Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Well he'll be in a cast for a lot of that then his rehab would involve a lot of strengthening of the ligaments. I'd say if he is able to get back running/training by next June he would be doing extremely well.

Not that I have any expertise in the area just what I've heard from people etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

I
    adrian522 wrote: »
    I don't know, I'd say he was a candidate for retirement this year anyway. If he is facing into a year on the sidelines and looking at a comeback in 2018 I'd say it would be a bridge too far.

The chances of him being back on the team in 2017 would be slim enough I'd say, talk of a 9 month rehab would not be encouraging.

I suppose it all depends how long he's out for: 6-9 months? He could, if suited, miss the National League and tailor his training etc. to be ready for the championship in June time.

Fennelly hasn't played many league games these last couple of years. 1 in 2015, the relegation playoff against Clare. Last year he played against Offaly and that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

Well he'll be in a cast for a lot of that then his rehab would involve a lot of strengthening of the ligaments. I'd say if he is able to get back running/training by next June he would be doing extremely well.

Not that I have any expertise in the area just what I've heard from people etc.

I suppose, apart from missing All Ireland Final and club games (which is bad in itself) then he has the winter months on his side. Yeah, i heard that it's a nasty injury and takes a bit of time alright.

citykat wrote: »
    I
    I don't know, I'd say he was a candidate for retirement this year anyway. If he is facing into a year on the sidelines and looking at a comeback in 2018 I'd say it would be a bridge too far.

The chances of him being back on the team in 2017 would be slim enough I'd say, talk of a 9 month rehab would not be encouraging.

I suppose it all depends how long he's out for: 6-9 months? He could, if suited, miss the National League and tailor his training etc. to be ready for the championship in June time.

Fennelly hasn't played many league games these last couple of years. 1 in 2015, the relegation playoff against Clare. Last year he played against Offaly and that was it.

That's what i mean - he always timed his playing to get the best out of himself and for the team.

A lot of 'senior' county players, in both codes, seem to skip the national league and prepare themselves for championship. Good that managers see the benefits of that plus, it's gives an opportunity to new lads to gain match experience.

Bit early i know but do you reckon Kieran Joyce will come back in at No. 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,920 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Someone posted an interview with Fennelly in the Times a few months ago, where he expressed real concern about his own health after hurling, and the damage he might be doing, particularly to his back. Said he had real concerns about the ability to lift up and hold his kids in later years. If that is a real issue, he really should be hanging up the hurl at this point, the man is a legend, he has won everything there is to win in the game, he has nothing left to prove. Would of course love to see him again and he is a crucial loss to us, but you'd worry about what kind of damage some of our lads are doing to themselves long term playing the sport at that level without the kind of recovery available to professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,473 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Someone posted an interview with Fennelly in the Times a few months ago, where he expressed real concern about his own health after hurling, and the damage he might be doing, particularly to his back. Said he had real concerns about the ability to lift up and hold his kids in later years. If that is a real issue, he really should be hanging up the hurl at this point, the man is a legend, he has won everything there is to win in the game, he has nothing left to prove. Would of course love to see him again and he is a crucial loss to us, but you'd worry about what kind of damage some of our lads are doing to themselves long term playing the sport at that level without the kind of recovery available to professionals.

Here it is:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/michael-fennelly-still-up-to-the-task-and-it-s-still-worth-it-1.2640875

Well worth a read for anyone who hasn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭kk1970

unrealtime wrote: »
    I would expect him to come back. If necessary he could go into goals and be the best there. The man can do anything. I'd say his scoring percentages are second to none also as well as his other attributes that make him such a fantastic player.

In goals? That's ridiculous! He is a legendary midfielder. Never a goalie. He has to get himself fit and healthy before making any decisions. There is more important things in life then hurling as well .

Here it is:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/michael-fennelly-still-up-to-the-task-and-it-s-still-worth-it-1.2640875

Well worth a read for anyone who hasn't.

Great article. He's come through a lot. What comes out of it is his hunger for success. That article was only a few months back and he knows his own body. I suppose, as Realt Dearg states, as long as it doesn't impinge on his future health. That's be the worry long term alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭blackcard

I think, barring,injuries, that there are 12 certainties for the AI final team. Eoin Murphy, Paul Murphy, Joey Holden, Shane Prendergast, Padraig Walsh, Kieran Joyce, Cillian Buckley, Conor Fogarty, Walter Walsh, TJ Reid, Richie Hogan and Colin Fennelly. There would seem to be a choice between playing Lester Ryan midfield or have TJ Reid and Richie Hogan alternate between midfield and centre forward. I think Cody will go with Lester in midfield which would leave two places left between Liam Blanchfield, Eoin Larkin, JonJo Farrell, John Power and Kevin Kelly. My bet would be Liam Blanchfield and Eoin Larkin.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Alot can happen over the next 3 weeks.hopefully no more injuries.can see jonjo getting back in myself.kelly bolger john walsh all have a chance of being in the 26 for matchday squad.we have the players contrary to what people outside kilkenny may think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Sad to hear about Fennelly, hugely respected outside KK also I can assure ye.

He got a super ovation, by both sets of fans and neutrals as he was stretchered off on Saturday evening.

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Alot can happen over the next 3 weeks.hopefully no more injuries.can see jonjo getting back in myself.kelly bolger john walsh all have a chance of being in the 26 for matchday squad.we have the players contrary to what people outside kilkenny may think.

I agree. A lot can and will happen over the next 3 weeks. It'll be recovery this week i'd say then hard at it next week. All behind closed doors!!!

There 1 or 2 spots up for grabs but who's going get them!

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Why shouldn't he play in goals. He's a lot taller than Eoin and so could save a huge number of points per game.

Because he's not a goalkeeper, far as I know he's never been one at any significant level of the game.

He got a super ovation, by both sets of fans and neutrals as he was stretchered off on Saturday evening.

Noticed that alright, fair play to the Waterford folks. Same thing with Henry in 2010 as I recall from the Tipp fans.

Hopefully there's no cause for standing ovations from opposition fans in September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Indeed and shur after his catch on Saturday, Murphy would be perfect for the half forward line, Id say you are on to something there alright :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

danganabu wrote: »
    Indeed and shur after his catch on Saturday, Murphy would be perfect for the half forward line, Id say you are on to something there alright :D
    That's not the witty remark you think it is! As any Kilkenny supporter will tell you Eoin is an excellent outfield player and won medals there for Club and Fitzgibbon he also got named as the Fitzgibbon CB of the tournament the year WIT won. Their CB got injured in the QF and Eoin came back from the forwards and played the Semi and the final at CB and was so good it was felt he was better than lads who specialise at CB. I've seen him play in all the forward position in KK training and score 4 goals and a couple of points in 8mins one night when put in FF for a quick spell against Noel Hickey if I remember correctly.

I would love to see Eoin play in our forwards some time as I think he could and would destroy lads but Cody thinks he's our best keeper so that's where he plays. As far as I'm aware he has only ever played in goal for Kilkenny teams minor U21 senior and never for Club schoolor colleges.

So yeah if Fennelly came back and played goal Murphy could easily play up front.
    I can't ever see Fennelly playing in goal by the way but he would be well capable of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

That's not the witty remark you think it is! As any Kilkenny supporter will tell you Eoin is an excellent outfield player and won medals there for Club and Fitzgibbon he also got named as the Fitzgibbon CB of the tournament the year WIT won. Their CB got injured in the QF and Eoin came back from the forwards and played the Semi and the final at CB and was so good it was felt he was better than lads who specialise at CB. I've seen him play in all the forward position in KK training and score 4 goals and a couple of points in 8mins one night when put in FF for a quick spell against Noel Hickey if I remember correctly.

I would love to see Eoin play in our forwards some time as I think he could and would destroy lads but Cody thinks he's our best keeper so that's where he plays. As far as I'm aware he has only ever played in goal for Kilkenny teams minor U21 senior and never for Club schoolor colleges.

So yeah if Fennelly came back and played goal Murphy could easily play up front.
    I can't ever see Fennelly playing in goal by the way but he would be well capable of it.
    ffs

ffs

I know it's depressing how good so many of our lads are.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

ffs

Lots of silly billy talk here bout fennelly finishing up in goals.myrphy is our long term goalie barring injuries or form.Hopefully michael can come back but no matter what happens he was an unbelievable servant and one for the big days

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

I think Richie Reid could cover for Murphy if Cody wanted to play Murphy outfield. Looks like Cody doesn't fancy him there yet though. Maybe a season or two at intermediate/senior - if they make it - could be the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭PáircLife

wrote:

I recall Eoin Murphy playing corner forward in a league game against Cork down in Páirc Uí Chaoimh about 3-4 years ago. I remember it because I was looking forward to seeing if he could cut it as an intercounty forward as I thought he had the potential to. However he was taken off shortly after half time. He looked out of his depth on that particular occasion and don't remember him getting another chance outfield under Cody.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Good luck to Fennelly in his recovery from a horrible injury, he often broke our hearts in Tipp but hopefully he'll be back with Kilkenny some time in the future. Jamesie O Connor said he's the most crucial player in the Kilkenny panel, high praise.

Any word on James Maher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Michael Kavanagh

Any word on James Maher?
    I
    I was told by a man from Freshford that he has not been cleared yet by the doctors to go back serious training these things take longer than people think , look @ TJ Reid after 2012 all Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Noticed that alright, fair play to the Waterford folks. Same thing with Henry in 2010 as I recall from the Tipp fans.

All in stark contrast to Kilkenny's own supporters, it is sad to say, when Lar Corbett was jeered off the pitch when injured in 2013 in Kilkenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Nice touch.pity it didn't happen in nowlan pk in july 2013 when a certain corner forward went off injured.just saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

ye 2 sitting beside each other?

Powerhouse wrote: »
    All in stark contrast to Kilkenny's own supporters, it is sad to say, when Lar Corbett was jeered off the pitch when injured in 2013 in Kilkenny.

I love that you went and found a post specifically heaping praise on opposition fans, in a spirit of praising the best instincts of the association, in order to trot out this bull**** again for the second time in a week. Well, I won't be biting anyway. Thankfully people like yourself, who go looking for fights where there are none, are the exception and not the rule...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Martin567

Powerhouse wrote: »

Didn't happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Martin567 wrote: »
    Didn't happen

Oh by god it did

Didn't happen

Since when is that a problem? I remember when it happened. Lar pulled up and someone, I forget who, therefore outran him and got the ball, there was a bit of a cheer at that moment, as the excitement level was running very high and we got possession. It stopped then immediately. Not exactly the nicest of reactions but I really don't think it was deliberate or contained any malice whatsoever. Certainly there was no jeering while he was being taken off. But over the years it has morphed into "Kilkenny fans were jeering Lar as he was taken off the field injured".

But by the wonders of technology, we can actually see the occasion: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCPbbq0Np44

29 minutes in you can see the moment he pulls up (there is a roar at that moment). Then you can see Lar walking off the field to the sound of polite applause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭amber69

Since when is that a problem? I remember when it happened. Lar pulled up and someone, I forget who, therefore outran him and got the ball, there was a bit of a cheer at that moment, as the excitement level was running very high and we got possession. It stopped then immediately. Not exactly the nicest of reactions but I really don't think it was deliberate or contained any malice whatsoever. Certainly there was no jeering while he was being taken off. But over the years it has morphed into "Kilkenny fans were jeering Lar as he was taken off the field injured".

But by the wonders of technology, we can actually see the occasion: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCPbbq0Np44

29 minutes in you can see the moment he pulls up (there is a roar at that moment). Then you can see Lar walking off the field to the sound of polite applause.

Yep exactly as you said..

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Oh by god it did
    What about the abuse Tommy Walsh got from the Tipperary dugout supporters a couple of years ago a league match in Thurles . Was it not that night in nowlan park Paul murphy cleared a ball when Corbett pulled up. I never saw tipp people to run out of Kilkenny as quick as they did that night there was no childish writing on sign posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

Didn't happen

I was there with a waterford man that night who would have been neutral and we were both appalled by Kilkenny fans reaction to Lar Corbett pulling him hamstring. Classless to say the least but not unexpected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭amber69

Whiplash85 wrote: »
    I was there with a waterford man that night who would have been neutral and we were both appalled by Kilkenny fans reaction to Lar Corbett pulling him hamstring. Classless to say the least but not unexpected.

??? Watch the you tube clip applauded off the field.

What about his actions in the 2012 all Ireland semi final add Padraig maher into that i don't think a county like ye can talk about class.

Oh lord has no one anything to say about this year and the final to be played in 2 and a bit weeks? Not silly sh**e that happened 3 and 4 years ago! We just had some great game in the last two weeks and there's nothing to be discussed! Are we going to win that easy that we need to the discuss Lar Corbets hamstring.

Well I'll try get the ball rolling.
    I'm delighted to be playing Tipp and not Galway as I believe Galway could have really hurt us in the middle minus M Fennelly. I don't think Tipp play in a way or have the players to hurt us minus M Fennelly. Don't get me wrong M Fennelly is a massive loss and I would much prefer him there and his absence gives Tipp a glimmer of hope but It shouldn't give them much.

Oh lord has no one anything to say about this year and the final to be played in 2 and a bit weeks? Not silly sh**e that happened 3 and 4 years ago! We just had some great game in the last two weeks and there's nothing to be discussed! Are we going to win that easy that we need to the discuss Lar Corbets hamstring.

Well I'll try get the ball rolling.
    I'm delighted to be playing Tipp and not Galway as I believe Galway could have really hurt us in the middle minus M Fennelly. I don't think Tipp play in a way or have the players to hurt us minus M Fennelly. Don't get me wrong M Fennelly is a massive loss and I would much prefer him there and his absence gives Tipp a glimmer of hope but It shouldn't give them much.

How do you mean? Would you see tipp trying to largely bypass the middle third? Bombing ball into the full forward line? I think even with mick fennelly our weakness against Waterford the first day was dealing with players running at the middle. Joyce struggled badly to deal with that (although he actually wasn't any better in the air), and I presume that's why tj spent a lot of time around the middle last day. Helped of course that Mick was in far better form than the previous week too. But while that isn't really tipps game, funneling ball that way might force us to withdraw tj again.

I'm not sure where I'm going with this, I suppose wondering might tipp change up their approach to take advantage of fennelly being absent and Joyce being (presumably) back at cb

Well Galway like Waterford ran at us from there own half back line particularly for our puckouts which was were they did a lot of damage and I think we would struggle without M Fennelly there to close that down he wasn't great in the first half v Galway and the first day v Waterford and they both got on top. Tipp will more often ping ball from their half back line through to their FF line and go for goals this I think means we won't feel the loss of Fennelly so much.

On their puckouts Gleeson caused havoc against all our HB line in the air on both days but Tipp don't have anyone in their HF line to do that. I would expect Joyce in and he has dealt with Bonner before and very capably so, I would be confident of a repeat there. It's not that Bonner won't win ball but he won't win as much as he got up to now and that restricts he's influence on their attacks.

Also what I couldn't understand is why didn't Joyce, Fogarty, Buckley or Walsh pull on the ball in the air against Gleeson. How did Fan Larkin mark the man mountain F Cummins pull on the thing before it gets to his hand none of this tapping it down sh**, pull hard and force him to use is other arm to protect his hand and see how good they are at it then. Before anyone jumps down my neck I'm not advocating the lads try hurt any opposition I'm talking about utilising what was a standard tool in every defenders tool kit but now none seem to use. It's fine if you're winning 50% or more of the aerial ball but when your opponent is clearing you out you have to try something else.

say Joyce, if he comes back in, will pick up Bonner Maher whether he plays in the centre of not.

Cody and management set the team well up for the replay V Waterford - TJ and Richie out around the middle, getting on ball and looking to isolate Colin inside and to a lesser extent hit ball down the line to Liam Blanchfield.

Mick Fennelly, when KK attacked, pushed right up on De Burca to not let him get free ball but when Waterford were on the attack, he immediately went into a defensive role and dropped back into the middle third to 'clog' up this area and made it hard for Deise runners to break through.

This time it'll be different. Firstly and obviously, Mick will not be playing and to be honest I think he's the most influential player on the Kilkenny team. To me, he sets the tone and is in all essence the heartbeat of the team.

In a way, it has given Cody and selectors 3 weeks to plan without Mick. I bet they will change it again and adapt the style to play V Tipperary. Will they look at the matchups of 2014 and replay? Probably and although personnel has changed, the majority of them are still there.

As a KK supporter, I would be worried about their ff line getting handy ball. They weren't on top form V Galway which means they may be on top form in final - if they click. Will Bubbles start? Ryan seems to be going with more 'grafters' this year with the objective of getting the ball into the shooters to do the damage.

I think we have a great chance of winning the aerial battle with T.J. and Wally under our own puckouts. As an aside, our half back line will be strong under their puckouts so we have a great platform to build on.

In terms of our forward unit, who will start Blanchfield or JJ. Any other options? Again, Blanchfield is good in the air, a good target man and can score. The question is, can he replicate his performance and, more importantly, his scoring exploits from the replayed game?

Who will come in for Mick? Lester? A workman like performance will be required in midfield to stop them firing in good early ball to their full forward line. Breen attacks well and chips in with scores so he needs to be put on the back foot the whole time.

Will we try and isolate Colin at ff on Barry and give him loads of space to attack the ball and take Barry on? Will that work again? Their is a bit of inexperience in the Tipp team Mc Cormack and to a lesser extent Ronan Maher at chb.

I can't wait to see the team and the matchups during the game. Tipp have been talked about all year, by a lot of people, as the team to beat but in a final V Kilkenny, they are carrying a lot of baggage. They won a tight game V Galway but we all know the experience of KK, on the big day, in Croke Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Blanchfield on barret would be a miss match in terms of height, cody tried something similar in 2014 with W Walsh in which it didnt' work. C Fennelly in 2014 replay had a very good game inside in 2nd half,there seemed to be a lot of space. You would expect another big show from him. For all the talk that holden and prendergast are weak in the full back line, I have yet to see them exposed at all at this level.
    Will Murphy pick up Callanan? Tipp were poor last week, a lot of old failings reoccurred on them. Galway really should have won and I agree kk will happy enough to play tipp, It would have been tough to beat galway 4 times in two years.

C__MC wrote: »
    Blanchfield on barret would be a miss match in terms of height, cody tried something similar in 2014 with W Walsh in which it didnt' work. C Fennelly in 2014 replay had a very good game inside in 2nd half,there seemed to be a lot of space. You would expect another big show from him. For all the talk that holden and prendergast are weak in the full back line, I have yet to see them exposed at all at this level.
    Will Murphy pick up Callanan? Tipp were poor last week, a lot of old failings reoccurred on them. Galway really should have won and I agree kk will happy enough to play tipp, It would have been tough to beat galway 4 times in two years.

As a Tipp man, please please please let this happen! It won't though, Murphy will pick up John McGrath. Murphy v McGrath will have a huge bearing on the game and will be a fascinating battle. Two quality hurlers with great battling qualities and a touch of class.

In a way, it has given Cody and selectors 3 weeks to plan without Mick. I bet they will change it again and adapt the style to play V Tipperary. Will they look at the matchups of 2014 and replay? Probably and although personnel has changed, the majority of them are still there.

Tipp will have 6 different players, that's 40% of the team is different, and of the 9 that remain only 4 will play in the positions they played in in 2014, add a new management team and a new approach to the game and I am completely at a loss how anyone could argue that they are largely the same?

It remains to be seen if all those changes have actually been an improvement or not but to say that things are similar is well wide of the mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Nothing at all that has happened over the past two decades should give us cause for concern. We may have lost matches over that time but we were nearly always competitive. The present squad is young but for the most part well tried and tested. I would have no fear about our ability to cope without Mick Fennelly. I am looking forward to a win for us.

Tipp will have 6 different players, that's 40% of the team is different, and of the 9 that remain only 4 will play in the positions they played in in 2014, add a new management team and a new approach to the game and I am completely at a loss how anyone could argue that they are largely the same?

It remains to be seen if all those changes have actually been an improvement or not but to say that things are similar is well wide of the mark.

I said although personnel have changed, the majority are still there.

As you stated 40% new possibly..that means at leat 60% that were there in 2014. That's a clear majority in anyone's language.

Would you start Bubbles?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Martin567

The level of jeering and bating of Lar Corbett as he trudged off Nowlan park unable to bear any weight on his injured leg was disgusting.

Disgusting lies. Didn't happen. (see post 2185 earlier)

The level of jeering and bating of Lar Corbett as he trudged off Nowlan park unable to bear any weight on his injured leg was disgusting.

Disgusting lies. Didn't happen. (see post 2185 earlier)

I think he's teying to create, what they call in the business, a 'siege mentality'.

He should just watch the youtube clip of the incident.

Would you start Bubbles?

Absolutely, I was fully in agreement that he shouldn't start against Galway but he must start this game.

He has had his disciplinary problems and the red card against Limerick had been coming, his punishment was a one match suspension, which we walked through and if allowed to walk back into a team which had performed to a man in his absence for basically 2 full games would have sent out all the wrong messages and he would have learnt nothing.

Mick Ryan played it perfect, let him stew keep him on the bench and eventually let him off the hook, he will be bursting a gut in training the next few weeks trying to get back in the first 15.

Discipline issue aside and possible question marks over his fitness ( looks a little over weight to me) he is still pure quality and we will need all the quality we can get, even KK's most ardent supporters will admit that a FF line of Bubbles, Seamie and John McGrath is a huge concern, it would be for any FB line tbh.