Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Connacht Rugby Thread - Part III - The Violence of the Lams

• Registered Users Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

connachta wrote: »
    Heenan and Roux back for Scarlets
    MASSIVE BOOST
    too bad we're away from home
    because a 2nd row composed of Roux/Dillane with Browne on the bench
    and a back-row Heenan/Muldoon/McKeon
    is IMO the best we have

I'd have Brown and Roux starting and Dillane to come on at 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Great to have them back fully training but I can't see Heenan and Roux both starting lads

• Registered Users Posts: 4,819 ✭✭✭b.gud

freyners wrote: »
    No word on bealham which is kinda strange. With an illness i thought he might be back

Hopefully this should put you at ease a bit, will keep an eye out to see if there are any of him actually training

1219416.jpg

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Great to have them back fully training but I can't see Heenan and Roux both starting lads

They probably shouldn't, but the way things have been going I wouldn't be surprised if we saw them play to try and bring back a bit of experience and muscle to the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

Woohoo, players returning.
    Quinn and Jake would be great starting or to come on for the last twenty.
    Happy out.
    :D:D

Erm,, should we be getting concerned about the prop situation.
    If the two starters are called up for November or pick up niggles we are looking a tad light.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

Woohoo, players returning.
    Quinn and Jake would be great starting or to come on for the last twenty.
    Happy out.
    :D:D

Erm,, should we be getting concerned about the prop situation.
    If the two starters are called up for November or pick up niggles we are looking a tad light.

Joe doesn't want Buckley. And maybe for TH White is the playing coach cover for those situations...

INPHO_01107657.jpgInteresting

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭flogthebog

Based on performances, or lack of, I'm wondering if Bundee has already signed his next contract and is just doing time?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

I'd start Heenan, we've been in trouble at the breakdown in the first couple of games and he's shown in the past the ability to perform coming straight back from injury. No slight on James Connolly, who was one of our better players against the Ospreys and will definitely make an impact from the bench but think we need Heenan this weekend.

Bring Roux on for last 25/30.

Jake Heenan is now an ambassador for the IRUPA tackle your feelings initiative. He did a little video with them you can see here.

I thought it was quite interesting to here him talk about getting in some trouble with the cops when he was younger, and even becoming homeless at one stage. I never knew this about him

Hadn't seen this before now but the try Connacht scored against Zebre was really nicely worked

image.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

b.gud wrote: »
    Hadn't seen this before now but the try Connacht scored against Zebre was really nicely worked

image.gif

A nice deliberate line there by Bundee

Quintis wrote: »

image.gif

A nice deliberate line there by Bundee

Is it agianst the rules?
    I'm not sure he ever ran across a ball carrier.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

Is it agianst the rules?
    I'm not sure he ever ran across a ball carrier.

Blocking/impeding the defender if you are being hyper-critical, the Zebre defender bought it hook, line and sinker, you would have to say he was in position to make the tackle if Aki wasn't there.

For me it is a great line from Aki and a poor read from the defender, another ref may have called it back

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The Archives of Pain, Week 4. Updated info in bold.

Player|Injury|Date of Injury|Expected Return
    Dominic Robertson-McCoy|Arm|Training - Mid-Sept|6-8 Weeks
    Ivan Soroka|Foot|AIL|Unknown
    Danie Poolman|Concussion|Ospreys (H)|Protocols
    Josh Rowland|Ankle - Surgery|Unknown|Mid-Late October
    Nathan White|Concussion (Long Term)|Last Season|Unknown
    Ben Marshall|Concussion|Last Season|Unknown
    Nepia Fox-Matamua|Hamstring|Glasgow (H)|November
    Sean O’Brien|Ankle|Pre-Season|Early October
    Eoghan Masterson|Knee|Last Season|December
    John Cooney|Shoulder|Glorious Pro12 Final|Partial Training
    Stephen Kerins|Unknown|Unknown|Unknown
    Conor Lowndes|Unknown|Unknown|Unknown
    Craig Ronaldson|Thigh|Pre-Season|Late September/Early October
    Marnitz Boshoff|SA|Currently Fit|November
    Rory Parata|Knee|AIL - September|Early October
    Peter Robb|Concussion|Glasgow (H)|Protocols
    Darragh Leader|Hand|Pre-Season|February
    Ciaran Gaffney|Unknown|Unknown|Unknown

18 players currently unavailable.

Returning: Quinn Roux, Jake Heenan. Browne & Kelleher returned ahead of schedule against Zebre and were grand.

Robbo wrote: »
    The Archives of Pain, Week 4. Updated info in bold.

Player|Injury|Date of Injury|Expected Return
    Dominic Robertson-McCoy|Arm|Training - Mid-Sept|6-8 Weeks
    Ivan Soroka|Foot|AIL|Unknown
    Danie Poolman|Concussion|Ospreys (H)|Protocols
    Josh Rowland|Ankle - Surgery|Unknown|Mid-Late October
    Nathan White|Concussion (Long Term)|Last Season|Unknown
    Ben Marshall|Concussion|Last Season|Unknown
    Nepia Fox-Matamua|Hamstring|Glasgow (H)|November
    Sean O’Brien|Ankle|Pre-Season|Early October
    Eoghan Masterson|Knee|Last Season|December
    John Cooney|Shoulder|Glorious Pro12 Final|Partial Training
    Stephen Kerins|Unknown|Unknown|Unknown
    Conor Lowndes|Unknown|Unknown|Unknown
    Craig Ronaldson|Thigh|Pre-Season|Late September/Early October
    Marnitz Boshoff|SA|Currently Fit|November
    Rory Parata|Knee|AIL - September|Early October
    Peter Robb|Concussion|Glasgow (H)|Protocols
    Darragh Leader|Hand|Pre-Season|February
    Cian Kelleher|Hip|Glasgow (H)|Soon
    Ciaran Gaffney|Unknown|Unknown|Unknown

19 players currently unavailable.

Returning: Quinn Roux, Jake Heenan. Browne returned ahead of schedule against Zebre and was grand.

Didnt Kelleher start against Zebre? So you can probably remove him from the list

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Didnt Kelleher start against Zebre? So you can probably remove him from the list
    Noted and edited.

Robbo wrote: »
    Noted and edited.

By the way thanks for keeping this table up to date it's good to see who's available on a week to week basis

My team for Scar
    Buckley
    McC
    Beal
    Dill
    Browne
    McKeon
    Heenan
    Mul
    Marms
    O'Leary
    Aki
    Griff (not convinced by the idea of him as 12)
    Healy
    Niyi
    TOH

Bench

Heff
    Lough
    Carey
    Roux
    Connolly
    Blade
    Carty
    Kelleher

We miss one of Ronaldson/Robb so much for defense/physicality

I wonder if we will see ronaldson at 10 on his return. I think his physicality at 10 would work well for the team overall

We need Ronaldson more at 12 with Bundee than at 10 IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

We need Ronaldson more at 12 with Bundee than at 10 IMO

Actually until we get Boshoff I'd say Ronaldson-Robb-Aki is our best 10-12-13 axis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Bazzo wrote: »
    Actually until we get Boshoff I'd say Ronaldson-Robb-Aki is our best 10-12-13 axis

That would cause some damage

Bazzo wrote: »

I agree but I don't see Pat using it unfortunately

Edit: put it this way, for me:
    Carty-Ronaldson-Aki > Ronaldson-Griffin-Aki

I agree but I don't see Pat using it unfortunately

Edit: put it this way, for me:
    Carty-Ronaldson-Aki > Ronaldson-Griffin-Aki

I think if things don't change soon pat's hand will be forced in this matter. Jack and Shane are not setting the world alight at the moment.

flogthebog wrote: »
    I think if things don't change soon pat's hand will be forced in this matter. Jack and Shane are not setting the world alight at the moment.

They weren't really doing it last year either. AJ was the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Jake Heenan is now an ambassador for the IRUPA tackle your feelings initiative. He did a little video with them you can see here.

I thought it was quite interesting to here him talk about getting in some trouble with the cops when he was younger, and even becoming homeless at one stage. I never knew this about him
    There is a panel discussion through IRUPA being held in The G Hotel on September 27th from 6.30pm – 8.30pm.

Cathal Sheridan and Connacht Hall of Fame legend Michael Swift, who will MC the event. Dr Eddie Murphy will also speak.
    Went to the Munster launch a while back and Quinny, Cathal Sheridan spoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭basillarkin

connachta wrote: »
    My team for Scar
    Buckley
    McC
    Beal
    Dill
    Browne
    McKeon
    Heenan
    Mul
    Marms
    O'Leary
    Aki
    Griff (not convinced by the idea of him as 12)
    Healy
    Niyi
    TOH

Bench

Heff
    Lough
    Carey
    Roux
    Connolly
    Blade
    Carty
    Kelleher

mccarty at 10, better player than OL
    aki at 13 needs a big game
    roux to come into the row and push dilliane to backrow
    would give kelleher a run at the back 3, if not the start at least 20 mins
    would have ronalson at 12 when fit

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭macslash

mccarty at 10, better player than OL
    aki at 13 needs a big game
    would give kelleher a run at the back 3, if not the start at least 20 mins
    would have ronalson at 12 when fit

Carty ya? I agree.

But Dillane to back row?? Just no!

For this game I'd like to see Browne and Roux start to give some of the grunt that has been missing a bit recently, then spring Dillane off the bench for impact in the last 20 minutes of the game

Roux does seem type player that either needs to start match or not be in the 23

Just reading the match report for wegians and Naas.

Good to see Carr in try scoring form.
    Is Mitch Lam, who seems to be a decent kicker at least, any relation to Pat?

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Cathalthesmart

Just reading the match report for wegians and Naas.

Good to see Carr in try scoring form.
    Is Mitch Lam, who seems to be a decent kicker at least, any relation to Pat?

He is Pat Lam's kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Redo91

Are season ticket holders still allowed to get a free ticket for a game of their choice? Thinking about getting mine for Edinburgh next week.

forecast for scarlets game is torrential rain and high winds. lovely.

cZzEAJn.jpg
    The Trib could have used a picture of Roux where it doesn't look like he's 5 days into a particularly nasty bout of gastric flu...

Redo91 wrote: »
    Are season ticket holders still allowed to get a free ticket for a game of their choice? Thinking about getting mine for Edinburgh next week.

Yeah just email the office and they will either send them out or have them waiting at the gate for you.

15 Tiernan O’Halloran (103)
    14 Niyi Adeolokun (34)
    13 Bundee Aki (43)
    12 Eoin Griffin (73)
    11 Matt Healy (75)
    10 Jack Carty (56)
    9 Kieran Marmion (104)

1 Denis Buckley (97)
    2 Tom McCartney (46)
    3 Finlay Bealham (59)
    4 Quinn Roux (33)
    5 Andrew Browne (144)
    6 Ultan Dillane (29)
    7 Jake Heenan (34)
    8 John Muldoon (captain) (277)

Replacements:

16 Dave Heffernan (59)
    17 Ronan Loughney (185)
    18 JP Cooney (30)
    19 Lewis Stevenson (2)
    20 Eoin McKeon (87)
    21 Caolin Blade (22)
    22 Shane O’Leary (16)
    23 Cian Kelleher (1)

FACECUTTR wrote: »
    15 Tiernan O’Halloran (103)
    14 Niyi Adeolokun (34)
    13 Bundee Aki (43)
    12 Eoin Griffin (73)
    11 Matt Healy (75)
    10 Jack Carty (56)
    9 Kieran Marmion (104)

1 Denis Buckley (97)
    2 Tom McCartney (46)
    3 Finlay Bealham (59)
    4 Quinn Roux (33)
    5 Andrew Browne (144)
    6 Ultan Dillane (29)
    7 Jake Heenan (34)
    8 John Muldoon (captain) (277)

Replacements:

16 Dave Heffernan (59)
    17 Ronan Loughney (185)
    18 JP Cooney (30)
    19 Lewis Stevenson (2)
    20 Eoin McKeon (87)
    21 Caolin Blade (22)
    22 Shane O’Leary (16)
    23 Cian Kelleher (1)

Ultan in the backrow ! That is one physical pack.

A lot of power in that pack and Dillane at 6 is quite interesting. I suspect there may be some moves prepared that are based around that decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Dillane to backrow it is then. Basillarkin, was that a good guess or are you a team mole?

I thought Dillane wasn't in the team with Roux and Browne starting and Stevenson on bench ha - took me a while to cop he was at 6

I'll be honest, I thought you were bonkers to suggest this but fair play :D

Pat Lam pre match words for Dillane

Ultan Smash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Pat Lam pre match words for Dillane

Ultan Smash!
    535188148-edinburgh-united-kingdom-28-may-2016-ultan-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=X7WJLa88Cweo9HktRLaNXuBL8ejk%2FhxF4NvmC581wOY9a8%2FSkUkKSFpTgxGLnKi7z1N9D2nhr5kzkfhx6KOWlg%3D%3D
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS7pnV3ezKOF_N3D1Phqkm-Qbi3_a-vtWpS2gpPhB9KQRk6dfZ5

Dillane.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,246 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That's a really good backline bar 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Now that's a curve ball.

Freyners pretty much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Freyners pretty much
    Hoping for a newer gif this weekend, preferably on Liam Williams