Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭randd1

danganabu wrote: »
    A public house is a private setting, that's an interesting interpretation :D And if you think it wasn't paid for you are more naive than the fools with the phones, oh and sharing it on their phones is also illegal.

If you pay for a private room in an establishment, it’s a private setting. It’s one of the reasons why hotels can throw people out of a wedding reception when they shouldn’t be there. There’s actually laws around it. Hell, with some some pubs and clubs you can actually have them close for a few hours for private parties.

And I never said that the sexual favours weren’t paid for, a blind man could see that they were, I said it would be impossibly to prove as all anyone would have to say is that the sexy stuff (which isn’t illegal) happened after the stripping (which also isn’t illegal) was done.

Unless they’re physically caught handing the money for sexual favours and then caught in the act, there’s nothing anyone can do under the law.

Powerhouse wrote: »
    Good point. She probably just liked the taste of his knob.

I can’t speak for her tastes, but like most people it’s pretty obvious to me that sexual favours were paid for.

Proving that money changed hands for them is another matter entirely, no matter how obvious it is.

And you never know, maybe she did just like the taste of his knob and this is a case of lust at first sight.

Who said business and pleasure can't mix.........according to one of the women on the front of a tabloid today "business" is up 70 per cent since this stuff was publicised?

Didn’t think Ballyragget was that big a place to be honest. Must be all the stag do’s down for the weekend :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Good point. She probably just liked the taste of his knob.

Fifi has already made it clear it was a fake plastic cock she was deepthroating. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Pender gone as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

randd1 wrote: »
    If you pay for a private room in an establishment, it’s a private setting. It’s one of the reasons why hotels can throw people out of a wedding reception when they shouldn’t be there. There’s actually laws around it. Hell, with some some pubs and clubs you can actually have them close for a few hours for private parties.

And I never said that the sexual favours weren’t paid for, a blind man could see that they were, I said it would be impossibly to prove as all anyone would have to say is that the sexy stuff (which isn’t illegal) happened after the stripping (which also isn’t illegal) was done.

Unless they’re physically caught handing the money for sexual favours and then caught in the act, there’s nothing anyone can do under the law.

I assume you will be getting the call from the Bally boys with your legal expertise :D now that an official case has been opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Comerman wrote: »
    **** just gets better.
    http://kclr96fm.com/gardai-confirm-investigating-ballyragget-celebrations/
    Fifi or whatever her name was is an open prostitute so why aren't herself and her buddy investigated/arrested???

Maybe because being a prostitute is not illegal?

danganabu wrote: »
    I assume you will be getting the call from the Bally boys with your legal expertise :D now that an official case has been opened.

The official case is just for show, trust me on that one due to it being mentioned by politicians.

Legally, you need proof of transaction to secure a conviction in these cases.

And I’m sure the Bally lads will be well able to afford a barrister for this with the amount of money they’ll make from the lads weekends and charging for challenge matches :)

Not the case at all. Almost invariably prosecution of people involved in this business in the past has had to rely on plausible witness testimony rather than direct evidence. If the Guards were bloody-minded enough to do it, a little pressure on some individuals would quickly lead to them singing like canaries to cover themselves. Let's face it, discretion was hardly an overarching theme of that group anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

The official case is just for show, trust me on that one due to it being mentioned by politicians.

Legally, you need proof of transaction to secure a conviction in these cases.

And I’m sure the Bally lads will be well able to afford a barrister for this with the amount of money they’ll make from the lads weekends and charging for challenge matches :)

I hope are right re the motives for the enquiry but you are completely off the mark on your legal interpretations.

Maybe they could argue that they asked the girls for a few 'pucks' but the girls seemed to have misheard them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Pender gone as well

It's not surprising,fennelly will probably be next,best of luck to the two lads,john joe and mick walsh will hardly stick it out either.
    We'll have to blood lads like evan cody,conor delaney and hope cleere is ready to start.

Maybe they could argue that they asked the girls for a few 'pucks' but the girls seemed to have misheard them?

:) brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭kilkennyboy

she is now claiming. she went upstairs in the pub and gave the full services. and that two of the group also got sorted on Wednesday night.
    if she would shut up the story would die.
    expect county board leave it lie for a few weeks and then take no action. they definitely need to cul a few from their WhatsApp group.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

JeffKenna wrote: »
    I've never in my life seen a lad get a blowjob in the middle of a pub.

It was hilarious hearing a guy on radio during the week - with Ivan Yates, I think - saying that the government really needs to do something to help
    protect people's privacy online!! Always someone else's fault as far as certain individuals are concerned. :(

think the village will get their matchups right on Sunday and will have to much for Boro.
    Larkin and Scanlon the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭davidx40

Best of luck to Kerian Joyce a great servant who always played with real honesty.......we have some rebuilding of panel to do with 3/4 more to go yet .....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

she is now claiming. she went upstairs in the pub and gave the full services. and that two of the group also got sorted on Wednesday night.
    if she would shut up the story would die.
    expect county board leave it lie for a few weeks and then take no action. they definitely need to cul a few from their WhatsApp group.

Doubt very much she will shut up for a while. She seems to be milking (pun intended;)) this for all it is worth. After all, she is supposed to have said
    business is up by 70% since all this started!! :D

davidx40 wrote: »
    Best of luck to Kerian Joyce a great servant who always played with real honesty.......we have some rebuilding of panel to do with 3/4 more to go yet .....

I agree with the above best of look to joyce,a nice lad aswell,I was disappointed he didn't see more time during the year,they should of left him at 3 after the wexford game and moved padraig out to 5,joey,lyng,joey and o shea probably ahead of him with management in the pecking order this year and I'm sure he would of seen less time next year,huge commitment but players retiring frighteningly young now.Hopefully hogan doesn't go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I find this whole thing very funny. I heard people giving out about these lads today and couldnt believe my ears. This is going on every weekend at stag and hen parties all over Ireland and not to mention what some holy Joe's get up to on their weekends away or trips to Ibiza. Look at some of the documentaries on TV about groups heading abroad and what they get up to. And it is not only lads. Iv seen "girls" from a top Irish school in a terrible state on a school trip.

We have a group of lads on a beer session. It was careless of them to do it in a local pub but as someone else said I sooner see this going on than a lad having a load of drink and driving a car. If one lad had the cop on to stay somewhat sober and not allow others to film we would never have heard of it.

I hope the young lad at the centre of this gets on ok and it is not held against him. Id say they will get some serious sledging in their next few games.

LeoB wrote: »
    I find this whole thing very funny. I heard people giving out about these lads today and couldnt believe my ears. This is going on every weekend at stag and hen parties all over Ireland and not to mention what some holy Joe's get up to on their weekends away or trips to Ibiza. Look at some of the documentaries on TV about groups heading abroad and what they get up to. And it is not only lads. Iv seen "girls" from a top Irish school in a terrible state on a school trip.

We have a group of lads on a beer session. It was careless of them to do it in a local pub but as someone else said I sooner see this going on than a lad having a load of drink and driving a car. If one lad had the cop on to stay somewhat sober and not allow others to film we would never have heard of it.

I hope the young lad at the centre of this gets on ok and it is not held against him. Id say they will get some serious sledging in their next few games.

It goes on every weekend? Never realised there was such demand for hookers. But I would take issue with the idea that someone should have stayed sober and "not allow others to film him". In a group of under 25s who always have a phone in their hand and will video anything that can be used "for a laugh" the trick was not to carry on like that publicly in the first place. How do you prevent a roomful of individuals from filming you? Only by not giving them reason to do so. Unfortunately in the post-prudish society it's not a popular thing to say. Everyone is to blame except the guy who whipped his c.ock out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

. Unfortunately in the post-prudish society
    The what? What's post-prudish about it? The whole country is looking down their fcuking monocles at the chap and tut tutting. Or is the problem that society isn't prudish enough? It seems plenty fcuking prudish to me anyway.

It goes on every weekend? Never realised there was such demand for hookers. But I would take issue with the idea that someone should have stayed sober and "not allow others to film him". In a group of under 25s who always have a phone in their hand and will video anything that can be used "for a laugh" the trick was not to carry on like that publicly in the first place. How do you prevent a roomful of individuals from filming you? Only by not giving them reason to do so. Unfortunately in the post-prudish society it's not a popular thing to say. Everyone is to blame except the guy who whipped his c.ock out.

If there was no demand for hookers, there wouldn’t be any.

And I think it was Fifi that whipped the cock out in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Maybe you live a sheltered life, nothing wrong with that by the way.
    The point I am making is the whole thing is blown out of proportion by "SOME" hypocrites. Whether we like it or not this IS going on every weekend all over Ireland. Whether we like it or not some "Pillars" of our society go away to sun and go skinny dipping or to nudist beach, get into mud baths in night clubs, hit clubs and anything goes. But hat is ok for them.

We are way to prudish, or is it we are just too PC? I think it is the latter.

And who said there was.NO demand?

And I think it was Fifi that whipped the cock out in fairness.

I knew there was something off about her :pac:

LeoB wrote: »
    Maybe you live a sheltered life, nothing wrong with that by the way.
    The point I am making is the whole thing is blown out of proportion by "SOME" hypocrites. Whether we like it or not this IS going on every weekend all over Ireland. Whether we like it or not some "Pillars" of our society go away to sun and go skinny dipping or to nudist beach, get into mud baths in night clubs, hit clubs and anything goes. But hat is ok for them.

We are way to prudish, or is it we are just too PC? I think it is the latter.

Let people do whatever but just don't let anyone whinge when your "friends" put a video of you on social media which ends up on the front of national newspapers or else don't do it. Simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Let people do whatever but just don't let anyone whinge when your "friends" put a video of you on social media which ends up on the front of national newspapers or else don't do it. Simple really.

Can you not see that what people are saying is that the culture of camera phones and social media creates a Puritanical situation where people's behaviour is subjected to mass reactions, nationwide and sometimes worldwide, that create a "punishment" that is wildly, massively disproportionate to the wrongdoing in the first place? That this culture does huge damage to the mental well-being of people caught in these firestorms, subject to a completely unregulated type of mob justice where their actions get fed into a kind of narrative (of one kind or another, in this case I'm guessing "toxic masculinity", but it could be anything), they become a symbol of some social ill of which they may never have heard, and become the focal point for an otherwise directionless rage?

I mean, if that is a fair or proportionate type of punishment, if the only lesson we have to learn as a society from events like this is that "eejits shouldn't do stupid things", then that's very handy because we don't have to do any introspection, asking ourselves what sort of values we, as a society, are actually espousing when we burn people like this at the stake. But it seems to me that in the rush to teach ourselves a lesson about the morality of hookers or lad culture or keeping ourselves off instagram, all of which we can safely burn these lads at the stake for, we let ourselves off the hook, not having to ask any questions about what the bloodlust these kinds of events provoke tells us about ourselves. Personally I'd rather we learned something from our tendency to do this kind of thing, than feel morally vindicated by declaring that these lads should have known better, as if that legitimates what has followed.

The what? What's post-prudish about it? The whole country is looking down their fcuking monocles at the chap and tut tutting. Or is the problem that society isn't prudish enough? It seems plenty fcuking prudish to me anyway.

What's post-prudish about it? The fact that some guy gets a blow job from a hooker in public leaving himself open to just what happened and the one person that it seems cannot accept any blame is the guy who put himself in that situation. Some people are even blaming the GAA club officials FFS!!

The whole country is not looking down their monocles at all. I had a guy with no interest in hurling today showing me on his phone all the pictures of orgies with "Ballyragget win the All Ireland" as a headline. He was not looking down any monocle. Yes, he thought that made gob****es of themselves but it was not from the perspective of prudeness. It gave him his laugh for this week.

I have come across nobody who had any opinion other than "did they not realise that filming it was a bad idea?" The idea of getting head off a hooker in private seems just old-fashioned. That's what I mean by the post-prudish society. I imagine it is a function of 24/7 internet porn which these guys would have grown up with but it is a psychological shift without doubt. Not sure why you baulk so much at the phrase. Your media intake must be limited to a very niche category if you find "whole country looking down their monocles" is all I can say. That view is massively detached from what I have experienced on this issue.

1)Can you not see that what people are saying is that the culture of camera phones and social media creates a Puritanical situation where people's behaviour is subjected to mass reactions, nationwide and sometimes worldwide, that create a "punishment" that is wildly, massively disproportionate to the wrongdoing in the first place?

2) But it seems to me that in the rush to teach ourselves a lesson about the morality of hookers.

1) But the first point is nonsense because it's a reality that camera phones are there. If you cannot respect the reality that you are always a potential target for filming then maybe modify your behaviour accordingly. Otherwise just deal with it. And who said it was "wrongdoing" by the way? That's a subjective judgement. You mention it as if it's an objective demonstrable reality. The simple point is let nobody whinge when a clearly foreseeable situation develops and gains media momentum. If you behave in a certain way in a room full of camera phones, which is every room now, you are ceding control if your own circumstances. If that doesn't suit, get a room.

2) You seem to have a little of the puritan lurking within......who said anything about the "morality of hookers" or anyone else?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

This **** is surely against charter rules at this stage. Does it not belong in AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

hat I
    Can you not see that what people are saying is that the culture of camera phones and social media creates a Puritanical situation where people's behaviour is subjected to mass reactions, nationwide and sometimes worldwide, that create a "punishment" that is wildly, massively disproportionate to the wrongdoing in the first place? That this culture does huge damage to the mental well-being of people caught in these firestorms, subject to a completely unregulated type of mob justice where their actions get fed into a kind of narrative (of one kind or another, in this case I'm guessing "toxic masculinity", but it could be anything), they become a symbol of some social ill of which they may never have heard, and become the focal point for an otherwise directionless rage?

I mean, if that is a fair or proportionate type of punishment, if the only lesson we have to learn as a society from events like this is that "eejits shouldn't do stupid things", then that's very handy because we don't have to do any introspection, asking ourselves what sort of values we, as a society, are actually espousing when we burn people like this at the stake. But it seems to me that in the rush to teach ourselves a lesson about the morality of hookers or lad culture or keeping ourselves off instagram, all of which we can safely burn these lads at the stake for, we let ourselves off the hook, not having to ask any questions about what the bloodlust these kinds of events provoke tells us about ourselves. Personally I'd rather we learned something from our tendency to do this kind of thing, than feel morally vindicated by declaring that these lads should have known better, as if that legitimates what has followed.

Puritanical mob justice....burning at the stake....bloodlust. What is this? A Hammer horror movie? Do you not think you are over reacting just a tad? The club has become a laughing stock over all this & it has to be a massive embarrassment to all involved and the wider hurling community in Kilkenny, but that is all it is really.

The over whelming reaction that I have seen to all this, has been to laugh at it, mock it, and rip the absolute piss out of it, to a massive degree...because we are Irish and that's what we do, when one of the so called pillars of our society tumbles off their plinth.

Yeah, you'll get your Joe Duffy type callers ringing in to have a bit of moan. But people like that will go off on a rant if they get so much as a paper cut. Yeah, you'll get people looking to make political capital out of the brouhaha. You always do when something like this happens. Yeah, you'll get newspaper editors coming up with click bait headlines to sell their rags. So what? If they weren't covering this, they'd be blathering on about Colm Cooper's testimonial dinner or whatever. None of them represent the plain people of Ireland. All the plain people of Ireland are doing for the most part imo, is having a bit of a giggle and, thanking Christ that it didn't happen at their club. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Are people honestly still talking about the Ballyragget party? The sh*te that gets people worked up is beyond my interest durability.

Anyone know if a podcast of Up For The Match on KCLR last night is available anywhere (can't find it on their site)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Nedflanders02

Sick of hearing people still go on about this ****e in Ballyragget, did they make a mistake yes but it's not like anyone was hurt or killed and no one was made do anything against there will!! It's time to move on and hopefully Ballyragget will win in Leinster and stop people talking about it!!

Looking forward to the senior final tomorrow think it will be a tight game. If the boro defence can keep there defence disciplined and cut down on the amount of frees they give away I think they might just be good enough to win it.

On another note best of luck to Kieran Joyce and Shane Pender on there retirement, they mightn't go down in history like some our other recent retirees but they were 2 good honest hurlers who never let Kilkenny down and had a great attitude!! Have heard that Cody has told another 4 that there not in his plans for the year ahead and with Murphy and C Fennelly gone for the league it really is going to be a new look panel for the Walsh cup and league this year

FCIM wrote: »

Are people honestly still talking about the Ballyragget party? The sh*te that gets people worked up is beyond my interest durability.

You might not have the attention span for it but it's still front page news. I see on the front of one of today's paper that the local priest said the whole business "has left a scar". Disappointing to hear that. You would expect a professional like Fifi to be a bit more careful with those teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I'm just sorry I didn't play junior hurling in Kilkenny :-( Only thin we got was a few free pints!

You might not have the attention span for it but it's still front page news. I see on the front of one of today's paper that the local priest said the whole business "has left a scar".

Not aimed at you Powerhouse but that corrupt organisation that is the Church. Their own scandals left huge scars also. Lives destroyed through molestation and rape, masses of children buried unmarked in a sewage system up in Tuam....did Father Self Righteous talk about this publicly? I would doubt it

No one was harmed or injured in Ballyragget. Time to move on.

Not aimed at you Powerhouse but that corrupt organisation that is the Church. Their own scandals left huge scars also. Lives destroyed through molestation and rape, masses of children buried unmarked in a sewage system up in Tuam....did Father Self Righteous talk about this publicly? I would doubt it

Not sure if he was making comparisons to be fair, but here's the link to the same story in the Herald (which is probably funnier): http://www.herald.ie/news/priest-tears-a-strip-off-hurlers-after-stripper-party-goes-viral-online-36268697.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Comerman

Powerhouse wrote:
    the local priest said the whole business "has left a scar".

He should of shut his mouth and stay out of it. People in glasshouses etc. It's yesterday's news Move on father.

An interesting thing was hidden away in the depths of that article: Indecent exposure and solicitation for the purposes of prostitution are among the potential crimes gardai will investigate.

Odd how the journalist doesn't seem to think that the Sexual Offences Bill, passed to much fanfare back in February, which criminalised the purchase of
    sexual services is worthy of mention in anticipating the potential crimes to be investigated? Boys will be boys it seems, but any bitch going around "soliciting" for business, or getting her tits out can expect to be subjected to the law................:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

You might not have the attention span for it but it's still front page news. I see on the front of one of today's paper that the local priest said the whole business "has left a scar". Disappointing to hear that. You would expect a professional like Fifi to be a bit more careful with those teeth.

Yeah, like nothing even remotely as important has happened anywhere in the world since the hooley in the Ballyragget shebeen :rolleyes:. In all honesty, I couldn't care less what Father Pius the Almighty has to say about it. The chips that were wrapped in the paper covering this nonsense have long since gone stale.

county final tomorrow and this **** still going on
    park it now and leave it to the gutter press.when they had a chance with Humphries they all closed ranks and spoke about the great man.

On another note best of luck to Kieran Joyce and Shane Pender on there retirement, they mightn't go down in history like some our other recent retirees but they were 2 good honest hurlers who never let Kilkenny down and had a great attitude!! Have heard that Cody has told another 4 that there not in his plans for the year ahead and with Murphy and C Fennelly gone for the league it really is going to be a new look panel for the Walsh cup and league this year

Someone said mick walsh and john joe won't be committing,like joyce and pender they'll hardly be part of the rebuild but as supporters we thank them for the hard work,I think we'll have to develop lads like conor delaney,john donnelly and richie leahy there all young,strong in the air and have potential,cody will have to try and trust theae lads,I wonder will lester give it another year?
    Looking forward to the city derby tomorrow,the boro probably have more youth but the village have the experience but I've being impressed with the boro in their last 2 games they've grounded out results they wouldn't of before,the league final win gave them the confidence while they relegation scare probably helped the village

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Sorry to hear of pender and joyce going.really feel joyce had more to give and for me was one of our better performers in wexford pk.really need to try yoynger ones and hopefully move forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭royrogers

Sick of hearing people still go on about this ****e in Ballyragget, did they make a mistake yes but it's not like anyone was hurt or killed and no one was made do anything against there will!! It's time to move on and hopefully Ballyragget will win in Leinster and stop people talking about it!!

Looking forward to the senior final tomorrow think it will be a tight game. If the boro defence can keep there defence disciplined and cut down on the amount of frees they give away I think they might just be good enough to win it.

Any idea who the 4 players are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Village87

Jonjo Farrell,Michael Walsh and Ger Aylward dropped from the panel not sure of 4th

The world is struggling to move on alright it seems. Front page of the Sindo today, as well as a well-written thoughtful piece from the venerable Tommy Conlon. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Minor game is a belter here. Some brilliant scores

Village87 wrote: »

Ger Aylward

The last fifteen years or so has hardly been an era where Kilkenny hurlers found praise hard to come by, but was there ever a player elevated so quickly and inappropriately in the minds of Kilkenny supporters than this guy?

Infairness he had trouble with injuries in 13 and 14,allstar in 15 then done the cruciate,think his shoulder was at him recently his still only 24-25 so im sure if he gets his injuries sorted he'll be back,he is a bit of a loose cannon but I don't think we can be dropping him,the same rumours done the rounds this spring