Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you to find your own substitute cover?

Options
  • 22-11-2015 11:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8

Hi Teachers,
    I'm a primary teacher with 15+ years experience of teaching in Dublin and down the country and always enjoyed my job.
    After a few years out of the system, I recently got myself a permanent job (yay) in a school with a very "demanding" principal. It is a small school and the rest of the staff are lovely if quite young compared to me. They nearly all are past pupils of the school, and were taught by the principal, and are a bit scared of her to be honest.
    Anyways, she casually threw out a comment at the last staff meeting that she is going to delegate the finding of substitute teachers to us. Meaning that if we are going to be off, we have to organise our own substitute as cover.
    I immediately found this strange as I'd never heard of it in all my years teaching and honestly thought it was part of the principal's job description. I said so to the other teachers but they didn't want to rock the boat with the principal.
    I just feel that in a time of crisis, e.g. sickness or death in the family, asking us to go ringing around trying to find a sub is a bit much.
    Is this something I missed out on? Does this happen elsewhere?
    Thanks for any comments.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

No, it certainly does not. She is obviously being lazy. Finding cover is part of her job and nothing to do with you. Tell her n the nicest way possible to get lost and do it herself, she is getting paid to do it after all !!