Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

If everyone stops replying, he'll go away eventually.
    Comer beat Danesfort by 9 points

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Motivator wrote: »
    Kilkenny are finished lads, deal with it.

Beaten by a piss poor Wexford team and then humiliated by Waterford.

You know things are bad for Kilkenny when all of Waterford are laughing at you!

Kilkenny
    1904, 1905, 1907, 1909, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1922, 1932, 1933, 1935, 1939, 1947, 1957, 1963, 1967, 1969, 1972, 1974, 1975, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1992, 1993, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015
    1893, 1895, 1897, 1898, 1916, 1926, 1931, 1936, 1937, 1940, 1945, 1946, 1950, 1959, 1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1978, 1987, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2004, 2010, 2016
    Cork
    1890, 1892, 1893, 1894, 1902, 1903, 1919, 1926, 1928, 1929, 1931, 1941, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1946, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1966, 1970, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1999, 2004, 2005
    1901, 1904, 1905, 1907, 1912, 1915, 1920, 1927, 1939, 1947, 1956, 1969, 1972, 1982, 1983, 1992, 2003, 2006, 2013
    Tipperary
    1887, 1895, 1896, 1898, 1899, 1900, 1906, 1908, 1916, 1925, 1930, 1937, 1945, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1958, 1961, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1971, 1989, 1991, 2001, 2010, 2016
    1909, 1911, 1913, 1917, 1922, 1960, 1967, 1968, 1988, 1997, 2009, 2011, 2014
    Limerick
    1897, 1918, 1921, 1934, 1936, 1940, 1973
    1910, 1923, 1933, 1935, 1974, 1980, 1994, 1996, 2007
    Dublin
    1889, 1917, 1920, 1924, 1927, 1938
    1892, 1894, 1896, 1906, 1908, 1919, 1921, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1942, 1944, 1948, 1952, 1961
    Wexford
    1910, 1955, 1956, 1960, 1968, 1996
    1890, 1891, 1899, 1918, 1951, 1954, 1962, 1965, 1970, 1976, 1977
    Galway
    1923, 1980, 1987, 1988, 2017
    1887, 1924, 1925, 1928, 1929, 1953, 1955, 1958, 1975, 1979, 1981, 1985, 1986, 1990, 1993, 2001, 2005, 2012, 2015
    Offaly
    1981, 1985, 1994, 1998
    1984, 1995, 2000
    Clare
    1914, 1995, 1997, 2013
    1889, 1932, 2002
    Waterford
    1948, 1959
    1938, 1957, 1963, 2008, 2017
    London
    1900, 1902, 1903
    Laois
    1914, 1949
    Kerry

Antrim

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Comer comfortable enough over danesfort,the usual suspects hurled well fogarty and delaney both hurled well,richie got a few points but comers defence will cause most team trouble.
    Vegas had an impressive win over the bridge who were disappointing and now find themselves in a tricky situation,jason cleere also getting a straight red to add to their misery.
    Vegas looked fit and strong and will be tricky opposition,mick malone and will dywer ran the show from mf while john walsh very dangerous getting about 5 points from play

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Agree with the above, vat looked ok. Very tricky conditions but disappointed with performance of some of bridges big players. Will hard to get up for a relegation final after today.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭minty81

Is it senior or intermediate games on next weekend 23rd/24th?

minty81 wrote: »
    Is it senior or intermediate games on next weekend 23rd/24th?

Think intermediate,then senior the following weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭droppingball

The intermediate league final was a ding dong battle with Thomastown just edging a tight match that went to extra time. Robbie Donnelly and Barry Whelan excellent for Thomastown while both of the Tommy Walsh's were the best for Tullaroan. Padraig Walsh really struggled in the forwards and got on very little ball. Great to see Tommy Walsh flying into challenges, and fighting for every ball with all his might, how we could do with a 21 year old Tommy for kilkenny all over again.

Intermediate wide open this year, although ballyragget were supposed to be very good today. Lisdowney and tullagher draw will delay part of the draw.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭blackcard

brookville wrote: »
    Comer comfortable enough over danesfort,the usual suspects hurled well fogarty and delaney both hurled well,richie got a few points but comers defence will cause most team trouble.
    Vegas had an impressive win over the bridge who were disappointing and now find themselves in a tricky situation,jason cleere also getting a straight red to add to their misery.
    Vegas looked fit and strong and will be tricky opposition,mick malone and will dywer ran the show from mf while john walsh very dangerous getting about 5 points from play
    Agree with this. Comer far too strong for Danesfort who looked like they were happy to survive at senior level. Vat dominated the Bridge who were poor apart from Lennon. Saw the Cleere incident, seemed extremely harsh

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭minty81

Strike of the hurl off the ball, cleere had to go

Poor enough affair in thomastown.ballyhale always looked in control against a dissapointing rower side,mick fennelly played most of them game at 14,he came out to mf near the end.colin caused problems with his direct running,richie reid also hit a lot of ball at 6 while joey done well at 3.
    The shamrocks will be delighted to get a game into mick while adrian mullen only came on very late while darren mullen didn't play,henry not togged I think they'll be the team to beat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭montec

Good win for Mooncoin today:
    Mooncoin 3:16, Dunnamaggin 0:15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

The Village hammered Muckalee in the end. The fact that Martins led by 2-09 to 0-10 at one stage yet wound up losing 2-22 to 2-10 pretty much sums up the city side's dominance from the 40th minute on.

Two nicely taken Eoin Larkin goals (who improved when moved to full forward) and an array of nice points from all over the field saw the Village comfortable winners. Mikey Drennan and Niall Mullins in patches hurled very well for the winners.

Muckalee were very poor. Both their goals (one before half time and one just after) were of the soft variety and it's hard to see them beating the Bridge on this form. John Maher showed some nice touches in the first half.

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/hurling-news/kilkennys-former-captain-eddie-oconnor-11182399.amp

What are supporters thoughts on this?I agree with some of this I was in favour of dj getting involved because his after having success with carlow and his only one of a few local coaches in the county.
    Hopefully the minors or 21s snap him up before he goes to another county

BoroMan32 wrote: »
    The Village hammered Muckalee in the end. The fact that Martins led by 2-09 to 0-10 at one stage yet wound up losing 2-22 to 2-10 pretty much sums up the city side's dominance from the 40th minute on.

Two nicely taken Eoin Larkin goals (who improved when moved to full forward) and an array of nice points from all over the field saw the Village comfortable winners. Mikey Drennan and Niall Mullins in patches hurled very well for the winners.

Muckalee were very poor. Both their goals (one before half time and one just after) were of the soft variety and it's hard to see them beating the Bridge on this form. John Maher showed some nice touches in the first half.
    Bridge were poor too yesterday and I presume Jason Cleere will be suspended or does a relegation match count as a championship match? I think Martin's are better battlers

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Topcat32

BoroMan32 wrote: »

Mikey Drennan is doing well for somebody who didnt play hurling for 4 or 5 years. I believe he was the best hurler of his age group at under 14 level in Kilkenny even if that isnt turning out to be a major achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

Motivator wrote: »
    You're obviously still bitter after Waterford embarrassed Kilkenny down in Thurles.

Another reason I'm surprised Cody stayed on is that he might have to hide behind the linesman again the next time they meet Waterford. Hiding, mouthing and then cowardly pushing a poor linesman when McGrath stood up to him on the line. Cody was terrified of Derek and Dan.

Hope you boys weren't too bored for the summer after we made a show of ye in early July ��

Jealous of a crowd of upstarts like yee, yeh right haha, going around kissing yer jerseys like clowns and ye winning nothing. Yere the laughing stock if ya ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/hurling-news/kilkennys-former-captain-eddie-oconnor-11182399.amp

What are supporters thoughts on this?I agree with some of this I was in favour of dj getting involved because his after having success with carlow and his only one of a few local coaches in the county.
    Hopefully the minors or 21s snap him up before he goes to another county

I'd be in favour of getting DJ in someway involved in the county setup.

Cody moving upstairs to be county chairman... not too sure about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭northern lad

I'd be in favour of getting DJ in someway involved in the county setup.

Cody moving upstairs to be county chairman... not too sure about that.

DJ was coach to the U-14 Tony Forristal team in 2017. Lost to Laois. not saying thats his fault by any means but not sure that ex players should be just parachuted into managerial/ coaching/ selector positions with county teams without learning their new trade. In fairness to DJ he is currently doing that but the experience required to be on the sideline isnt learned in a short space of time as others are finding out. Co. Board need to be intelligent, not wide eyed in making appointments

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

DJ was coach to the U-14 Tony Forristal team in 2017. Lost to Laois. not saying thats his fault by any means but not sure that ex players should be just parachuted into managerial/ coaching/ selector positions with county teams without learning their new trade. In fairness to DJ he is currently doing that but the experience required to be on the sideline isnt learned in a short space of time as others are finding out. Co. Board need to be intelligent, not wide eyed in making appointments

In fairness to DJ, he's doing exceptional work with Carlow IT.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭northern lad

Faugheen wrote: »
    In fairness to DJ, he's doing exceptional work with Carlow IT.

Agree that he is....With the experience of Mick Dempsey to guide and help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Carrickshock v James Stephens
    OLG v Erin's Own
    Clara v Shamrocks
    Boro v Mullinavat

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭sunflower3

Thanks for the draw details. Any idea if there is another draw for the semi finals or if they go in that order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

sunflower3 wrote: »
    Thanks for the draw details. Any idea if there is another draw for the semi finals or if they go in that order?

There'll be another draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Village87

Village hosting Tullaroan and Gowran Saturday evening in the Intermediate Quater Final, Tullaroan should be able to get through.

Lisdowney playing Tullogher on the Sunday in the 1st round replay.

2 Quarter finals on Saturday it will be strange having teams in the semi final and still a first round to play the following day. Fixture should be played before the QF take place

Village87 wrote: »
    Village hosting Tullaroan and Gowran Saturday evening in the Intermediate Quater Final, Tullaroan should be able to get through.

Lisdowney playing Tullogher on the Sunday in the 1st round replay.

2 Quarter finals on Saturday it will be strange having teams in the semi final and still a first round to play the following day. Fixture should be played before the QF take place

Thomastown v tullaroan went to extra time last weekend surely this could of being played in the lisdowney match.
    Young Irelands are going well this year and should give tullaroan a good match,I expected tullaroan to win this grade but it's really wide open.
    Some tasty matches in the senior clara and the shamrocks probably the pick of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

The full draw :

St Canices Credit Union SHC

Carrickshock v James Stephens

O'Loughlin Gaels v Erins Own

Clara v Ballyhale

Dicksboro v Mullinavat

Michael Lyng Motors IHC

Thomastown v Graigue Ballycallan

Glenmore v Mooncoin

St Patricks v Lisdowney/Tullogher Rosbercon

Tullaroan v Young Irelands

J J Kavanagh & Sons JHC

John Lockes v Galmoy

Piltown v Blacks & Whites

Emeralds v Slieverue

Section B Final: Clara v O'Loughlin Gaels

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Carrickshock v James Stephens - Carrickshock by 5

O'Loughlin Gaels v Erins Own - think this will be tight, O'Loughlins by 2

Clara v Ballyhale - Ballyhale by 3

Dicksboro v Mullinavat - I think Mullinavat could be the dark horses for the championship but the smart money is on Dicksboro but by the puck of a ball

Michael Lyng Motors IHC

Thomastown v Graigue Ballycallan - Thomastown are getting stronger and expect them to win by 5

Glenmore v Mooncoin - Glenmore by 4

St Patricks v Lisdowney/Tullogher Rosbercon - Tullogher have it in them to challenge at this grade but only if they step it up, by 3 this weekend and a flip of a coin between themselves and Ballyragget but I'll go with Tullogher by 1.

Tullaroan v Young Irelands - Gowran are an upcoming team but too young to beat the championship favourites this year, Tullaroan by 3.

J J Kavanagh & Sons JHC

John Lockes v Galmoy - Callan by 2

Piltown v Blacks & Whites - Piltown by 1

Emeralds v Slieverue - Urlingford by 5

Section B Final: Clara v O'Loughlin Gaels - O'Loughlins by 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Anyone know what the craic is with the U14 B championship after John Powers antics last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

Anyone know what the craic is with the U14 B championship after John Powers antics last week?

What did he do?

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭suirway

FCIM wrote: »

Carrickshock v James Stephens - Carrickshock by 5

O'Loughlin Gaels v Erins Own - think this will be tight, O'Loughlins by 2

Clara v Ballyhale - Ballyhale by 3

Dicksboro v Mullinavat - I think Mullinavat could be the dark horses for the championship but the smart money is on Dicksboro but by the puck of a ball

Michael Lyng Motors IHC

Thomastown v Graigue Ballycallan - Thomastown are getting stronger and expect them to win by 5

Glenmore v Mooncoin - Glenmore by 4

St Patricks v Lisdowney/Tullogher Rosbercon - Tullogher have it in them to challenge at this grade but only if they step it up, by 3 this weekend and a flip of a coin between themselves and Ballyragget but I'll go with Tullogher by 1.

Tullaroan v Young Irelands - Gowran are an upcoming team but too young to beat the championship favourites this year, Tullaroan by 3.

J J Kavanagh & Sons JHC

John Lockes v Galmoy - Callan by 2

Piltown v Blacks & Whites - Piltown by 1

Emeralds v Slieverue - Urlingford by 5

Section B Final: Clara v O'Loughlin Gaels - O'Loughlins by 2

Carrickshock, Boro, OLouglins, Shamrocks for semi finals in Senior.

Based on what have seen Ballyragget strong favourites for intermediate.

Emeralds for junior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

What did he do?

wouldn't leave the pitch so ref abandoned the game before half time. It was a replay between Callan and Freshford. No sign of a rescheduling on the website yet

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭kilkennyboy

3rd strike
    their was a problem at the feile in wexford
    problem in hugginstown v shamrock
    if he wasn't an ex player he wouldn't be left in the gate

All-Star nominations have been announced.
    http://www.the42.ie/galway-waterford-all-star-hurling-nominations-3605729-Sep2017/

Cillian Buckley and TJ Reid are shortlisted.
    I wasn't expecting us to get any nominations to be honest!

Both Paul Murphy & Colin Fennelly will miss the 2018 NHL due to army duty according to the Kilkenny People

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/sport/271478/kilkenny-will-be-without-murphy-and-fennelly-for-nhl-2018.html

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Garyp88

I think dicksboro for the seniors and young irelands for the intermediate both have good young teams. Is anyone on here a member of dicksboro im looking at joining ive sent a few emails and messages but no reply. Do i have to fill any forms in or just join online?

Garyp88 wrote: »
    I think dicksboro for the seniors and young irelands for the intermediate both have good young teams. Is anyone on here a member of dicksboro im looking at joining ive sent a few emails and messages but no reply. Do i have to fill any forms in or just join online?

A few people tipping the boro this year and you'd expect with all their underage success they should be more successful at senior level but they seem to struggle to get over the line,maybe this is the year they remind me of galway,it's very hard to trust them.If vegas played like they did last saturday I'd give them a good chance against the boro.
    For the first time in a long time teams fancy their chances at winning the championship,shamrocks/o loughlins probably favorites but the shocks are motoring well and are continuing last year's run they could sneak into a final,I'd tip mulinavat as my darkhorse
    Intermediate as always is very open and very little could be read into last weekends leauge/shield finals at senior and intermediate most teams shadow boxing or resting players

Thomastown/tullaron/ballyragget/glenmore and young irelands all evenly matched tullaron v young irelands saturday should be a good match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Ah I'd make sure and contact someone before joining anyway, bad form that they aren't replying to you, I'm sure they'd have no problem processing the membership fee.

Website is in dire need of being upgraded, looks like it was designed on geocities.

We just want to pop over for some games, support a club, a few beers etc. I sent them tweets, facebook messages and emails the next stop is phoning. I thought theyd be happy people are willing to pay up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Tweet them that you're interested in sponsoring them, guarantee someone will be on to you quick sharp. Besides that, as a supporter of the club I have to say I'm disappointed but not exactly shocked. Fierce shortsighted. If you want to join a Junior club in Dublin realtdearg.com has plenty of contact details and I can be sure someone will appreciate and respond to anyone wanting to become a member!

The registrar from the camogie has stepped in and offered to help. She seams decent, welcoming and very helpful so hopefully things will be moving

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

I think Gowran are too young and haven't got the maturity yet that would win them a championship. I've seen them in a few matches this year and they tend to play very well for a period and then go missing for about twenty minutes before coming back into it. They were horrendous against Thomastown and by all account bad against Ballyragget which are the two contenders they've played. They have a great young team coming through though and a year or two should see them up to senior.

citykat wrote: »

Easy for us to be critical after matches I think his a good on the sunday game maybe not as good coaching which is often the case.It was widely known this year's team was as good as we had in a long time and despite getting to the final the fact of the mattress is we didn't preform that day and could of being bet out the gate.
    From the outside I was disappointed kevin farrell couldn't make the 24 the first day or andy gaffney but this didn't make us lose the final of course but I think now it's vital we select a proven manager with a good backroom team
    Next year's team got to a minor semi beaten after a replay to galway (should of won twice) while lads like mikey carey and adrian mullen both look very good we wot be too bad
    Anyway thanks to eddie and co for their time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

Easy for us to be critical after matches I think his a good on the sunday game maybe not as good coaching which is often the case.It was widely known this year's team was as good as we had in a long time and despite getting to the final the fact of the mattress is we didn't preform that day and could of being bet out the gate.
    From the outside I was disappointed kevin farrell couldn't make the 24 the first day or andy gaffney but this didn't make us lose the final of course but I think now it's vital we select a proven manager with a good backroom team
    Next year's team got to a minor semi beaten after a replay to galway (should of won twice) while lads like mikey carey and adrian mullen both look very good we wot be too bad
    Anyway thanks to eddie and co for their time

Just a point should no one else get a look in apart from that team

Tullaroan beat Gowran by 5 points helped by 1-16 from Shane, Padraig and Tommy Walsh and 3 goals against a very strong wind. Gowran battled hard with 12 points from Paul Holden and a goal from Sean Carey reduced the deficit to 3 points in the last ten minutes. Padraig Walsh had a number of good catches and has to be amongst the best 6 forwards in the county. I thought he was the best forward in last years club championship.

blackcard wrote: »
    Tullaroan beat Gowran by 5 points helped by 1-16 from Shane, Padraig and Tommy Walsh and 3 goals against a very strong wind. Gowran battled hard with 12 points from Paul Holden and a goal from Sean Carey reduced the deficit to 3 points in the last ten minutes. Padraig Walsh had a number of good catches and has to be amongst the best 6 forwards in the county. I thought he was the best forward in last years club championship.

Padraig hurled well and like tommy he drove a few wides he'll be disappointed with.Shane was very effective early on while martin grew into the game at 6.Gowran fought hard but missing a few players to win it out.tullaroan will have to tidy up on fouling if they want to win this championship they gave away a lot of frees.Paul holden is decent but probably lacks pace for senior.
    The problem with having padraig in attack for us is we need him in defence and I think he'll have to go back to half back line
    Well done to slieverue today great win for them over emeralds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭davidx40

The Favourites for the junior Emeralds beaten today ....surprising

blackcard wrote: »

Padraig hurled well and like tommy he drove a few wides he'll be disappointed with.Shane was very effective early on while martin grew into the game at 6.Gowran fought hard but missing a few players to win it out.tullaroan will have to tidy up on fouling if they want to win this championship they gave away a lot of frees.Paul holden is decent but probably lacks pace for senior.
    The problem with having padraig in attack for us is we need him in defence and I think he'll have to go back to half back line
    Well done to slieverue today great win for them over emeralds
    I am a believer in playing the best players in their best positions. I think Padraig's best position is rhb. However, because we are struggling in the forwards I would be tempted to play Padraig there with a hb line of Cleere, Buckley, Lawlor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭dobbs2210

davidx40 wrote: »
    The Favourites for the junior Emeralds beaten today ....surprising

They were favourites last year and got dumped on their a*se in the first round. Favourites again this year even though Callan hurled the crap out of them recently in the league final and get dumped out today by Slieverue. Shocking poor side they are.

Maybe it's time Emeralds should not be favourites. Average team at best. Callan will take stopping if they keep the focus right.