Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubai Duty Free Irish Open (19th-22nd May 2016), K Club, Co. Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

ForeRight wrote: »
    Have to admit I was feeling emotional myself looking at Southgate celebrate his finish up the leaderboard.... Super stuff

Yeah. What's the context to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,139 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Have to admit I was feeling emotional myself looking at Southgate celebrate his finish up the leaderboard.... Super stuff

That was a great story too. It meant a lot to him and a nice cheque of roughly €200,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

You could really see how much every good shot meant to him and to finish with a birdie was great to see. Delighted for him, the €200k will be a nice boost too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

quarryman wrote: »
    Yeah. What's the context to that?

He was diagnosed with testicular cancer last summer. Fully finished treatment as far as I'm aware. Nice bookend to a sh*te year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

He had to regain his card through q school too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Badly needed win for McIlroy, needs to win the PGA next weekend too against stiffer competition. Was that Smurfit in the background doffing his cap as Rory stood after his winning putt?

Great day for the irish, brilliant.

Badly needed win for McIlroy, needs to win the PGA next weekend too against stiffer competition. Was that Smurfit in the background doffing his cap as Rory stood after his winning putt?

Great day for the irish, brilliant.

He's not playing went worth next week

Rory won €666k for that today and is donating the lot to his foundation

Super stuff. Great lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Class act

ForeRight wrote:
    He's not playing went worth next week

When's he out again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

When's he out again?

He said that he is taking a week of between tournaments, so Missing the BMW and playing Memorial the following week, then week off... then US Open....

And so on until end of season

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Great to see Rory win it. Was there friday and saturday. So much easier to get around than RCD last year. Seemed to be more people there last year. The bar at the 16th was a great idea, spent a bit of time there on the friday :)

Edit - I really want to play this course now! it looked fantastic. i got a chance to walk on the 4th green Saturday evening and the surface looked immaculate and firm even after all the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭golfer79

Went both Friday and yesterday. Watched a lot of golf Friday morning but didn't think there was much of a buzz in the air come the afternoon, with McIlroy and Willett in the clubhouse and none of the afternoon players putting much heat on them. Course looked great in fairness and was very spectator friendly.

Spent a lot of time in the bar on the 16th on Saturday with all the delays and it was a great spot. :-) All in all, thought RCD last year and Fota the previous year (prob due to weather) had more about them as an event overall. Enjoyed both more. However, what Rory did today to close was fantastic and will leave fond memories of the event for most. Credit to Knox too for putting the pressure on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Thank god that engraver never worked at a major where Sergio Garcia was playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

HighLine wrote: »
    The presentation should be on the 18th green.

it was :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

I was there yesterday and while it was a good day out and an amazingly exciting finish the weather enforced 2 tee start with 3 balls meant it was harder to see everybody on the final day.

I don't like just following one group for the day.

The bar on 16th is a bit of a joke. Marshals telling us greenside to stand still and shhh while drunk bowsies above can scream at the top of their lungs watching on the big screen because they are putting money across a bar. How does that work???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Seve OB wrote: »
    it was :confused:

All that was shown on the tv was the presentation beside the clubhouse. They didn't show him on the green at all. They must have done a second one on the green then after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Love how he's donating his winnings to charity.
    He's a class act and I think he gets a lot of **** from people because he speaks and acts from the heart a lot.
    He's obviously very proud of his Irishness as well. Bags of talent. I hope this will settle him a bit.

etxp wrote: »
    All that was shown on the tv was the presentation beside the clubhouse. They didn't show him on the green at all. They must have done a second one on the green then after.

maybe there was one done for tv, no idea about that.

for all the fans at the k club, there was only one presentation and it was done on the green... and it went on foreverrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

I didn't wait for the presentation but they were definitely setting up on the green as I was leaving.

I have to say the course marshalling was very good this year, very relaxed but still doing their job for the most part - one guy left us standing at a crossing for about 10 mins while he chatted to his mates - but that aside they were much better than their counterparts (some of them I encountered anyway) in RCD in 2015 or Fota the year before. Also the head guy was vey specific in telling the marshalls not to be blocking the view of the paying public which imo is very important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Most joy I got out of Rory in a long time.

Class stuff.

Was still wrong choice but delighted to see it.

What are you on? He sees things differently to others. He called the shot and executed it perfectly, right choice 100%

Whyner wrote: »
    What are you on? He sees things differently to others. He called the shot and executed it perfectly, right choice 100%

so if he dunked it in the water on 16 would it have been the right choice? I think that's what fix means, it was a risky shot, if he didn't execute it perfectly, then most likely his chance of winning was over. playing sensibly and laying up still gave him a chance of birdie, but took the risk out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

so if he dunked it in the water on 16 would it have been the right choice? I think that's what fix means, it was a risky shot, if he didn't execute it perfectly, then most likely his chance of winning was over. playing sensibly and laying up still gave him a chance of birdie, but took the risk out of it

He was 1 behind with 3 to play and he had to presume Knox would get a birdie.

Really can't see how people would think it was the wrong shot to play. If he was standing on the 16th tee being 1 in front himself - then for sure, it would have been the wrong shot.

But he wasn't and he played it accordingly and put the pressure on Knox as a result.

I agree with you, I think it was the shot.

But.

If he didn't pull it off, there would be uproar about how bad his course management was, poor decision, bad caddy......the usual crap.

My motto is, if you know you can make the shot, go for it. yea, sometimes they don't work out perfect, but where is the fun in laying up......

HighLine wrote: »
    He was 1 behind with 3 to play and he had to presume Knox would get a birdie.

Really can't see how people would think it was the wrong shot to play. If he was standing on the 16th tee being 1 in front himself - then for sure, it would have been the wrong shot.

But he wasn't and he played it accordingly and put the pressure on Knox as a result.

Exactly. When you're chasing you have to take chances. It's the same in all sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

If me aunty had balls, etc. he couldn't afford to let Knox hit to the green first cause then with less pressure Knox probably would have hit it a lot closer than he did and possibly made birdie. He had to take the tournament by the scruff of the neck at that time and he did.

fullstop wrote: »
    If me aunty had balls, etc. he couldn't afford to let Knox hit to the green first cause then with less pressure Knox probably would have hit it a lot closer than he did and possibly made birdie. He had to take the tournament by the scruff of the neck at that time and he did.

His iron and wedge play was being criticised all day yesterday on here. Even if he put it up to 100 yards with his second there was no guarantee that he could have put it in birdie range with his third.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

But.

If he didn't pull it off, there would be uproar about how bad his course management was, poor decision, bad caddy......the usual crap.

My motto is, if you know you can make the shot, go for it. yea, sometimes they don't work out perfect, but where is the fun in laying up......

This. We all think about living the dream of being a pro golfer. Never in my dreams do I lay up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Seve OB wrote:

If he didn't pull it off, it would have been bad execution, not a bad decision. He absolutely had to go for it and it was the turning point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

But.

I think it was on the very edges of course management - of course we are internet hackers and it is whatifery - but would have loved to hear the discussion between caddy and himself.

I genuinely think from a pure black jack / statistical perspective he had a better chance of winning down 18 - and keep himself in it / back in it, with a good chance of birdie by regulation 16 - an advantage on 17 and was almost sure of an eagle chance on 18.

Now it is interesting that Rory had more confidence over an incredible shot versus what most normal pros do - hit it to 95 / bang up and down. Would be interesting to hear was Rory only one that went for it on Sunday ?

What an absolutely brilliant thing to see live - and to me highlights the level he is at and thinks at versus normal people and even normal top pros. I know it is too early - but they should place a plaque at the spot.

I really genuinely felt a warming to Rory this week - I looked up the topics he is taking on in the foundation - they are not easy topics for a lad in his 20s - there are so many choices out there in charity - he has not gone down the soft route in anyway. Incredible stuff.

But agree the impact of the shot on his opponent won the matchplay aspect of the game - but was the risk worth it ? Imagine that is an ok question for a golf forum.

You could say - well he knew he was going into a drop zone - but would need to study hole more to see the full possibilities. If it was a 6/7 coming up.

Again - an interesting one - worth its own debate - maths isn't really about emotions.

I'm Still delighted he did it - JP should have told him not to :p - No would have been war if he went lost left. He then would ave had same shot again - :eek:

But now we see why Rory is one of the hardest pros to caddy for - he has stuff others can't do - you need to know that as his caddy - and be aware of limits that are hard to fathom.

Class day - was fairly emotional all round.

He has had an up and down ride with the Irish Public. That was a great day.

I cant believe there are people criticising Rory for taking on shots.

It's really true -

“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”

Jayop wrote: »
    His iron and wedge play was being criticised all day yesterday on here. Even if he put it up to 100 yards with his second there was no guarantee that he could have put it in birdie range with his third.

I think this gets to the real point - if he was forced to go for it due to a flaw in his wedges .

It really does cause a problem for him .

Yes we all know he needs to sort it out.

He basically went for a 50/50 shot because he hasn't got the 7/10 shot. :eek:

I cant believe there are people criticising Rory for taking on shots.

It's really true -

“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”

Jesus - nobody is criticising him . We are discussing what happened in a golf event.

We are all interested in the detail -

Not jaysus wasn't that amazing in the pub.

I loved it on 18 box. FORE LEFT!!! followed by a question to JP "can we get there?"

Timely soft bounce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭poppers

Was the Irish Open - would be interesting if it was a major.

In fact that course provides a brilliant finish.

Jesus - nobody is criticising him . We are discussing what happened in a golf event.

We are all interested in the detail -

Not jaysus wasn't that amazing in the pub.

Eh, calm down. I wasn't watching in the pub either by the way.

It is just a metaphor with a hint of truth :p

Again - if you can't ask these questions on a golf forum - where can you.

I see plenty of lads going for everything they are great lads.

They think they are Rory Mcilroy

What an absolutely brilliant thing to see live -

were you there???? I had a spare ticket.... and another clubhouse pass :D

No wasn't there - was watching it live - happy I was watching it on tv to be honest.

RTE made a balls of end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

Korat wrote: »
    I'm never going to try watch golf on RTE again. Pathetic stuff breaking for an advert at a crucial stage of play.

But but but think of the huge audience at that moment, just waiting to have crap sold to them! :rolleyes:

Don't watch golf myself so posting on behalf of my very pissed off fella here, but it's a sad day when commercial pressures encroach on the crucial moment of a sporting event that the station is televising. What exactly is the point of showing the event if the most important part isn't deemed more important than stupid adverts? Losing site of the big picture!

I usually prefer RTÉ's Olympics coverage to the Beeb's as I find the commentary better but this has made me think twice. Think I'll stick with the ad-free Beeb. RTÉ will no doubt miss lots of interesting track and field moments because they need to SELL PEOPLE LOADS OF SHINY STUFF!

I

What an absolutely brilliant thing to see live - and to me highlights the level he is at and thinks at versus normal people and even normal top pros. I know it is too early - but they should place a plaque at the spot.
    Place a plaque at the spot?! What would they write on it..."From this spot Rory McIlroy hit it to 40 feet and 2 putted"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Place a plaque at the spot?! What would they write on it..."From this spot Rory McIlroy hit it to 40 feet and 2 putted"?

No but this might work, this is the spot where Rory went and won the Irish open!!!

Maybe on the 18th...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Isn't there already a plaque there for Darren Clarke?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Maybe on the 18th...
    The 16th was key, water short and right posed a bigger treat and it was a longer club and a longer shot, plus he was one shot behind at that stage, if he laid up at that time, Knox would have taken no worse than par and still have had the initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Username exists

I was there yesterday and while it was a good day out and an amazingly exciting finish the weather enforced 2 tee start with 3 balls meant it was harder to see everybody on the final day.

I don't like just following one group for the day.

The bar on 16th is a bit of a joke. Marshals telling us greenside to stand still and shhh while drunk bowsies above can scream at the top of their lungs watching on the big screen because they are putting money across a bar. How does that work???

Totally agree about the bar on the 16th, the noise out of them was shocking, I don't know how they putted on the 16th. it should have been a grandstand set up there for fans who were respectful of the game and the golfers.

Not a bar full of plebs with their Premier Banking passes wrapped up in blankets drinking complimentary prosecco who never set foot on the golf course all weekend and watched it all on a big screen. They might as well have stayed at home and watched it.

Totally agree about the bar on the 16th, the noise out of them was shocking, I don't know how they putted on the 16th. it should have been a grandstand set up there for fans who were respectful of the game and the golfers.

Not a bar full of plebs with their Premier Banking passes wrapped up in blankets drinking complimentary prosecco who never set foot on the golf course all weekend and watched it all on a big screen. They might as well have stayed at home and watched it.

Pffffffff, what is this thing you call prosecco?, only the finest brute been spilt up there, I'll be thinking of you next year while asking the waiter to send a bottle of prosecco down stairs to the "real fans":D;):pac:.

The 16th was key, water short and right posed a bigger treat and it was a longer club and a longer shot, plus he was one shot behind at that stage, if he laid up at that time, Knox would have taken no worse than par and still have had the initiative.
    Of course the 16th was key, if you read my previous posts on the topic i said that. The point I was making is that it's ridiculous suggesting there should be a plaque on the fairway for it.

Just mark the spot he hit it from. A red disk well not red. I'd like to see exact spot. Just because I like golf and great golf shots . I would have a total different perspective on shot if seen exactly where it was from.

OK a plaque is a poor word. Just a mark.

Now I know there can't be marks for every great shot ever . I said it was too soon.

But using word ridiculous is ridiculous.

Id like it and imagine many others would.

I'd like to give the shot a go with 100 balls. Lol