Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Connacht Rugby Thread - Part III - The Violence of the Lams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

ironkiwi wrote: »
    Didn't see the bench but is there anyone to replace Robb... sounds like the head is gone at this stage

O'Leary on the bench can go to centre or Kelleher could come on for Ili and Ili could move in.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Cathalthesmart

O'Leary should have been picked at 12 imo. Robb and Bundee together do not work well, one or the other and they are very good ( preferably at 13). You've seen when Ronaldson has returned to the team that Connacht's fortune as changed. P.S When is that Fijian back row forward coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

wp_rathead wrote: »

I still have no idea how Ili is at defending ha

Now ya do... :(

O'Brien gets a drop goal, Carty responds with a penalty. 13-6 just before the half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Everything just seems too forced at the moment. Way too many simple errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭franglan

Anyone else's stream gone from Galway Bay FM?

O'Brien's penalty comes off the post so a let off for Connacht just at the break, 13-6 HT.

franglan wrote: »
    Anyone else's stream gone from Galway Bay FM?

Yeah, there's a link to click that shows you alternate streams that are working fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭vidapura

what channel is this on?

vidapura wrote: »
    what channel is this on?

It's not on TV.

Not on TV. Galway Bay FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭vidapura

Thanks...

feck it anyway...

Sounds much improved since the second half has kicked off. Penalty at the Dragons' 10m line and Carty kicks to touch.

Oh ffs... Connacht with another series of mistakes and Dragons capitalise to score a try. 18-6 with conversion to come. Shambles....

Is this a joke? Dragons are probably the worst team in the league, how can you possibly be beaten this badly? even a Russian team was able to hammer them.

Ah forget about it lads.

A pale comparison to last season, funnily enough, our comparisons from last year, Leicester, have gone the same way.

I didn't think we'd make Top 6 after the first two games and I feel that far more now.

We were just so bad in those games it was hard to see that much of a shift in the opposite direction.

We had a small purple patch but last week was as bad as the first few weeks, the only difference was that Leinster were down a number of players.

At least we went the whole way last season, better to go the full way then be a top team for a number of years.

Ili and Adeolokun link up to go in under the posts... back in with a shout with 10 mins to go. Dragons 21-16 Connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭mjp

Back to within 5 with 9mins to go after Adeyilokun try. Gives us a lifeline and chance of robbing it

Connacht, stop dropping the ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

If Connacht can leave Rodney Parade with a lbp that will do nicely.

Cant believe Connacht are still in with a chance here.

The Connacht line out is a bloody lottery, wouldn't be so sure its an advantage.

How do Connacht plan to win a game without a set piece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭ironkiwi

The only positive out of tonight is the 3 week break coming up!!

Connacht need a bloody break.

That's a huge blow... We're missing Aly so much. I'm pinning a lot on our proper front row getting back together. I think we're a much better team with Buckley, McCartney and Bealham on the pitch together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Now that is a bad result. Set piece has been a complete lottery this season. Not only the lineout but the scrum as well given the injuries in the front row. Just don't have a solid foundation to play from. Would bite your arm off for top 6 right now. Can't see us anywhere near top 4.

12 points off 6th now.

Looks a mountain tbh.

12 points off 6th now.

Looks a mountain tbh.

Game in hand though.

I think we need to go looking for a second row TBH. None of the ones we have in the squad besides Browne seem to be able to run a line-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

Last year a good start stood us in good stead but we've given ourselves a mountain to climb with the results so far. The injuries and lack of recruitment are taking their toll. Our front 5 is very weak at the moment. JP Cooney, Delahunt and Carey aren't anywhere near good enough as starters at this level and the bench doesn't look up to much. Cannon got a few minutes gametime the last day and had to do nearly the whole game tonight.

Our game cant work when set-pieces aren't functioning at least to some degree.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭typhoony

not signing a marquee 2nd row proving to be a huge mistake, all focus now has to be on champions cup

Game in hand though.

True, and a winnable game but we've been so bad in most of the games I find it hard to see us going on any sort of run at present.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

Very good kick in the ass. No more excuses like "pre-season" or "we've not lost than many points from last season". Pro12 is just our training competition

Now it's clear young guys like Robb know how hard they have to work within a month. Roll on Wasps. Dillane/Bealham/Healy/Buckley/McCartney/SOB/Marmion/Ronaldson will make it completely different.

True, and a winnable game but we've been so bad in most of the games I find it hard to see us going on any sort of run at present.

I agree, but never say never as they say. Connacht will have a lot of players back come the end of the three week break so theres still hope.

Very good kick in the ass. No more excuses like "pre-season" or "we've not lost than many points from last season". Pro12 is just our training competition
    Now it's clear young guys like Robb know how hard they have to work within a month. Roll on Wasps. Dillane/Bealham/Healy/Buckley/McCartney/SOB/Marmion/Ronaldson will make it completely different.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭typhoony

connachta wrote: »

Masterson is only another month away from returning. also we will have Boschoff and Dawai to make a big impact.

typhoony wrote: »
    connachta wrote: »

Masterson is only another month away from returning. also we will have Boschoff and Dawai to make a big impact.
    Right and Nepia, so Connacht A + just Roux Niyi and TOH lost tonight away from home. Wasps will be easy peasy :p

What was the final score lads?

I thought this game was tomorrow, surprised to see three of the provinces playing at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

What was the final score lads?

I thought this game was tomorrow, surprised to see three of the provinces playing at the same time!

21-16 :(

Zzippy wrote: »
    21-16 :(

Sorry to hear that, with the team heading to Italy for Leinster it could be a rough weekend for 3 of the provinces...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Met Joe Schmidt on a boat in Chicago and he asked for the score. "Oh wow" says he. This is one we had to win to get Heineken Cup again next year. Big blow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

When Browne went off it was inevitable and Roux did Muldowney role - it didn't work unfortunately...

That said Newport fans are good craic so excuse me while I get drunk

Jeepers, just saw Dragons two tries, was Tiernan that poor all game?

https://twitter.com/BBCScrumV/status/794682439981404160

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Jeepers, just saw Dragons two tries, was Tiernan that poor all game?

https://twitter.com/BBCScrumV/status/794682439981404160

Wasnt his best have to say, made few nice breaks but was awful attempt at tackle for 1st try (all came from lost lineout that also malfunctioned when Browne went off)
    Poor Peter Robb must have knocked it on 5 times in that game..

Despite being well able to win that we ended up lucky enough to get a LBP tbh

I really think this is NOT the real Connacht, the one who will face Wasps

Had a look at the scrum stats against Glasgow and Scarlets -when Buckley played-, none lost on our feed, some won on their introduction. Don't forget Carey never played at this level before, and J.P very few, I won't be harsh on them.

Probably the same, on a lesser extent, for McCartney and the lineout.
    More obvious, the difference between Connacht with Ronaldson and without. Day and night.
    Heenan and Muldoon have played any minutes possible for a long time. They can only come back better after a 3 week-rest, and 2 preparation games before Wasps
    Connolly/Kelleher/Carty are ok, but Healy, Boshoff and Nepia experience will be available too.

So it's all about Lam now. He has a month, no more, to introduce 8-10 players into a system, and make it work. Hard task, but he should know that the individuals he should have back fit for selection, are well able to produce a required high performance

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Marc O Polo

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Wasnt his best have to say, made few nice breaks but was awful attempt at tackle for 1st try (all came from lost lineout that also malfunctioned when Browne went off)
    Poor Peter Robb must have knocked it on 5 times in that game..

Despite being well able to win that we ended up lucky enough to get a LBP tbh

Was it not Stacey who missed the tackle out wide for the first try??

No, you can see in the clip that it's O'Halloran.

The losing of the game last night wasn't any individual mistakes like that though, both of their tries came from a set piece that wasn't even pretending to function.

Being brutally honest I don't think Cannon and Stevenson were great signings. We needed a second row who would be pushing for a starting spot. An experienced guy who can run a lineout and preferably one with soft hands to act as our playmaker in the forwards. We got two guys who so far seem to be fighting it out between themselves for 4th and 5th choice.

Buckley has excellent hands, is a top scrummager and is probably our best player at turning the ball over so it'll be big getting him back in the side. Bealham and McCartney are both quite a bit better than their counterparts in the team at the minute too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭Shelflife

You have to remember that when Muldowney came he didnt offer a lot on the first season either.