Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I an alcoholic? Please help.

• 05-12-2015 10:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 45

I would like some unbiast advice regarding my drinking.

First off, I'm a 24 year old woman and many of my friends love to drink - and drink quite a lot.

I consider myself to be a problem drinker, however, I am unsure of whether I should keep working to further manage my issue with alcohol or if I should completely abstain from alcohol. I am rather uncomfortable discussing some of the main reasons why I believe this and with friends I do discuss it with (both responsible and irrepsonsible drinkers) tell me that I don't need to go off drink for good.

As I am posting anonymously, I thought I should share some of the most private reasons for why I feel I should give up alcohol.

I am/was a very binge drinker. I use to drink a bottle of wine before heading to the pub then continue to have anywhere from 5-10 drinks (pints or brandy or both) and more often than not, shots of some sort (tequila, baby guinness, jagerbombs). I use to blackout every few weeks/months, never really get sick. I am a lightweight drinker (tipsy after 2 pints, drunk after 3). Although, I am a lightweight drinker, when I get drunk I will not stop drinking and can consume alarmingly large amounts of alcohol for my 5ft2 frame.

I now drink 1 bottle of beer or less before I head out, avoid shots and stick to pints and maybe a brandy at the end of the night. I briefly went to counselling and am on antidepressants and now feel much more in control of my drinking due to the fact that my moods are so much more stable.

Previosuly, I use to drink because I was so uncomfortable in how I looked or how socialable I was - I drank to escape feelings of inadequacy. I am a very funny person to be around when I'm drunk and tend to get on great with others when drinking - people love having me around for a session and much of my self-esteem is/was based on happy I feel when drinking and how well others percieve me.

I drink one night every second week and don't seem to crave it so much other than this so naturally others don't assume I would be the "traditional" type of alcholic as I don't appear to have a phsycial dependency.

Although, I feel much more in control of my drinking - part of me wonders if this is me deluding myself in order to continue drinking and not face facts. I know that if I continue to drink, I cannot promise myself or anyone else that I won't ever go on an absolute bender or blackout. I often feel guilty about drinking even if I have no reason to regret the previous night - I feel guilty about the past and things I have let happen and blame myself.

When I was 18, I got blackout drunk and had vague flashbacks of being sexually assaulted by a stranger - my dress was still on and he had me in a strangle hold while he committed the act. I remember crying, saying stop and calling for my grandfather (who was dead 5 years at the time). After he was done, he invited his other friend into the room to also have sex with me. Needless to say, it was a traumatic way to lose my virginity however it is hard for me to feel remorse for myself when I continued to put myself in vulnerable situtations countless times since this incidence.

Years later, I fell in love but was still very much a problem drinker at the time. I again, got blackout drunk, kissed another man (after a bottle of wine + a pint of straight whiskey), told my BF (even though he would have never found out) who dumped me and has resented me ever since (and rightfully so). I had a complete mental breakdown after our relationship ended and have slowly come to terms with the guilt and anger at myself.

These are only two examples, clearly the two worst consquences of my drinking but it is clear to see that I have no regard for my personal safety or well being when I go on a binge.

So yeah, now, I feel that I am drinking because I enjoy it and not to escape my issues as I am trying to improve myself mentally. I feel much more aware of my drinking and avoid it if I feel that I am doing it because I feel upset/down.

I just don't know whether my drinking is only problematic because of how I feel about myself or if I should never drink again because it will always be problematic for me, regardless of my mental state or wellbeing?

I would appreciate any advice from people who have struggled with drinking. I know it is truly up to me to decide but I thought an outside perspective (not friends/family) might be helpful.

Ps. Apologies for the terribly long, scattered post!

Thanks,
    Susan.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 quarefarmers

Hi well done on your post,realising you might have a problem is the first step,
    Nobody here can answer,i would suggest seeing your doctor who could refer you to a specialst,i would suggest maybe going to few aa meetings see what you make of it and continue on from there,best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 45 susan2k15

Hi well done on your post,realising you might have a problem is the first step,
    Nobody here can answer,i would suggest seeing your doctor who could refer you to a specialst,i would suggest maybe going to few aa meetings see what you make of it and continue on from there,best of luck!

Thank you for reading and responding. I have went to my doc, am taking anti-depressants and he has referred me to a specialist. I have been waiting to see a specialist for nearly 5 months. I just came on here because I can't imagine going to an AA meeting and having to stand up and say such personal things about myself. I just don't know if my issue with drinking is only relative to my emotional well-being or if I will always be a problematic drinker and need to stop drinking forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 quarefarmers

Meetings are fine you don't have to say anything if you don't want to,you will find good people there you can talk to

• Registered Users Posts: 8 ratser

hi.
    i dont know the answer to your question. i think you need to give yourself a breather - ie abstain for a while - dont stop socialising etc. maybe initially you could try a non alcoholic beer as suggested in similiar threads. it might deflect the peer pressure. by deciding you are giving it up it automatically lifts the pressure off you. for eg you know you are going to be fresh and ready for action on a sunday or monday morning. it will open you mind to new opportunities as you are not constantly thinking about drink.
    just my thoughts. dont know if its any good for you.

ratser wrote: »
    hi.
    i dont know the answer to your question. i think you need to give yourself a breather - ie abstain for a while - dont stop socialising etc. maybe initially you could try a non alcoholic beer as suggested in similiar threads. it might deflect the peer pressure. by deciding you are giving it up it automatically lifts the pressure off you. for eg you know you are going to be fresh and ready for action on a sunday or monday morning. it will open you mind to new opportunities as you are not constantly thinking about drink.
    just my thoughts. dont know if its any good for you.

I am planning to go off it for 90 days for New Years and see how it goes. I don't want to go off it before Christmas because I have too many social obligations and too many questions. I think I can pass it off as I'm off it to lose weight in the new year instead of saying I think I'm an alco and my friends will be like you're grand just don't drink so much when I don't feel I have 100% control to do so. The fear of how much more bad **** can I let happen before I realise I can't drink is a growing concern - I hurt my ex too much with one stupid mistake to ever do that again to anyone and can't imagine having to go through hating myself for anything like that again.

Non-alcoholic beer is a good idea, hadn't thought of that before - thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Susan there was a woman in AA (Marty Mann), one of the first female members I believe, who urged those who were unclear as to whether or not they were really alcoholic to try this:
    We do not like to pronounce any individual as alcoholic, but you can quickly diagnose yourself. Step over to the nearest barroom and try some controlled drinking. Try to drink and stop abruptly. Try it more than once. It will not take long for you to decide, if you are honest with yourself about it. It may be worth a bad case of jitters if you get a full knowledge of your condition.

And I noted above you have already engaged in the practice of switching drinks, etc. This is also from the Big Book, same chapter as above "More About Alcoholism":
    Despite all we can say, many who are real alcoholics are not
    going to believe they are in that class. By every form of selfdeception
    and experimentation, they will try to prove themselves
    exceptions to the rule, therefore non-alcoholic.

If anyone who is showing inability to control his drinking can
    do the right-about-face and drink like a gentleman, our hats are off
    to him. Heaven knows, we have tried hard enough and long enough
    to drink like other people!

Here are some of the methods we have tried:
    Drinking beer only, limiting the number of drinks, never drinking alone, never
    drinking in the morning, drinking only at home, never having it in
    the house, never drinking during business hours, drinking only at
    parties, switching from scotch to brandy, drinking only natural
    wines, agreeing to resign if ever drunk on the job, taking a trip, not
    taking a trip, swearing off forever (with and without a solemn oath),
    taking more physical exercise, reading inspirational books, going to
    health farms and sanitariums, accepting voluntary commitment to
    asylums—we could increase the list ad infinitum.

http://anonpress.org/bb/Page_30.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

If you think it is a problem then it probably is. I had a bit of argument with Amazingfun regarding AA, which was not for me but you can attend meetings and just listen. If for no other reason you realize that you are not the only person for whom drinking is a problem.

I am only three weeks off again after one or two failed attempts, so god knows I am no expert, but one thing I did learn and hopefully will stand to me this time is that you need to really want to give up, and you need to plan when to give up, and what you will replace the time, and perhaps even the company, with.

I hope it works out for you.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

OP - it sounds like you are on the cusp - or close to crossing that line - from heavy drinking into full blown alcoholism. But you and only you can decide if you have a problem and learn to remedy it. AA is a good starting point. You don't have to speak at their meetings - just go and listen.

Try to stop drinking for a month. If you can manage that, well and good. If you can't - then you might have a serious problem on your hands. I crossed that line myself several years ago and am still trying to claw myself out of the abyss of the demon drink. It has brought me to dark, dark places that I never want to see again.

All I can say is this: before I gave up alcohol, the idea of life without alcohol seemed empty. What would I do with all my time? How would I relax? How would I unwind? Where would my relief, my escape, be? How could I possibly unravel all those ridiculously powerful Irish cultural connections between alcohol, tradition and having a good time? Getting ossified was always my reward, that deep vacuum into which I dumped the stresses of life.

Without all those days and times of drinking (to excess, always), the world seemed so singularly empty and, yes, scary when I thought about it more.

Almost two years later: it was all balderdash. Truly, never had I convinced myself so much about something that was so utterly wrongheaded. I do not miss alcohol in the slightest. That was my big fear, so I'd like to emphasis that reality now to anybody who has the same fear of giving up alcohol.

There's so much going on I can't conceive of having the energy (above all else) to go out and get plastered. I get home from work and from collecting my baby and from doing a masters in the evening and I am utterly exhausted. The only thing I want is sleep. It seems like a lifetime ago since I was coming straight home to get drunk in complete freedom, each and every evening. I achieved nothing in those years. Zero. No progress in career, mind, soul, intelligence. Resting on the laurels of my existing qualifications. Wasted years, and time now is the most precious thing of all (you only realise this when you lead a more full life).

Give it up, at least for a while. See how that goes. Find a new hobby, something you can grow with. I assure you that you'll not miss it near as much as you fear you might. There's a great world out here to embrace. Start noticing the simple things; the lovely fresh mornings, the sound of birds in the trees, the sound of water. Live.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Nothing needs be added to that anamcheasta.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Gerry T

I'm not sure your an alcoholic. When under stress do you need a drink to cope. When important things are happening do you let yourself and other people close to you down by drinking? In a nutshell is there a dependence on drink?
    You do sound like a heavy drinker and that you get drunk quickly, while you may make a fool of yourself that's a lesson you are slow to learn. Try keep to your limit, slow down your drinking, alternate a alcoholic drink with non alcoholic works.
    As for you blaming yourself for finding yourself in vulnerable positions, that is silly but in no way is it your fault if some scumbag takes advantage of you. I'm so sorry you had that experience at 18, one that you are zero percent responsible for. You were taken advantage of by a preying evil thing. Your drinking sounds like a way for you to escape, getting professional councillor for what you were put through would be my advise and my best wishes to you.

All I can say is this: before I gave up alcohol, the idea of life without alcohol seemed empty. What would I do with all my time? How would I relax? How would I unwind? Where would my relief, my escape, be? How could I possibly unravel all those ridiculously powerful Irish cultural connections between alcohol, tradition and having a good time? Getting ossified was always my reward, that deep vacuum into which I dumped the stresses of life.

Without all those days and times of drinking (to excess, always), the world seemed so singularly empty and, yes, scary when I thought about it more.

Almost two years later: it was all balderdash. Truly, never had I convinced myself so much about something that was so utterly wrongheaded. I do not miss alcohol in the slightest. That was my big fear, so I'd like to emphasis that reality now to anybody who has the same fear of giving up alcohol.

There's so much going on I can't conceive of having the energy (above all else) to go out and get plastered. I get home from work and from collecting my baby and from doing a masters in the evening and I am utterly exhausted. The only thing I want is sleep. It seems like a lifetime ago since I was coming straight home to get drunk in complete freedom, each and every evening. I achieved nothing in those years. Zero. No progress in career, mind, soul, intelligence. Resting on the laurels of my existing qualifications. Wasted years, and time now is the most precious thing of all (you only realise this when you lead a more full life).

Give it up, at least for a while. See how that goes. Find a new hobby, something you can grow with. I assure you that you'll not miss it near as much as you fear you might. There's a great world out here to embrace. Start noticing the simple things; the lovely fresh mornings, the sound of birds in the trees, the sound of water. Live.

Thank you for your kind, insightful words. Apologies for the delay, I was slightly overwhlemed by peoples responses. I've decided to give up drink for 12 months. Initially, I've told friends its for 3 months and for health reason. They all think I'm crazy, being heavy drinkers themselves, of course, they don't realise that I am depressed and cry nearly every few days which is still a vast improvement from a few months ago. I'm the party, happy out type so its a huge adustment. I will re-assess on whether I want to go back drinking once I hopefully feel well again and find other hobbies outside of being plastered and rebuild my self-esteem.

I realised I can't try to resolve my depression while continuing to drink, given my pattern of drinking, moderation isn't sustainable for the foreseeable future at least.

I'm going to my first AA meeting. Ironic, my father is a recovering alcoholic for 25 years and has not once thought I had a problem drinking despite picking me plastered throughout my teenage years. I never thought I was bad enough to go to AA but I don't want to wait until I end up in A&E or **** knows what else before I decide to at least try.

Thank you again for your words.

Also, as much as I've succeed with moderating my drink consumption in the past 6 months, I've still f*cked up. I've created a dangerous pattern of drinking and simply trying to muster the will to moderate, like normal people do, doesn't work for me when I've built my whole sense of persona and identity on being the drunk, party animal.

In the past 6 month, despite my efforts, I've still blacked out twice. Once, at home, drinking wine without even realising I had drunk much (not trying to intentionally make myself black out just watching a movie). I was then told that during my 3 hour blackout, I kept going into the wardrobe looking for narnia and Paulo (I don't know a Paulo), much to the amusement of others.

The second incident, I found myself tipsy (on a Wednesday) and decided to go f*ck it, yolo get as drunk as you want (your ex doesn't care anymore), nobody cares what you do. This resulted in me blacking out for 8 hours, waking up in a hotel with 2 guys with no idea how I got there (neither of them tried anything apparently and despite how much craic they said I was, were concerned that they had to keep pulling off a bottle of captain morgan on me that I tried downing at 5 in the morning). I got fined 60 euro by the hotel for noise complaints and then drove to work completely pissed at 2pm in the day (5 hours late) and sent myself home an hour later realising how pissed I acutally was (I am an office manager!).

The funny thing is I didn't care. I wouldn't have cared if I had sex with one of those random guys. I didn't care about myself. I wasn't even surprised nor were my friends, it was just seen as another funny drunk story.

I don't want to be that person or need to be, but I can't change without removing alcohol from my life. I have been too afraid to do that because of what others will think when all I should really care is what I think of myself, which is frankly and clearly, not a lot right now.

Also, as much as I've succeed with moderating my drink consumption in the past 6 months, I've still f*cked up. I've created a dangerous pattern of drinking and simply trying to muster the will to moderate, like normal people do, doesn't work for me when I've built my whole sense of persona and identity on being the drunk, party animal.

In the past 6 months, despite my efforts (my reflex to numb myself with drink), I've still blacked out twice. Once, at home, drinking wine without even realising I had drunk much (not trying to intentionally make myself black out just watching a movie). I was then told that during my 3 hour blackout, I kept going into the wardrobe looking for narnia (that magical place?) and Paulo (I don't know a Paulo), much to the amusement of others.

The second incident, I found myself tipsy (on a Wednesday) and decided to go f*ck it, yolo get as drunk as you want (your ex doesn't care anymore), nobody cares what you do. This resulted in me blacking out for 8 hours, waking up in a hotel with 2 guys with no idea how I got there (neither of them tried anything apparently and despite how much craic they said I was, were concerned and jokingly called me an alco as they had to keep pulling off a bottle of captain morgan off me that I downed most of at 5 in the morning). I got fined 60 euro by the hotel for noise complaints and then drove to work completely pissed at 2pm in the day (5 hours late) and sent myself home an hour later realising how pissed I acutally was (I am an office manager!). I think Ireland must be the only country where that can possibly be seen as a funny story by some people. Of course, I've created an attitude of how I don't care about how much I drink publically to others so probably harder to express concern when I don't express it to others (outside of anonymously on this thread of course).

The funny thing is I didn't care at the time. I wouldn't have cared if I had sex with one of those random guys. I don't even want to think about driving drunk because it is such appauling, ridiculously dangerous behaviour. I actually put road users at risk and that is terrifying regardless of the fact, that nothing bad happened on that single incident.

I didn't care about myself (or others whilst driving other the influence).

I don't want to be that person or need to be, but I can't change without removing alcohol from my life. I have been too afraid to commit to it before because of what others will think (I will lose my closest friend of 10 years) when all I should really care is what I think of myself, which is frankly and clearly, is not a lot right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You say you are on anti-depressants. Alcohol and Anti-depressants do not mix. At all. Take it from someone whose been there. I was on them for a while and the few times I drank on them my tolerance was reduced by about 70% and it caused me to behave erratically. Im surprised your doctor didnt tell you not to drink while on them.

I suggest you abstain during your course of medication and use the time to think about your relationship with alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Driving under the influence would be a huge concern here btw. Please address this. I can empathise with your predicament, which from the outset was a question to decipher between hardcore binging or alcoholism, but now factor ing in this latest revelation it's just not on at all. This needs to be sorted out now and it's a lot more serious than your feeling low about yourself - no one else's lives have to needlessly be interfered with because of your problems.

syklops wrote: »
    You say you are on anti-depressants. Alcohol and Anti-depressants do not mix. At all. Take it from someone whose been there. I was on them for a while and the few times I drank on them my tolerance was reduced by about 70% and it caused me to behave erratically. Im surprised your doctor didnt tell you not to drink while on them.

I suggest you abstain during your course of medication and use the time to think about your relationship with alcohol.

My GP is great. I use to hate going to him before because he would ask a million questions and keep me for nearly an hour whenever I need a repeat prescription. He knows well that I am telling him f**ck all. He gave me ones that you can drink on (as opposed to others that strictly say you can't drink with). He did this simply because he knew I wasn't going to recognise to give up drink completely. Hes referred me to an addicition outpatient program (waiting 6 months now) and I am looking forward to seeing him when I am 30 days sober. He is literally one of two people who can see through my facade created by drink. I didn't want to give up drinking before, partially, because I wanted to keep up the illusion that I am okay to others and because I was too depressed to even try. I drank two days over Xmas and cried for days and days after so ya it really affects my medication.

Driving under the influence would be a huge concern here btw. Please address this. I can empathise with your predicament, which from the outset was a question to decipher between hardcore binging or alcoholism, but now factor ing in this latest revelation it's just not on at all. This needs to be sorted out now and it's a lot more serious than your feeling low about yourself - no one else's lives have to needlessly be interfered with because of your problems.

Yes, I haven't repeated that incident. I was beyond shocked that I did that as I would normally get a bus or a lift, the rest of it not so surprising. But I did it and I need to take accountability of doing it, which is partly admitting to strangers that I have done it. I lost a friend due to drink driving so I of all people, should've known better. I haven't got excessively drunk since that incident but have decided I need to completely abstain for the foreseeable future because I can't risk it ever reoccurring and sadly, I don't think I can promise to myself that nothing bad will happen if I continue to drink. I realise there is no point being ashamed of it if I put myself in situations that allow my judgement to become so seriously impaired again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Where were your friends that they let you off pissed with two random guys?

It was a Wednesday night, they went home because they had work in the morning and I assured them that I would go home after 1 more drink. I walked into a pub and made friends with a bunch of lads (I would be too shy to even talk to one sober) and yeah I wasn't as drunk before they left. But its happened plenty of times before, my friends are heavy drinkers so they can hardly mind themselves, nevermind me. I can't expect people to mind me when I do it all the time, it becomes norm.

Another time, I woke up in a basement with 3 guys with no idea how I got there. They actually took me home because they were too afraid to leave me by myself with a broken phone and no money and partly cause I was such a "hilarious" drunk. When I got home the next day, my friends just assumed I had found a man.

Believe it or not, I'm not even the most wreckless of drinkers compared to one of my friends.

It was also this incident that gave me the answer to my question...regardless of whether or not its "just" hardcore binging or the onset of becoming an alcoholic, I have to stop drinking. When I try to moderate, I feel anxiety days before going out and throughout the night with the fear that something could trigger me to go overboard. I realise this is not normal.

I didn't drink at my work xmas party (from 7pm-5.30am!) out of the fear that I tend to binge drink when I feel socially awkward. I am now committed to staying sober regardless of whether anyone else thinks I have a problem or not because for me, at least it is definitely a problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

susan2k15 wrote:
    Although, I feel much more in control of my drinking - part of me wonders if this is me deluding myself in order to continue drinking and not face facts. I know that if I continue to drink, I cannot promise myself or anyone else that I won't ever go on an absolute bender or blackout. I often feel guilty about drinking even if I have no reason to regret the previous night - I feel guilty about the past and things I have let happen and blame myself.

susan2k15 wrote:
    My GP is great. I use to hate going to him before because he would ask a million questions and keep me for nearly an hour whenever I need a repeat prescription. He knows well that I am telling him f**ck all. He gave me ones that you can drink on (as opposed to others that strictly say you can't drink with). He did this simply because he knew I wasn't going to recognise to give up drink completely. Hes referred me to an addicition outpatient program (waiting 6 months now) and I am looking forward to seeing him when I am 30 days sober. He is literally one of two people who can see through my facade created by drink. I didn't want to give up drinking before, partially, because I wanted to keep up the illusion that I am okay to others and because I was too depressed to even try. I drank two days over Xmas and cried for days and days after so ya it really affects my medication.

Honestly there's no antidepressants which work effectively combined with alcohol.

A doctor who suggests prescription of antidepressants,and sure drink away would be struck off the list.

Alcohol is cunning baffling and powerful,it'll use any excuse to keep you drinking.

But I don't think any GP would suggest drinking or tell a depressed person to drink away on meds.

I wish you luck,from experience once I lost control of my drinking,I was never ever able to regain the original buzz of good old John Barleycorn....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

susan2k15 wrote: »
    He gave me ones that you can drink on (as opposed to others that strictly say you can't drink with). He did this simply because he knew I wasn't going to recognise to give up drink completely.

There are ones you can drink on, there are ones that explicitly say you must not. I'm saying don't drink on either type, and again Im speaking from experience.
    Hes referred me to an addicition outpatient program (waiting 6 months now) and I am looking forward to seeing him when I am 30 days sober. He is literally one of two people who can see through my facade created by drink. I didn't want to give up drinking before, partially, because I wanted to keep up the illusion that I am okay to others and because I was too depressed to even try. I drank two days over Xmas and cried for days and days after so ya it really affects my medication.

Are you really waiting 6 months to see this addiction specialist? I'd say quit waiting for the specialist and start figuring this out your self.
    I drink one night every second week and don't seem to crave it so much other than this so naturally others don't assume I would be the "traditional" type of alcholic as I don't appear to have a phsycial dependency.

You drink one night every second week? So skip one of the nights out and you are sober for 28 days already. At this point I should say I don't like using the word sober in this manner, but thats for another thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 deisedays

I used to drink regularly in a social context in my early mid twenties. It was the usual "going for a few pints" stuff people that age do.
    I gave up drinking entirely in my late twenties- I was playing a lot of GAA and was into fitness. I didn't drink for an entire year
    After a year away from booze I had a pint of beer at a social event. I was amazed at how much I didn't like the taste of beer that I previously thought was lovely stuff.
    Even years later drink has never again held the same appeal for me as it did when I was younger. I may or may not take a drink now at social occasions, and it is exactly that- what I have - A drink- one beer or one glass of wine and no more than that.
    In summary I think there are huge benefits in taking a break from drink whether you think you have a problem or not.
    I don't think I ever had a problem with drink but maybe it's better to knock drinking on the head before it becomes a problem !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

It was also this incident that gave me the answer to my question...regardless of whether or not its "just" hardcore binging or the onset of becoming an alcoholic, I have to stop drinking. When I try to moderate, I feel anxiety days before going out and throughout the night with the fear that something could trigger me to go overboard. I realise this is not normal.

I didn't drink at my work xmas party (from 7pm-5.30am!) out of the fear that I tend to binge drink when I feel socially awkward. I am now committed to staying sober regardless of whether anyone else thinks I have a problem or not because for me, at least it is definitely a problem.

Well the socially awkward side is a trigger and you successfully side-stepped that aspect of it so that's an excellent result in terms of awareness and progress. Did you hang in there until 5am to test out your endurance to abstaining or was it you didn't actually mind being in drunk people's company until then?

Honestly there's no antidepressants which work effectively combined with alcohol.

A doctor who suggests prescription of antidepressants,and sure drink away would be struck off the list.

Alcohol is cunning baffling and powerful,it'll use any excuse to keep you drinking.

But I don't think any GP would suggest drinking or tell a depressed person to drink away on meds.

I wish you luck,from experience once I lost control of my drinking,I was never ever able to regain the original buzz of good old John Barleycorn....

Sorry, I was being unclear. He tells me everytime I see him to stop drinking. He keeps encouraging me to stop and I can see that everytime I tell him that I still am but am trying to moderate, hes disappointed. He just chose to put me ones that didn't react as strongly with alcohol, probably as a measure of harm reduction on his side.

Drinking has always been my way of coping and of having fun so it was harder to think of giving it up when you feel down even if another part of you recognises that it is contributing hugely to the actual problem. Drinking was my way of fitting in. Its how I made friends, and how guys would like me, but whats the point when you don't even like yourself anymore.

But yes, I agree antidepressants and alcohol do not mix even for those without an issue with alcohol so I am off it now and starting AA next week and thank you, I thinking going on this thread has prompted me a lot in changing.

Well the socially awkward side is a trigger and you successfully side-stepped that aspect of it so that's an excellent result in terms of awareness and progress. Did you hang in there until 5am to test out your endurance to abstaining or was it you didn't actually mind being in drunk people's company until then?

I think it was a combination of both. It took 4 hours for people to realise I wasn't drinking and then I got a lot of strange looks and questions naturally enough. I told them that I was saving myself up for going on the tear the next day (I didn't drink the next day but it was the first excuse I thought of). I didn't plan not to drink but I had so much anxiety about knowing that I had to go that I just looked at the wine at my table and said f*ck this. We had a free bar all night and I didn't drink.

Between 3am and 5.30am was most difficult. Mostly because my friend wanted to go to this house party with these really drunk people who were after doing a rake of cocaine but ironically, they were all so f*cked they just assumed I was too!

syklops wrote: »
    There are ones you can drink on, there are ones that explicitly say you must not. I'm saying don't drink on either type, and again Im speaking from experience.

Are you really waiting 6 months to see this addiction specialist? I'd say quit waiting for the specialist and start figuring this out your self.

You drink one night every second week? So skip one of the nights out and you are sober for 28 days already. At this point I should say I don't like using the word sober in this manner, but thats for another thread.

Sorry, I was being unclear. He tells me everytime I see him to stop drinking. He keeps encouraging me to stop and I can see that everytime I tell him that I still am but am trying to moderate, hes disappointed. He just chose to put me ones that didn't react as strongly with alcohol, probably as a measure of harm reduction on his side. I've accepted now that I can't drink on them because the difference in my mood after is not good.

Yeah waiting 6 months, which is shocking especially thinking there are so many people who have it so much worse than I do. Our health system is sh*te. The most I've learned is through boards and self-help books. I'm going to put up a post on what books and sites I've found helpful for others in a few weeks, it might help others. And I'm going to go to AA next week, f*ck the shame and stigma.

And yeah, every second weekend minmum. Sometimes twice a month, sometimes 5-6 times in a month. I've told friends I'm off it for 90 days for health reasons so they've been pretty cool about it (my closest alco friend is in UK which is frankly of huge relief.) My doc checked my B12 levels which were 70 (normal range is 200-900) so I'm taking monthly injections for the next year. Alcohol causes your body to stop absorbing B12 which can cause lack of energy and/or depression so it is really time I stop on top of the anti-depressants!

deisedays wrote: »
    I used to drink regularly in a social context in my early mid twenties. It was the usual "going for a few pints" stuff people that age do.
    I gave up drinking entirely in my late twenties- I was playing a lot of GAA and was into fitness. I didn't drink for an entire year
    After a year away from booze I had a pint of beer at a social event. I was amazed at how much I didn't like the taste of beer that I previously thought was lovely stuff.
    Even years later drink has never again held the same appeal for me as it did when I was younger. I may or may not take a drink now at social occasions, and it is exactly that- what I have - A drink- one beer or one glass of wine and no more than that.
    In summary I think there are huge benefits in taking a break from drink whether you think you have a problem or not.
    I don't think I ever had a problem with drink but maybe it's better to knock drinking on the head before it becomes a problem !

I couldn't agree with you more, hopefully, I'll feel the same in a year! :)

I'm joining a tag rugby club in spring, have given up smoking and hope to start hiking once I can build up some kind of fitness level with walking. Looking forward to actually forming a habit that is healthy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Stanford

As someone who has been where you are I would offer you some unbiased and non-judgemental advice.
    Firstly forget about putting labels on yourself e.g. alcoholic, heavy drinker, problem drinker etc. these only add to your guilt and won’t help your struggle. You have clearly moved past the major issue of all which is acceptance that alcohol is seriously impinging on your life, health, safety and possibly the safety of others so you must deal with that first.

Secondly from the levels of intake that you describe you are in crisis and need professional help.PLEASE DO NOT ATTEMPT TO STOP DRINKING COLD TURKEY. There are serious health risks involved in this including fatal seizures. Find a sympathetic GP who will provide you with appropriate medication and you may need to be admitted to hospital to be detoxed under medical supervision. This is your first vital step. After you have undertaken this you should commit to 8-10 sessions with a qualified Counselor trained in addiction treatment. You really need to make these commitments now. At your level of intake my advice is that total abstinence is going to be more successful than trying to moderate your intake because you don’t have control right now. Your GP can also prescribe medication to help with your cravings after you have stopped drinking to excess.

Alcohol is a chemical depressant so the absence of it will help your depression greatly but counseling will help you to get to the source of your personal issues which are causing your alcohol issues. Without alcohol in your system you will be surprised how soon your mood will lift, live will be more enjoyable and you will find the strength you need to radically change your life.

Take up a hobby which you enjoy as you will be amazed at the time you wasted with your “alcohol buddy”, ideally do something light and not too emotionally heavy as you will be already making changes to your psychological health which will need effort on your part.

I hope this helps but your first port of call is your GP, don’t be embarrassed, he/she will no doubt have many patients with alcohol issues. Alcoholism is now considered as a curable disease so you are not doomed to a life of addiction, help is available.

Good luck and take that first step.

G