Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016 RTE Drama: Rebellion - no spoilers please (mod warning in post #1)

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Is the bored rich boy brother going to join the rebels for the crack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Saw the double yellow lines again tonight and a site sign on the side of the Amiens Street Station building!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

I know it's only a small thing but the pavement and road outside the GPO hasn't been changed or anything. Still the modern one, not cobbles or anything. Just for realism!

lukin wrote: »
    I can see this causing controversy.Did the volunteers really shoot looters?

Wouldn't surprise me tbh. The ironic thing is amongst all of our struggles we were very very quick to declare war on each other in 1922 despite it being against the Democratic wishes of the people and Parliament at the time. We were gun happy

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Whatever about the rest of the Love/Hate cast, but having this serving Garda lad (who played a Garda in Love/Hate) really takes the p1ss. He's so immediately identifiable. Could they not have got him to dye his hair or at least make some change to his appearance?

He's acting as Robert Barton. He fought against the rebels but later joined Sinn Fein and was part of the Treaty negotiations in 1921.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Shiit missed that
    What was the story with girl from Belfast and her fiNcee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

When was this filmed?

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭weadick

The first episode was promising but this isn't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭johnruns

This episode is awful sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Folks Brian Gleeson is a superb actor. He just immerses himself in his roles with such conviction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Maybe it will get better when the Germans arrive.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

Well done to the Ballyhaunis Dramatically Society for their stellar efforts on the production of this evenings episode for a rumoured budget of eight hundred euros

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

A ****ing love triangle in the middle of this is there a need for it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

Skid X wrote: »
    Maybe it will get better when the Germans arrive.

Ah Jaysis! Could you not put spoiler alerts on that?:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It is very flat, no incidental music at all to illustrate the significance of key moments like the proclamation reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

This is shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

I'm predicting some sort of irony, like the British soldier being killed by the pistol that he himself stole from the Turkish officer, which was just handed to the revolutionaries by his son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭lukin

I'm predicting some sort of irony, like the British soldier being killed by the pistol that he himself stole from the Turkish officer, which was just handed to the revolutionaries by his son.

Yeah seems set up for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Amazing that she doesn't have a drop of blood on that lovely blue coat

lukin wrote: »
    Yeah seems set up for that.

Either that or a cat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,065 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Now that wasn't up to much. Very poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭weadick

That was rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

for someone who isnt that familiar with the details of the rising (didnt start school here until the LC and disnt do history then either) ... I'm ok with whatI'm seeing, much easier than reading about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

That was awful and lifeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Jaysus there wasnt a lot of pace or excitement was there? It's certainly no Saving Private Ryan. In fact I think there was more excitement in Saving Ryan's Privates (18s).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I can't see me watching any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

honeybear wrote: »
    I can't see me watching any more.

Googlebox decided not to show you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I wonder what will happen next time?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Been impressed with both episodes, strong production well acted