Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Has the phrase "Might as well be hung for a lamb as a sheep" never made it down to Kilkenny?

If you're gonna get kicked out of the champo for cavorting with strippers, you might as well hire ones that aren't bet ugly

Bambi wrote: »
    Has the phrase "Might as well be hung for a lamb as a sheep" never made it down to Kilkenny?

If you're gonna get kicked out of the champo for cavorting with strippers, you might as well hire ones that aren't bet ugly

Yeah fair to say they done it on a bit of a budget here. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

Won't be hard to find out who shared the whatsapp chat screenshots anyway. Eejit has his network showing as in Dubai, so process of elimination will weed him out.....

Some of the snapchats had people's full names as their username, another had their surname. Easy enough to figure out who was sending them

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

My point exactly.

Well there’s a lot of Irish people in Dubai.
    Not in that whats app group though...
    shmeee wrote: »
    Not a lot of people in Dubai in the Bally Boys Abu WhatsApp group though, is there?

Simple track down who.

Was it someone within the panel who leaked it to someone in Dubai who then leaked it to everyone?

David Simon could be looking for a couple of extras for Season 2 of the Deuce if they are interested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

I'd say there was a limited enough selection of hookers who do outcalls to ballyragget of a week night to be fair. It was probably them or throw some lipstick on the local livestock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

FCIM wrote: »
    The real scandal is the season ticket prices and how the GAA keeps bleeding its fans. I can't see how you can benefit from having a season ticket now. I went to all Kilkenny matches last year and only saved a tenner on the base price of the season ticket. Now, not only has it subsumed the tenner saved, its a tenner more expensive and they seem to have removed the first championship match included in the season ticket from the deal. This thing about reductions in price for all pool matches is horsesh*t as the reductions were part of the deal anyway for championship games.

I'm not debating whether or not the Season Ticket is a rip-off, but a ticket to the first championship match is still included in the deal.

http://www.gaa.ie/tickets/gaa-season-ticket/

DM2av8_WkAYALJG.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Was it someone within the panel who leaked it to someone in Dubai who then leaked it to everyone?

David Simon could be looking for a couple of extras for Season 2 of the Deuce if they are interested :)

The screenshot of the whatsapp had a Dubai phone network icon in the top corner of the screen. So it would appear that someone in the group who is currently in Dubai leaked the conversation

I'm not debating whether or not the Season Ticket is a rip-off, but a ticket to the first championship match is still included in the deal.

http://www.gaa.ie/tickets/gaa-season-ticket/

DM2av8_WkAYALJG.jpg

I saw that, the way it was written though on the 2018 card introduction looked otherwise.

In my opinion they've wrecked a decent product by being too greedy.
    ceegee wrote: »
    I'd say there was a limited enough selection of hookers who do outcalls to ballyragget of a week night to be fair. It was probably them or throw some lipstick on the local livestock

Given the choice between what they paid for and the cattle at Glanbia, I'd have been patriotic to my county and gone with the Avonmore babes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

blue note wrote: »
    You'd have to have sympathy for them.
    brookville wrote: »
    it goes on at every stag every weekend I don't see it as the biggest deal in the world to be honest
    minty81 wrote: »
    Bita craic, no one hurt etc
    sc86 wrote: »
    very harsh on the players not involved
    FCIM wrote: »
    The Ballyragget thing? Meh.

Are we all just choosing to ignore the fact that what is in those videos is illegal?

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

danganabu wrote: »
    Are we all just choosing to ignore the fact that what is in those videos is illegal?

What was illegal?

Bestiality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Maybe it was just intermediate strippers for an intermediate cup

Though them two look more Junior B than anything

It is illegal yes but to be honest, like the so called 'war on drugs' it just seems a pointless waste of police time all to keep a few prudes happy.

What was illegal?

Ah paying for sexual favours for a start.

Oh deary deary me.

The Ballyragget boys were charged for the time and companionship of the escorts. Anything else that occurs is a matter of coincidence and choice between consenting adults :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Maybe it was just intermediate strippers for an intermediate cup

Though them two look more Junior B than anything

You'd swear the bally boys were Adonis themselves by some of the comments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭randd1

There’s no actual proof that sexual favors were paid for.

It’s not illegal to hire a stripper, and it’s not illegal to engage in a sexual act in a private setting.

All anyone in this instance would have to say is that any sexual activity was purely for fun and not for money.

Have to laugh at the moralizing of some out there all the same, it seems in this country that we’re replacing the Catholic Church with the religion of being offended for the sake of being offended.

By the way, the strippers were for a 21st of a club member that was meant to be on Saturday night but was called off after Ballyragget won their SF against Tullaroan. They had it on an impromptu one on Tuesday for him as Ballyragget are due out in Leinster soon, and if they go further he would have to put it back until December depending on results. As for the cup, it was already in the pub since Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

randd1 wrote: »

It’s not illegal to hire a stripper, and it’s not illegal to engage in a sexual act in a private setting.

All anyone in this instance would have to say is that any sexual activity was purely for fun and not for money.

Have to laugh at the moralizing of some out there all the same, it seems in this country that we’re replacing the Catholic Church with the religion of being offended for the sake of being offended.

By the way, the strippers were for a 21st of a club member that was meant to be on Saturday night but was called off after Ballyragget won their SF against Tullaroan. They had it on an impromptu one on Tuesday for him as Ballyragget are due out in Leinster soon, and if they go further he would have to put it back until December depending on results. As for the cup, it was already in the pub since Sunday.

Bases well covered there :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,178 ✭✭✭✭josip

When I see that poster now all I can think is that "Adult Club+" includes strippers and blow jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

Is a pub a private setting.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭spindex

PeterCasey wrote: »

A pub is a Public house although this pub seems more like a pubic house !

spindex wrote: »
    A pub is a Public house although this pub seems more like a pubic house !
    Exactly it is a public house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Comerman

Bases well covered there

Wasn't that one comment on the snapchat yoke
    "tell everyone it was a 21st".

Big hoohaw over nothing really. I'd say plenty Kilkenny pubs have strippers at the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Comerman wrote: »

Big hoohaw over nothing really. I'd say plenty Kilkenny pubs have strippers at the weekends.

I've never in my life seen a lad get a blowjob in the middle of a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Comerman wrote: »
    Bases well covered there

Wasn't that one comment on the snapchat yoke
    "tell everyone it was a 21st".

Yeah I'm sure it's a regular thing in the pubs of ballyragget to have two women wandering around starkers offering their services!

That said, you're right really about this being blown out of proportion. The witch hunt that's going on right now is ridiculous all the same though. And I'm starting to regret my own post a few pages back in the AH thread. Not that I was wrong (I said they were eejits and giving fuel to the people looking for an excuse to get a hatchet into the gaa), but I don't want to be among the bollockses on the moral high ground condemning anything, and raining down fire and Puritan brimstone on people in the name of liberalism. Loves will be destroyed out of this for the sake of a few column inches of moral superiority that will be soon forgotten by those that write them. By all accounts the lad at the center of the whole thing, eejit that he was to do it, is suffering serious consequences already. Will those consequences be proportionate to his offense? Will they fcuk.

I dunno. It's a funny story but I've a bad feeling about how it will play out for the people involved. Hopefully I'm wrong and it's all just a story for sledging the eejits in matches in a months time. But I'm a firm believer that these viral internet disgrace stories leave a trail of destruction after we've all stopped caring about them that is way beyond what any individual involved in the witch Hunt might ever have intended.

A public house is a private setting, that's an interesting interpretation :D And if you think it wasn't paid for you are more naive than the fools with the phones, oh and sharing it on their phones is also illegal.

Perhaps so, but to be honest id rather our Gardai went after real criminals then waste a single second of time on this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Just because it's called a public House doesn't make it a public setting surely. It's just a name not a legal definition. A publican can't stop me walking down o Connell street and tell me to leave, or bar me, because it's a public setting. But he can stop me coming into his pub, because that's his private property. It's not public space just because it's name includes the word public.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

That said, you're right really about this being blown out of proportion. The witch hunt that's going on right now is ridiculous all the same though. And I'm starting to regret my own post a few pages back in the AH thread. Not that I was wrong (I said they were eejits and giving fuel to the people looking for an excuse to get a hatchet into the gaa), but I don't want to be among the bollockses on the moral high ground condemning anything, and raining down fire and Puritan brimstone on people in the name of liberalism. Loves will be destroyed out of this for the sake of a few column inches of moral superiority that will be soon forgotten by those that write them. By all accounts the lad at the center of the whole thing, eejit that he was to do it, is suffering serious consequences already. Will those consequences be proportionate to his offense? Will they fcuk.

I dunno. It's a funny story but I've a bad feeling about how it will play out for the people involved. Hopefully I'm wrong and it's all just a story for sledging the eejits in matches in a months time. But I'm a firm believer that these viral internet disgrace stories leave a trail of destruction after we've all stopped caring about them that is way beyond what any individual involved in the witch Hunt might ever have intended.
    +1 Time to move on from this story and stop feeding the rats in the media. There are brothels all over Ireland, in many rural towns and the Gardai turn a blind eye to them. If they now get involved in this case it will be a poor reflection on them as it would indicate they are being dictated to by the media (don't for a second try and persuade me that the Gardai really care about clamping down on "escort services" in this country).
    The real concern here should be for the young lad in the center of it all. As Realt said, this could haunt him for a long time and I hope he's able to cope with it and is getting help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Yeah I'm sure it's a regular thing in the pubs of ballyragget to have two women wandering around starkers offering their services!

Great choice of words :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    +1 Time to move on from this story and stop feeding the rats in the media. There are brothels all over Ireland, in many rural towns and the Gardai turn a blind eye to them. If they now get involved in this case it will be a poor reflection on them as it would indicate they are being dictated to by the media (don't for a second try and persuade me that the Gardai really care about clamping down on "escort services" in this country).
    The real concern here should be for the young lad in the center of it all. As Realt said, this could haunt him for a long time and I hope he's able to cope with it and is getting help.

Agreed. Bit of perspective needed really, if a lad drank 8 pints and went and drove home, he has done something worse than this guy has.

Hope next Sundays match will not hit the headlines like this did from Sean o Rourkes programme to late debate. To me a few people are wrong here the officers of the club which I think will get a slap on the hand , the publican for letting it go as far as it did a stripper happens every weekend at parties but obviously these girls were payed for extra services because they don't work for free the publican should have clearing this with who organsised the party because it puts his licence in danger when his licence is up for renewing. Hope it will stay fine overhead on Sunday we have a good match two teams coming from different angles one from relegation, the other is flying all year I have family in both camps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

why were the orfficers of the club wrong?

My "hoohaw" point was, what was a celebration by a GAA club has turned into a whole moral thing about prostitutes and a chap getting a bj.
    Is it a GAA or public decency thing? For me it was just young lads being lads and they made a Bollix of it (no pun intended) move along and get back to the two big games on Sunday please.
    Anyone know what's the story with the student tickets??

Perhaps so, but to be honest id rather our Gardai went after real criminals then waste a single second of time on this nonsense.

I absolutely 100% agree, but was slightly surprised at the almost complete dismissal of it as just tomfoolery. And I know its a cliche but in a club like Ballyragget these guys have just won a county title and are seen, rightly or wrongly, as role models to the youngsters in the parish.

I would be more annoyed, if I was associated with the club, over the absolute stupidity and naivety of those that recorded and shared it than any of the lads involved in the actual incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

I would be more annoyed, if I was associated with the club, over the absolute stupidity and naivety of those that recorded and shared it than any of the lads involved in the actual incident.

+1 I fully expect that is the sentiment amongst most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    +1 I fully expect that is the sentiment amongst most people.

Except all the Do-Gooders, and Butterflies, and the "have to be Offended" kind of people .....
    And Ruhama and now getting involved....

By jaysis this is some nightmare for St Pats, and for the the community...

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Good point. She probably just liked the taste of his knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Kieran Joyce has retired. Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Kieran Joyce has retired. Best of luck to him.

Also heard Jonjoe Farrell and Michael Walsh have decided not to go back when the training starts in a few weeks time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Also heard Jonjoe Farrell and Michael Walsh have decided not to go back when the training starts in a few weeks time.

Dissapointed to see him go but after seeing little summer game time this year it was hard to see him stay,in thought he got a raw deal this year but I'd be shocked if lads like pender stayed on,its time to rebuild.
    Joyce will best be remembered his performance against bonner in the 14 replay

[QUOTE=randd1;105093142

.[/QUOTE]

Who said business and pleasure can't mix.........according to one of the women on the front of a tabloid today "business" is up 70 per cent since this stuff was publicised?

Best of luck to Kieran Joyce in the future. He had some great days in the black & amber.

Hope next Sundays match will not hit the headlines like this did from Sean o Rourkes programme to late debate. To me a few people are wrong here the officers of the club which I think will get a slap on the hand , the publican for letting it go as far as it did a stripper happens every weekend at parties but obviously these girls were payed for extra services because they don't work for free the publican should have clearing this with who organsised the party because it puts his licence in danger when his licence is up for renewing.

Have to laugh at this argument.........essentially it is the fault of everyone (including the officers of the club who might have been sitting at home at the time....FFS!!!) except the people centrally involved who were the only people with a direct decision to make about being involved or those who put the video up on social media. You couldn't make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭randd1

No, but you can organize a private event in a pub in a room that’s closed to the rest of the establishment (if the pub allows it) that wouldn’t be open to the general public, essentially making it a private setting.

**** just gets better.
    http://kclr96fm.com/gardai-confirm-investigating-ballyragget-celebrations/
    Fifi or whatever her name was is an open prostitute so why aren't herself and her buddy investigated/arrested???