Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland has been named an enemy of IS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

bear1 wrote: »
    Maybe its high time the government starts upgrading our military. We have a gaping hole in security and if ever there was a time to increase spending dramatically, now it is.

There's maybe a case for increasing resources in coastal fishery and drug smuggling prevention but as far as a big recruitment drive for the army because someone somewhere used windows movie maker to put us on a list with world super powers like Albania,that would be nuts.
    We're a small island nation with a minimal risk of attack. There's no need for anyone to get carried away that we're in the same level of danger as America, UK or France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I think investment in better intelligence service would be worth while although I'm not sure where the cash would come from. It wouldn't necessarily have to focus it's efforts entirely on defense intelligence, but could work in conjunction with the Gardaí for criminal intelligence too.

We don't need a larger armed forces, just appropriate training and strong intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

bear1 wrote: »
    So we are safe then yeah? Impossible to reach us it? Calm down there.
    We have the, I believe, 3rd lowest defence budget in the eu, a lot of garda stations closed and fighter planes that couldn't keep up with a passenger jet. For me thats a gaping hole in security.We are the weakest link in the eu's security and being outside of Schengen doesn't change anything.
    It's that sort of mentality "ah shure we are far away like no one will touch us" that allows that gaping hole to continue.

Get yourself a rowing boat and a pointy stick and you can be our first line of defence. I'm saluting you as I type this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

ectoraige wrote: »
    The only EU country that appears to have been omitted is Cyprus who has offered it's ports and airbases as bases for French operations against Daesh. After including NATO, half the Middle East, and the rest of the first world, I guess they missed it. Even Andorra appears to be in there, who's that third from right on the botton?
    No, that's not Andorra. It's Moldova.
    European omissions are: Iceland, Serbia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Montenegro, Belarus ( aithnionn ciarog ciarog eile? ), Latvia, Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan and the five minnows
    Some surprises there: Serbia has form with the mainly Muslim Kosovars. Bulgaria had a spell making its Muslim minority feel unwelcome. At least we took in a few. Maybe the author had a poor geography teacher in the madrasa.
    Inluded are:
    North America: USA, Canada, Mexico.
    Africa: Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia.
    Far East: China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand.
    Every country in the Asian Middle East including Iran and Turkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A simple explanation for certain countries being missing would be that they got the American voice over guy to make the whole video. American geographic knowledge would explain any geographical oddities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Anyone on that list should make it their mission to reduce anyone in ISIL to a fine red mist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Orangebrigade

You are ****ed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

feargale wrote: »
    No, that's not Andorra. It's Moldova.
    European omissions are: Iceland, Serbia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Belarus ( aithnionn ciarog ciarog eile? ), Latvia, Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan and the five minnows
    Some surprises there: Serbia has form with the mainly Muslim Kosovars. Bulgaria had a spell making Muslims feel unwelcome. At least we took in a few. Maybe the author had a poor geography teacher in the madrasa.
    Inluded are:
    North America: USA, Canada, Mexico.
    Africa: Egypt, Morocco.
    Far East: China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand.
    Every country in the Asian Middle East including Iran and Turkey.

I don't blame them for not wanting to mess with the Serbs! As for the Bulgarians making them feel unwelcome, well, they were invaded and occupied by them for centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

No need for anyone to worry. The gardai have this all covered. They're going to hit them hard with a leaflet campaign if there is any massacre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Satriale wrote: »
    Lol, see Adrians comment under the article.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    It's mind blowing how stupid some people can be. :eek:

I'm only disappointed that everyone is explaining WWN to him instead of continuing to troll the sh!te out of him until he cops it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

ScumLord wrote: »
    A simple explanation for certain countries being missing would be that they got the American voice over guy to make the whole video. American geographic knowledge would explain any geographical oddities.

I am now irresistibly reminded of the Westboro Baptist Church trying to flip our flag as an insult, and ultimately condemning the Ivory Coast instead :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Get yourself a rowing boat and a pointy stick and you can be our first line of defence. I'm saluting you as I type this.

:) ill go get that boat ready then. Haven't got a stick though, do you think harsh language will suffice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

arayess wrote: »
    they only named 60 countries , there are plenty others not bothering IS.

Ireland is .

whether you approve or not ireland is taking it's 30 pieces of silver for allowing troops use Shannon and all the other support we give NATO countries,

It's no surprise ireland is on the list.

Yes, we should be doing everything we can to placate IS and get our flag taken off that list! Maybe a few bombings and shooting sprees in the capital of another European or Western country would do it!

I'm delighted that both the NZ and Irish flags are on the list and are named as enemies of IS! Who the feck wants to be friend/allies of, or neutral toward IS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I am now irresistibly reminded of the Westboro Baptist Church trying to flip our flag as an insult, and ultimately condemning the Ivory Coast instead :D:D:D

Ah now, dem Ivory Coastians/Coastonians/Coastanese???? Had it coming!! Dem and their coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭DFGrange

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    I'm delighted that both the NZ and Irish flags are on the list and are named as enemies of IS! Who the feck wants to be friend/allies of, or neutral toward IS?

Too right, I'm quite proud they consider us an enemy. We haven't much of anything to fight them with but we still managed to upset them. Another fine example of the Irish blagging their way into an exclusive club for free. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Yes, we should be doing everything we can to placate IS and get our flag taken off that list! Maybe a few bombings and shooting sprees in the capital of another European or Western country would do it!

I'd rather be neutral all over. I'd rather ireland wasnt giving any (no matter how small) help to the plunder of that region by the US.
    It's pretty clear that going into Iraq was based on a lie an action that pretty much started this sh1tstorm , there is a wide distance between not getting involved and being pals with IS.

As a nation apart from a presidential visit and some boost to the economy in Shannon we don't get a huge amount out of this cooperation with malevolent superpower.

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

****, thank **** I built the bunker. Shower of dopes , they want a ground war.
    If they get it, they'll be in a world of **** very quickly. More than 72 Virgins have already ****ed them, with only one hand on the keyboard to boot.

Attacks like Paris play into their hands, spreading fear and shutting down commere. Carry on and live life normally. Otherwise their objectives are reached. Daesh are like the nazis , they need to be confronted on the ground and defeated, unfortunately it's a war that needs to be fought, unlike a lot of recent conflicts that western powers have been in recently. . Airstikes won't do that.

Too many players in this one to make that a reality unfortunately.

There's a quite good post on listverse.com from a day or two ago that outlines reasons to actually fight them on the ground. I think there's one on cracked.com as well from a good few months back.

Both are kinda "fun" the websites but in those posts, they make some very good points. There's also one on cracked were the sent a guy out to the Mediterranean to talk to the refugees, interesting to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

We are an Island which is in our favour, but our intelligence services would be some of the worst around, not sure how much we collaborate with Mi5/Mi6 etc. but we could represent an easy target, not sure hitting us would play well in the Muslim world mind given our historical sympathies to Palestine etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Inquitus wrote: »
    We are an Island which is in our favour, but our intelligence services would be some of the worst around, not sure how much we collaborate with Mi5/Mi6 etc. but we could represent an easy target, not sure hitting us would play well in the Muslim world mind given our historical sympathies to Palestine etc.

Our intelligence services are so good, you never even heard about them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

We've made the cut.

The definitive official list of enemies of ISIS.

http://www.independent.com.mt/file.aspx?f=116667&width=630&height=340

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I don't think something like that would register, In their view Ireland is an island drenched in sin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭opiniated

I'm not convinced that they care about the opinion of the Muslim world.

If they did, they'd hardly be slaughtering Muslims the way they do.....

I hope Frances Fitzgerald and Michael D watched that video. Might make them think twice about hugging refugees from parts unknown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

arayess wrote: »
    I'd rather be neutral all over. I'd rather ireland wasnt giving any (no matter how small) help to the plunder of that region by the US.
    It's pretty clear that going into Iraq was based on a lie an action that pretty much started this sh1tstorm , there is a wide distance between not getting involved and being pals with IS.

As a nation apart from a presidential visit and some boost to the economy in Shannon we don't get a huge amount out of this cooperation with malevolent superpower.

Europe has basically lived under the protection of the US military and the US nuclear umbrella since the end of WW2. It's allowed many European countries to spend less of their budget on defence than they'd otherwise have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

The obviously havent done their homework.
    Serbia.. **** me they hate muslims but as another poster said no messing with the serbs. Theyre lunatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Would be more impressed by a list of flags who aren't the enemy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

The point of the exercise is to make people in the listed countries distrust and isolate moderate muslims. Such a reaction then makes it easier for Daesh to radicalise disaffected moderates. It's a divide-and-conquer strategy and is well suited to modern media's propensity for shock headlines.

Great to see China on the list. They'll sort them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

We are an Island which is in our favour, but our intelligence services would be some of the worst around, not sure how much we collaborate with Mi5/Mi6 etc.

You mean the same MI5/MI6 that the defence forces intelligence unit and the Garda special branch have worked with for the last couple of decades to keep control of both republican and unionist terror groups? We are far from the worst around but rather we are quite experienced as a country with the whole spying craic. Not to mention the fact the CIA would have an interest in helping us with all the potential American targets in Ireland (multinationals, Shannon, embassy etc...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,384 ✭✭✭threeball

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Great to see China on the list. They'll sort them out

Great bunch off lads.

Seriously though they'd want to be off their heads to attack China. China would send a million man army to wipe out the entire middle east and declare it part of the peoples Republic with even half an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

The main thing necessary for a country in the fight against ISIS is top intelligence
    And attack is only going to come from within in home grown or imported terrorists. No army in the world can combat that ..

So to say Ireland is safe is not exactly true

There is also the possibility that Daesh will attack easier targets from their list as they become more desperate and others' security is stronger.

Not trying to frighten anyone but the possibility of Ireland being attacked is a real threat and depends on the current Daesh presence in the country

I am fully of the view that Daesh need to be defeated comprehensively and this cannot be done without troops on the ground. Otherwise they will still have a base to attract people to where they will be trained and let lose. Also from where terrorists will be funded and supported. (these troops do not have to British/Irish but need to be there and more)
    But also Daesh are killing people now in Syria & Iraq and will go on doing so

And there si the massive problem of refugees...the best possible solution is a ceasefire in Syria ... And I don't think there can be one with Daesh as their only object is annihilation.

( I went on several marches against the Iraq war but this is a very different war ..and a necessity)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

So if Ireland is the devil ,what is ISIS ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Didn't see The Vietnamese! on their list.

Daish won't fook with them :D

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

The roots of trouble in the Middle East lie in Sykes-Picot, and the plucking of brigands out of the desert to make little puppet kings out of them, and to draw lines here and there with no reference to ethnicity or popular will in order to create kingdoms for these little puppets. There will be no peace until these wrongs are addressed. The west has to understand that it is no longer dealing with the pliable vanquished peoples of the Western Hemisphere, where genocide could be resorted to as a first or final solution. These nutters don't play that game. The west will have to sit down with all interested parties and listen to their grievances while articulating its own, in particular attempts to exterminate the Christian and other minorities in the Middle East. There are few people left who don't understand that wrongs were committed aginst Arabs and that local potentates were propped up to serve imperial interests while exploiting their own people. Look at Saudi Arabia, for goodness sake. Only lunatics like Trump and bible-thumping bigots set their faces against this. Trump recently said that he would make ISIS pay for their delinquency by taking their oil. Of course it would never occur to him or his proprietorial ilk that the oil belongs not to ISIS but to the people of the region.
    This is not to say that the future of the Middle East should lie with ISIS or to excuse their atrocities. Their savagery against innocents must be answered, and a refusal by parties to sit at the table must be met by war. But anyone who thinks that that alone will end the terrorism is deluding themselves.
    Nasser employed Arab nationalism to try to galvanise the Arab people against exploitation. His failure turned Arabs in desperation towards Islamic fundamentalism.
    Iraq and Syria belong to the past. So do the puppet kings who have no mandate. It remains to be seen if the West has blown its chance to have a say in redrawing the map. If not it is to be hoped that this time it will pay less attention to oil and more to the popular will and the security of all minorities including the Christians, the Kurds and the Yezidi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Do they want to kill all the non-muslim citizens of the countries listed or convert them-theoretically if therr was a war and ISIS won, would they be rounding us up and putting Christians/Atheists in concentration camps, or a bullet in the head or say that everyone must convert and follow their rules unquestionably or its a bullet to the head?

Theoretically men would be shot with no option and women would be sold into sex slavery. There are dozens of such markets in daesh's terroritory. Women from other cultures and beliefs are forced to convert. The majority of people that Daesh kill are Muslims so everyone's chances of survival may all depend on what side of the bed the person pointing the gun woke up on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Do they want to kill all the non-muslim citizens of the countries listed or convert them-theoretically if therr was a war and ISIS won, would they be rounding us up and putting Christians/Atheists in concentration camps, or a bullet in the head or say that everyone must convert and follow their rules unquestionably or its a bullet to the head?

We would be doing quite well if they afforded us that luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

You mean the same MI5/MI6 that the defence forces intelligence unit and the Garda special branch have worked with for the last couple of decades to keep control of both republican and unionist terror groups? We are far from the worst around but rather we are quite experienced as a country with the whole spying craic. Not to mention the fact the CIA would have an interest in helping us with all the potential American targets in Ireland (multinationals, Shannon, embassy etc...)
    Shure twas a Paddy that helped set up the whole spy malarkey - that Reilly fella in Britain.

or so the story goes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Do the Isis guys even know where Ireland is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

FatherTed wrote: »

Say a mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

FatherTed wrote: »
    Well thanks to your show they do.

Fortunately, because of your show, they think Ireland is a wind-swept rained upon desolate rock in the middle of nowhere, peopled by a collection of crazies.

So we're grand.

All these geebags want is a war. On the ground. Airstrikes won't stop them. The kurdish are doing a great job despite not having the best resources. The Paris attacks and security alerts that have followed, only play into their hands. It's terrorism 101,make them scared, disrupt their lives.

They can be wiped out fairly handy with a nominal ground force, the political will isn't there to do that though. They are quite possibly our generations equivalent to the nazis, as much as I hate to say it, boots on the ground is the only way to beat them. It's a fcuking absolute quagmire though, so nobody wants to step up for fear of treading on somebody's toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭DFGrange

I knew the gay marriage thing would have unforeseen consequences.

Is it ok if they wear clothes on their heads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Orangebrigade

They are in Dublin and if the intelligence service isn't supported more, they will attempt something. These people are everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Yakkyda wrote: »
    All these geebags want is a war. On the ground. Airstrikes won't stop them. The kurdish are doing a great job despite not having the best resources. The Paris attacks and security alerts that have followed, only play into their hands. It's terrorism 101,make them scared, disrupt their lives.

They can be wiped out fairly handy with a nominal ground force, the political will isn't there to do that though. They are quite possibly our generations equivalent to the nazis, as much as I hate to say it, boots on the ground is the only way to beat them. It's a fcuking absolute quagmire though, so nobody wants to step up for fear of treading on somebody's toes.

Here here, well said.

But could Ireland contribute anything to a "mission"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

These people are everywhere.

Quite right, over six and a half billion of them I believe........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Well thanks to your show they do.

Fortunately, because of your show, they think Ireland is a wind-swept rained upon desolate rock in the middle of nowhere, peopled by a collection of crazies Christian priests who rule the roost. These crusaders are the special enemy of IS and deserve crucifixion or beheading.

So we're grand fcuked.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

fly_agaric wrote: »
    Was looking at news article on http://www.independent.ie/world-news/middle-east/islamic-state-include-ireland-on-coalition-of-devils-list-34234173.html

Didn't bother to watch the propaganda video but is that not Italy 1 to right on the row below in the screenshot?

Not aiming this at you, just a general moan...The nonsense about Shannon is so tiresome. I don't know why people need to fool themselves and rationalise in this way. We're white, christian with a small c western Europeans (but thankfully from point of view of these groups we're not powerful or important or strategic or whatever). Only way off such a "hit list" might be to quit EU, tow the Island out of western Europe, and maybe convert to Islam into the bargain (better make sure its an approved "flavour" of the peaceful religion first).

Exactly. Another indication of our incredible insularity. These muppets are fighting the whole western world.
    They will are never even heard of Shannon, FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

BlibBlab wrote: »
    Europe has basically lived under the protection of the US military and the US nuclear umbrella since the end of WW2. It's allowed many European countries to spend less of their budget on defence than they'd otherwise have to.

and this means that we forever bow down to them regardless of the immorality of their actions.
    the people who made deals at the end of WW2 are dead , why should we live with their decisons time moves on
    This protection you speak of , was done out of the goodness of their heart or to stop the advancement of soviet russia.

Don't mistake kindness for America doing what is best for america