Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus App

Options
  • 08-12-2015 1:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭

Right so, I need to ask some advice from fellow developers. I am an inexperienced app developer, learning the ropes but don't know the exact route to take to get to where I want to go.

What is the app: It will be able to gather real-time information from numerous bus stops, how long until each bus arrives at the respective stop and how long it takes that bus to reach your required destination. It will then tell you which bus to get and send an alert when it's 5-10 minutes from arriving at the stop you want.
    The idea behind it is that one bus may be at one stop, 5 minutes till arrival but take me 40 minutes to get home. However, it would be quicker if I walked 5 minutes to another stop, waited 5 minutes and the bus took 20 minutes to get home. It is also nice to know when to leave to go to the bus, rather than reaching the bus stop on seeing your bus isn't for another 25 minutes.

How will it work: As stated I am inexperienced but here was my thinking. Use google maps to get current location, destination, walking distance times.

Then using an XML parser to get information from Dublin bus API. I started learning SAX parser but think I will switch to XMLPULL unless anyone knows any more suitable ones.

Looking forward to hearing your suggestation. Oh, nearly forgot. This will be an android app coded on Android studio. I will of course make the final product live for everyone to use, and wont be commercializing it.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭CaoimheSquee