Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 194: McGregor vs Aldo ***READ POST #1 BEFORE POSTING***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,895 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

McGregor via Decision
    GFT wrote: »
    Could be wrong but I reckon that was pointed towards Dillashaw and Co. He isn't even looking at Aldos corner.

Yupp i was thinking the same. TJ had a big shocked head on him like someone just took away his bowl of pasgetti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

McGregor via Decision
    Rogan talking about Aldo.

https://streamable.com/yfai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

xtal191 wrote: »
    untitled-1150q1m.gif

Haha I loved that bit. The sweetness of victory after all the sledging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Anyone think the Rockhold fight should've been stopped a round early? Personally I think not, looked worse when someone gets cut but I felt Weidman was blocking and defending well enough. What makes a ref decide what's adequate defence not to stop it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Aldo via Submission
    .ak wrote: »
    Anyone think the Rockhold fight should've been stopped a round early? Personally I think not, looked worse when someone gets cut but I felt Weidman was blocking and defending well enough. What makes a ref decide what's adequate defence not to stop it?

I couldn't believe it wasn't stopped at the end of the third. What else did Rockhold have to do. Weidman was literally just covering up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,738 ✭✭✭ASOT

Aldo via KO/TKO
    I was just having a discussion there with one of the lads, I'm fairly sure croke Park won't happen now with the way Conors tone has changed on the subject. The ufc should look into what Frampton had for his fight in Belfast, 16/17k temporary arena for a card here, do it in Punchestown or something like that and cater for the American ppv times, would be unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Any links to the Fox interview with Bisping & DC? Cannot grab one online.

Amazing fight for Conor, delighted for him. Felt bad for Aldo, he'll be back though.

The Urijah V Frankie fight was a fun one, Frankie had some heart...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Will Aldo be back at all after the retirement rumours?

He wasnt being a company man in reguards of reebok or iv's so that wont help him in getting a favourable return fight ie a rematch or even a fight at home in brazil cant see them doing him favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GFT

McGregor via Decision
    Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Yupp i was thinking the same. TJ had a big shocked head on him like someone just took away his bowl of pasgetti.

You mean his live mouse. Bein' a snake in the grass an' al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Zero-Cool wrote: »

Ha, love the pasgetti reference!

McGregor via Decision
    Interesting point. I hadn't considered that. In that case it's banter more than anything. Thought it was bad form if directed at Aldo's corner.

Sure he went to hug aldo after. I think Aldos corner were just caught up in the shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Aldo via Submission
    GFT wrote: »
    Sure he went to hug aldo after. I think Aldos corner were just caught up in the shock.

I think we all were!

McGregor via Decision
    Saipanne wrote: »
    I think we all were!

Sure he's still laughing Aldo way to the bank. HEYOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

negligible refereeing and even more negligible corner work for Weidman.

Herb Dean should have stopped it, and when the poor fecker had to be cajoled back to his stool, and was clearly in no fit state to continue they just sent him out to get a further inevitable beating. It was like storming the trenches in WW1, suicide!!

I actually think thats a major issue in MMA, the corners never pull their fighters out when they're taking a beating. I guarantee if that was in boxing then Weidmans corner would have thrown in the towel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Lads we have an Irish ufc champion!

Still can't believe it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

Naos wrote: »
    Any links to the Fox interview with Bisping & DC? Cannot grab one online.

Ariel Interview
    (final word is amazing, got me emotional tbh) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5ObUSqWIjI

Conor Backstage
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_nFe4RlbY4

Conor Press conference https://youtu.be/JjXHai7M7oU?t=32m48s

Dana Backstage (weird thing with Frankie, poor fella doesn't know what future holds) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijj6g9XeggU

This one is a class view behind the scenes:
    xtal191 wrote: »
    Rogan talking about Aldo during the fighter announcements

https://streamable.com/yfai

Need USA VPN for rest (region locked):
    Corners Fox Interview (I loved this one) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAqhstBxwwg

Dana Fox Interview https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy-nDX7HiuY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

McGregor via Decision

1:43 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPYwwudlGrs

Dana reckons himself it should have been stopped

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

There's a vid of Lorenzo Fertitta throwing his arms up while holding the belt after Aldo got knocked down. He looked pissed off. Not sure was it because the fight ended so quickly but supposedly there was some friction between Conor's camp and the UFC over the figure for his new contract. He didn't sign one before the fight, probably so he's in a better position after, but I think he said in his post fight conference that he had agreed a deal in principle. Anyways, he's in an amazing situation, Weidmann and Ronda are gone, 2 of the most marketable fighters going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Aldo via Submission
    Great work thewheel fair play for putting that together cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

After Mendes fight he got that cut stitched really well in America.

His cut opened again in Ireland training and he got it poorly stitched back!

Said he'll get it done properly now to stop it opening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

McGregor via Decision
    Lukker- wrote: »
    There's a vid of Lorenzo Fertitta throwing his arms up while holding the belt after Aldo got knocked down. He looked pissed off. Not sure was it because the fight ended so quickly but supposedly there was some friction between Conor's camp and the UFC over the figure for his new contract. He didn't sign one before the fight, probably so he's in a better position after, but I think he said in his post fight conference that he had agreed a deal in principle. Anyways, he's in an amazing situation, Weidmann and Ronda are gone, 2 of the most marketable fighters going.

Id say his next contract wont be far off a controlling stake in the company if hee keeps up his progress

Lukker- wrote: »

Thats the brother frank,Lorenzo was back stage drinking with him last night.

Aldo via Submission
    Depp wrote: »
    Id say his next contract wont be far off a controlling stake in the company if hee keeps up his progress

A controlling stake in the company? Its a $1.6bn company even White only had 9% he might get a piece but it will be a very small piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Aldo via Submission
    jimmii wrote: »
    A controlling stake in the company? Its a $1.6bn company even White only had 9% he might get a piece but it will be a very small piece.

It was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

McGregor via Decision
    thug life https://streamable.com/6dbr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Ariel Interview
    (final word is amazing, got me emotional tbh) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5ObUSqWIjI

Conor Backstage
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_nFe4RlbY4

Conor Press conference https://youtu.be/JjXHai7M7oU?t=32m48s

Dana Backstage (weird thing with Frankie, poor fella doesn't know what future holds) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijj6g9XeggU

This one is a class view behind the scenes:

Need USA VPN for rest (region locked):
    Corners Fox Interview (I loved this one) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAqhstBxwwg

Dana Fox Interview https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy-nDX7HiuY

I just have to put it out there. For all the Joe Rogan naysayers, you cannot deny the man knows his ****. Yeah, he sometimes loses the run of himself when calling for his favorite fighters and at times can be a bit biased but you can hear on this behind the scenes production audio that he has an intimate knowledge of the game and has a lot of respect from the producers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

its funny how some of these invincible champions have all been dethroned recently enough, just after the IV ban and stricter anti doping controls came into play........

Aldo via Submission
    It was a joke.

lol! I did think it was going a bit too far alright!

Dos Anjos post usada testing will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

McGregor via Decision
    its funny how some of these invincible champions have all been dethroned recently enough, just after the IV ban and stricter anti doping controls came into play........

Good point. Hope its not the case though