrant 90 mins, mid-season finale does.

In a way the Glen thing was just a plot device to keep viewers, in particular casual ones invested this season and create some publicity hype. They probably knew that a lot of viewers would find episode 3 to 5 rather stale or non eventful and wanted to counterbalance that with a bit of media hype to keep viewers tuned in in anticipation to the big mid season finale.

As a comic reader I appreciated that certain important issues were addressed in all those episodes so I enjoyed them regardless but I likewise can appreciate why most found them flat, bordering on fillers.

I was also so tired of the Glen thing, it just seemed inevitable that a big character wouldn't be killed off like that. It had the making of a great death scene yes but when they left us in limbo with exactly the end result it was clear to me he wouldn't die.

But in hindsight if the producers were just trying to keep the show hype up it worked. You cant argue there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Monife wrote: »
    One of those episodes (Morgan flashback) didn't warrant 90 mins, mid-season finale does.

In your opinion, but that episode received a lot of critical acclaim, particularly Eastmans character.

Can anyone explain how Glenn managed to kill walkers at the end of the skip where his feet were? It's not like he could have reached them!

I think he just seemed to kill only the walkers that originally caught on to his presence. From thereon he just lay still and silent. Walkers are only made aware of presence of the living by noise and sight. Even if a couple of them had noticed him originally clamber underneath they still would have been do obsessed with the easily accessible bit of flesh and thereafter they would have forgot about Glenn. A fair bit of artistic licensing got them through the scene. Also glenn manoeuvred once underneath the bin, didn't he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I'm glad Glenn is alive because I love him but the show lost a lot of credibility with the way they did it. When he came out from under the bin, you'd swear he'd been stuck there for weeks the way he was looking for water!

The whole thing with Enid was stupid as well, Glenn barely knows her and forced her to go back to Alexandria just because it's what Maggie would want. Apparently.

And Maggie thinking he was dead after a day? Come on, Michonne and the others just outran the herd, she would have known that Glenn was probably hiding somewhere to try to get away from the herd, it's not like he's just going to walk alongside them back to Alexandria.

I find I just can't give a sh*t about anyone in Alexandria because we don't really know them yet and then I don't want to see them on screen when I could be watching Daryl, Rick etc instead.

Hoping next week will be good and they won't just solve the problem of the tower falling in 5 minutes, boring filler for 30 minutes then cliffhanger in the last 5 minutes

LizT wrote: »
    I'm glad Glenn is alive because I love him but the show lost a lot of credibility with the way they did it. When he came out from under the bin, you'd swear he'd been stuck there for weeks the way he was looking for water!

trust me, ive been in Atlanta and if you went even a couple of hours, outside in that humidity stuck under a bin without any liquid fluid you would be very very damn thirsty, never mind how long Glenn was there!! .

Also Maggie was one of the only ones who was almost sure he was alive still.

Glen set off to light a big ass fire to distract the walkers when they were all over that town it was a very dangerous situation.

He never managed to light the fire, he also said he would send Maggie a sign he never managed to do that. Maggie was informed all this by Michonene not that big a leap to think he was dead tbh.

Glen set off to light a big ass fire to distract the walkers when they were all over that town it was a very dangerous situation.

He never managed to light the fire, he also said he would send Maggie a sign he never managed to do that. Maggie was informed all this by Michonene not that big a leap to think he was dead tbh.

Fair enough but I don't think you'd immediately leap to "he's dead" after one day. I know she knew about the fire but I still don't think she'd jump to that conclusion so quickly.

The town was packed with walkers and they never got to light the fire, she also wasn't 100% as she did think of going out looking for him and kept a watch for him too. She just had a really big fear he was.

I think he just seemed to kill only the walkers that originally caught on to his presence. From thereon he just lay still and silent. Walkers are only made aware of presence of the living by noise and sight. Even if a couple of them had noticed him originally clamber underneath they still would have been do obsessed with the easily accessible bit of flesh and thereafter they would have forgot about Glenn. A fair bit of artistic licensing got them through the scene. Also glenn manoeuvred once underneath the bin, didn't he

Not enough to kill walkers at the end where his feet were. Remember the shot as the camera pans out and there's dead walkers surrounding the bin?

Monife wrote: »

whilst i enjoyed and thought the Morgan episode was important and excellently written, the extra fifteen minutes it got would have been much more suited to the mid season finale.

Speaking of which i watch the show live via an AMC stream and my god the amount of advertisements make TV3's rugby world cup coverage look like a non advert filled bbc programme!

whilst i enjoyed and thought the Morgan episode was important and excellently written, the extra fifteen minutes it got would have been much more suited the season finale.

Speaking of which i watch the show live via an AMC stream and my god the amount of advertisements make TV3's rugby world cup coverage look like a non advert filled bbc programme!
    'merica... where it takes an hour to watch a 20min TV show.

And that is why Maggie didnt jump to that conclusion!

The town was packed with walkers and they never got to light the fire, she also wasn't 100% as she did think of going out looking for him and kept a watch for him too. She just had a really big fear he was.

But she put his name up on the wall pretty much straight away? I know she took it down but it's a massive leap from "He didn't light the fire" to "he's dead".

Even when she lost him after escaping from the prison, she always thought he was alive and now he doesn't come back after one day and he's dead? It's pretty inconsistent.

And that is why Maggie didnt jump to that conclusion!

Initially she did. She put his name up on the wall. Then she changed her mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I find it ever so hard to take any negative comments from people seriously when they miss big incidents in the show. LIke get off your phone and watch it properly you might actually enjoy it.

I don't use a phone during the show. I genuinely had no idea they had been married. From what I've seen online it supposedly happened between seasons so it's not like I missed a big wedding special. Fair enough though I'll withdraw my criticism on that element. Right now it's a 1.5/10 :pac:
    It's based on a damn cartoon comic. Chill out! It isn't trying to be some super realistic depiction of human society. I thought the presence of flesh eating zombies gave that away !

Oh, please. So you don't require intelligent storylines as long as it's a fantasy show you're watching?

I suppose the next Star Wars film won't have to bother about the writing since it's not real? (Maybe that was what George Lucas thought when he came up with The Phantom Menace...)

Don't be such a die-hard fan that you can't criticize the show when it is merited. Believe me, this episode (and much of the season) deserves major criticism.

But she put his name up on the wall pretty much straight away? I know she took it down but it's a massive leap from "He didn't light the fire" to "he's dead".

Even when she lost him after escaping from the prison, she always thought he was alive and now he doesn't come back after one day and he's dead? It's pretty inconsistent.

It wasn't even a day. Wasn't it during the clean-up just after the wolves attacked? Which according to the writers is actually the same day that they set out to move the heard... Which I still don't get.

I don't use a phone during the show. I genuinely had no idea they had been married. From what I've seen online it supposedly happened between seasons so it's not like I missed a big wedding special. Fair enough though I'll withdraw my criticism on that element. Right now it's a 1.5/10 :pac:

Lol nice. Ah my comment was eszentially directed at you just it remindedme of what others have done in the past is all. Hey got u up .5 im happy with that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Initially she did. She put his name up on the wall. Then she changed her mind.

She didn't put his name up on the wall?!

Well she stood there watching as they wrote it and didn't say anything.

That's really not the same as writing it!

guilty by association? :pac:

That's what it sounds like! Id say she was just weak with worry and didn't know what to believe when they were writing it.

Oh, please. So you don't require intelligent storylines as long as it's a fantasy show you're watching?

I suppose the next Star Wars film won't have to bother about the writing since it's not real? (Maybe that was what George Lucas thought when he came up with The Phantom Menace...)

Don't be such a die-hard fan that you can't criticize the show when it is merited. Believe me, this episode (and much of the season) deserves major criticism.

are you honestly bringing Star Wars, the most nonsensical piece of unrealistic fiction into your point!! :D

that garbage makes TWD look like a real life documentary :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

are you honestly bringing Star Wars, the most nonsensical piece of unrealistic fiction into your point!! :D

that garbage makes TWD look like a real life documentary :D

No but you could counter this argument by taking a look at game of thrones, a piece of fantasy with intelligent storylines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,830 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I think the show did lose a lot of credibility the miracle of Glenn. I mean, apparently Alexandria being invaded by a horde of undead is painted as a big threat. Is it really? By the rules of the show the characters can just hide under a bin until the horde get bored and wander off. Couple of hours tops. No problem.

I don't even get how Glenn managed to do it bar being a Mary Sue. A full grown man who is bigger than Glenn is pinning him to the ground as a dead weight. He is surrounded by the undead who will snack on any exposed struggling limb. Glenn is already exhausted from running. And Glenn somehow shrugs off this dead weight, and drags himself under the bin without attracting any attention from the horde? Not a single scratch or bite?

Its very poor writing. I cant recall the exact quote, but I remember seeing a point where someone stated that the audience will accept any old bull**** so long as it aligns with the rules established by the setting and the author. Walking dead? Fine. Aliens? Fine. Psychics? Fine. But once that setting/rules is established, deviating from it wont be accepted. I think this Glenn escape is an example of it. If they wanted Glenn to survive, and maintain the image of an undead horde as a terrible threat they should have put Glenn into an ambiguous situation - not one that was clearly a death sentence going by the prior rules of the show. If they had Glenn suddenly wake up back at Alexandria and realise it was all a bad dream, it would have been better for the show.

As for the Enid drama - I don't know. On the one hand, Enid is this tough capable survivor who stands apart from the naive Alexandrians. On the other she is basically a sulky teenager in the middle of the apocalypse acting like she has been grounded. Wholly unbelievable character.

No but you could counter this argument by taking a look at game of thrones, a piece of fantasy with intelligent storylines.

you are digging yourself a hole now!!

Ill give you some examples of incredibly unrealistic writing by the script writers of GOT.
    Where do I start...

hmm.
    Littlefinger............ lies to everyone, pushes spouses to their deaths, double-crosses the people he pretends to be closest to, yet no one lays a finger on him despite the deceptions he maintains and the webs of lies he spins. Do none of his ‘friends’ ever communicate with each other?

The ridiculous way the High Sparrow and his religious nuts jailed the Queen and the King's Mother despite having no military muscle.

Rob Starks often ridiculous decision making

Tyrions whole season five, whilst nice viewing, just became overdrawn. What should have been a straight line from Point A to Point B to accomplish the Season 5 goal of getting Tyrion to Meereen turned into nonsensical series of changing of hands

the rape of Sansa. less said about that the better.

the reliance on unexpected deaths is just becoming a bit of a self parody

For such a sprawling fantasy universe, characters cross each other’s paths with comedical regularity: Catelyn bumps into Tyrion, Jaqen H’ghar teaches Arya, Brienne conveniently comes across Sansa, and so on and so on.

GOT is brilliant, but you can not argue its realism when trying to criticise the impossibility of, for example, Glenns escape scene. Like TWD it is based on fantasy essentially so it allows for artistic licensing to get over that in its storylines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

5starpool wrote: »
    The most annoying thing about the Glenn situation is how easily he jumped into the building beside where they were after he saw yer wan in there. Why didn't they do that when they got trapped first?

I think that's why they had him pause while sitting at the window for a sec with a bit of a "Oh FFS" look on his face, seemed to me like he was regretting that :pac:

Good episode, and I can't wait for next weeks now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

Sand wrote: »
    I think the show did lose a lot of credibility the miracle of Glenn. I mean, apparently Alexandria being invaded by a horde of undead is painted as a big threat. Is it really? By the rules of the show the characters can just hide under a bin until the horde get bored and wander off. Couple of hours tops. No problem.

I don't even get how Glenn managed to do it bar being a Mary Sue. A full grown man who is bigger than Glenn is pinning him to the ground as a dead weight. He is surrounded by the undead who will snack on any exposed struggling limb. Glenn is already exhausted from running. And Glenn somehow shrugs off this dead weight, and drags himself under the bin without attracting any attention from the horde? Not a single scratch or bite?

Its very poor writing. I cant recall the exact quote, but I remember seeing a point where someone stated that the audience will accept any old bull**** so long as it aligns with the rules established by the setting and the author. Walking dead? Fine. Aliens? Fine. Psychics? Fine. But once that setting/rules is established, deviating from it wont be accepted. I think this Glenn escape is an example of it. If they wanted Glenn to survive, and maintain the image of an undead horde as a terrible threat they should have put Glenn into an ambiguous situation - not one that was clearly a death sentence going by the prior rules of the show. If they had Glenn suddenly wake up back at Alexandria and realise it was all a bad dream, it would have been better for the show.

As for the Enid drama - I don't know. On the one hand, Enid is this tough capable survivor who stands apart from the naive Alexandrians. On the other she is basically a sulky teenager in the middle of the apocalypse acting like she has been grounded. Wholly unbelievable character.

While I agree with you with Enid, I think you are wrong on Glenn. You could see when it happened that if he managed to drag himself away he could get under the bin. What I didn't like was how the walkers just seemed to disappear over time. Although he was now covered in blood and guts and maybe they mistook him for being one of them? The thing that bugs me is why they don't use this tactic more often, covering themselves in walker blood and guts and they could easily walk among them

The thing that bugs me is why they don't use this tactic more often, covering themselves in walker blood and guts and they could easily walk among them

The thing that bugs me is how a small bite can turn them, but being covered in walker blood, or getting it in their eyes and mouth doesn't turn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

The show jumped the shark for me when Carol channeled her inner GI Jane to blow up the propane tank in Sanctuary using a bottle rocket. If they're going to kill a major character I really hope it's her. The show lost a lot of credibility with me once I saw that but any episode review I read LOVED that bit! I just don't get it...
    Sand wrote: »

Crawling under the bin reminded me of the first season when Rick crawls under the tank, he was made out to be completely f**ked and put a gun to his own head until he realised there was a hatch above him to get in to the tank. The walkers had no problem surrounding him and coming after him though. Glen had absolutely no right surviving that situation.

I'm going to rewatch the episode again this evening and give it another chance but I have a feeling the same things are going to annoy me that annoyed me first time round.

Oh and I reckon the kid is going to shoot Rick, not Carl. Rick killed his dad & he's acting all pally with him? Nope, not buying it.

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Glen had absolutely no right surviving that situation.

I'm going to rewatch the episode again this evening and give it another chance but I have a feeling the same things are going to annoy me that annoyed me first time round..

There's no point giving it another chance. You have to accept it or not. For me, it's just too much bullshit. If it wasn't bad enough that he was safe under the bin, the walkers had no problem in very quickly ripping Nicholas apart and he wasn't even covering Glenn! He was lying across him so Glenn's legs and head were clearly exposed but they decided to just ignore him? Nope, it just doesn't work for me. I want to forget that episode and try to enjoy the rest of the show.

He was only acting pally with him so as to learn how to shoot. His primary vendetta is against Rick. But he hates them both. I still can't get that pathetic bitch fight between Ron and Carl out of my head though. To go from that to a potential murderer in the space of what has been depicted on the show as a day is pretty bad character development!

Na, he's going after Carl because he stole his girlfriend...

Yeah that's what I mean, he's either forgiven Rick instantly or he's going to shoot him. Maybe he plans to shoot them both.

There's been some moments in the comic where I've nearly lost faith too but the TV show is pushing it with some things. I'll keep watching for now.

Na, he's going after Carl because he stole his girlfriend...

Maybe that's just what they want you to think, I wouldn't be surprised if the cliffhanger for the season is the kid shooting someone, everyone expecting it to be Carl with the amount of foreshadowing they've done, but it'll end up being Rick. Not saying he'll kill him, but I do think he'll try. And Carl will shoot the kid. And hopefully Carol or Glenn or some major character dies in the meantime so we aren't expected to think they're completely invincible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,186 ✭✭✭✭listermint

A show about human reanimation after death , bodies walking around literally with no organs or half limps able to eat and tear peoples flesh lost 'all credibility' because Glenn survived....

Glenns alive, im glad he's back.

Il continue to watch and enjoy each week, because i enjoy suspending reality for an hour.

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Maybe that's just what they want you to think, I wouldn't be surprised if the cliffhanger for the season is the kid shooting someone, everyone expecting it to be Carl with the amount of foreshadowing they've done, but it'll end up being Rick. Not saying he'll kill him, but I do think he'll try. And Carl will shoot the kid. And hopefully Carol or Glenn or some major character dies in the meantime so we aren't expected to think they're completely invincible.
    Maybe he'll try to shoot rick but his mother will get in the way and he'll shoot her by accident. I can see the younger kid turning in to a nut job next season. He's seriously damaged and Carol isn't helping his situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

While I agree with you with Enid, I think you are wrong on Glenn. You could see when it happened that if he managed to drag himself away he could get under the bin. What I didn't like was how the walkers just seemed to disappear over time. Although he was now covered in blood and guts and maybe they mistook him for being one of them? The thing that bugs me is why they don't use this tactic more often, covering themselves in walker blood and guts and they could easily walk among them

They've already decided that this was a stupid idea, and gone away from it. It was more the acting like one, and moving slow and now drawing attention, than the "smell." Forget about it, it's not going to happen.
    The thing that bugs me is how a small bite can turn them, but being covered in walker blood, or getting it in their eyes and mouth doesn't turn them.

A bite doesn't turn you. A bite kills you. Being dead turns you. 2 seperate actions. It's already been shown that you can be bitten, and not turn. You can die of natural causes, and you turn. EVERYONE TURNS NO MATTER THE CAUSE OF DEATH (Except for cerebral trauma)

This isn't a 28 Days Later type virus. It's season six, that is season one learning. You might as well ask why doesn't Clark Kent make an appearance.

This was the first episode this season I thought was "Meh." A 5 from me.

A bite doesn't turn you. A bite kills you. Being dead turns you. 2 seperate actions. It's already been shown that you can be bitten, and not turn. You can die of natural causes, and you turn. EVERYONE TURNS NO MATTER THE CAUSE OF DEATH (Except for cerebral trauma)

This isn't a 28 Days Later type virus. It's season six, that is season one learning. You might as well ask why doesn't Clark Kent make an appearance.

The bite causes an infection and the infection kills you. Apparently it's a very slow moving infection as you can amputate a limb and not turn... The infection is transmitted through saliva during the bite. So why is it not transmitted through blood?

It wasn't even a day. Wasn't it during the clean-up just after the wolves attacked? Which according to the writers is actually the same day that they set out to move the heard... Which I still don't get.

When they put Glenn's name up on the wall I instantly thought "Ok, this must be at least a couple of days later". Otherwise why did they leap to that conclusion so suddenly? But looking back that was all part of the writers' attempt to fool the audience as to Glenn's fate.