Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*CLOSED*The 2015 A&PI Christmas Photo Competition!**CLOSED**

• 04-12-2015 12:03am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭

***************This Competition is now Closed*****************

Check out the final 9 here, voting closes Tuesday 22nd Dec at 9pm sharp!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=98129896#

Ahhhhhh, I've been really looking forward to this! :D:o

At long last, it's the Animals and Pets Forum Christmas Photo Competition 2015!

You're probably all getting used to this by now, but just to go through the rules and how it all works.

For the Winner
    I will donate €15 to the animal charity of your choice, as long as it is based in Ireland, and is registered as a charity with Revenue:)
    I will donate a further €15 to the Santa Strike Force (SSF) on your behalf:)

So, how will this all work?
    De Rulez:
    1. We have 8 Categories. The winner of each category will be selected based on the number of "thanks" it gets. The most thanked picture in each category goes forward to the Grand Final to be considered for the overall First Place.
    2. At the start of your post, please clearly state which category you're entering with each photo.
    3. We used to allow one photo per poster per category, but feckit, let's open it up a bit! Each poster can submit up to 5 photos per category, because we just can't get enough of seeing your pets doing their thing :pac:
    4. One picture per post. Any additional pictures beyond the first per post will be deleted. If you want to enter the same picture in more than one category, post it twice so that each can be voted for separately.
    5. Please keep the photo size to a maximum of 640 x 480! This probably means using a hosting site that allows you to size your picture!Bigger pictures are a pain for people with slow broadband, so keep em small folks!
    6. Do not quote photos... quoted photos will be deleted.
    7. This competition is open to pet animals of all species.

So, here's what your post should look like:
    Category 2: Fancy Pants
    Name: Kit Moss
    Then your picture.
    Please feel free to put in a little blurb about the photo and the featured pet(s) under the photo.

Category voting will finish Friday, Dec 18th at 9pm sharp.

The winner of each category will go forward to the Grand Final, voting for which will close on Tuesday December 22nd at 9pm sharp.

Category 1: Golden Oldies.
    .. Awww, we love our oldie pets, so they deserve a category all of their own :o This category is open to all pets in their senior years :)

Category 2: Fancy Pants.
    .. This is the Best Dressed category, for those of you with pets who looooove to show off their wardrobe of designer clothes tongue.png

Category 3: Lights... Camera.. ACTION! The category that turned up our winner in 2013, this is the best action shot, a moment where you captured your pet doing something dramatic and energetic cool.png

Category 4: LOL pets! A seriously popular category last year... For pics where you captured your pet doing something hilarious or naughty, now's your time to go public and mortify them!

Category 5: Baby face! The oldies got their own category, so we HAVE to have one for our baby animals... this one is for puppies, kittens, baby bunnies, chicks... hell, seeing as we're open to all pets, we'll even allow larvae :D

Category 6: Group Shot! This category produced our 2014 winner. Have you a great picture of all your pets together? Or if you have just one pet, a pic of them with their mates? We want to see it! This is your category tongue.png

Category 7: Dog and Cat Free Zone! We want bunnies, guinea pigs, hamsters, gerbils, degus, hedgehogs, birds, lizards, frogs, fish, spiders and.... stick insects :D:D If you couldn't find a category for your not-dog-or-cat above, this is your chance to shine!

Category 8: Never Forget. This is the kinda sad, kinda happy category that proved very popular last year, and I think it's my personal favourite. This category is for pictures of our pets who aren't here in person any more, but who are still in our hearts this Christmas (and every other day). We'll remember them here, and raise a glass to them :)

As always, please don't thank them all for the sake of thanking them all, or we'll never have a winner!
    Good luck, and enjoy! Looking forward to some great pics!
    Happy Christmas everyone!:)

For the memories, here's a link to the 2013 competition:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057106099

And the 2014 compeition:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=93301516

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Knine

Catogory 5

Baby Face

Harley aged 2 hours

370572.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

Category 4: Lol pets!
    Dude, aged 2.
    Looking like an adorably awkward vampire :D

awks%20dude.jpg

Category 5

Baby Face

Hazel age 3 weeks

This being the only time she has ever stayed still in her life

370573.jpg

Category 4

LOL Pets

Abbi aged 2 in a rather compromised position. Still never figured out how she got in there.

370574.jpg

Category 7 Dog & Cat Free zone

Gizmo the Guinea Pig & Rio the ( Bold Fecker) Parrotlet

Gizmo loves his fur groomed & Rio is only happy to help out.

370576.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Category 4 LOL Pets
    Lucyfur aged 5
    We live in a first floor flat and Lucyfur done a swan dive out the window when she was only a few months old. When the window is open the door stays closed but if we forget she's straight in and looks out the window. She knows shes wrong every time.

163.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Category 4 LoL Pets
    Lucyfur aged 5.
    Every kind of cat milk-no. Normal milk no. Lucyfur only drinks water. Unless I'm having a mug of milk myself. Then she's all over that.
    47693_105609896164735_6254644_n.jpg

Category 8

Never Forgotten

Zoltan. Taken very suddenly & far too young

370577.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Category 8

Ozzy, we lost him in May 2014 only 3wks past his first birthday, miss him everyday, even though we now have his sister with us

IMG_7421_zps26eb7f8c.jpg

Category 3

Lights Camera Action

Italian Spinone Hector doing what he loves

370578.jpg

Category 3

Lights Camera Action

Doing the syncronised Beach Bounce

370581.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Category 3
    Lights, Camera, Action!

Catch me if you can!

Left to right: Buddy, Benson and Coco playing chase on the beach.

t5iEsYjl.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

^ omg, the face on Benson is hilair :D

Category 6
    Group Shot

It's hard to resist when they team up to beg for food!

VVmCgi6l.jpg

DBB wrote: »
    ^ omg, the face on Benson is hilair :D

That's his screaming face, when he's chasing the seagulls or the other dogs he never really closes his mouth and screams like a lunatic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭jellybear

Category 5: Baby Face
    Name: Joel

This is our handsome Groenendael Joel. Our Dad's shadow and best friend :)

20t48qx.png

Name: Milo

Doing his best 'Milo Theresa' impression!:)

2lsimw1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭TopTec

jellybear wrote: »
    This is our handsome Groenendael Joel. Our Dad's shadow and best friend :)

He is beautiful. I'm green.
    TT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,312 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Category 3: Lights Camera Action
    Name: Fudge

Chasing the birdies!

19901375643_33ab21ef20_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭pawrick

Category 2: LOL Pets
    Name: Lilly - doing her derp face

d9a15566-593f-4a1d-8d66-d410200a6470_zpsloir8ja5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

What category would you put a picture of your cat in who is not a kitten, is alive, isnt old, is not dressed up and is not doing something funny? None of the ones available would suit just a normal photo of pets. How about introducing a "Portrait" category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Cat. 3: Lights, camera, etc..

Name: Benno

aTgQFt.gif

What category would you put a picture of your cat in who is not a kitten, is alive, isnt old, is not dressed up and is not doing something funny? None of the ones available would suit just a normal photo of pets. How about introducing a "Portrait" category.

There isn't a more formal portrait category because it's pretty clear from previous photo competitions that the mood behind the Christmas competition is to get a good laugh, or serious awwww factor, in this festive season.
    In earlier Christmas competitions from a few years ago, we had more categories including portrait-style ones, but these categories were snipped out since because I noticed they weren't particularly well contributed-to, and felt the competition needed some streamlining. In other words, the categories that are there now have evolved due to their popularity in previous competitions.
    I assume this is all due to the whole festive spirit, and maybe too in no small part to the Post Your Pet Pics thread being there all year round for the more formal shots.
    Now, let's get back on track, if you'd like to discuss this further, please do so by pm. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bluecherry74

Category 7: Dog and Cat Free Zone!
    Name: Coffee and Cream

My newest chickens bathing in a freshly planted flower pot during the summer.

23562791865_c05178f165_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bluecherry74

Category 6: Group Shot!
    Names: Henry and Jessie

23536936506_903d3a5416_z.jpg

Cat 3 Lights Camera Action

Italian Spinone Hector on Point - A hunt/ Point/ Retrieve Breed in action

370866.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Hooked

Category 2
    Fancy Pants
    Jack (2) and Hugo (4)

Not tonight gents! Ye look a bit 'ruff'.

68E80FFF-D67A-4C42-8C27-A3252946F29F_zpspk7bpzor.jpg

Category 4: Lol pets
    Cream aged 6 guarding my pizza :D

p3HBKyZkj

Category 3: Lights, Camera, Action!
    Names: Dude and Cream

fly_zps53c8f5dd.jpg

Yes I do have flying cats, jealous? :cool:

Cat 2 LOL

Rosie laughing at her puppy - "not a hope of getting a feed from me"

370935.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭honerbright

Category 6: Group Shot!
    Names: Roisin, Max and Cinnamon (underneath).
    Ages: 1, 2 and 7.

2liikxf.jpg

Category 6: Group Shot
    Name: Roisin and Poppy

29ggy9u.jpg

Category 6: Group Shot
    Name: Poppy, Oscar and Max

6h11k0.jpg
    Duvet day last winter. Sadly Oscar is no longer with us :(

Category 3: Lights... Camera.. ACTION!
    Name: Poppy

2wmf991.jpg

Her favourite trick is 'Spin'. She jumps up and spins in a circle... this is the result :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

Category 4: LOL Pets!
    Name: Josie

Butter wouldn't melt... She's actually begging to be let out so she can chase my cats on the lawn! :D

mummy-cats_zpsi34hl7uk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭morgana

Category 1
    Name: Pudsy
    Age 13

That's how you get maximum exposure when the heating is on!

rice4g.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭morgana

Category 4
    Name: Micky

I'm totally innocent and i'm not sayin' where I've been!

2ch9891.jpg

Category 5: Baby face!

Dude, aged 12 weeks in the picture, back when he looked all innocent!

9cca99fa-829a-474e-8ec5-ed4df21b533b.jpg

Category 4 Lol pets

Dude, aged 2 years. Here is is having a laugh, celebrating the fact he's still here 2 years after he got hit by a car :D (what better way to mark the anniversary than entering his pics here? :D )

d1233a4d-ccc1-4e4f-a090-25fa1875ff72.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,779 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Category 3--Lights Camera Action
    About the most action you get from a Newfie.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,779 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Category 6--Group Shot.
    Bailey and Friends.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Category 3--Lights Camera Action
    About the most action you get from a Newfie.

Nice hearth rug you've got there hellrazer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Category 4: LOL pets!
    "Help me back down!!!!!!"

Name: Lumen

DSCF1396.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

DBB wrote: »
    Nice hearth rug you've got there hellrazer :D

was just going to ask if he's actually a dog or a rug!!!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭too little too late

Category Never Forgotten
    Kramer and Rua Newfoundlands (aged 9 and 7)

Both sadly passed away this year. Will never be forgotten. Loved by everyone especially their best friend, this little girl.

Name: Milo

Another of Milo :) In his leopard print blanket this time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I finally figured out how to do this.
    Category 8
    Andy age 13 at the time. After having too much fun in the snow.

Hi folks,
    Just a reminder that today is the last day for entering photos into the competition... The thread closes at 9pm tonight and finalists selected.
    So get posting! :)

Edited to add- we're short of photos from Category 1, Golden Oldies... Let's see some more of our wise old friends today!
    Also Category 5, the Dog and Cat Free Zone... C'mon folks! We know there are all sorts of non-Latin or feline smallies (and not so smallies) out there! Let's see them! :D

I'll throw in one of my golden oldie (she's only 8 but she's starting to grey :() and her non hairy little sister:p

fV0GrLNl.jpg

Tick tock, tick tock!
    19 mins left!