Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Doltanian wrote: »
    Surely its time for Cody to go?
    Jaysus give him a half hour for the team to warm down and tog in

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Garyp88

Thought we did well given the pitch and new lads etc, faded a bit in the second half which is understandable. Thought Alan Murphy and wally missed some simple chances but hoping that's more rustiness, Buckleys injury stopped the momentum after 3 unanswered points. My big concern is because the backs lack any pace and movement they are getting either to tight and getting rolled on the turn or backing off and being done by the space. Hope we can learn and build on a decent performance and hopefully some of the cobwebs are blown away

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

A hell of a lot of positives to take from that. Buckley's injury is concerning.

Great performance from the team.

John Donnelly has trimmed down a fair bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Doltanian wrote: »
    Surely its time for Cody to go?

Surely this time of the weekend is porn time for a lad like You?

Not a bad performance at all

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

I thought we didn't track runners very well and were ball watching in the backs giving away goal chances. Surprised Conor Martin was taken off. I think Richie Reid has the potential to nail down a place. Joey Holden gave away a number of unnecessary frees. Overall a decent effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Come on lad you can do better
    blackcard wrote: »
    You are a sad little man
    Topcat32 wrote: »
    Surely this time of the weekend is porn time for a lad like You?

Have a look at his posting history, I dont even think he is trolling, just bat sh*t crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

We were well in game up until Buckley got hurt. That changed it. Lads hurled well on a big pitch. Poor surface though. A Murphy inconsistent with the frees. Scruff should have hit a few more of them from out the field. His confidence was up. A goal was the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

If I was a KK man I think the most pleasing thing was Padraic Walsh's point, I know Cody is stubborn but after that reminder there is no way he can leave him full back come championship, would be madness.

What happened to luke scanlon is he off the panel or injured. Also surprised at no bolger unless he's injured done well for clara. Thought conor Martin in and out the game alot time seemed to pass him by.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭SteJer

Very disappointing to see us still have no puck out strategy and defenders just pumping high ball down on top of our forwards. I thought Cody might have come up with something new for this year. Different year but unfortunately the same style hurling from us. It wasn't good enough last year and won't be good enough this year. Also terrible to see us still not able to counteract a puck out strategy from the opposition.

Lyng is absolutely not a forward. Midfield or wing back his best positions.

Alan Murphy is sadly not good enough to play at the highest level.

Deegan & Holden wouldn't make it on the top 2 or 3 county teams. So frustrating to watch the basic errors they continue to make in every game they play.

Such a waste playing Padraig Walsh at full back. Nobody else putting their hand up for the number 3 jersey though. The full back line is bad enough as it is. If Walsh wasn't there it would be non existent.

Other than Walter no Kilkenny player is willing to or capable of taking on defenders and running towards goal. We have too many similar players like Blanchfield, Donnelly, Keoghan & Lyng. Big and strong but very little speed and natural goal scoring ability at this level.

No real goal chance this evening. Only for Eoin Murphy Cork would have won by a lot more.

Our work rate & heart will keep us competitive but unfortunately I can't see us winning anything if we keep playing like this.

I actually think we tried to deliver better ball a lot of the time today. Definitely more diagonal play than the straight lines we've been guilty of the last while. I just think we need to take some of the height off it. Same with Murphys puck outs. Just take 5-10 yards off the height so she gets there a fraction quicker and puts the man behind at a bigger disadvantage. That's on the players not the manager in my opinion.

Agreed on Lyng. Murphy deserves chances. He's only 21 and I think he's an intelligent player. Loads of people in here seem to hold him to a higher standard - same with the U21 last year - and want to write him off very quick

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

A small thing could of won that match.We had a 15 minute period in the 2nd half where cork won the match.positive performance from the lads but the thing I will say bout lyng and mossy both are hard workers but won't trouble the score board enough.I thought maher tried hard.Our backs were ran a bit all over the place.
    Bolger has niggles while scanlon is out for a few weeks with a hand injury.
    Buckley going off definitely set us back as he was having a stormer.
    Tj rusty was expected but overall we learn from this and move on to next week it's a winnable game at home

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭mullinr2

How did Blanchfield do when he came on? In all the games that I've seen him play for kk, he has offered very little. Very one dimensional and slow on the ball. We need goal getters in the team. That has been a big issue for us in the last few years. Hopefully Ger Alyward can regain his 2015 form when he comes back. Who else can provide us with goals?

Blanchfield didn't do alot, but to be fair didn't see alot of ball. Didn't get a point I dont think to be honest we had our chances could of had a couple of goals but Murphy missed some easy frees where lehane was deadly and Walsh worked hard won lots of balls pulled into space then either made the wrong choice or blew a straightforward chance

mullinr2 wrote: »
    How did Blanchfield do when he came on? In all the games that I've seen him play for kk, he has offered very little. Very one dimensional and slow on the ball. We need goal getters in the team. That has been a big issue for us in the last few years. Hopefully Ger Alyward can regain his 2015 form when he comes back. Who else can provide us with goals?

Blanchfield is just out of 21; let's give him a chance

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭mullinr2

In all fairness he was the same at U21 level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭davidx40

I agree with previous poster Alan Murphy will never be good enough for this level i cant for life of me understand what hes doing in on the panel .....were in serious trouble in full back line with no one bar Paul Murhy really to come back into it....Mossy Keoghan looks like a prospect

There are lads younger than Blanchfield with all stars and hurler of the year etc. It's a young mans game now.

SteJer wrote: »
    There are lads younger than Blanchfield with all stars and hurler of the year etc. It's a young mans game now.
    Lads younger than 22??? List them all then, I dont really care tho, how he is at 25 means much more to our future

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

mullinr2 wrote: »

Lyng had a good chance should of done better..leahy done well he looks to be a good prospect.
    That was a winnable match tonight but it's hard to be critical of few of they mew lads starting off.
    The one thing I will say is how come we can't produce a goal getter maybe I'm being too critical and walsh and bolger need time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Happy enough with that performance... thought Deegan and O's
    Shea were caught badly for pace and Pat Lyng struggled all evening.

We definitely had the chances to win the game but Cork probably just about shaded it overall, lots of positives going forward though.

Wish lads would give young Murphy and Blanchfield a break.. they're only chaps with time on their side and lots of potential.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Kkman00

Jesus the lad was only on for less than 20 mins and ball hardly went into his corner. He also got 2 goals during the week for DIT so don't be writing lads off so easily

• Registered Users Posts: 8 ceannmara

Happy with the win, but Walsh's point pipped Murphy's saves for moment of the night. You just had to applaud the combination of guts, desire and class he displayed. Plenty of useful fare for both managers to chew on and a fine turn out for January.

Kkman00 wrote: »
    Jesus the lad was only on for less than 20 mins and ball hardly went into his corner. He also got 2 goals during the week for DIT so don't be writing lads off so easily

On 20 mins today but this is his third year now and he hasn't really turned it on yet. Fitzgibbon level is slightly different to senior inter county hurling!!

Again he is 22, 20 minutes, have you played to any high legal at all? I think Not, 20 minutes in january is not where is judge him.

I agree he needs to step up it up but he's still quite young at 22 and we don't exactly have the same conveyer belt coming through you have to be patient with young lads it takes some lads a few years to really settle into teams including the likes of Michael fennellyand TJ Reid. The fitzgibbon is also not a competition to be underestimating it's probably the closest thing to senior level you can compete in

Lads younger than 22??? List them all then, I dont really care tho, how he is at 25 means much more to our future

I don't have the time to list them all but the ones that come to mind are Conor Whelan and Mark Coleman from last year. Austin Gleeson and Ronan Maher the year before that. Gleeson also young and senior hurler of the year as was Tony Kelly, both when still playing U21. A few others from recent times are Cathal Mannion, Tadgh de Burca, Shane Dowling, David McInerney, Podge Collins and Colm Galvin.

A lot of hurlers these days are established senior hurlers by the age of 21. Gone are the days of waiting for a lad to hit 25 before reaching his full potential.

I agree he needs to step up it up but he's still quite young at 22 and we don't exactly have the same conveyer belt coming through you have to be patient with young lads it takes some lads a few years to really settle into teams including the likes of Michael fennellyand TJ Reid. The fitzgibbon is also not a competition to be underestimating it's probably the closest thing to senior level you can compete in

Yes Fitz is the closest but absolutely nowhere near the same level.

Again he is 22, 20 minutes, have you played to any high legal at all? I think Not, 20 minutes in january is not where is judge him.

Sorry I didn't know this forum was only open to ex inter county hurlers to comment on current inter county hurlers.

I don't have the time to list them all but the ones that come to mind are Conor Whelan and Mark Coleman from last year. Austin Gleeson and Ronan Maher the year before that. Gleeson also young and senior hurler of the year as was Tony Kelly, both when still playing U21. A few others from recent times are Cathal Mannion, Tadgh de Burca, Shane Dowling, David McInerney, Podge Collins and Colm Galvin.

A lot of hurlers these days are established senior hurlers by the age of 21. Gone are the days of waiting for a lad to hit 25 before reaching his full potential.

Shane Dowling?? At 21?? You List Conor Whelan last year was poor at under 21 and senior in 2015, we need to luck at what players will be like in the future, forwards in hurling take longer to mature

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

Eoin Murphy's incredible save from Alan Cadogan of Cork

You seem to think every 21/22 year old should already be the finished article not everyone can be a tony kelly or Austin gleeson you have to be patient with young lads and give them time the like of Murphy and blanchfield have shown good potential and their some of our better prospects be patient!!

I'm not just talking about Murphy & Blanchfield. We haven't had and still don't have any player under the age of 21 capable of winning an all star like Galway, Tipp, Cork, Waterford and Clare have had in recent years.

Yes we need to be patient but it's worrying to see so many players be tried and ultimately failed to deliver over the past number of years. Our best players are still our longest serving eg. Eoin Murphy, Paul Murphy, Padraig Walsh, Cillian Buckley, Conor Fogarty, Walter Walsh, TJ Reid and Richie Hogan.

Ger Alyward was probably the last player that came close to breaking in to that group but injury has unfortunately pushed him back considerably. Richie Leahy is probably the next closest to doing so but he has a bit to go yet.

Cody tried a lot of new players in the league last year and very few did enough to claim a jersey or even see game time come the championship. Players of any age need to start stepping up quickly or we will continue to go backwards.

Shane Dowling?? At 21?? You List Conor Whelan last year was poor at under 21 and senior in 2015, we need to luck at what players will be like in the future, forwards in hurling take longer to mature

Yes Shane Dowling won an all star when he was U21.

You list alot of players there but gleeson was average at best last year, dowling not done alot either and since Kelly won hurler of the year, young hurler of the year and the all Ireland in 2013 he's done nothing and was very poor last year good hurler but inconsistent struggled with simple frees. Let's get behind the lads we are going through a transition we can't have an endless conveyer belt of careys, sheflins and tjs, look how long it's taken Cork have faith and build a team we can't win every game every year its the first game of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

We need Padraig Walsh out on the half back line driving forward last night showed that it will be madness if he is going to persist with him at full back. I find it hard that they will not try C Delany the chap didn't let the side down in the u21 championship final last summer in Thurles. For expierenced man Joey Holden gave away a lot of soft frees last night, this is going to take time we are gone back a long way in the pack remember we started with only one forward from the 2015 all Ireland team serious rebuilding.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Dionysis

To be fair to players I agree that you have to give the younger ones some time to get up to inter county level, especially in Kilkenny, as the standard of strength and fitness that our 19-22 year olds have coming into the senior set up is probably the lowest of ANY inter county setup in the country. Essentially we create talent at 12-16 and do nothing to convert it to senior grade. Cody has an impossible job on his hands at the moment and to be fair to him, he’s not a miracle worker. Everyone else outside of KK does not understand the poor standard of player being handed over to Cody. For years people said that younger players had to do an apprenticeship and sit on th3 sidelines until 24/26. Rubbish, they simply were not up to the physical or mental standards to play inter county hurling and Cody had to do this job, which should mainly have been done by 5he managers that came before him, but wasn’t.

Regarding last night, A COUPLE OF THINGS BECAME CLEAR.
    1. We won’t win anything this year. Were years off Galway, Waterford or Tipp.
    2. We had more natural talent than Cork last night, and a couple of times should have scored goals but didn’t. The game suited us, in a similar way to the game versus Tipp in Semple stadium last year. Loose marking open game. Our soft light hurlers were given space to play. That doesn’t happen in championship. But we do have a decent amount of natural ability in that team.
    3. Our players lack drive. They may not win a confrontation, but they should at least try, which a couple of our lads lack.
    4. Some of the players will never make inter county, and it would be better off to ditch them now and get in a lesser player now who will make it in the future.
    5. Cody should start turning the screw on the younger lads, regarding putting it in, drive, and hunger. They walk around the field out there. And last night a lot of them thought they were playing a club game.

A couple of concerns with players last night.
    Deegan keeps turning back onto his left to hit the ball - somebody please tell him that this is inter county standard hurling, and that is simply not acceptable. Also he doesn’t have pace, so letting his man run out in front of him is a no no.
    Holden needs to decide he wants to play inter county or not, and put it in.
    Walter, needs to find a mean side to him, he’s too soft for 6’4”.
    If Alan Murphy stands off anymore waiting on a pass so he can score, he’ll be standing out in the stands. He’s only on at the moment as he’s supposed to be a free taker. With that in mind he needs to convert all the frees. Free takers missing easy scores in the modern game is not acceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Mixrock

We need to find the best starting fifteen and we need to play them in positions. I think it’s going to take the league to figure that out but if we learn and improve every game then at least we can build and pose a real challenge in the championship, not be a pushover. get some stability in the team.

Buckley got a hit last night, good to hear he is likely ok for next week though I wouldn’t say he would be able for many knocks after it. The Fitzgibbon had hard games this week for a number of the younger set who were playing had full matches mid week. Blanchfield will come up with the goods. The young lads are under so much more pressure to perform right out of the box now, as opposed to slipping one or two in to a robust team after years on panel getting ready. No point in criticising them for the lack of backbone in the team. They need time to find the core team and gel together.

We are missing one or two dangerous men up front like an Eddie Brennan, goal finders. You see lads like Lyng in the forwards and it does them no favours, he’s a wing back and puts in the effort but he’s not a goal hunter. Find the right players then play them in the right positions.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

@Dionysis You are outrageously harsh to some people there.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭droppingball

Dionysis wrote: »

Regarding last night, A COUPLE OF THINGS BECAME CLEAR.
    1. We won’t win anything this year. Were years off Galway, Waterford or Tipp.
    2. We had more natural talent than Cork last night, and a couple of times should have scored goals but didn’t. The game suited us, in a similar way to the game versus Tipp in Semple stadium last year. Loose marking open game. Our soft light hurlers were given space to play. That doesn’t happen in championship. But we do have a decent amount of natural ability in that team.
    3. Our players lack drive. They may not win a confrontation, but they should at least try, which a couple of our lads lack.
    4. Some of the players will never make inter county, and it would be better off to ditch them now and get in a lesser player now who will make it in the future.
    5. Cody should start turning the screw on the younger lads, regarding putting it in, drive, and hunger. They walk around the field out there. And last night a lot of them thought they were playing a club game.

Agree on points one and partly on point 2. Totally disagree on 3, 4 and 5. We started with a very inexperienced side last night. For what they lacked in quality they worked their socks off last night.

On Point 4 Some of them may not make it but they deserve a chance. There are lesser players there than due to their hard work like Mossy Keoghan are starting instead of others. Their is also a few moreon the panel who didn't start for a number of reasons including playing two matches in Fitzgibbon who will get a chance. Cody is doing the right thing going with the youth. With time and intense training a few of these will make it.

Point 5 Thing I have taking away from the last two weeks is if a ball breaks we are back to fighting like dogs for it so 100% disagree here

Thought the young lads worked hard the leaders in the team stood up, Padraig Cillian and Eoin Murphy were very good while Walter had some good moments. All in all I was happy leaving Pairc Ui Chaoimh last night which is some stadium by the way. Pity about the lighting and parking outside the grounds which are awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 The sensation

Agree on points one and partly on point 2. Totally disagree on 3, 4 and 5. We started with a very inexperienced side last night. For what they lacked in quality they worked their socks off last night.

On Point 4 Some of them may not make it but they deserve a chance. There are lesser players there than due to their hard work like Mossy Keoghan are starting instead of others. Their is also a few moreon the panel who didn't start for a number of reasons including playing two matches in Fitzgibbon who will get a chance. Cody is doing the right thing going with the youth. With time and intense training a few of these will make it.

Point 5 Thing I have taking away from the last two weeks is if a ball breaks we are back to fighting like dogs for it so 100% disagree here

Thought the young lads worked hard the leaders in the team stood up, Padraig Cillian and Eoin Murphy were very good while Walter had some good moments. All in all I was happy leaving Pairc Ui Chaoimh last night which is some stadium by the way. Pity about the lighting and parking outside the grounds which are awful.

Agree on all points with dropping ball, lads need time and patience but the hungerand workrate is plain to see the last two weeks. We won't win an All Ireland this year but I would be confident we will stop someone else winning one

"Holden needs to decide he wants to play inter county or not, and put it in."

The ignorance in this line is staggering

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Serious work, or new players, needed in the full back line. Cork only scored one but could have had three goals if it wasn't for Eoin Murphy. Going forward, better than I expected though the lack of a goal threat is still evident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

Mixrock wrote: »
    We need to find the best starting fifteen and we need to play them in positions. I think it’s going to take the league to figure that out but if we learn and improve every game then at least we can build and pose a real challenge in the championship, not be a pushover. get some stability in the team.

Buckley got a hit last night, good to hear he is likely ok for next week though I wouldn’t say he would be able for many knocks after it. The Fitzgibbon had hard games this week for a number of the younger set who were playing had full matches mid week. Blanchfield will come up with the goods. The young lads are under so much more pressure to perform right out of the box now, as opposed to slipping one or two in to a robust team after years on panel getting ready. No point in criticising them for the lack of backbone in the team. They need time to find the core team and gel together.

We are missing one or two dangerous men up front like an Eddie Brennan, goal finders. You see lads like Lyng in the forwards and it does them no favours, he’s a wing back and puts in the effort but he’s not a goal hunter. Find the right players then play them in the right positions.

Eddie had some bad days to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Ompala

From an outsider point of view, very harsh on your own from some of these posts...... maybe its because you guys had such great players for ages you are judging a few of the new faces poorly.

Workrate last night was very evident, hell its something our forwards in Tipp miss a good bit. If ye find a decent full back and bring Padraig Walsh back to the half back line, along with getting Paul Murphy, TJ Reid and Richie Hogan back into the starting 15, ye will be hard to beat even if there won't be an All Ireland this year. Christ, had their been 2 more minutes of normal time in Thurles last year ye would have knocked out Waterford despite being second fiddle most of the night!

"Holden needs to decide he wants to play inter county or not, and put it in."

The ignorance in this line is staggering

Holden has played in three All-Ireland finals, 2014, 2015, 2016. Has two winners medals, has an all-star. And was dropped last year, and doesn’t look like he’s the man to claim a spot this year, so far. If that was Jackie, Hickey, Tommy, Jj, Hogan, Buckley, Murphy, Kavanagh.... you would have seen a different man starting out in 2018. And we have not. He’s not a youngster, he’s experienced and he needs to decide what he wants. Similar for Lester Ryan. This team has major gaps and they are not fighting to make sure they fill some of them.
    That’s not ignorance, just reality. I expected to see a man this year who wants his fcuk’n place back. Even if he’s not fit, hes fighting like a dog for it. I haven’t, and he’s not. If you choose to be a snowflake millennial about it, then that’s your choice, but snowflakes don’t win all-Ireland’s, not even one in a rows.

The truth is harsh. We’ve been beaten by Wexford the last three times we’ve played them and if you were a betting man, you’d say they’ll make it four in a row, in the league. Coming from what? One U-21 title since 1996.
    Harsh decisions need to be made, that’s sport. You get what you tolerate.

Ompala wrote: »
    From an outsider point of view, very harsh on your own from some of these posts...... maybe its because you guys had such great players for ages you are judging a few of the new faces poorly.

Workrate last night was very evident, hell its something our forwards in Tipp miss a good bit. If ye find a decent full back and bring Padraig Walsh back to the half back line, along with getting Paul Murphy, TJ Reid and Richie Hogan back into the starting 15, ye will be hard to beat even if there won't be an All Ireland this year. Christ, had their been 2 more minutes of normal time in Thurles last year ye would have knocked out Waterford despite being second fiddle most of the night!

Being second fiddle for most of the night is not where we want to be. We can’t rely on others teams making unforced errors to win games. The younger lads last night have talent that is very evident to see, but they don’t have work rate or work ethic or bottle, that was very evident to see in the U-21 final last year. If they can get those missing pieces of the jigsaw then we have here, I believe, a much better team than those on this forum think.

Regarding Pat Lyng he tried hard and is new to this and I think others are too harsh on him at this stage, he’s still very new and is still very light. Similarly, Mossy Keoghan, but these two have bottle, that others who have got far more time don’t have.

Kk could very easily have won last night. Cork had a very young side out too. 5 mins to go and we were not battling for it, that’s a concern, as that has nothing to do with fitness.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Mixrock

PeterCasey wrote: »
    Mixrock wrote: »

Eddie had some bad days to.
    Lol every player has their bad days, my point isn’t “Eddie was perfect” - it was that he had that instinct for goals, and we could use that in the full forward line. It was only the puck of a ball between the teams last night so if we can find some goal threats then we can amp up our chances in those really close games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Village87

Cork gave us every chance to beat them last night. They were rusty enough but we were not good enough to take them. Zero goal treat.

Eoin Murphy - Amazing, best kk keeper ever. Shot stopping, frees,puck outs all 10/10
    Joey Holden - Poor, all he wants to do is wrestle, poor skill level, he was lucky Cork forwards struggled with the pitch. He must hate the sight of Harnedy
    Padriag Walsh - As I said before kk best player wasted full back, but the only option at the moment.
    Paddy Deegan - U 14 hurlers have more skill, blatantly cant hit off his right side, there for a roasting on a dry day, slow on the turn.
    Conor O Shea - Simply not an option, way to slow, Cork scored 1-24 should have got 3-27/28, no pace,when he gets turned he is finished
    Joe Lyng - Bif of a presence, but striking, touch and distribution way off, struggled on Lehane. Poor state of affairs if he is Kilkennys no.1 centre back
    Cillian Buckley - Great game getting on loads of possions, had a good duel with Flynn, who had decent game to if wasteful.
    James Maher - Good athlete - worked hard and tired in the second half. Again he looks awkward and easy to hook.
    Conor Fogarty. Consistent 6/10 display struggled on Kearney in the second half offers zero in possession. Loves a ruck
    Pat Lyng- Worked hard but wasteful. Another with poor skill level
    Richie Reid- Lovely Hurler which kk lack but doesn't want to know about the hard ball and the Cork debutant centre back was Excellent. Jury still out
    Martin Keoghan - Worked hard, he will make it, great experience
    Conor Martin - Kilkenny had some good hurlers over last 10-12 years get dropped over a bad game or two when they get their chance. Conor Martin is their 4 years now. Shocking display again
    Walter Walsh - Got on loads of possession, great battle with Cadogen, bit wasteful, should have 4/5 points, very little help inside with him. Again looks awkward
    Alan Murphy - poor night on the frees. Not sure if he is up to it yet. Looking for loose ball can't win 50/50 ball or escape his marker.

TJ - Off the pace and looks unfit
    Ollie Walsh - did ok when on, trying to be creative and take opponents on
    John Donnelly- poor mobility, still young though.

Big match against Clare next week, a must win.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

I thought that the whole team battled well yesterday, it was something that Anthony Daly remarked on in commentary. Even at its peak in 2008, there was no shame in losing in Cork in the league. I can imagine how players reading this thread would react to some of the criticism on here.