Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubai Duty Free Irish Open (19th-22nd May 2016), K Club, Co. Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Ah here. The position kjeldsen's ball ended up in after his tee shot on 9. Iv never seen a ball pretty much plugged into the bark of a tree!!! Had to take a penalty drop unfortunetly.

Hope Rory can finish off with that birdie on 9. Once again he has played well but not holed anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Rory -7 going into the weekend. Will have a good chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

paulie21 wrote: »
    Rory -7 going into the weekend. Will have a good chance

And the first Irish Open cut he has made since 2012. Delighted for him and the fans - just hoping he is in the final group come Sunday afternoon.

Really hope they put the tee well forward on 16 and well back on 18 on Sunday - will make for some exciting finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Great to see crowds at a European tour event

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Those security guards with Rory were dicks. I understand the need for him to be left alone before he signs his card but he was wacking people's hands away. Pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I know that generally speaking, more GIR means more putts

Ci54TorXAAAZnKH.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I know that generally speaking, more GIR means more putts

Ci54TorXAAAZnKH.jpg

Absolutely awesome ball striking from McIlroy. He's just different gravy in fairness.

31 putts per round isn't all that bad for hitting 83% of greens.

Paul mcginley on fire here this afternoon.

Lowry in danger of missing the cut!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Lowry in danger of missing the cut!

Right on the cut line now with 3 holes left

Bye bye paddy anyway.

What was Lowry at there on 18?? Way too aggressive. lucky he can drop up by the green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

Jus back from it an Rory had some amount of 8 footers in, an missed quite a few. He is still not at the level that Day or Speith do be at putting wise. Same short irons.

Pure relief for Lowry there

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I've a spare ticket if anyone fancies heading up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭The Bogman

Could anyone tell me what time the first pairing is due out tomorrow? I'm guessing half 7ish? Or even when it'll be announced? Trying to gauge what time I need to leave in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

hi folks

are you allowed bring your own food/drink into the grounds?

few tinnies would be nice for the day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Jazzzman wrote: »
    hi folks

are you allowed bring your own food/drink into the grounds?

few tinnies would be nice for the day ;)

Yes

Lol cheeky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Are the commentators on RTE from the World Feed or are they RTE's own commentator team?
    It's a nice change from Sky Sports' team (even though I do enjoy them)

Anyone know what the story is with Rory's warm up this morning? He appeared to come out of the clubhouse 10 minutes before his teetime, hit a couple of putts and then went to the first tee. Looks a bit rusty in some areas now.

I'm watching on standard definition and for some reason the picture is way better on Sky sports.

Apparently Rory warmed up somewhere else before his round.

Rain rain rain

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Rain rain rain

Hopefully just a few heavy showers and the wind makes them move quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

wow, didn't see the hooter coming there.....

i bet the boys next door in kileen or carton playing their monthly medal won't be going in.

or for that matter our boys down the road playing in the boards outing :D

Are we watching too much PGA Tour golf.... that small storm cell seems a fair bit south of the course.

If Rors can make that birdie putt he can really start opening a gap on the field.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Joanne Cantwell needs to be taken out of the commentary box. Clearly not a golfer. McHenry not great but am sure he's had to bite his tongue a few times at this stage, she's a disaster :rolleyes:

Unfortunately play was stopped far too early with the rain only reaching the course a short while ago. Will be a late finish for some.

17.45 restart

Just in time for the fa cup final, lovely..

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

17.45 restart

Just in time for the fa cup final, lovely..

McIlroy was probably hoping to get to see it.

Fair play to mcllroy wasn't easy

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Play suspended again, another threat of lightening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Imagine Rory slipped there and did his ankle again :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Is this on the box lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭TLOA72

Rte 2 play resuming at 7:55.

Gros, after having an eagle on 16, just put 2 tee shots in the drink on 17. Don't think his 2nd crossed the margin of the hazard so he will have to re-load again. Looks like it's playing a beast of a hole today.

Edit - he was just about able to play his second tee shot but hacked it into the trees.

Some disaster for the Irish open, rain is savage

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Say Rory had it in the back of his head that he didn't want to be starting off tomorrow morning with that tee shot on 17. Big plus for him to start on 16 instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

What caused the delay on 16th? RTE radio saying three groups on the tee when they decided to call it for the evening.

First Up wrote: »
    What caused the delay on 16th? RTE radio saying three groups on the tee when they decided to call it for the evening.

Rory was debating with the rules official about the light levels for a while. Think Shane may disagree....

https://twitter.com/ShaneLowryGolf/status/734104963945795584

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

HighLine wrote:
    Rory was debating with the rules official about the light levels for a while. Think Shane may disagree....

I know but there was two groups already standing on the 16th tee. Just wondered what caused that. I can see Rory's point - playing it as a 2 shot par 5 would take 3 groups the guts of 45 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Joanne Cantwell needs to be taken out of the commentary box. Clearly not a golfer. McHenry not great but am sure he's had to bite his tongue a few times at this stage, she's a disaster :rolleyes:

They'd just replace her with Marty Morrissey.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Seve OB wrote: »

or for that matter our boys down the road playing in the boards outing :D

We had sunshine for most of the day. One light shower and that was it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Anyone know what the deal is with coverage tomorrow? Will they show it from the resumption of play or just wait until the normal coverage was to start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭BohToffee

Planning a trip.down tomorrow will I be allowed a small bag for my golf shoes and rain gear? Read somewhere no bags allowed I thought but can't find it now when I actually want to know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Newtown90

BohToffee wrote: »
    Planning a trip.down tomorrow will I be allowed a small bag for my golf shoes and rain gear? Read somewhere no bags allowed I thought but can't find it now when I actually want to know...

Work away, you can bring bags in no problem.

Very wet in parts so golf shoes/boots are definitely required! Very glad I had the wets today too!

What a venue though! Would love to play a round there some day!

Really enjoyed today even with the conditions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Having played there many times off the normal human being tees it's mind blowing to see them smash the ball miles past the bunkers that were catching me and they are hitting from the tips mostly