Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you allow your dog into your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,964 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Why would they need interaction and socialisation when they are asleep?

My terrier does like to be touching me at night when she's asleep, just with one paw. I'f I move, she moves as well, then goes back to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Why would they need interaction and socialisation when they are asleep?

your actual post said plenty of cats and dogs live outside.... and you wouldn't have a problem with it.. most dogs who sleep outside (most not all) are dumped outside 24/7 that's why...

and that's what your post suggested that dogs who live outside as long as they have a warm / dry place your happy...

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭beyondbelief67

My terrier does like to be touching me at night when she's asleep, just with one paw. I'f I move, she moves as well, then goes back to sleep.
    Mine does that too, snuggles in behind me, either behind my knees or along my back.
    Occasionaly he will jump down but never for long,he loves human contact, and checking I'm still there and not moved without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

cocker5 wrote: »
    your actual post said plenty of cats and dogs live outside.... and you wouldn't have a problem with it.. most dogs who sleep outside (most not all) are dumped outside 24/7 that's why...

and that's what your post suggested that dogs who live outside as long as they have a warm / dry place your happy...

I grew up on a farm where no animals lived inside the house, cats and dogs. They were either doing what dogs do when I wasn't there or were with me. They were pets and certainly not dumped outside. They were well fed and well rounded. Well at least the dogs were, it's was harder to tell with the cats. I made sure they had suitable sleeping arrangements, so yeah, I was happy with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

Mine does that too, snuggles in behind me, either behind my knees or along my back.
    Occasionaly he will jump down but never for long,he loves human contact, and checking I'm still there and not moved without him.

Seriously, do you not think there's something slightly weird about describing sleeping with a dog, leaving aside the hygiene elements? What does your other half think?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

katydid wrote: »
    Well, I'm sorry, but it's far more than "it wouldn't be for me". I find the idea of someone sharing a bed with a dog as disgusting, for health and hygiene reasons. Am I not entitled to express this?

I didn't think I could make myself any clearer Katydid. I made it abundantly clear that you can express your opinion, but I asked you not to use such strong language to express your opinion. It is pretty offensive for a person to call another poster's behaviour "disgusting" in this context, and mark my words, use of such words will cause an argument.
    But that's beside the point now, as you've gone on to also completely ignore the bit where I asked that you don't reply on-thread. Because you have ignored that warning, and taken to arguing about it on-thread, I am left with no choice but to issue a yellow card to you.
    If you want to take this up with me or the other mods, please do so by pm, as arguing with mods on-thread is a site-wide no-no.
    Do not reply to this post on thread.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

DBB wrote: »
    I didn't think I could make myself any clearer Katydid. I made it abundantly clear that you can express your opinion, but I asked you not to use such strong language to express your opinion. It is pretty offensive for a person to call another poster's behaviour "disgusting" in this context, and mark my words, use of such words will cause an argument.
    But that's beside the point now, as you've gone on to also completely ignore the bit where I asked that you don't reply on-thread. Because you have ignored that warning, and taken to arguing about it on-thread, I am left with no choice but to issue a yellow card to you.
    If you want to take this up with me or the other mods, please do so by pm, as arguing with mods on-thread is a site-wide no-no.
    Do not reply to this post on thread.
    Thanks,
    DBB

So I'm not allowed to express my opinion and I'm not allowed to defend myself by responding to an accusation.

I'm out of here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

My dogs both sleep inside, talking with colleagues in work, it seems less common here in Ireland than England. Most people I work with say they have pet dogs who spend whole day outside. My idea of what a pet is clearly differs from theirs, not saying who is right, just different. I respect their view, providing the dog has the basics of food shelter and water.

I also think animal welfare standards are different in the UK but that's for a different thread.

Seriously, do you not think there's something slightly weird about describing sleeping with a dog, leaving aside the hygiene elements? What does your other half think?

Nothing weird about it whatsoever!
    Nor any health or hygiene problems, I'm not asking for anyone's thoughts or opinions on it, it's something I have done all my life.
    As my mother was a casualty sister and later ward matron, I think if there were any health issues she would of said!
    But I'm now of the age where I need noones permission, certainly not yours.
    If you have a teenager they are likely to be more smelly, and hygiene problems than any dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

Sorry, but I find that disgusting. IN YOUR BED!

Well it is not your bed so it should not worry you.

I have a husky and she is lovely ... she never smells except when she is wet! She sleeps in the hall because she likes to make sure everyone is in their rooms at night!!!
    But she will come into my room to check on me and jump up on the bed for a cuddle. She will visit each of us durning the night and can open and close doors. She learned to open doors when she was younger and I was delighted to teach her to close them after herself! Her hair on the bed is sometimes the only way you know she has been to visit!!!

So I'm not allowed to express my opinion and I'm not allowed to defend myself by responding to an accusation.

I'm out of here.

Yes. Yes, that's exactly what I said.

For what it's worth, given that you have disrupted this thread enough via use of offensive language and not been able to follow the simple instruction to be nicer to your fellow posters, please do not post in this thread again.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Letsdoit

We have our dog outside most of the time. He has shelter with straw for heat, food and water. He is walked every day which he loves and also a good run around a field. I don't see the need to spend every second with my dog. I noticed a few posters use the term ''Furbaby'' that's fine and everything each to their own call a spade a spade they are an animal and IMO should not be treated as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

My dog is an animal who's also a part of our family, he lives in our house, and he's tiny so he's allowed in our bed (although how he can make himself weigh three times his weight on my legs at night is a mystery).

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

Sometimes in the kitchen, mostly in the utility/garage at night. Banned from everywhere else in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Ziycon

When we first got our dog as a 6 week old puppy we let hear everywhere in the house and she slept in the bed with us, but as time went on we realised that it wasn't for us as the hair got everywhere and you never get the hair 100% out so a few times we just binned bed sheets, bed covers, pillow cases even some clothes. Since then she sleeps in the sitting room and has her own bed.

She also will spend hours on end out the back garden in all weather as she has a kennel and knows that she can come in any time she wants. She only comes up stairs in the mornings now as there is a baby gate on the stairs now.

I would have to say from experiencing all different view points I would be more on the side of the dog being inside as their part of the family but if they want to go out for x amount of hours in the rain/snow or whatever weather and have shelter to use then leave them to it, with that said it would be a bit cruel leaving them out in the garden if it was a small enclosed area where they can't run around and get a bit of exercise.

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Sorry, but I find that disgusting. IN YOUR BED!

To be frank, My dog is cleaner than most humans I come across daily.

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭bridgettedon

Chijj wrote: »

Maybe you need to change the people you come in contact with.

Letsdoit wrote: »
    I noticed a few posters use the term ''Furbaby'' that's fine and everything each to their own call a spade a spade they are an animal and IMO should not be treated as a child.

I did read somewhere that dogs have similar emotional needs (or was it mental capacity? or both?) as a three year old child, so in this regard it is quite apt to treat them like a toddler. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

I did read somewhere that dogs have similar emotional needs (or was it mental capacity? or both?) as a three year old child, so in this regard it is quite apt to treat them like a toddler. :D

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Shermanator

I have a large GSD, got him as a rescue. He follows the Mrs upstairs during the day and has the run of downstairs all the time. He sheds all year round so downstairs gets a good hoover every morning. He cries if he is left at home so he goes on the school runs and down to the shops and pretty much everywhere else with us. He has a bed in the back of both cars.
    He knows when we are going out, he can sense it. He also knows when my son texts the mrs in the afternoon that she will be going out to collect him from the bus. Heads for the front door as soon as the phone goes.

Wouldn't have it any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

Sure, my dogs go to school (training), have toys, want to be cuddled, I have to bathe them and brush them, they have playdates, I have to prepare their meals because they can't be trusted trying to do that themselves. They fart, whine, argue, cry, get snotty, get extra cute, take lots of naps...

...they basically are kids lol.

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

Chijj wrote: »

I don't know anybody that lick their genitals to clean them.

Ziycon wrote: »
    When we first got our dog as a 6 week old puppy we let hear everywhere in the house and she slept in the bed with us, but as time went on we realised that it wasn't for us as the hair got everywhere and you never get the hair 100% out so a few times we just binned bed sheets, bed covers, pillow cases even some clothes. Since then she sleeps in the sitting room and has her own bed.

She also will spend hours on end out the back garden in all weather as she has a kennel and knows that she can come in any time she wants. She only comes up stairs in the mornings now as there is a baby gate on the stairs now.

I would have to say from experiencing all different view points I would be more on the side of the dog being inside as their part of the family but if they want to go out for x amount of hours in the rain/snow or whatever weather and have shelter to use then leave them to it, with that said it would be a bit cruel leaving them out in the garden if it was a small enclosed area where they can't run around and get a bit of exercise.

Oh yeah, I get that, my dog doesn't shed, so no hair problems thankfully. It also means he has to be groomed regularly, and I bathe him as a top up when needed. But he does smell a bit too doggy at times when he's been out in the rain, despite baths. I couldn't possibly keep him off the bed now he's been used to it though.

I've a cat (indoor/outdoor) too, kids, and have no worries about hygiene. Bit of dirt and dust is good imo.
    We're no more sick than another family.

JaCrispy wrote: »

I know plenty of fellas who wish they could :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

The dogs are in the house when I'm there...when I go to bed or there's no-one at home they're in the garage. They're not 'allowed' upstairs but will rarely venture up anyway unless there's someone there. They know the drill and seem happy enough except when I tell them to leave their cushions beside the fire at night and go out to the garage.

JaCrispy wrote: »

Do you have kids ? These pretty little hands are more likely to contaminate more surfaces and people than a dog's tongue imo.

Let's put it this way : I think it more likely that kids would spread a stomach bug in a family than a dog. Or cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,488 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I may have mentioned this before, but a TV program I saw once did some research into bacteria levels in people's dishcloths, and for balance also did the same test for the inside of a dog's mouth. No prizes for guessing which one came out the cleanest!

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Letsdoit

VonVix wrote: »
    Sure, my dogs go to school (training), have toys, want to be cuddled, I have to bathe them and brush them, they have playdates, I have to prepare their meals because they can't be trusted trying to do that themselves. They fart, whine, argue, cry, get snotty, get extra cute, take lots of naps...

...they basically are kids lol.

Except they lick everything poo pee what ever suits. The say hello by sniffing other dogs behinds.

By your thinking you must put a nappy on your dog and wipe its behind?

If the unfortunate circumstance where a dog did bite someone. Would it be treated the same as a toddler?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

I inherited a yorkshire terrier a while back. He is ten years old and spent most of his life as an indoor dog. However due to circumstances he had to spend the summer outside (in an open kennel) and he totally took to it. We have a good size garden for him to roam in and I think being out at night opened up a whole new world for him. Now that the weather is getting colder he is becoming an indoor dog again and has his bed by the fire. He still looks to go out at bedtime, though I'm sure that will change when it gets colder. Thing is that although he was house trained, he has marked his territory in the hallway (for some reason?) a couple of times. I'm not sure what to do about this as I haven't caught him in the act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

We had a terror, sorry terrier years ago (he's long gone to meet his maker) and he decided when we wanted to go out. Generally he "officially" slept in the kitchen, but he usually ended up down on someone's bed at night. He's bed in the kitchen was his "day bed" but he could be found on the couch (he had "his" corner and he would shove you off if you sat there). He knew he wasn't allowed into the proper sitting room but he tried to sneak in when he could. He was too smart for his own good at times!

If he wanted to go out, he let you know and when he wanted to come in he also let you know. Generally, he came and went when he wanted as the back door was always open. He would sleep outside once or twice a year.

As an aside, he was often called the gaffer. If you were doing any job, he came, shoved his nose into what we were doing, made loads of noice, got in the way and fecked off after making the job harder. The perfect gaffer

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Teraman182

I own a St. Bernard and a Lab/Collie cross. I have allowed them into the house at times, but each time I do they itch to get back out, sometimes just sitting at the back door waiting for me to open it. I would love them in the house with me but they really don't want to be. I have built them a concrete, raised kennel out the back and If I'm being honest I sometimes envy them getting to sleep in something so comfortable!

The only times I take them in now is during Halloween or if there is thunder, the sounds scare them so they are glad to stay in with me on those nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

My dogs stay downstairs. We have wooden floors and leather chairs so they are easy to clean and it feels sometimes like I am always cleaning them. My dogs are real outdoors dogs and they come home covered in crap. They are way messier than my children ever were. I have a complete ban on them in bedrooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Knine

Do you have kids ? These pretty little hands are more likely to contaminate more surfaces and people than a dog's tongue imo.

Let's put it this way : I think it more likely that kids would spread a stomach bug in a family than a dog. Or cat.

I have kids. I would definitely agree with this.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Well speaking of smells, I just went in for a shower and came out to find my living room saturated in the smell of menthol.....the cocker spaniel had rooted out the packet of Halls Extra Strong lozenges in my handbag and consumed all of them. I am annoyed for 2 reasons - firstly they were my last pack and I need those to breathe! Also, they're probably going to have 'adverse' effects which will make poop scooping tonight a very unpleasant experience. So yes, my apartment now does smell as a result of the dogs, just doesn't stink of dog.

Except they lick everything poo pee what ever suits. The say hello by sniffing other dogs behinds.

If the unfortunate circumstance where a dog did bite someone. Would it be treated the same as a toddler?

I think it's something people say but they don't really mean it. I would assume.

Comparing animals to people doesn't fit.

Well, except that one time when Nanny was very sick and old and we put her to sleep, for her own comfort of course :p

My niece used to live with me. She had to be toilet trained. The bed wetting went on for years. Both my dogs were completely house trained in three weeks with one accident from the terrier (the same day she was spayed). My dogs don't drool, they don't chew anything they shouldn't, they don't break things, spill things, they don't go around licking everything either. I don't have kids, I have dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

My 2 are complete house dogs! The 13 year old staffs mix sleeps upstairs in my mams room - used to sleep in my bed but her hips are too sore for jumping up and down. And the 4 year old Labrador is meant to sleep on the couch downstairs but he likes to creep upstairs to check to make sure everyone is ok, he tends to sleep on my doorway facing out to the landing. He can open doors so will sometimes open the door for pets and then he'll go back to the landing to sleep. He's 4 and a beast.

Hair everywhere of course but sure that's what a Hoover is for!

If the unfortunate circumstance where a dog did bite someone. Would it be treated the same as a toddler?[/QUOTE]

What does that even mean???

If my dog was ever to bite somebody I would know that it was there own fault....

She would not though because she is never unsupervised around strangers.

What does that even mean???

If my dog was ever to bite somebody I would know that it was there own fault....

She would not though because she is never unsupervised around strangers.

That a toddler wouldn't be put down if it attacked someone, I would suspect is what was meant.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Vancity

Yes of course she is allowed into the house - it's her house too :) I'm with those who can't understand why people get a dog only to leave it outside and never interact with it apart from one walk a day.

I also feel terribly sorry for dogs who are initially given too much freedom as puppies (sleeping in the bed, access all areas of the house etc) and then when they cause damage or get too big they get relegated outside or to a utility room. It's not fair. It should be the other way around - when our dog was a puppy she was crate trained and she learned to play in her puppy playpen with her own toys rather than our possessions and then as she got older she gradually got more freedom to the point where she now has full run of the house.

The hygiene issue is a non issue - there is lots of research to show that children who grow up with dogs are healthier and less susceptible to allergies.

Disclaimer: I am the kind of person who leaves the tv on for my dog when she's in the house alone and I pick doggy appropriate channels. I also had a birthday party for her first birthday with her friends over and doggy cake complete with candles... so leaving a dog outside would be completely alien to me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,542 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Vancity wrote: »
    Disclaimer: I am the kind of person who leaves the tv on for my dog when she's in the house alone and I pick doggy appropriate channels.

I've been known to nonchalantly ask my dog what she's watching on TV when I walk into rooms where she's relaxing when the TV is on blissfully forgetting that I'll never get a response..... Oh dear.

Lol what you wrote is awfully dramatic, don't you think?

I'll have you know my shepherd won't touch his tennis ball if it rolls in poo, he looks at it with an extremely horrified expression and a "would you please fix this?" look towards me. :D

Haha mine is the same. She also won't sit on the couch if the blanket covering it is creased and she won't sit in her bed if her blanket is dirty ... she throws it out in disgust!!!

My little one is the same, and heaven forbid he should get his paws muddy, I'll be in the bad books for the rest of the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Without a doubt children are smellier, messier and more germ-ridden than dogs.

At least a dog will actively avoid standing in it's own crap :(

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Vancity

My little one is the same, and heaven forbid he should get his paws muddy, I'll be in the bad books for the rest of the night!

Mine detests the rain... we walk out, she sees it's raining and she presses herself against the buildings on the street so that she can stay dry. She also avoids puddles by delicately picking her way around then while I'm getting soaked :D

seamus wrote: »
    Without a doubt children are smellier, messier and more germ-ridden than dogs.

At least a dog will actively avoid standing in it's own crap :(

All the while a baby will have NO problem sitting in it! Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 CarolynSmith

If my dog is outside for too long she wants to come in for food/company/warmth etc and barks to let us know. The dog is part of the pack/family. I can't imagine the point of owning a dog if it was left outside.

Vancity wrote: »
    Mine detests the rain... we walk out, she sees it's raining and she presses herself against the buildings on the street so that she can stay dry. She also avoids puddles by delicately picking her way around then while I'm getting soaked :D

Yes mines like that too lol our red setter starts sneezing if she sees it's raining and time for walkies!
    But the minute they get outside they look for sympathy from everyone, even though the terrier will have hunted the leads out the drawer!
    Then the second they are in they bring the towel, sit in front the fire and give dirty looks over the shoulder for half hour or so, then decide ah I'm warm enough and missing my snuggles!

Mine will leave it till he's fit to burst if it's raining a bit too densely outside. I'd be standing at the door : " Gowon, gowan, to the toilet..." while he looks at me like : "are you f***ing kidding me ?".

He hates being wet, and loves the towel. If I don't use the towel he rubs himself dry all over the sofa ! :eek: :)